Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (10)
 Add a review

Hal Leonard Joe Satriani Guitar Secrets Book

 
Book


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Hal Leonard Joe Satriani Guitar Secrets Book in Reviews
 

 

Another must own! featured

Comments I remember when I started playing many years ago. I would eagerly await each new copy of Guitar for the Practicing Musician magazine, if only for Joe's lesson itself. These came out when I started and it's great to see them collected in one book. It's not a big book and not very expensive so go out and buy it! Joe's wealth of knowledge comes at fractions of a penny on the dollar!


Liked about it The lessons were fairly short and concise. Looking back you could tell Joe had many years of teaching under his belt. I'm willing to bet that not much was cut in the editing process of each one as every lesson sticks fairly and neatly to the point. Joe also covered lots of ground. One might expect someone like Joe to focus on the most out-there scales possible, and there is a bit of that, but he also hits the "simple" things that are equally important, like double-stops and harmonies. It's not the kind of beat-yourself-up-playing scales kind of book. Joe actually goes after teaching people some proper music theory.
Above all, it's fun!


Didn't like The number of lessons is kind of a bummer! You really find yourself wanting more.
It would be neat if Joe would come back and put together another short book of material like this. Wishful thinking - I know!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mike570
Dec 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Lessons from a Visionary featured

Comments A one-page independent lessons book easy to read with lots of enjoyable ideas. Don´t need to be a Satch´s fan. Don´t need to be a shredder. Don´t need to be a metal-head. Don´t need to have a guitar in some lessons! Just some stuff with no style implied to put in your ears or under your fingers.


Liked about it - No stylistic direction.
- Easy to read.
- Something new hidden in each lesson


Didn't like - Cd/DVD (or cassette/VHS,it´s a 80´s book ;-) would be interesting
- More photos
- No JS series guitar included :-(


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By vy100
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Some very nice lessons featured

Comments I picked up this book through Amazon a few years ago. It is a collection of his articles from Guitar magazine from 1987-1991. I'm thankful the book exists, as those issues would be rather difficult to obtain these days! I admire Joe's interest in passing along his talents to the masses.

Each lesson is relatively short, about one page, and they cover very specific topics that are mostly independent, save for a few two-part lessons that spanned a couple of magazine issues. I'm particularly fond of the "Chromatic Warm-up" lesson as it really helps with finger dexterity. It also trains you to keep your forearms relaxes, because if you don't, the tension you build up just works against you. An interesting anecdote: This exercise is actually something he picked up from his student at the time, Steve Vai. :) Also his article called "Smart Fingers" shows the very same warm-up that you see Joe doing in any "before show" backstage video! Yep, he actually uses this stuff himself. Emulating those that are successful can never be a bad idea.

Also in the book are helpful scale & mode exercises, chord diagrams, improvisation exercises, and tons more.


Liked about it I liked that each lesson was relatively short, but gave you something concise to practice immediately. I also find his explanations and reflections show that Joe is truly a great guitar teacher. I do also like his emphasis on memorizing the fretboard, and the various exercises he takes you through toward that goal.

Personally I feel this book does fall into the "must have" category for anyone looking to expand their fretboard knowledge.


Didn't like Sometimes I had wished that the articles would have been expanded a bit. Also the lessons are really completely independent -- there is no natural flow to them, so you really can't use the book as an A-Z type of course. But if you already have progressed into the "intermediate" area and you're looking for a few of the legend's secrets, you'll get a lot out of this book.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By PortlandAxe
Oct 25, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The holy grail of tuition books

Comments Joe Satriani Guitar Secrets takes us through 41 lessons previously published in the magazine Guitar (from '87-'91) and includes chords, scales & modes, tunings, theory, technique, harmonics and soloing.

I'm quite sure Joe Satriani could publish a much bigger and more thorough book with his Guitar Secrets, but this books takes us through a wide specter of details and techniques every guitar player would benefit from knowing. Satriani has good teaching skills and he's articulate enough to make his points clear without beating around the bush. The lessons also varies from simple (yet important) stuff to more complex exercises.
I dear say that everyone willing to learn would benefit from this book.


Liked about it - Good exercises.
- Well explained.
- Let's face it; it's the closest you'll get to having private lessons with Satch.


Didn't like - Certain exercises could have benefited from being followed up.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By hp29
Oct 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Highly recommended for intermediate and experimented players

Comments I bought this book when I was a complete beginner, in the hope of finding a nice method to get me started, written by the master himself. Needless to say, I couldn't get anything out of this book at the time. I remember going "lydian ? mixolydian ? what the hell is that". I quickly put the book away. 8 years later, I re-read it. I could understand everything Joe was talking about, and found every bit of information he gives interesting. I still read it today from time to time, and I always get something out of it. This is that kind of book. Warning : you'll have to know basic music theory to get the most out of this book.


Liked about it - practical ideas and concepts
- lots of different subjects covered


Didn't like - book is not really organized, it's just random lessons one after another
- too short
- Joe please release 500 pages long guitar secrets book !


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Professor Jones
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great tips

Comments My wife got me this book a while back and I've been using it for over a year now. It's got a lot of great tips and ideas for practice. There are exercises that work with a variety of different techniques. It's by no means comprehensive, but there are some good warm-up drills, a bit of theory, some compositional tips and also general musicianship lessons. Satch's writing is easy to understand, even if the concepts are "not of this earth." (sorry for the cheesiness, couldn't help myself) Anyway, I cycle through the different lessons on a weekly basis and it's really helped to improve some of my technique as well as understanding of musical concepts.


Liked about it 1. Well written with clearly laid out exercises.
2. Covers a variety of topics with things that help you develop into a well-rounded musician.


Didn't like 1. Not long enough or in depth enough for the advanced student but too complex for just a beginner.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Joe's Secrets From Guitar For The Practicing Music

Comments This book is a compilation of 41 lessons he wrote for Guitar For The Practicing Musician, which spans about 5 years. It's all written by Satriani and covers chords, scales and modes, tunings, theory, technique, warming up, ear training, arpeggios, harmonics, soloing, and learning fretboard visualizations.


Liked about it What's not to like about this book? Joe wrote some quality instructions in Guitar For The Practicing Musician (GFTPM) magazine. This 41 lesson book covers alot of ground, and Joe's teaching style makes it very easy to learn what he's talking about. This isn't really an intro to Satriani's style as much as it is the tools to compose music on your own, and to understand the basics of music theory.

I have several books like this that I continually go back to and use something as an exercise. If you're struggling to gain new ground this book contains things that will change the way you see things and perhaps get you over the hump.


Didn't like MORE! There could always be more. More is always better. Since these are the private lessons out of GFTPM theres only going to be a select number of them, because magazine column instructors come and go all the time.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By courtney2018
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Very good book

Comments i learned soooo much from this book, of course that was after i learned some music theory. this is not a book for beginning guitarists,but for more the intermediate to advanced players. the book was not in any clear order though, just everything he did for guitar magazine thrown into a book. this book is still very beneficial to the modern guitarist though. satch is a very good writer, and conveys information very well. it is easy to tell he was a teacher back in the day (wish he still was).
satch provides some very useful tools with this book, and is golden to the aspiring guitarist


Liked about it satches secrets, who doesn't want some of that
easy to read, very clear subjects
cool cover picture


Didn't like lessons are not very organized
doesn't have more secrets
nothing else to add


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By DownHomeRock
Mar 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great collection of knowledge from Satriani Himself

Comments This book is wonderful. It is written very simply, and Joe Satriani is both a wonderful teacher, and player. Teaching and playing are two different things, and Joe does both extremely well. A few cool photos are also included. I find myself coming back to the same lessons over and over again, and get something new out of it every time. A video or audio disc would be a nice addition


Liked about it -Short lessons, easy to understand
-Lessons have both music notation as well as tab, which really helps with reading
-Contains really good warm up exercises that get you loose
-Inexpensive. Great value for what you get for your money


Didn't like -Lessons topics seem fairly random. The book sort of jumps all over the place
-Wish it was longer. I can't seem to get enough of this stuff
-Would love it if it came with some sort of audio as well


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By leathermonkey7
Mar 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great lessons for the fairly advanced Guitarist

Comments This book has some great lessons in it, as previously mentioned it's 41 lessons taken from a guitar magazine compiled into one book. I've even seen Joe doing a couple of these exercises on a DVD or on youtube somewhere when he's warming up for a concert, so they really are that good!


Liked about it Top three positive points:
-Lots of these lessons can be used long term, scale ideas etc.
-Good warmups in here.
-Expands your knowledge of theory.


Didn't like I have two negative points:
-There are only a few 'follow up' lessons, sometimes there's only one page on one particular subject and I feel there could be more written (maybe because this was only a page spread lesson a month etc).
-Agreeing with Courtney2018, there could be MORE LESSONS!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Guitarist-Jonny
Aug 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec12 spec200 spec587