Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (8)
 Add a review

Daddario EXL115

 
World-renowned as "The Player's Choice" among guitaristss of all genres and styles. XL strings are wound with nickel-plated steel, known for it's distinctive bright tone, excellent intonation and reduced fret wear. EXL115s are among D'Addario's most popular round-wound, nickel-plated electric guitar strings. - - D'Addario is the world's largest manufacturer of strings for musical instruments. Many top guitarists won't play any other brand. Regardless of your playing style, D'Addario has a set that's right for you.


Price: $5 to $24 at 2 stores
Searched Daddario EXL115 in Reviews
 

 

My go to Strings for 24.75'' scale guitars featured

Comments When I was in high school, I became serious about classical guitar and quickly got used to the heavy stiff feel of the action on my nylon string guitar. When I would go back to my Gibson Les Paul, the .10's I had on there felt almost wimpy. I had trouble adjusting to the thinner gauge. So, I decided to give the fatter .11 gauge a shot, and I haven't gone back. I got more power, more tension, and better tone than the .10's I was using. Fast forward 10 years, and I am still using them, but only on my 24.75'' scale guitars like my Les Paul, ES 137, and Flying V (all Gibsons). I feel that since my Gibsons are shorter scale guitars than my Ibanez or Fender guitars, that extra thickness helps to equalize the feel difference (on my 25'' scale guitars, I use Daddario .10's). Also, I should note that drop tunings on my Gibsons sound a bit better with the added girth of the .11's and are less floppy. Plus, Daddario strings are the most consistent strings I have ever used, and you can buy them anywhere. Those are both big pluses wen gigging. If you can't find your brand of string in a jam, than you are out of luck! So for drop tunings or a thicker gauge, they are my #1.


Liked about it Great feel
Long Lasting
Easy to find


Didn't like Getting more expensive!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Dec 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

My only brand - most common set

Comments D'Addario strings have provided me with a far more consistent tone, over time, than any other strings I have used. I use this set in E on my 25.5" scale guitars. It's a pretty tight feel without the sound being too muddy or feeling like I'm using phone-line as strings. Had to add at least one more spring on my trem'd guitars, but it wasn't too much of a hassle working my way up from .09-.42s to .10-.46 to these.


Liked about it 1) Consistency - brightness lasts longer than others, to me

2) Sizes - D'Addario provides sets that I tend to get "along with" better (as far as matching sizes in a set) - this set has been my favorite for a while now (for E)

3) Durability - I feel 100% confident in banging on D'Addarios - I don't think I've ever broke one


Didn't like Not sure there's anything for me to put here - maybe they could be a touch brighter, I have played brighter-sounding strings, but with these, there's not so much disparity between a set that has been played for a while and slapping on a new set - I don't like the 'Oh, these sound so bright right now because I just put them on' factor when they are just gonna go down hill from there ---- these tend to not do that as bad as other strings


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mrclean77
Aug 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

D'Addario?... the only way to go.

Comments I started playing guitar with D'Addario's and moved to many different types of strings over my guitar playing career. I always come back to these strings as all the others just don't stand up to the impact of live performances. The only other strings that I'd be interested in are the long life Elixir strings but they sound a bit dull, even when they're brand new. D'Addario is the best bar none. I now exclusively use D'Addario's as I've had my time of trying all the brands and have finally decided after 20 years of playing the guitar that they're THE best strings a guitarist can use. Buy them, you'll not be disappointed.


Liked about it Bright sounding, long life if taken care of and cleaned after every use, have always loved the color coding..... if I ever get different strings, I hate the fact that they're not color coded.... I don't know why, I'm just so damn used to D'Addario's.


Didn't like Absolutely nothing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Macka
Jun 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great tone and consistent quality

Comments I started playing the electric guitar with 9s, it was what everyone using at the time, even my teacher. They tell me to use lighter gauge string because it is easier to play, however as time progress, i have moved on to 10s, and 11s for standard tuning. I was always wow-ed by the increase in tone and sustain every time i switch to thicker gauge strings, i have never switched back.


Liked about it 1. Amazing tone and sustain compared to lower gauge
2. Consistent d addario built quality, bright tone
3. Color coding makes string change less confusing.


Didn't like The price, it has gone up by 50% compared to when I started playing in 2005
I really cant think of anything else i did not like from this product.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By bowie8889
Oct 13, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Didn't Last a Day

Comments I was down to my last pack of strings which was an assortment given to me by a friend. The last ones were the D'Addario EXL115 Nickle Blues/Jazz electric guitar strings. I tried them on and played them for about an hour. The high E broke after a short period of time. While I'll admit fault here that I'm not the best at re-stringing my guitars and usually prefer paying someone to get it done professionally, I didn't enjoy playing these particular strings as much as I like lighter gauges.

While they lasted, running up and down the fret board was fun. While the thick string guages made it a little easier to navigate with my picking hand, they made if difficult to impossible to pull off all the techniques I wanted to at the speed I preferred. I liked the deep tone and linear/scalar passages are actually quite enjoyable on these strings. I was playing "Mr. Brownstone" by Guns'n'Roses, and there's a bend that's a whole-step and a half in the solo. That bend killed the high E, and I realized these strings are not for me.

I ran down the store and picked up some Ernie Ball Super Slinkys, which suit my needs and playing style better. Had I been a player that likes almost exclusively alternate picking and few bends and legato, it would've been better. I've played different D'Addarios before that worked. These didn't and I won't choose EXL115 Nickle Blues/Jazz strings anymore.


Liked about it +Great feel for the picking hand.
+Good deep low tone
+Great for linear and scalar passages


Didn't like +BROKE on DAY 1
+Bad for bends
+Too much tension


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By psychokannibal
Jun 04, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

One Of My Favorite Brands

Comments Usually, I have Elixir strings on my guitars. This is only because strings do not last me very long. I still switch them out to D'Addario XL on occasion. I have tried many brands over the years and I have yet to find a better sounding or better feeling string regardless of their price. They have consistency in tone, feel and tuning ease from set to set. I have used more expensive brands that could not match the quality of D'Addario XL's. These are also great for trem-equipped guitars. They break in quickly, maintain tuning and seem to be less prone to breakage.


Liked about it Excellent tone.
Reasonable price.
Consistency( almost never a "dead" string)


Didn't like For me, as with any non-coated string I have used, they don't last long. This isn't necessarily a fault with the D'Addario's as most strings have a short life in my hands.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Pamanagm
Feb 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great strings for the price

Comments These strings are now my main strings for all my guitars. Excellent tone with excellent reliability.

These strings are possibly the best string for the money. You can usually get these strings well below the $5 pack mark.

You can usually get an even better deal on these strings when you buy a 10 pack. If you are diligent about cleaning your strings, the tone of these strings can last for a very long time.


Liked about it Great strings with great tone at a great price. Haven't had a single bad string in any set over the many years I've used these strings.


Didn't like To be perfectly honest, I haven't found anything that I dislike about these strings.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By lespauled
Jul 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores

Great strings for the price!

Comments When I first started playing guitar, I used these strings because they were cheap. I've been playing a little over 10 years now and I still love these strings. I've always been able to rely on them to get any sound that I want out of them.


Liked about it They have a perfect tone for anything I can play. These strings feel great when you play them. They are very cost effective for the musician on a budget.


Didn't like They don't seem to last as long as I'd like them to. On occassion, I tend to find a batch that seems to break easily.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By boyd
May 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $24
Compare Prices
at 2 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec5 spec170