Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (11)
 Add a review

Elixir Light Nanoweb Electric Guitar Strings Featured

 
Regular Light string gauges: .010 .013 .017 .026 .036 .046


Price: $5 to $126 at 15 stores
Searched Elixir Light Nanoweb Electric Guitar Strings in Reviews
 

 

Allow them a week to properly bed in featured

Comments I put 9-42 on 2 Jems and I hated them as I couldn't vibrato at the 5th fret. I put them on my second as 1st was the 7vwh with backstop, the 2nd 7rb without. I really felt they were too too tough to bend but even more so than ever away from centre of the length. So I put 1set on my Universe and added a 56single on the 7th. After leaving them over a week I came back to them and couldn't believe it. It was like playing standard 9s on ice. They seem to take this time bed in and stretch through to the upper coat. But they didn't need re-tuning.


Liked about it The Nano coating once at full elastic-limit acts as a lubricant on pollished frets. You normally get that scatching feeling for very long bent notes but not on these. Notice that I did not play them during this time much as I hated the tension. If you think about this and the previous review you can see a conection. He played his strings hard for over 2 weeks then they sounded less bright. I let mine bed in. I really didn't noticed a dulling of tone from when I put them on. They just sound like spangly new strings. I don't play hard. I have valve amps for volume and I know how to play to keep the strings in control. I learned this on acoustic too in a duo where I had to alter the pick angle for accompanying. I believe he bashed them as the nano was still bedding in. My findings make it pointless to go back to standard strings (£6) when these were £9. They will last a long time for me...maybe even 6months as I play 3 guitars mentioned and wipe off the crud as I do normally.


Didn't like However, if you gig you will sweat so much and for some ppl they have high acid sweat. A heatwave does not help and Par54 stage lights too. I would get LED lights these days as there's no heat. So even wiping them down may not get all that sweat out of the bridge between gigs as you tend to avoid the end as not leave fluff there. For gigging, I'd have to be carefull until I could trust them.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By MacMusica
Feb 12, 2010
 
Last updated: February 14, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Long Lasting featured

Comments These strings are awesome! They have a very thin coating on them which protects them from corrosion. The coating does not affect the sound in anyway. I've had a set of these of my main axe for at least 8 months now and they are just starting to corroded now yet they still sound clear. They feel great the coating actually allows you to play slightly faster then un-coated strings. These are good if you dont like changing strings too often.


Liked about it The longevity
The feel
The tone


Didn't like Cost compared to other strings
When the coating comes off


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Mike239
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Somewhat dissappointed featured

Comments Now, I've been using these quite a while, and I know a lot of people like them, but the more I use them the more I am perplexed. My first set lasted a very long time, but strangely the high e string broke when I was tuning DOWN from either standard or Eb. Now, I was changing tunings quite a bit that day, but I've never really heard of that happening. Then I broke the high e when changing strings, this was my fault but still. Then the next set's high e quickly broke on a whole step bend on fret 15, this was completely my fault as I let a small bit of blood to dry up on it (Don't ask. I thought it looked cool :). Afterward on a new set they did fine, but for some reason there was gunk build up fairly quick on the wound strings where I was picking. I don't violently smack the strings all day, so that should not of happened. Then just today it broke on a whole step bend on fret 22. That should not happen, and it is the last straw. It wasn't on the bridge either, it was right where I bent it, so it was not the fault of picking technique. I had a pack of D'addardio's that has lasted for half a year in the past, and these strings can barely last 2 months half the time! I don't even play with dirty fingers, and they're advertised as 'Designed to combat finger grundge'. They should try to make them combat pick grundge and fret grundge as well, because they get worn down on all the frets. So much for that 'String lasts 3-5 times longer" statement that you see plastered everywhere you see an Elixer. They just keep letting me down every time. I'd think that 'It's just a bad set' or it's my technique, but a player like Slash uses 13's, in Eb and loves his bends, and probably isn't very nice on his strings when it comes to picking either. I'm pretty sure he doesn't use Elixers.

Onto things other than lifespan, there's the coating that makes the strings supposedly impervious to corrosion, etc. It also makes them slippery. When you first put on a new set it feels cool, doing lots of awesome slides and everything, and the feel is great, but after a while the wow factor seems to wear off and you want something different. Kinda like D'addardio's except everything is in your head. It's annoying because sometimes they are too slippery. I could slide my fingers on the world's most rusted set fine, so the coating might help you for that, but it seems to hamper everything else my fingers do.

I'm not going to go into massive detail about their tone, as I'm not one of those guys that can tell the tonal difference of the tuning pegs and the finish, but if anything, it makes chugging and metal stuff seem to have slightly less 'bite' and it's pretty hard to get a convincing pick slide.

Overall, it seems like that blasted high E simply hates me, the coating doesn't help the string's lifespan at all, and the slipperiness will hamper your playing more than it helps it. I'm going to have to look for a more reliable brand now. If you're going to get them, make sure you either prefer looser strings or don't do any bends on the high e!


Liked about it - Lasts forever for some people.
- Sliding is a breeze


Didn't like - Price is ridiculous. It's better if you buy online, but I'd prefer to buy locally and they're 20+ bucks!
- Coating makes strings less flexible?
- Strings are slippery. Again, this is personal preferences
- Coating does not do its job for me, unfortunately.


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By Magical Muffin
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

My strings from now on !

Comments I've been using Elixir 009-042 for the last year and they're awesome ! I use them with locking tremolos, and it's true that they require a couple days to "adapt" to the instrument, but once they have made it, they stay in tune forever. Their durability is simply unbelievable, you save a lot of your time changing or cleaning strings...
I finally agree with another reviewer, that suggested that they could make them in different colors, That would be great !!! I would also appreciate that they could make a special "Super Extra Light" 008 set, for example with gauges 008,010,015,024,032 and 042. Those are the gauges I used when I was buying bulk strings (before Elixir when into the market I think) and they're the ideal combination for my playing.


Liked about it - Durability.
- Great metallic tone.


Didn't like - Price, even though all their advantages, I think they should sell cheaper.
- They make "bending" a bit harder.
- It seemed to me that they erode the frets a bit more than a regular guitar string, but I'm still observing this...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By crazyibanez
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

The ONLY strings I use.

Comments I love how smooth these strings are, it's like my strings have permanent lubrication on them. The main reason that I found these is because the sweat coming out of my hands is incredibly acidic. that wasn't a problem until I started playing more often than usual in a band situation, and i was going through normal strings in 2 weeks. these strings last me a few months, and end up costing me much less in the long run. if you go through normal strings too fast, these are a must.


Liked about it ~Lasts MUCH longer than a normal set of strings
~smooth playing, makes it much easier to move around the neck
~They smell really good. (random, i know, but for whatever reason, the scent of a new set of these strings has become my favorite smell)


Didn't like ~would be nice if they came in different colors(like DR strings)
~expensive, which may or may not be a problem depending on how often you buy new strings(the longer the strings last, the less you have to buy)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Jet9
Aug 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Great long-lasting strings!

Comments I've been using these strings for many years and it's a nightmare to go back to anything else. I play a lot and my sweat tends to rust the average string ridiculously fast, so these strings work perfect for me. The difference in tone with the Nanoweb coating is not much for me to really notice so I can live with something that's not necessarily so "sparkly". Average lifespan of these strings, for me, is usually a few months which is great because uncoated strings may last me a month if I'm lucky. They are stable with maintaining tuning despite the aggressive abuse I give them on my Jem. So far out of all the strings I've used, and in my time working at a music store for 3 years I got to try practically everything, these are by far the first choice for me.


Liked about it They are ultra durable, they last extra long, & they don't rust.


Didn't like Pricey $$$ but well worth every penny.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By radiogalaxy
Jun 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Nice idea, but ...

Comments When I was a beginner, I grew tired of seeing my strings oxide so fast, and was looking for a more durable alternative. So when I heard about elixir strings I was very interested and decided to try them right away. Visually, they are not different from normal strings. But they are covered with a very thin film, made of some sort of plastic, whose purpose is to protect them from moisture (and preventing oxidation by doing so).

Soundwise, I found them a little more mellow than my usual strings (d'addario EXL's) which is not necessarily a bad thing. The real problem occurred after a few hours of playing : the coating started to come off from under the strings (most likely due to the friction of the strings on the frets). Since I bought a 3 pack I also could try them two more times, unfortunately with the same results. I thought I made a wise investment (these strings are way more expensive than normal strings) but these weren't as durable as advertised.

Now I only use d'addario, and since I got into the habit of wiping the strings after each playing session, they last much longer !


Liked about it - mellow sound out of the pack, if that's what you're after then it's good thing


Didn't like - very expensive strings
- the coating isn't durable enough


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By Professor Jones
May 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

It may be a taboo to use. Up to you to find out

Comments WoW! Nanoweb, Anti-Rust plated guitar strings do sound very promising and at the price they're set at, you would think they live up to its claim - So who wouldn't want to buy a pack!? I guess it all comes down to your style of playing. If you're more of the type that picks hard and fast that plays for hours on end, WATCH OUT! The coating will easily start to come off and possibly affect your tone.


Liked about it Very nice appeal they actually look like they're made for what they claim. Although they dont sound the same after two weeks of playing, They do keep that second week sound four months later! Also depending on the make of your guitar(Elixirs only sound good on certain models) these strings will actually sound great for the first week or two.


Didn't like Some people love these things and some people don't. So it's all based on personal preferences! As for myself I think they are way over hyped and are not worth the money at all! In two weeks the strings looked as if they had been on my guitar for two months with gunk/grunge built up. I also noticed the coating was coming off quite quickly.
They sure weren't long lasting as they claimed to be and the tone of the strings went from clear and bright with bite to dull and snappy; they weren't even full sounding to begin with. I highly believe they take the lowest quality and cheapest made strings that are out there and just use there coating and call it - "Elixir"


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By Weezel
Feb 04, 2010
 
Last updated: February 08, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

I definately expected more

Comments We'll I purchased 3 sets 10-46 on ebay in the uk for around £20 normally they cost around £10 individually, however I am not impressed with these strings as I have had two sets snap with two high E's breaking typically ina situation you wouldnt expect...


Liked about it Well they do feel great, adn they seemed like they would last longer than the average string I tend to clean my strings so mine dont corrode that quickly depending on the brand, but the Elixr's do seem like they would keep going without any cleaning for a long time...


Didn't like We'll as I mentioned above I had two High E's snap on me on my RG-550 the latest one happened when I was tuning down to adjust the truss rod for some tweaking and trying to perfect the level and height of the bridge, I think i've also had one of the low strings snap at the bridge, but luckily had enough wind at the tuner to pull it back and reseat it...

Cant say i've ahd other new strings break on me like that, except for when I was starting out adn tuning far to high, makes the whole long lasting feature pointless, I would think these are far better suited to fixed and non locking bridges... I cant see myself getting another set in the near future as they are too unreliable for me, and the lack of spares means that if you snap a string near the tuner your down a set...


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By ozzuk
Feb 09, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Great Strings

Comments I have tried many brands and gauges of strings over the past 30+ years. I have found several I liked, but they never lasted very long. 15-20 hours is normal life of a set of strings for me before they lose their tone to corrosion and cause excessive fingertip friction. I assume this is due to the humid climate where I live and sweat acidity. I have used various wipe-on coatings, sprays etc. to extend string life to no avail.


Liked about it I find the nanoweb coating an improvement over the original polyweb coating. It is thinner, lasts longer, doesn't mask the tone of the string, and it doesn't separate in strands like the polyweb does. The strings have a smooth feel and seem to stay in tune very well. I can easily get 2-3 months from a set before I change them and longer if I accept a reduction in tonal quality.


Didn't like Personally, I can't think of any major dislikes about Elixirs. The coating does affect the string tone; positively or negatively is subjective. I sometimes use a different brand, especially when a good deal comes around.
Some people will complain that Elixirs are expensive. However, one set of Elixirs last me as long as 5 sets of non-coated brands.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Pamanagm
Jan 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Long lasting strings!

Comments I've been using D'Addario strings for close to twenty years, but every now and then I think it's important to try something new in case one finds something better.
I picked up a pack of Elixir strings from my local shop and put them on my Ibanez USA Custom before Christmas.
I see that other reviewers point out that they take a bit of time to set in on guitars with a locking tremolo and that was also my impression.
But as soon as the strings were set in they felt very good and kept the feeling of new strings for a long time. They did feel somewhat different due to the coating and I couldn't quite figure out if I liked this coating or not. The pro is no doubt that they feel new and fresh for longer compared to the D'Addarios, but the con is that they feel different between your fingers and the fretboard.
The coating makes the strings last longer as it helps protect against corrosion. It also makes them more slippery so you should consider if this is something that will work for or against your playing.
Tone wise I felt the Elixir strings were quite similar to the D'Addarios, so I can't complain.
I will definitely try them again but next time for a guitar with non-locking tremolo.


Liked about it - They feel like new for a long time.
- Very stable once they are set.


Didn't like - They do take a while to set in on a locking tremolo. Do not put them on just before a gig...


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By hp29
Jan 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $126
Compare Prices
at 15 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec4 spec631 spec592