Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.2 (19)
 Add a review

Ernie Ball Super Slinky Featured

 
Nickels are the most popular of the Ernie Ball Slinky guitar strings. They're made from nickel-plated steel wire wrapped around tin-plated hex-shaped steel core wire. They produce a well-balanced all-around good sound. Ernie Ball strings are precision manufactured to the highest standards and most exacting specs to assure consistency, optimum performance, and long...


Price: $2 to $25 at 17 stores
Searched Ernie Ball Super Slinky in Reviews
 

 

Nice Strings featured

Comments The best, cheapest strings there are in my opinion. I bought these strings by the truck load in my first months of guitar playing. I still might put these on my Ibanez if I feel like doing some two step string bends and attempted vibratos. They are very easy to bend, almost effortless if you go from playing the strings that i currently play ( Ernie Ball Not Even Slinky ). I'm a metal head and was skeptic about these strings at first because they were thin and all I heard about was that you need thick strings to play metal. Then I found out that jeff Hanneman ( Slayer ) plays the same gauge of strings and so I got these.

They handle standard tuning really well. If you like drop tunings, these are not for you. You can drop all the way A without a problem but the strings feel like butter. If you palm mute you instantly hit the pickups or the 24th fret. The lowest you can go and retain string tension is D. That is fine if you are like me and play thrash metal, because you normally stay in standard E. Likewise, if you are still used to heavy gauge strings, these strings will feel to easy to pick and feel weird.



Liked about it They are so cheap. I used to get mine for five dollars a pack from Guitar Center. They sound great and stay in tune well. What I like most ( as with all Ernie Ball Strings ) is the brightness that I get from them. When you put these strings on for the first time, they will blow you away. I have never heard a tone quite like the sound of brand new Ernie Ball strings. They do however, lose that brightness after about two days of playing, or that equals about ten hours for me.


Didn't like Like I said before, they loose their brightness after about ten hours of playing. And for me coming from .12-.56 gauge strings, it somewhat altered my palm muting and soloing techniques. But it only takes a day to adjust that technique


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By dburn42
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

It's Slinky, It’s Slinky the favorite of girls and boys! featured

Comments Girls love the sound of my "Super Slinkys" ;) Shop around...buy them by the dozen! They sound and play very well after you break them in and if you dont have a wammy then thats ok! These strings are easy to bend! For those of you who break strings easily, then you have another problem. Try taking a look at your bridge or Tremelo, you might need to smooth it out where the strings touch.
Its good to keep in mind that "Active" Pickups with certain brands such as "Dean Markley-Blue Steel" will sound undefined because of their High output! Actives are very heavy and enhance the oscillation of certain strings creating a dirty sound! But not with the Slinkys, They have a great defined tone! As for passives pickups they behave and sound entirely different, Passives work well with mostly all string brands! Also nickel wound strings will sound entirely different then Stainless strings!


Liked about it You can find these for about $3 a pack! IMO, the best Value. I play Metal, From Death Metal - Grindcore and havent broken a string yet! I've tried alot of strings out there and Ernie Ball gives me the cleanest and most defined sound(for Actives) They maintain there intonation and have a bright sparkling tone! What rock/metal guitarist wouldnt want there strings to stay bright? Great strings that are small but strong, cheap but Good!


Didn't like If you do apply the strings in the cold, they have a higher tendency to break on you...at about every 3 weeks I find myself replacing them because they lose there brightness. The only other brand I would recommend(for actives) is D'addarios


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Weezel
Feb 02, 2010
 
Last updated: February 03, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

classic strings great price. featured

Comments I have used these forever it seems like. I remember when i was an alternative freak lol, everyone used these.I love the brightness of these strings , but i think thats why on my ibanezez i don't like them as much as on my other axes. They are great for guitar with body , like an Lespaul or my dean.I think these strings will be around as long as guitars due to the popularity and common use of them , who cant tell what strings are in the florescent package? lol.


Liked about it I love the acoustic type sound of a fresh set of these.They sound so fresh unlike my Dean Markely blue steels i use on my Ibanezes.I only use the others due to the low end they ad to my ibbies.The price was always buy two packs for $6.00 at my local store , can't beat that.These strings are a staple of rock sound.Also a good wipe off after every plkay and these stay great sounding for a long time.


Didn't like Well i always break the high e , i dont know how but i do, but only on my ibanez guitars, on my strats and l.p type guitars never had a problem.They don't give me the required low end to deaden my Ibanez guitar but thats my personal prefrence for the sound , you may like the bright side of the force i love the dark side.hahaha. On the other hand for any of my other guitars they would't be caught dead with anything else but the Ernie Ball super slinkies. They really feel loose and thats a good thing and let the bends go off the fret board if your not carefull.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By andrewsfury
Dec 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Is it overrated? featured

Comments I tried these strings the last 2 weeks on several guitars. So I cannot talk about overall lifetime but sound etc. I had to try em because several people were saying they outperform my trusted Daddario EXL's by far.
Well I was not too fond of them. Chaning strings was much more of a hassle as you need more time in stretching until they finally become stable. I lost more 009s than usual when stretching. Then I got into some heavy usage with lots of bends and excessive trem usage. They were much less stable than my usual strings and got a much more cracky attack, which may appeal to some, but is not my cup of tea. So overall they are not my kind of strings. I am sure they would last long as they are well built, but do not stay tuned aswell as my usuals and color the sound to much for me.


Liked about it - well built
- feel


Didn't like - sound coloring
- tuning stability
- price tag


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By Tank
Nov 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Cheap and Effective

Comments Having used these strings for around 5 years i have finally decided to add my review into the market!

When playing these strings fresh and straight from the packet they feel so smooth. I was not expecting these when i first used them because of the price, and they do not take long to stretch in so this is very convenient if you are playing a gig the night you restring your guitar.

These strings add to the playability of almost any guitar because i have found them to be so smooth and feel very nice under the fingers when fresh, allowing nice high bends, even on the g string. I also love the tone you get from a fresh set of these strings, i have found they are so bright!

My only problem with these strings are they lose there brightness and slap after about 13 hours of playing i find, which is not a bad thing but i expected a lot longer, but i guess you cannot complain at ?5 a pack, can you?

As for drop tuning i would not recommend these strings as i have found you can only go to about drop d before the strings become too flimsy and unplayable. If you are looking to down tune i would recommend some Ernie ball 11.s.


Liked about it Cheap and good quality
Dont take long to stretch in.
Easy to bend when new.


Didn't like Strings loose brightness after about 13 hours.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By RyansJem
Jun 04, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Worth their weigh in gold!

Comments I bought my first package of Slinky's when I was 10 and I have used them since. I have tried D'addario, Dunlop, Elixir, etc... But I always return to these ones. They are just some kick ass strings. They have the brightness and the balls to bring an awesome tone to your guitar. I have tried thee strings with a Les Paul, a custom Stratocaster and a Jem 7VWH, they are great on non floating bridges but with the Jem I have had some problems with the bridge.

They bend effortlessly and have a really nice texture. I had a doubt on these strings but after seeing that people like Paul Gilbert, Steve Vai, John Petrucci used this strings I knew I couldn't go wrong. I buy gauge .9- .42 and love them.


Liked about it Great Tone
Incredible texture and ease when playing
Relatively Cheap


Didn't like Although they are incredible they could last a little longer compared to Elixir strings (although still great).


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By I?igoA Aug 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Cheap, But Start Sounding Dull a Little Too Soon

Comments I used these on my Ibanez rg4 guitar about a week ago. They sound amazingly bright when you first put them on, which is really a red herring effect because after only a few hours of playing it goes away, and they sound like "normal" strings. They are inexpensive, but where I shop Elixirs are only twice as much, and I like them much, much better. I do like how Ernie Ball has a wide variety of strings to choose form, but I think most of them are gimmicks (I mean, who is so rough on strings that they need them titanium coated?). I have never had one break on me when playing (other than from tuning stupidity), and I use and abuse my whammy bar.

ebsuperslinky.jpg



Liked about it 1. Inexpensive (if you've got several guitars these may be right for you)
2. Bright when new (if you don't mind changing them absurdly often ;))
3. Sturdy enough!


Didn't like 1. Loses bright sound very quickly.
2. Get rusty faster than I've seen most other strings rust.
3. Nothing particularly special about them...


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Killswitch Engag
Oct 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Good quality strings.

Comments The Ernie Ball Super Slinky set is one of these sets that I've used on and off for years. They have a great sound, feel and tension. They are very common, easy to find, and generally are quite cheap.

For me, the Ernie Ball Slinky's can sound a little bright for the first little while after you put them on, but soften a bit after you log some hours on them. I would not want to record with them after just installing them due to the brightness.

They don't have much tendency to break easily, and usually have a fairly long life.

There's nothing inherently special about the strings to me. In my opinion, they're no better/worse than a similar D'Adrrio set.


Liked about it Good life span.
Easy to find, low price.


Didn't like Nothing really stands out with these strings, for me , they're just ok.
They can sound a little bright at first.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By blackspy
Jul 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

On the Ball?

Comments These strings are as great as you can get in the string market for the price. Its always a toss-up whether to choose these or D'Addario, usually the decision is based on which is cheaper, or which is first to hand. The strings do the job, no doubt about that. One thing I notice though is that I always end up snapping EB strings, where D'Addario always last until they have to be replaced! Maybe its coincidence.


Liked about it 1. Reasonably priced.
2. Brightly packaged, so when you send someone to grab you a pack of strings you only have to say 'the illuminous pink pack, you can't miss them love'.
3. Nice bright tone.


Didn't like 1. Seem to snap, but again could be concidence, or could be lack of quality over time. I've never purposely tested this.

All in all, good cheap set of strings.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By custom24
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Decent Strings but there are better out there

Comments I used these strings on all my guitars for my first few years of playing. They sound great when you first put them on. I never really thought there was anything wrong with them until I switched ti D'Addario XL120's. I haven't gone back to the EB's since. They don't hold that snappy new string tone as long and they tarnish much more quickly. I don't think that they are bad but I've found something else that works better for me.


Liked about it 1. Cheap set of strings.
2. Nice new string tones.


Didn't like 1. Tone degrades quickly after putting new strings on, despite wiping and playing with clean hands.
2. Strings begin to tarnish within 2 weeks.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By smooth55
Dec 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Super Slinky superstrings...

Comments They have always been my first choice when changing strings, very low fret buzz even at super low action...
I have tried many, many other string companies in this gauge, but nothing since has been as well rounded as these...


Liked about it tuning stability
sound


Didn't like nothing negative


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By jemmaniac
Nov 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

My Favorite for 9's

Comments I used to use D'Addario XL120's for the guitars that I use 9 gauge strings with. I have since switched to Ernie Ball Super Slinky's for my 1st choice in restringing my 9 gauge setup guitars. I do however, prefer the D'Addario XL110 10 gauge strings for my 10 gauge setup guitars. Go figure.


Liked about it These strings have the right amount of tension for standard tuning. They sound and feel great.


Didn't like Nothing negative to report for 9 gauge. I prefer D'Addario XL110's for 10 gauge strung guitars though.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Robotechnology
Nov 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

good strings

Comments Been using them for many years.


Liked about it sounds good and has a good lifespan


Didn't like nothing


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By slash
Nov 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Super Slinky 0.9

Comments I've been using it for about 7 years and they last longer than other labels.
Its brightness last longer too.


Liked about it 1- Life time

2- Sound

3- No rust


Didn't like Nothing bad about it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By 6fingers
Oct 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Super smoooooth and inexpensive

Comments Have been using 9-42's for the last 20 years. Rarely do I break the low e, even during solos of rage. Being inexpensive, comfortable, and keeping there integrity quite long.


Liked about it Compared to other brands I have tried I like the feeling of the strings being "round" in nature. When I tried some Boomers, they felt like they had a square shape to them-not comfortable.Super slinky's are easier to bend and it feels more buttery when using vibrato. The super slinky's seem to adjust rather quickly after setup and have a reasonably long life before changing out.I can go a few weeks with playing them daily before changing.


Didn't like I guess then not being free would be the only complaint. The only complaint I have is when they changed the original plastic cover that came with the strings. I used to use that cover to keep old low e's in case of replacement. Now the strings are packaged in a generic tin foil strange wrapper.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Chompers777
Jun 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Good strings for a reasonable price

Comments I used Ernie Ball Super Slinky strings for several years simply because I could buy them in bulk for a low price. They have a good sound, not the best, but quite acceptable. Unfortunately, for me, they don't last long. I bought 25 packs for $45 in 1997 and I still have a few of them left since I seldom use them anymore.


Liked about it 1) Very good prices can be found, especially in multi-packs.
2) They have a consistent tone and construction.
3) They hold up to tremolo usage well.


Didn't like They don't last me very long. Tone seems diminished after only a few hours of use.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Pamanagm
Jun 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

When in doubt choose Ernie Ball

Comments The best thing about these strings is that they are inexpensive and highly available. I had an emergency and needed strings immediately. I went down to local guitar store and picked up a back of Super Slinkys without hesitation. I needed .09's and Super Slinkys were at hand.

I had switched from Hybrids which I really enjoyed, but the high E broke due to excessive bending licks. These however are lighter and more consistent. The light top/heavy bottom thing just wasn't for me. I needed something that was more consistent all the way through.

It took me a couple of days to break them in and they sounded really bright for those couple of days and had a lot more tension. By default, I like Super Light Elixers and they are my first choice. However, they aren't available where I am, so I chose the next best thing. They are nickle plated strings with a hexagonal core which means that the nickle winding stays in place and doesn't slip. You can feel it when you play.

I'm playing a set consisting of Rock/Blues/Metal and these strings tolerate a lot of bends without losing tune and breaking. I'd get them again.


Liked about it +Availability
+Keeps tune and doesn't break when punished with bends
+Good for a mixed repertoire


Didn't like +I'm a little biased, I like my Elixers with the NANOWEB coating, and the great tone
+I would like a little more bend out of them


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By psychokannibal
Jun 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

My 9 Gauge Option of Choice!

Comments These are a good solid set of strings. They come in a sealed package, and always seem to be fresh (something about the smell of the freshly opened package is nice :D ). I don't like paper slips, but these being in individual sleeves makes it impossible to mix them up unless you're not paying attention. Tone is nice and bright when first fitted, but fades rather quickly. Usually I don't like that fact about non-coated strings, but these seem to retain enough brightness to satisfy, even if it's just a little bit. I clean my strings pretty often, and these respond very well to that, as you can restore that nice bright sound easily. The best part about these is the FEEL. Hands down they are the smoothest uncoated 9 option I've found. Others seem to tarnish and tear up your fingers when getting old and abused, but these retain enough smoothness for that to not present itself as an issue.


Liked about it -Good bright tone when fitted
-Retains an acceptable amount of brightness. Responds well to cleaning
-Awesome SMOOTH feel!!!


Didn't like I honestly like these enough to where I can't say much about them that's negative. If they could take a page from D'Addario's book and cut down on package material that'd be cool. No big deal though.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Bronx
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Best strings ever for any guitar

Comments Hands down most dependable and trustworthy string I've put on my guitar. I've tried at least 8-9 other brands. Anyone who says these strings are no good look on the back of the package to see who disagrees. There was a comment about stretching the strings further down the line, Saying they broke more .009's from having to stretch the strings...you're not suppose to stretch your high E at all.


Liked about it Great sound, durability, I don't have to worry about bending a string till you feel every bit of tension through the sound and having it break on me. I will most likely never switch to another brand again...maybe for fun on a guitar I don't use too often.

OH! And all the string packages are great for doodling and writing bits of lyrics on as well. That lined paper can be intimidating ;)


Didn't like There's not a single thing I can say badly about these strings.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By anecdota
Jun 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $25
Compare Prices
at 17 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec3 spec174 spec592