Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (18)
 Add a review

D'Addario EXL120 Featured

 
D'Addario XL Nickel Wound Electric Guitar strings are world-renowned as "The Player's Choice" amongst players of all genres and styles. XL's are precision wound with nickelplated steel on a hex-shaped core, resulting in strings with a distinctive bright tone and excellent intonation.


Price: $2 to $39 at 12 stores
Searched D'Addario EXL120 in Reviews
 

 

One of the most consistant strings out there featured

Comments Back when I started playing acoutic guitars a lot there was a local shop that carried Taylor guitars. Every guitar sounded great and had a well balanced tone, I ended up getting a used Taylor that wasn't so blessed, so I went back to the store and asked what strings they had on them. The salesman said D'Addario's. I thought great so I put them on and Voila, great tone.. So I also gave there EXL 120's a try and again was very pleased with the tone and consistency as I took an old set off and put the new ones on. This was probably almost 15 years ago. Around 5 years ago I got a guitar that had the Buzz Feiten tuning system installed and went to the Buzz Feiten to see what I needed to know, to no surprise he said he tested every string he could and found through extensive testing that the D'Adarrio strings were the most consistant from pack to pack.


Liked about it Long lasting strings. I put a little lemon oil on my strings when I first put them on which may sound weird but it has almost no effect on the tone and seems to make my frets last longer as well. I can use a set of these for a couple months as long as I clean them with a little lemon oil about once a week.
Price... Not the least expensive but you get a great string for a few more bucks per set in a 10 Pack.
Easy to find.. Almost every local store carries them if I run out in my stash.


Didn't like A little more tension (stightly stiffer) than other strings in the same guage which makes it hard to go from another brand without much of a setup.
Price.. while I list this as what I like about them, they could be a little less expensive.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By ChrisPcritter
Dec 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great product, One of the best strings out there featured

Comments Im not sure if you noticed but with Active pickups they sometimes catch vibrations created by the strings, Tremelo springs and other bridge parts resulting in a dirtier sound. This is due to Actives having a higher output which enhance the oscillation of certain strings resulting in a dirtier sound! "Dean Markley-Blue Steel" are notorious for excessive string vibration, So the solution? D'Addario Strings! For some reason these strings ignore the vibrations coming from the bridge and have a more linear oscillation. Keep in mind that Nickel wound strings sound entirely different from Stainless strings and remember that Passive pickups behave and sound entirely different and sound great with almost any string brand!


Liked about it The A'addario Strings have a bright powerful sound! Very well suited for heavy music! They respond great and are probably one of the best sounding strings for active pickups but even better sounding from Passive! For only $4 a pack, you really cant beat it! These strings give the cleanest and most defined sound, especially while distorted and the intonation is dead on. Whats great is these strings do not intonate differently with every new pack(Unlike Dean Markely, after every new pack you have to re-adjust the intonation) and Did I mention you can bend the crap out of these strings!? :)


Didn't like The only other string I would recommend(For Actives)is "Ernie Ball-Slinky" strings, They are just like D'addario but with more define sound


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Weezel
Feb 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Excellent price for Excellent quality featured

Comments I remember first day that I bought my RG370DX. The guitar was equipped with them. The Strings are awesome. They are very durable. They feel smooth all the way you go from top to bottom, from the start to the end. The tone is awesome and the strings are high quality made. The last time I remember changing strings was 8~9 months ago because I cut out the "B" string and it was my fault.. COMPLETELY MINE (tuning the guitar with the locking nut is locked). So I decided to change the whole pack.


Liked about it - Very smooth and comfortable.
- Very durable under killer use of Tremolo, either Divebombs or Pull-ups.
- After changing strings, they get stretched quickly and you can tune your guitar easily (if you've a floating tremolo)


Didn't like - Nothing actually, They just became very rusty when I traveled to a place that humidity is high in open air (That is normal for any type of metal. No exceptions). Even though they were at their full potential and don't affect my tone at all.
- D'Addario could paint the strings with a very thin layer of zinc to prevent oxidation, so prevent rusting in such places with high humidity. That is just a suggestion. :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Yamadron
Dec 02, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

my standard strings from the start featured

Comments During my first few years of guitar playing, I didn't think much about which strings I would put on my guitars. Other strings were either too prone to corrosion, too brittle, too soft, etc. The day I strung my guitar with my first set of D'Addario EXL120 strings, I instantly knew that they felt right and sounded great. Even today, I judge other string brands against D'Addarios. They're that good for me.


Liked about it 1. New D'Addario strings on a guitar have that certain firmness that makes playing both enjoyable and challenging. Especially when doing really fast runs on the guitar, that little extra resistance the strings exert on my pick helps me know exactly where I am whenever I play. Playing chords is also easy with these strings, with just enough lightness for you not to have hand cramps from exerting too much pressure on them. Gauge 8 strings are just too light for me, they drag your pick too much when playing fast, which would slow you down slightly. Gauge 10 strings kill my fingers both with soloing and chording, and I only use them on my training guitar for stamina drills. 9s are just right in this respect.
2. The strings are fairly easily magnetized, which keeps your playing nice and clear. Newer strings sound nice and bright, and as they wear down the tone would round up nicely, which is really nice. I don't like changing strings too often, and I really like the rounder tone of the worn strings, so it's all good for me.
3. The smooth surface of new strings make it really easy to slide up and down the neck, even without using lubricating oil. Just wipe them up before and after playing, every day and they'll stay that way for as much as two weeks.


Didn't like I live in a country where metal things get rusty real quick in open air, and the D'Addarios (and other string brands, for that matter) are no exception. With a little more care, though, they could last for quite a while. It would be great if D'Addario could come up with a sort of strings technology for tropical countries such as the Philippines, but other than that, it's great.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By theapprentice
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Favorite set of strings!

Comments What can I say, I can slide, bend, tune my guitar to some low tuning like A# or tune high in F and I will always get a strong tone, especially with my SYM TB-4 at the brige and my stacks at the mid and neck pos (dinky d2k). You might have to do a very small setup like a truss rod tightening, or slight bridge adjustments, but these sets are amazing and light. Here is a example I have for you. http://soundcloud.com/aires/air3s-night-flight and that is with a amp sim with a not so top notch DI (with guitar rig 4) pretty awesome lead tone huh? I find the tone dreamy!

These things are a perfect match for guitar with rather naturally bright or dark specs and you will not be disappointed, not only that these strings are a great match for people like me who like play fast or technical styles.

I really think these strings are versatile and able to give to sharp, bouncy attack on the strings, but warm, Roaring tones, screaming distorted/Overdrive tones and smooth to aggressive clean tones!

Last let me say to get the best of these strings, its best to have a guitar with decent quality wood and run these bad boys through a valve(tube amp) and you will really be happy!


Liked about it Versatile

Great for shred

Good set for people learning to play, but then again getting used to heavier strings is always best before going lighter.

They stay tune

Good life and tone life, especially if

LOVE THESE STRINGS!


Didn't like Not much I dont like besides the price!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Aires
Apr 23, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Always Used On My Guitars

Comments I always put them on all my guitars. They play great on every guitar I've had and played. They just have a smooth and consistent feel. I've never had one break on me. The quality is always great and I've never had a problem with a bad pack or poor quality. The colored ball ends are helpful for identifying strings and they look cool if they are put up on the headstock. I've tried Ernie Ball super slinkys and although they are good they just don't compare. I've always been able to find them at a great price as well. They also have a very cool program called players points that be redeemed for cool things on their website. They have the points located on the back of the pack as well as on all planetwaves prducts as well. The packaging is easy to get into and clearly marked. Another plus is they are made in the US.


Liked about it -The ball ends are helpful
-They are smooth and consistent
-Long life don't rust easily or quickly
-Great bright sound
-Great price


Didn't like -May buzz a little but that can be fixed with adjusting the bridge


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By takenaway
Nov 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

My pick for ages

Comments Since I started to play guitar in the late 80's I've mainly played D'Addario EXL 120. I think I've tried everything under the sun just to make sure I didn't miss something better (with guitar strings that's one of the few opportunities you have to have that mindset in life) and I always come back to these.
The feel of the strings is ideal to my style of playing and also my musical style (hard rock and heavy metal).
I've also tried a few of D'Addarios heavier gauges, both 9-46 and 10-46, when experimenting with down tuning but for normal tuning this is my go-to choice.

My hands sweat quite a bit when I play over time, and I tend to play for a few hours at the time so that leads to the strings corroding faster then usual, and even with normal good string care they don't last all that long. I tend to change them after approximately 20 hours of playing. But then again; I love the feel of brand new strings on my guitar and these strings are reasonably priced especially when bought in bulk.


Liked about it - Excellent feel and tone.
- Reasonably priced.
- The coloured balls helps identifying the strings.


Didn't like - Everyone else is praising their durability, but I'd like it if they were even more durable.
- The plastic they are packed in is hell to open if you don't have anything sharp nearby.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By hp29
Oct 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

EXL's, what else ?

Comments I've been using d'addario stings since I started playing guitar. I never ever felt the need to change. They sound great, and I like the way they feel under the fingers. Their sound is balanced, as with all the strings they are quite bright when they are new but they mellow in a nice way over time. I never broke one while playing, so I consider them to be very reliable. They also are nicely priced, for such a good product.

One important thing to remember, is to wipe them with a cloth when you stop playing. They will last longer that way and this will prevent dirt from building up on them.


Liked about it - feel
- sound
- price


Didn't like - can't find a thing


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Professor Jones
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Excellent all around strings.

Comments I've used a lot of strings in over twenty years of playing, and I always come back to these. They're just great really. They sound fantastic, aren't prone to breakage and have a great feel. The tension is perfect on these. I like .9's for any Floyd rose based bridge system. D'Addario's have an excellent price for quality ratio. I'm sure there are some better strings maybe out there, but are they so much better that high prices are justified? I've never found that to be the case. If you want a good set of strings and don't want to break the bank just buying strings, you cannot go wrong with D'Addario's.


Liked about it Tension and feel. Long life and tone. Price is great too, they're usually one of the less expensive string sets you can buy.


Didn't like What can I say that I don't like? The only thing that comes to mind is that it'd be great if someone else would change strings on my floating bridges.. other than that nothing. Good strings, good price, good tone.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By blackspy
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Best on the market

Comments I have been playing for thirty years now, since I was nine; the first several years I used a hodge-podge of different brands, including GHS Boomers, Ernie Ball Slinkys, Dean Markley, Gibson Brite Wires, and Fender Bullets. When i was fourteen I bought a case (box of ten) of XL120's from Musician's Friend, and I've never used anything else since.

I immediately noticed that they have a very nice, crisp feel to them; by way of contrast, some of the other brands felt kind of rubbery. They have a very long shelf life; since that day twenty-five years ago I've bought them by the case, and I am lazy about changing strings, so they sometimes stay unopened for more than a year, and they still feel and sound just as new and as crisp as they would've if they had come straight from the factory.

They also have a long life once is use, allowing me the aforementioned laziness in string-changing altogether. They're kind of like Stride chewing gum, in that respect. Now that the secret is out, I expect a D'Addario rep to start trying to break my strings just so I will finally put on a new set...

Going back to their shelf life, I should mention that D'Addario has been an industry front-runner in packaging design; when the strings were known simply as "XL," they were in a plastic sleeve, and inside each string was in a paper envelope, as most other guitar strings. They had their Player Rewards program (discontinued as of Spring of 2012) even way back then to encourage recycling.

A few years later, in the nineties, the changed the name to "EXL" to signify their environmentally-conscious packaging, whereby the plastic sleeve and the paper envelopes were eliminated altogether. Mind you, this was TWENTY YEARS before things like the LEAD initiative or the idea of "Going Green" was a thing. Their pro-activity in this regard should be lauded.

As an added bonus, the new packaging actually was better for the strings, as well; their effective shelf life was extended even further, as unopened sets are now packaged in a single, air-tight foil bag. No worries about the eventual rust or corrosion that may occur by having the strings sit in an unsealed plastic sleeve inside unsealed, individual paper envelopes. D'Addario's ball-end color-coding saves the day here, allowing them to pack the strings together in one eco-friendly bag with utter impunity. No guess work as to which string you have in your hand!

One final note: I mentioned earlier that they have a crisp, solid feel to them. I should also mention that they are very CONSISTENT, and- after using many other brands of strings for comparison- I can say with utter veracity that they have the absolute best intonation qualities of any guitar string on the market.

In toto- D'Addario forevahhhh!!!!

John Jones


Liked about it Crisp feel; excellent intonation; environmentally-sound packaging


Didn't like I wish they hadn't discontinued the Player's Rewards program! I realize it was a loss leader for them, designed to engender loyalty and bolster their recycling efforts, but I learned of the program's end after the deadline, and have literally over two hundred packages of strings- hundreds of Player Points!- still in my possession. Boo!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By johnjonestheman
Feb 19, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

The only strings i use.

Comments These were the first strings i used. I played guitar with other strings, gauges and brands, but daddario EXL120 wins every time. I tried those curt mangan strings whitch are OK, but they felt to ''grippy'' i couldnt slide as easily. they also sounded different. I went back to daddario and my sound immediatly came back. i tottaly love these. the feel is great, the tone is great and they last very long. My teacher suggested me to put on 10's, but these work perfectly for me.


Liked about it -The feel is great
-The tone is great. at first its very twangy and ''metalicly'' but the longer they are on your guitar, the jazzier they become.
- They last very long


Didn't like -Nothing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By pipsqueej
May 16, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great Strings

Comments I usually use coated strings on my main guitars. I have several guitars, each with different attributes, and I am regularly trying different strings on them. These are some of my favorites and are my reference point when comparing the quality of other strings.


Liked about it 1) I really like their consistency. From pack to pack I have never had a dead string. The tension is always equal and intonation is always accurate.

2) They work with tremolo systems well. D'Addario makes trem-specific sets, but these work fine for me. They stretch quickly and I seldom have to even make fine tuning adjustments before my next string change.

3) D'Addario has managed to keep their strings competitively priced.


Didn't like I don't get much life from non-coated strings and these are no exception. Although, these seem to last a bit longer than most.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Pamanagm
Jun 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Great strings, good longevity

Comments I only ever use two brands - these, and Dean Markeley. I've come to that conclusion after 25 years of playing simply because I have quite acid sweat. These two brands are the only set that last more then a few days playing. I find these slightly stiffer then an equivalent set of Dean Markeley's, and as a result I think statistically I'm more likely to break the high-E of these then DM's but I still use them.

Recently I fell victim to fake guitar strings off the 'beloved' e-bay. D'Addario were great, and after I reported it sent me free of charge a set of replacements. The difference was unbelievable. The fakes where badly balanced (I though something was up when I had to rebalanced the trem), pre-corroded (!) and sounded dull. Put the real things on, and what a difference...


Liked about it The colour coded ball ends are a great idea
Easy to find anywhere
Company cares about the reputation


Didn't like Slightly stiffer then others


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By arykala
Apr 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

Good, but Better Options Available

Comments These are just your standard 9 gauge uncoated option. D'Adarrios come in this neat eco-friendly package now that I prefer, as there's no paper slips. If you don't have tons of restringing experience, the color coded ball ends are great so you can be sure you're fitting the right strings to the right place. I used to use these all the time before moving to EB. When you put them on, they have quite a bright metallic tone, which I an extremely fond of. The only problem is it doesn't seem to last, which is to be expected from uncoated 9s as they stretch and accumulate grime and oil. It almost seems to happen a bit too quickly though. Usually you can resurrect this brand new tone with some string conditioner and elbow grease, but there comes a point with these where that won't do much. The main issue I have had with these is that they seem to tarnish very easily. Once again cleaning will help immensely at first, but after a while it seems that the grime just doesn't come off. I'm guessing whatever formula they use is more susceptible to corrosion.



Liked about it -Great, bright tone when new
-Color coded if you're unsure which is which!
-Eco packaging is neat. No paper slips!


Didn't like -Prone to dirt and corrosion, more so than other sets from my experience
-Snappy tone does not last
-When these get old they get really rough and almost sticky, more so than other sets from my experience. Not fun when sliding.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Bronx
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

An excellent set of strings

Comments I have used D'Addario strings since 1990 and found them to be an excellent string. Whenever I find myself trying another brand out of curiosity, I always end up steering back to D'Addarios. For many years the EXL120s were my favorite gauge, and I found strings that were this light from other companies felt a little flimsy in comparison. The EXL120s are very smooth to play on, and have a great tone to them. I have recently moved on from their Nickel Wounds to Pro Steels for a brighter tone, and less corrosion since moving to a coastal area, however I am still with D'Addario.


Liked about it -keep their tone for longer than other brands that I have tried
-stay in tune and are durable
-are smooth to play on


Didn't like -the price in Australia
-corrosion in coastal areas is not the string's fault, however if this is a problem, try Pro Steels.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By RichardFX
Feb 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

The last strings I'll ever need!

Comments I discovered these strings about 5 years ago. Previously, I was a slave to Ernie Ball--but found these D'Addario's to be on par with the popular manufacturer's strings. While the Ernie Balls are great strings, the D'Addario's are a bit less expensive. I buy in bulk, so I save even more. I rarely break D'Addario strings--it does happen, but not frequently.


Liked about it 1. I love the price--they're a bit less expensive than the competition.
2. Durability--These are built to last. I rarely break them, and find them lasting for several months with proper care.
3. Nice bright sound plus the above mentioned pros will keep me a D'Addario fan for life.


Didn't like NOTHING! These strings are inexpensive, durable, and sound/feel great.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
Sep 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

My strings since I was a kid

Comments I've been using those D'Addario strings since an Ibanez was still a dream to me. The first time I became interested on it was when I was reading Megadeth's "Countdown to Extinction" booklet, then it said Megadeth guys were endorsed by D'Addario strings. Then I bought a package. Today, I have an awesome Ibanez, and I still use the same awesome strings. These strings are high quality, they last really long if you have proper care, and they sound really clear. Also, they play really smooth, not feeling like barbwire below your fingers. The price is good for their quality, even the packaging is well made.


Liked about it 1) Fair price;
2) They last long;
3) Good, clean sound.


Didn't like There is nothing I dislike on these strings.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Rachmaninoff
Aug 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores

There are other strings?

Comments For the price and the quality, nothing touches these strings. They are balanced, have a very long life, and sound great, I don't use anything else but these. I buy them in packs of 10, and if you keep your eyes open on the popular music sale site they occasionally bundle 10pks with tuners, winders, chord dictionaries and such.... which makes a great deal even better


Liked about it balanced
excellent sounds
long life


Didn't like sometimes I prick my fingers on the cut end :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By manfromplanetX
Jun 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $39
Compare Prices
at 12 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec3 spec170 spec592