Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.1 (14)
 Add a review

Dean Markley 2555 Blue Steel Heavy Electric Guitar Strings Featured

 
Musical Instruments


Price: $3 to $36 at 13 stores
Searched Dean Markley 2555 Blue Steel Heavy Electric Guitarrings in Reviews
 

 

The Best Strings Made, And Heres Why: featured

Comments A little while ago, i was performing a Jeff Buckley Song and it got me into his stuff, so i started chasing his tone, So i bought an USA Fender Telecaster, and finagled myself a Fender 65 Twin (And alot later i found myself a Mesa Single Rectifier But it didn't help much for the tone unless i Bi-amped them but they were far too loud for any gig that wasn't in the middle of a field on a scaffold.) I got the huge reverb sound and the chimes that he got but it was missing the mellow tone! I couldn't figure out what it was. I had a friend suggest perhaps it was the strings, i tried many and fender bullets were the closest i got but he said, "Why not use the ones he did?".

So i tracked them down and did just that!

Since then ive used them on my now three main guitars i use now, an Ibanez USCGR, An Ibanez RG2550MZ GW, A Tokai Original Series SX and the fender i mentioned into a Fender 65' Twin and a Mesa Boogie single rectifier


Liked about it Beautiful, feel smooth, look cool and the best point the tone. The sound these strings produce are not only amazing and unique but cut through the mix with perfect clear clarity with tight bass, LOTS of tight bass.

More features of these strings, because they're stainless steel they last an amazing amount of time! and the have a slightly blue shimmery look too which makes the double cool! I have used these strings for just about everything!


Didn't like The bad things about these strings are that firstly, They can be a little stiff out of the packet, yet they sound worn in. Very odd.

Secondly, If you like a, "Muddier" Sound (For the likes of jazz and blues or whatever you would like to play) These strings might be just a little TOO clean.

Finally, they're difficult to get in the UK unless you get them from the internet


It looks that Dean Markley took a chance with these cryogenic strings and it totally worked

4.5 stars because its not 100% perfect but the best (In my opinion) by far

Big The Cat


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Big The Cat
Dec 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Not bad. But you can do much better at the same price

Comments These are not bad. Dean Markley is a very good company, in fact, my second most favorite one(most favorite being DR). I tried these strings out because I was at the shop, i NEEDED new strings, and these were the only ones other than Ernie Ball and GHS.
Overall, it is a very good set, just not the set I would take. I like easy to bend strings, and don't want to have to work like hell for a simple 2 step bend. That's what I found in the


Liked about it 1) Strong. Has survived whammy bar abuse for about 2 months now.
2) Resonant. This could just be my ears, or some DR/Dean Markley thing, but with any string set made by the 2 companies, I notice a small increase in sustain, and It/s ability to not cut off during vibrato.
3) Doesn't get rusted too fast. It stays non rusted for more than 4 times as long as Ernie Ball strings.


Didn't like 1) Hard on fingers.
2) Hard to bend.
3) Pick slides sound odd.
It should be a bit less stiff, in short. Not everyone may agree, but then, to each their own.
I know it doesn't seem that way from this review, but these are actually pretty good. Better than ANY Ernie Ball set in the world. Just not what I want in my strings.
Anyway, if you buy it,


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5

By nikm13
Dec 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great strings...but

Comments There was a time that I used nothing but these strings. I love them. The first thing you will notice about these strings is that they sound different from other strings. With other strings, you go through a period where the strings have a slightly brighter tone for a day or so. Some might say that the brighter tone is better, which might be true for "chorus-ed" sounds, but since that tone doesn't last past a couple of days, you'd have to replace strings daily to maintain that brightness.

These strings have the "broken in" tone right out of the box, and that tone is consistent throughout the life of the set of strings.


Liked about it The tone is the same at the end of the life of the string set, as it is the day you open the box.


Didn't like Price is a little high, especially if you have many guitars.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By lespauled
Jul 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Long Lasting, Unique Tone.

Comments True In The World of Better Guitar Strings, Dean Markley's Blue Steel Strings Will Make You Feel Like Your So Smart!
And Boy, Good Strings Really DO Make A Difference! Over Those Ernie Balls or GHS Boomers Even!


Liked about it Long Lasting, And Since They're "Stainless Steel" they Are Immune To Moisture Sweat & Most Skin Acids & Grease.


Didn't like If You Got Nickel-Silver Fret-wire, Like 99.9% of us Do the Blue Steel Stainless Steel Strings Are Actually Denser than Your Fret-Wire and You'll Have Nice Crispy Blue Steel Strings and Flattened Fret-wire, In Need of A Re-Fret! Not that thats Such a Bad Thing~?

But After I Thought I Had Made Such A Wonderful Discovery with The "Blue Steel's" A Friend Turned me On To D'Addario XL110 Nickel Wound Steel Strings And Discovered What Real TONE IS! Without Needing To Shell Out Big Bucks Evry Year For A New Fret Job!


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By Metalbucker
Apr 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

great tone

Comments I have played them for more then ten years . When i started playing guitar i never realy thought to much about what string where on my guitar . But after some time i soon found out the there was a huge differnce between not only the feel but the sound of the strings . That is when i started trying new strings while some sounded great , they just didn;t last more then a few day;s . Buy that i mean i would put new strings on my guitar and a few day lter they would start to rust . Now i was looking for a set of guitar strings that would last , so i could send more time playing guitar and less time changing strings . Around this time i seen a ad in one of my guitar magazines for blue steel strings , so i give them a trying . The blue steel guitar strings sounded great and best of all the felt great for more then a few days . So needless to say my search for a better guitar string was over thanks to blue steel strings .


Liked about it The feel of blue steel strings has allways been smooth and even . I like the tone of these strings , great mids . The free sticker was a nice touch also .


Didn't like Price . It can be hard to find blue steel strings in some stores . I would also see the blue steel stickers come back .


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By shydude6996
Mar 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

" Definitely quality strings"

Comments I've been using DM Blue Steels for years. I started out on bass and they were the best for that application aswell. I've since became a lead guitar player and still find that DM Blue Steels are my favorite. If you haven't tried then they're worth it.


Liked about it 1.Long lasting
2.Great tone
3.Very Durable


Didn't like I've heard that playing Stainless Steel strings can be prematurely where out frets. However I've really haven't noticed that on the guitars I play which are ESP's.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By S0LER666
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great strings

Comments I get these out when I need something to thicken up my rhythms on recordings. They do an excellent job of getting a good thick sound that stays articulate. No muddy tones from these and I think it has a lot to do with the gauge. I can't speak for the other gauges of Blue Steels, but these are good quality and have a long life.


Liked about it 1. Good thick sounds that don't get muddy.
2. Long life with articulate tone.


Didn't like 1. Can't play these all the time because I prefer a lighter gauge but that's more a reality of the situation than a dislike.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Nov 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Best strings out there

Comments Just like %99.99999999 of other guitarists, I used EB for the longest time before these and well I got sick of how little lifespan they had. I'd read reviews that the blue steels maintain their life like no other string and I am here to write another review saying just the same. These are the longest lasting, best sounding strings I've ever used. They sound the same 3months from the day that you put them on. Fantastic product


Liked about it 1. Sound
2. Lifespan
3. Playability - they feel just like the EB's i used to rock


Didn't like 1. Price is really the only bad thing to say about these


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By GroovyTubes
Oct 14, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

The Duracell of strings

Comments I put a set of Blue Steel on an Ibanez RG370 last month. Normally I go through a set of strings in 10 days since I play a lot and also sweat on my hands. Plus of course I'm a junkie to the feeling of new strings! ;)
Much to my surprise they still feel good!
They have a great tone and feel and seems to last much longer than the D'Addario strings.
Also compared to D'Addario the Blue Steel feels a bit stiffer. I guess it's a matter of both preference and getting used to. Tuning wise I am very satisfied. Even with severely whammy bar usage they stay in tune.
Sound wise they are a bit different than what I'm used to with D'Addario. I'm very pleased with the sound when I play riffs and rhythm, but for lead work on the high register they don't work to well for me. Again surely just a matter of taste, but still worth mentioning.


Liked about it - Great tone
- Very good stability
- Long lasting


Didn't like - A bit stiff, so they fit great for rhythms but not so good for soloing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By hp29
Jan 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

is it hype???

Comments Using markleys for 20+ yrs. Never been swayed by boomers
or slinkys or whatever...these are different, some good, some bad...


Liked about it Great tone (they are markleys)...awesome lifespan, hold tune very well.


Didn't like The only thing i can complain about is the feel. I usually play traditional 10's...these seem to have a weird feel to them, especially when new. Kinda brittle, or "cold". But once broken in , GREAT


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By mtldad
Mar 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

My Number 1 Choice

Comments For about 2 years I was searching for my main pair of strings and in that search I went through dozens of strings and the pair that stood out to me was Dean Markley's Blue Steel. These things handle everything that I throw at it with flying colors whether its jazz or metal.


Liked about it -Great life
-Great tone
-Easy on the fingers (ive had bad experiences with other string brands)


Didn't like Nothing really bad to say about these strings other than I wish my guitar heroes would endorse these hahaha


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Emericavox
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Excellent strings

Comments I started 28 years ago using Super Slinky's. They lasted a month with heavy playing and always broke. I've been using the Blue Steel for 25 years and I can count the number of strings I've broken on one hand. Great strings


Liked about it 1. Stay in tune
2. Don't break EVER
3. Last a long time


Didn't like Nothing I don't like. That's why I've used them for 25 years.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By finstah
Aug 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

frozen performance

Comments Being a metal/prog/thrash player, i give my strings a decent workout. Im forever chasing that unique tone and the Blue Steels definitely help you do that!! Straight out of the pack, the feel fresh and have a bright nature to them. The lower strings seem to have a little more definition the thinner, but overall,i believe they are a type of string worth trying out and wont let you down!!
Used on an Ibanez RG550, the guitar had a great tone with the string change and didnt rust up as soon as i though they would.....but unfortunately found them to not stay as bright as long as other brands! Still worthy of your hard earned money none the less!!


Liked about it 1-Unique tone
2-Quite crisp and fresh with cryo seal!


Didn't like Overall happy with the strings so ive got nothing bad to say!!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By UV-7-BK
Aug 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great tone and life.

Comments Blue Steel Electric Guitar strings are made of cryogenically treated stainless steel. And you can tell. Blue Steel strings last a noticeable amount longer than nickel-steel strings, and the tone that comes out of them is quite unique. I found that it especially gave more tone on the lower, thicker strings.


Liked about it 1. Heavier tone than many other strings available.
2. Longer life due to stainless steel.
3. The ability to really feel the strings and grip them.


Didn't like They can sometimes, on rare occasions, be hard to use when first put on the guitar, as they are quite solidly built. Therefore, they need a bit of extra "playing in" before you go out for a gig.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Pursuit
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $36
Compare Prices
at 13 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec6 spec171 spec592