Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (28)
 Add a review

D'Addario EKXL120 Tremolo 009 Super Light Electric Guitar Strings Featured

 
D'Addario KXL Electric Guitar strings offer the three plain steel strings with a soldered twist for incresed strength at the ball end. XL strings are world-renowned as "The Player's Choice" amongst guitar players of all genres and styles. XL strings...


Price: $2 to $35 at 8 stores
Searched D'Addario EKXL120 Tremolo 009 Super Light Electricitar Strings in Reviews
 

 

Great consistancy, quality and tone! featured

Comments I've lived in Taiwan for 6 years, what better place to put strings to the test with extreme humidity and temperatures.

The D'Addario strings lasted 30% longer than Ernie ball strings. Something that plays an important roll in this is of course that D'Addario's have been packed air tight for ages. Ernie balls were not packed air tight until the summer of 2009, so perhaps the new ernie ball strings deserve another chance.

Of course resisting rust is not everything. I also compared the D'Addario strings to Elixir nano web coated strings. Once again the D'Addario strings lasted 30% longer. The Elixir strings did not rust at all but with regular use of the floyd rose bridge the Elixir strings break easily.


Liked about it - Consistant quality
- Great tone (more "alive", more treble and punch than other strings)
- Eco friendly packaging
- Air tight packaging
- Good price


Didn't like - D'Addario could look into heavier gauge strings as there missing out on quite a market there.
- No coated or coloured versions


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By nosi0
Nov 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Old idea finally catches on... featured

Comments I've been doing this for years on my tremolo guitars on which you don't have to cut off the ball ends--one of my first tremolo-equipped guitars had a Kahler Flyer on it and they were notorious for having the unraveling problem. I just put a small bit of thin solder around the winds to keep the strings from unraveling from around the ball end. Don't know why I'd pay someone else to do it for me now...


Liked about it Don't have to do the work myself.
Will help other players who have the "unraveling" problem.


Didn't like Like some others mentioned, the difference in sound was either over-compensated and the strings sounded too bright, or the strings sounded muted and dead, which is most likely attributable to the variance in the solder job done on the strings. If you really have this problem, do the soldering yourself--it's great practice!!


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By racerevlon
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Maybe It's Just Me featured

Comments Don't get me wrong, they make a great string. Thing is that they go "dead" super fast to me. Also, not sure if it's just my style of playing or what but the 009s sound way too bright for my taste. Tone knob on my UV would be rolled all the way just to cut the searing highs produced by these which took away the "girth" of the guitars tone. They are also too weak for heavy picking or trem work. Chances are (judging by the other opinions on this one) you will like these strings. I am on a budget and wouldn't use these unless I was endorsed by them so I could afford to swap as often as needed to maintain tonal integrity.


Liked about it I don't think anyone can argue that their inital sound is out of this world. They are perfect sounding strings, and play very well while still intact.


Didn't like Once tuned up and stretched in, all the majic starts pouring and apparently from a shallow bucket. Tone dies (for me, consistantly) 3-4 days after leaving the package and played at least an hour a day, and that's being nice about it. Also, I may be ruffling some feathers on thie review, but (in my experience with...) I have never been string whipped by any other brand of that guage like I do with these. Then again, I may be alone on this one.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By THE UNIVERSAL ON
Oct 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best String Around

Comments These are probably the best string around for the money and for the use. If you gig or play regularly you probably get a 1-4 weeks out of a set of strings depending on use and the D'Addario product line tends to hold tune, and tone well through the playing life of the string. Little known fact these are the exact same string that Ernie Ball sells for 2-5 dollars more a pack. D'addario owns them or the other way around it is a little foggy. So any of you using Ernie Balls (the pink pack) this is a exact replacement for less money. Make the switch you won't regret it.


Liked about it -Holds Tune through duration of string life
-Color coded ball ends. Always know what string you have.
-Incredible value, especially if you buy them in bulk. 10 single packs or 10 3xpack boxs.
-Consistent, no wild variations between packs.


Didn't like Include a resealable zip lock bag. So if you need just one string from the pack you have a place to put the rest of the back instead of trying to shove it back into a tore up piece of plastic. But now I am just being picky.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By cpallstar
Dec 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Simply use these on all of my guitars..

Comments I use these strings on all of my guitars.
If you have a guitar with a tremelo, hardtail or whatever, they are perfect for all of them.
On tremelo guitars they work perfect for the tremelo, really easy and light to handle.
Also the bends are extremely easy to do, but still really accurate and thight.
The price is really worth it compared to strings like ernie ball and GHS etc.
the coating is also really nice and smooth.
You can use them for every tuning your like aslong as your guitar is set-up to this tuning ofcourse.


Liked about it These strings always stay in tuning, even when they are like 6 months old.
Compared to Ernie ball these strings just wont go rusty, and when they do(which takes a really long time), just simply putt some fast fret on the strings and the rust will be gone.
The sound of these strings is just so nice and bright, and that tone stays.
it just doesnt fade away after using it 2 weeks.

So yeah, these strings are totally worth the price.


Didn't like Can't tell anything i don't like about them.
I think i already had like 100 sets of them on my guitars and seriously, only 2 times one strings snapped, both of the times the high e string.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IbanezRick
Oct 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

The only string I use!

Comments I've been using these for several years, now. After going through Ernie Ball and GHS strings over the years, my search for "my" strings ended with these. They are inexpensive, but durable and sound great. They also seem to corrode at a slower rate than comparable strings. I've had a set on my RG-570 for 3 months, without being in the case and they still look and feel new.


Liked about it 1. Price--I buy these in bulk, and they're dirt cheap.
2. Durability--these last longer on average than any other string I've used.
3. They have a nice, bright tone.


Didn't like Nothing! These are great strings, and won't let you down.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
Apr 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best strings hands down!!

Comments I have always been a fan of .09 gauge strings. The lighter gauge strings allow for increase ability to bend strings and a smoother overall feel. It was a no brainer when it came time to decide what brand I should use. I was a long time user of ernie ball .10's, but once i discovered the Daddario .09's it was all over. I string all my guitars with these strings when i use E standard tuning. These are incredible strings worth investigating!


Liked about it The life of the strings is a definite major plus. These strings keep their overall feel much longer than ernie ball and dean markley. They have a nice "glassy" feel right out of the package, that is very pick friendly. I also liked the fact that they color coded each string, so you never have to guess as to where each string goes during setup. I suggest everyone try Daddario at least once in their lifetime!


Didn't like I have nothing negative to add. The quality is vastly superior to other string manufactures. Try em' out and you will see what all the hype is about!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

One of the finest strings available

Comments They're perhaps the most popular guitar strings , and they're truly value for money. They're not too expensive either .. lol




Liked about it 1.) quite durable
2.) Perfect finish
3.) great sounding


Didn't like I dnt expect anything more from them :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By metal
Jan 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Theyre just the best !!

Comments I have been playing guitar for just over 5 years now and at the start of my playing, i used ernie ball strings, but they quickly went dull and they broke easily and then a friend of mine introduced me to D'addarios and oh man i was blown away ! They stayed sounding great for ages !! I have never broken a string with these !! Theyre easy on the fingers and brilliant from shredding ! I use the 9 - 46 gauge, mainly play metal and shred but also play a lot of other different styles and i could definitely tell you that these strings can be used for any style.


Liked about it If you think about the quality of these strings and the price = Amazing. They're very cheap and they're one of the best brand of strings out there. I love how you can get the 3 pack too which is even cheaper :) Ive never broken a string with these whilst using the floyd rose. And The Players points can get you free stuff off their website if you collect the packets!


Didn't like If you can find something not to like about these strings, then you have a problem.
They're the best strings money can buy overall.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Speedabob
Dec 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Very good strings for a fair price

Comments I've been using these for the past 11 years. They sound very good in all my electric guitars and last a long time if cleaned properly. When new, they aren't as bright as other strings I've used (like Dean Markley Blue Steel), which is nice (personal preference).


Liked about it - Sounds good
- Fair price
- Can be bought in packs of 3 sets


Didn't like - Package could be more resistant - I've bought some in which the plastic bag was pierced
- Although it lasts a long time, there are better products in the market with higher durability
- Lack of brightness in tone may annoy some players


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By carlos seo
Nov 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

The Standard

Comments I have tested countless strings and always come back to this strings.
They have no real ultra plus that makes them outstanding, but they also have no real weakness. They sound good, they last average, they do not let you down when you are using the trem extensively etc. and they are affordable enough.


Liked about it - Sound
- Price
- Lifetime


Didn't like - Packaging could be better
- Color Coding is hard to read in low light conditions
- Bulk Packaging is even worse


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Tank
Oct 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Consistency in a packet!!!!

Comments This review comes from someone that plays thrash/metal prog!! Main guitar is an Ibanez Universe UV7BK, UV777PBK and Rg7420.
I have used D'Addario 9-42 strings for many moons!! They have stayed consistent in sound throughout my years of playing guitar. They are bright and crisp in sound, have great flexability with bends and work well with a tremolo. I have never come across a pack that didnt reach par. Many other brands i have tried but keep coming back to old faithful...even if the other brands are dearer or claim this and that. The only of the brand of string that have come close are the Dean Markley Blue Steels.....but again i return to the D'Addario's!!
Another bonus with D'Addario is the player points where if you save up enough player points, theres a range of merchandise you get for free...bar the shipping!!!
All in all, a great product worthy of your time and money!!


Liked about it 1- consistent
2- bright and crisp in sound
3- dont rust up as fast as other brands ive tried


Didn't like 1- harder to find 7 string sets because i mainly play 7's
2- maybe an updated print on the box!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By UV-7-BK
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Awesome strings

Comments I've been using D'Addario strings for several years. I've used Ernie Ball, GHS, and some other brands over the years. D'Addario just do it for me. They sound great and seem to corrode slower than other brands. I've had a set on my Ibanez for 8 months now, and they still sound great. I can't remember the last time I actually broke a string!


Liked about it Price
Color coded ball ends
Tone


Didn't like All strings put into one package. I prefer each string be packaged separately.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By javashred
Aug 11, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best set of string for whammy users.

Comments I only ever use D'Addario string on tremolo equipped guitars.


Liked about it They have a really flexible string compared to other brands, almost like they were designed for whammy use. They are nice and bright just the way I like strings. Decent lifespan, I've made these strings last 6+ months on some guitars that don't get regular playing. They don't break at the bridge as much as other strings either. I also like the colored ball ends and the eco-friendly packaging.


Didn't like They corrode a little faster than I like when you play them a lot. They can lose some tone after a month or so, but nothing thats too noticeable.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By brothersnowgone
Oct 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best Strings for the Money

Comments I use XL120's on all my electrics with or without trems. Love these strings.


Liked about it These strings stay in tune, last long, ring true, and haven't let me down in over 15 years.


Didn't like They don't install themselves.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Billyb63
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

I love it.

Comments I have been using since I started playing guitar. I feel no different from every brands. I tried many and feel no differences.


Liked about it 1. Simple package. Just one sealed plastic bag not many envelopes like others.
2. They have the package of 3, 10 sets which cheaper if I buy more.
3. I like the color of the ball end. Its easy to recognise what string I pick from the package.


Didn't like Only one thing I just dont know how to pronouce the name D'addario !!! dee - add - da - ri - oh or dad - da - ri -oh ....someone helps me! hahahaha ...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By here.choo
Oct 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Only strings i use!

Comments I use EKXL120's on all my trem equipped guitars. These specific strings are the only strings i use!


Liked about it Nice sound, not too expensive, stay in tune very well, last very long, variety of gauges in the XL line.


Didn't like All strings put into one plastic package, not individual package for each string.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IBNZ_RG
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best strings money can buy

Comments I have used D'Addario strings since 1993 (incidently that was the last time i ever broke a string)i kid you not.
The packaging is not whaste full like other brands that have an outer packet, plastic cover, 6 iner packets. They are very responsive and give good tone.


Liked about it 1, No over the top packaging.
2, They last a long time.
3, They are reasonably priced.


Didn't like I once restrung my guitar and loaned the guitar to a friend to play a gig with as his was broken. When it was returned to me the next day the strings were dull sounding and had to be replaced due to my friend s sweat atacking the strings. I must admit my hands dont sweat much so i had never encountered this problem before. The moral of the story is folk.... if you have sweaty hands these (or many other brands) of strings are not for you.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By jonnyboy mills
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Good standard String Set

Comments I've been using these for as long as I can remember, I've not really swayed to other brands or guage sizes since I was first introduced to them as I've always been happy with them.


Liked about it 009's are the typical size most people use for electric. And this brand and size is used by many of the top leading guitarists out there. When new they create a bright sound and they last quite a while before they become dull. They are strong too, I haven't broken a string in years and years! (touch wood). Good for all types of playing and sound and 009's are good for bending, not too light to break and not too thick to struggle to bend.


Didn't like Nothing I dont like about them.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By richard1973
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

The string of choice for Rockers!

Comments I grew up reading the endorsement thank you parts from my favorite guitarists on my cassettes and records so when I picked up the guitar the natural thing was for me to use them. Quality wise though they are great and they last me anywhere from 6 months to a year!!!


Liked about it I love them simple as that.


Didn't like The price is getting a bit steep but they are still worth it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By OLIE_ROCKS_THE_8
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Never consider anything else..........

Comments I have always used d`addario strings, wether on a fixed bridge or with edge trem system. They have never let me down, i have never broken a d`addario, once stretched in they hardly ever stretch any more.


Liked about it If fitted properley and stretched in they are good to last, never break in my experience, but obviously would if they are old, rusty, tarnished or damaged.

When new they sound great, good harmonics, nice and silky on the fingers.


Didn't like Depending on how much you play, they react fairly quickly to the sweat, grease and acid on your skin and dont tend to last long, they discolour quickly and then lose their tonal response.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Aeolian555
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

The reliable string for your electric guitar.

Comments I've been using this set for the past 7 years. They're reliable and stay in tune pretty well. I even have let them for more than a year in some cases and they still stay in tune. I like the way they feel so much that I even put them on my acoustic.


Liked about it Reliable,
Stay in Tune.
Can stand abuse for a long period of time.
Flexible.
The anti rust package is great.


Didn't like The package. Because the strings come winded altogether. One bag with subdivisions will do.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By einarabelc5
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Great Allrounder / Industry Standard

Comments These strings are a great all rounder for most styles of playing. D'Addario set the benchmarks for strings and these are pretty much their prime product.

Excellent value and very eco-friendly packaging. I use these strings quite a lot on many of my electric guitars.


Liked about it 1. Affordable
2. Good Sounding / Not to tinny
3. Eco friendly Packaging


Didn't like nothing really.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Whey
Aug 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Best String Ever

Comments The XL120 feel great right out of the pack. They are sealed up to stay fresh. I've kept strings on some of my guitars for months, and never had a problem with corrosion/rust, and they've kept a great sound. Pull 'em out of the pack, stretch them out and your set to rock.


Liked about it Like how they are packaged.
Love how they sound, and very user friendly
they stretch out well and stay in tune.
Even used strings stay alive longer than some of the other strings on the market.


Didn't like Can't say I can find something I don't like.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By OME
Aug 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Worth the money

Comments I started using d'Addario's once I bought my first Ibanez. The strings are nice and they seem to maintain a good tone.


Liked about it They last long
they sound good
They don't turn dark


Didn't like the different color ball ends.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By jb4674
Aug 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Good price/quality

Comments I've used these strings (and the .010-.046 set too) for some years in the past. I don't use them anymore because I found another brand that pleases me more.


Liked about it Price, sealed packaging. Great for touring situations when you need to change strings every 2 days.


Didn't like I always wipe my guitars after playing. Nevertheless, these strings rust too easily and lose tone/tuning very fast.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Crazy_Guitar
Aug 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Good Quality

Comments I use these on most of my guitars. I usually wipe my instruments down after I play, but I've noticed that these retain a brighter, clearer tone longer than some of the other brands I've used over the years. I've compared them to Ernie Balls' Super Slinkys and Blue Steels pretty extensively and they last the longest without corrossion.


Liked about it 1. They last a long time and maintain their tone.
2. They resist corrossion better than the other strings I've tried.
3. I've only broken one high E string between 5 guitars over the last 2 years of exclusive use.


Didn't like There's nothing about them I don't like. They work well for me and there isn't really a negative about them to me.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By smooth55
Aug 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores

Excellent

Comments Great strings, the 10-46 set have excellent tension, last well and sound great - Recommended on an Ibanez as a bare minimum - Lovely on a Strat. They must also be near the top of the heap when it comes to value for money.


Liked about it 1)Hold there tuning very well.
2)Consistently good and reliable Bendability is great.
3)Have a very nice crisp, bright sound


Didn't like No comment because I like em :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Zepp3lin
Aug 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $35
Compare Prices
at 8 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec3 spec170 spec592