Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (11)
 Add a review

Ibanez RG350M Featured

 
The Ibanez RG350M electric guitar is very comfortable for extended playing. The super thin, super flat Wizard II neck and the jumbo frets offer easy playing ....


Price: $2 to $450 at 9 stores
Searched Ibanez RG350M in Reviews
 

 

A good mid range Ibanez for it's price featured

Sound The INFs on Ibanez aren't really good at all, but that doesn't mean that the guitar is a bad guitar. The pick ups are not bad but just isn't good enough. With a pick up swap, the sound of the guitar can be tremendously improved.


Action, Fit, & Finish Finish is very well done. As usual, Ibanez do a pretty good job in finishing their guitars. The one I've gotten is a 2011 made Indonesian RG, that comes equipped with the Edge Zero II. The routing are all routed nicely while the setup is decent for playing. It can be better though.

features a Wizard III neck, sporting a thin profile of 19mm on the first fret while 21mm on the 21 fret. The difference between the Wizard III and the previous non Japan made Wizard II will be the extra meat at the sides of the neck, giving it a chunkier feel. Now, even though it feels chunkier compared to the previous incarnation, it does also however feels "thinner" than the Wizard II. Think of it in terms of a Thin U shape vs a Thin D shape profile. However, this is by no means a baseball bat neck of the Gibson and is by all means very shred-able.

It also features a 400mm radius (16") which is in my opinion the perfect balance for easy chording and scaling. 43mm nut width (the others being 42mm) provides a wider width for the neck giving sufficient string spacing for fast scale runs.

The guitar comes equipped with a Basswood body which is being used by many famous guitar virtuosos as their main choice of wood such as Paul Gilbert, Joe Satrani and John Pettrucci. Basswood is deemed as a neutral sounding wood giving a lot of potential to the voicing of the pick ups. Additionally, Basswood is lightweight and is perfect for Floyd Rose tremolo equipped guitars, allowing the player to withstand hours performing on stage with the guitar strap on.

Lastly, what differentiates this model from it's previous incarnations is the more than decent Ibanez designed Edge Zero II bridge comes equipped with this Guitar. Not only does it provides tuning stability, it also provides the player the option of taking out the Zero system turning the bridge into a full floating tremolo. The bridge also has the advantage of buttery smooth action of pulling up and whamming down while locking studs, which are once again being introduced with this new bridge, providing superior tuning stability.


Reliability & Durability This guitar is definitely very reliable. With the newly equipped bridge, the guitar can go on in a gig without back up needed. I believe that Ibanez uses an epoxy based finish and is pretty thick to so to speak. The chances of the paint chipping off from a knock is higher than wearing off with playing.


Customer Support Never dealt with before.


Liked about it Thin and comfortable neck.
Maple Fretboard.
Very stable bridge.


Didn't like Muddy pick ups.
Electronics included with the guitar can be better.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By faekildare
Aug 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

A diamond in the rough featured

Sound I play mostly classic hard rock and eighties metal and my amp of choice is the Jet City JCA20H with matching JCA12S cab. While I have a plethora of pedals at my disposal I always run anything new I'm playing straight in to gauge the true sound of the instrument. This one was fresh out of the box and strung with the factory installed strings which, I believe, are D'Addario 9's.

First impression was that the tone was a little thin and brighter than what I'm used to. Understand that I'm not a tone snob and I have no problems with stock pickups if they are decent. My S320's Infinity 1 and 2 pickups are rich and smooth with a nice bassy flavor to them. The Infinity 3 And 4 on this are missing a lot of that boom, In fact I'd say they're missing a lot of character, period. They just don't have any personality. Part of that may be the maple and basswood combination but I don't think it's that much, I have a Peavey Wolfgang Exp that has much more life to it than this does. I do plan on upgrading the pick ups at some point.


Action, Fit, & Finish This is a mixed bag, a little good a little bad. I'm honestly not one to compare as I feel like each guitar is a work unto itself and each should be viewed as such but I couldn't help comparing this one to my Korean S320 mainly because they are both Ibanez products and both imports in the same price range. The Indonesian RG350 just doesn't quite stack up. But, like I said, good and bad. I actually really like the Wizard II neck on the RG, it's thin and comfortable and more like an actual Wizard neck in that respect than the Korean Wizard II. The finish on it is matte and a little like unfinished wood so it's super easy to grab hold of. Out of the box, it needed a little tweaking but not much and I really like the flip top truss rod cover for adjustments on the fly without having to unscrew a bunch of stuff and put it back together.

The one thing about the neck I'm not happy with is the fretwork. I thought my neck was warped until I realized the frets were incredibly uneven. The edges are the worst I've ever felt, sharp and protruding all along the side. It definitely needs work. Amazingly, I don't get a lot of fret buzz so I hope a little TLC will take it from an ok guitar to amazing.

The neck joint is done very well with no light showing in the cracks and the body itself looks quite nice. The only real flaw I see (if you can call it that) is a little roughness around the trem pocket which will probably clean up with a little work inside there. The yellow finish is glorious and really has to be seen to be appreciated.

I have no problems with the hardware, the Edge III tremolo I've heard so many nasty things about stays in tune and seems fine.


Reliability & Durability Other than the neck flaws, it feels pretty solid and I think it would hold up to regular playing fine once it's been set up properly.


Customer Support Haven't had to deal directly with them.


Liked about it The color is amazing! The whole reason I wanted this guitar was the sex appeal, the yellow with the maple neck and black accents is just tasty.

It has a nice, thin neck that's easy to grab hold of and play. And I really like the flip open truss rod panel.

Good, solid hardware.


Didn't like The fretwork is atrocious.

The pickups are thin and lack character.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Coopster
Feb 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Alot of Guitar for the $$$ featured

Sound Overall this is a very great sounding guitar. It has excellent sustain and tonal qualities. Even with the Ibanez Infinity pups, it has a good dynamic range. It should be noted, that while I enjoyed the Infinity pups, I yanked them out for a set of Dimarzio pups(Fred and Air Norton). Having done the pup change, this guitar flat sings and screams. It's amazing what a simple thing as giving a guitar the right pups will do.

It's the one thing I've always loved about Ibanez. Even their what some may call "lower end" RG's if modded properly easily jump several classes and can compete with their more expensive Ibanez counterparts. And like I've said in previous reviews, unless a guitar regardless of the price comes from the factory with the pick-ups of my choice, then they always get changed. It could be a $500 Ibanez or a $2000 Ibanez, if I don't like the pups, then they get changed.

And it's always been a thing with me, when it comes to lesser priced guitars. I like doing more with less and that's been a philosophy I'll hold until I can't play any longer. It's not that I'm cheap, I've got several expensive guitars, it's just more fun to unleash a lesser(in $$$ wise) guitar's capabilities with some love and care.

Another thing that drew me to this specific guitar was the maple neck. It's something I wish Ibanez offered on every model. Rosewood is great and has good tone but there is something about a maple neck. Maple usually offers a bit more brightness and punch. Clarity is never an issue with maple.

Lastly, maybe I'm one of the few people that actually like the Edge III or I just may have figured out how to properly set one. I'll admit, a Lo-Pro or Original Edge these Edge III's are not however, given some proper attention and set up. They make great bridge's for what they are. I finally sat down and took the time to inspect and really set the bridge accordingly. Along with my JS20S that has a Edge III as well, both Edge III's are now great bridges. They stay in tune when I dive bomb the piss out of the strings.

It should be noted in regards to the whammy bar. There are two set screws underneath that lock the whammy bar in place and give certain amounts of resistance to the bar when tightened or loosened. And what I mean by this is, I've seen where some people complain that the whammy bar is like the one found in the old Lo-TRS II bridges(i.e. that it would wiggle or rattle back and forth and not stay in place). As long as you locate these set screws, and adjust them properly, they hold the whammy bar in place almost as well as a Lo-Pro Edge or Edge bridge does.

Both whammy bars on this 350 and my JS20S were set with alot of slop and play in them. It wasn't until I started to adjust the set screws to get the right amount of resistance I was after that it completely changed the dynamics of the bridge. Tightening up the whammy bar does wonders for bridge feedback to your hand when doing bar dives.


Action, Fit, & Finish I bought mine locally and it was set-up very well. I've known the guitar tech for years and he does very good work. Every new guitar they get in, he always sets them up well. There aren't any manufacturing problems or issues with this guitar, other than on the 1st fret I've got the slightest burr. As for the rest of the neck, flawless and silky smooth.


Reliability & Durability Typical Ibanez, made to sit and play in a studio or gig with.


Customer Support Never dealt with Ibanez as I've never had a problem with a Ibanez guitar. So far I'm batting .1000 with Ibanez


Liked about it 1. neck
2. color
3. price - you get alot for a little, mine only set me back $399


Didn't like 1. pick-ups
2. bridge - an old school Edge would still beat the Edge III
3. no case - I remember back in the day, you could get a case or gig bag with just about any Ibanez, I'm of the opinion if it's got the RG on the headstock it should come with a hard case. Yeah I get a GIO or a GAX not having a case but even a $400 RG should come with one, even a cheapy hard case would be nice.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Swirled777
Dec 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Sounds and feels great featured

Sound OK its body is made out of basswood wich is basic, neutral wood, it has humbuckers in neck (INF3) and bridge (INF4) positions and a single coil (INFS3) in between and a 5-way lever so it has a wide selection of sounds. I use it with peavey valveking, mostly on lead channel with lots of distortion. i play Vai and Gilbert style instrumental music and im very happy with my "round" and smooth neck pickup sound i use when i shred and sweep. Bridge pickup i use for rythm and when ever i need that great, sharp, bridgey sound. Singlecoil in between seems to give some hiss but it sounds very good especially when playing clean picking. Combinations of the humbuckers and the singlecoil sounds also good. I use combination of bridge hum and the singlecoin with clean to get kind of "Tender Surrender" sound. I heard bad things about Edge III tremolo but i think its the best you can get with such a low price.


Action, Fit, & Finish I was OK with the set-up it had when i took it out of the box. Flawless and string height was good. Pick ups were adjusted quite good, near the strings just how i like it. Bridge was adjusted to line up with the body, just how i like it ;) i have re-adjusted bridge and pickups but best right-out-of-the-box set-up i ever seen.


Reliability & Durability I had no problems with it. Nicely finished, durable, reliable.


Customer Support No need


Liked about it 1. Pickups. They sound great.
2. Bridge. WHEEEE WHEEE WOOOooooOo.
3. Neck. Feels great. It makes you play faster! :)


Didn't like 1. Tremolo arm is kind of loose and you have to hold or grap it again everytime you use it. This can be fixed by putting some teflontape around it.

2. Also, if you DONT put teflontape there and the tremolo arm obeys the rules of physics, it hits your volume knob and makes a nasty sound. This can be fixed ny changeing the knobs.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Guilbertti
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Close But No Cigar... featured

Sound I've seen this before; A great looking guitar that sounds like crap. Well this may be a little different. As many of you will know, this guitar closely resembles a Desert Yellow RG550. That makes this piece particularly more interesting. It's sound is the same as every other Ibanez RG with the INF pickups, and that's decent. Are they clear? No. Are they sensitive? No. These are better than anything I've played in low-end guitars from competitors but they aren't anything serious players will be content with. They give off little-to-no noise when sitting idle but once you strum you'll notice there is a loss in clarity... something I find particularly annoying. But it can be easily solved by replacing them along with the rest of the electronics, for good measure.

In my opinion, I think this guitar is for people looking for an RG550 because it's painfully close with a few changes. I'm tired of finding $500 RG550's on eBay with broken neck joints...seriously!!! haha


Action, Fit, & Finish The action was pretty high...my guitar also came setup by someone who works for Ibanez but still doesn't realize how the bridge is supposed to look when it's properly setup. In other words, it was a little further back in the body than it should be. Fit and finish are actually very high! The only complaint is that the routing on the wood for the tremelo was done by a kindergartner so it's barely large enough to house the Edge III trem. I plan to swap it for an original edge at some point, so this may be a problem. Paint was perfect and the neck was actually very nice. Usually these low-end Ibanez guitars have frets that are sharp-edged on the ends and kind of suck to slide your hand across. No this one. I guess Indonesia finally bought a belt polisher? haha

Of Note: the neck no longer has the annoying bolt holes in the back for the string tensioner and the truss rod cover slides...very cool.


Reliability & Durability It stays in tune very well, actually. My past experiences with the Edge III were...OK at best. I can honestly live with this bridge if it continues to be this reliable.


Customer Support They have been helpful in the past. This guitar is new, so nothing yet. (crossing fingers)


Liked about it 1.) It looks like an RG550
2.) It looks like a Desert Yellow RG550.
3.) It was brand new at $500.


Didn't like 1.) It isn't an RG550. haha
2.) The action and pickups have to change...but I expected this.
3.) Body routing may not be large enough to accept an original Edge.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By RG550metal
Feb 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

So yellow you could burn your retinas out! featured

Sound When I first plugged this bright yellow beauty in, I was actually pleasantly surprised! I had sworn off maple necked Ibanez guitars for some time because of their lack of low end; this one DEFINITELY has it. With the stock INF pickups it possesses a darker (and muddier) voicing than you would imagine. Single lead lines sing out, but lack a certain amount of character. Shredding cuts through with warmth (especially on the high end) and doesn't really muck up, but definitely doesn't have the same definition as a set of good pickups. The split coil tones sound split...but not amazingly so until you are on a medium gain or clean tone. The INF pickups, simply put; are lacking. Clean tones are very solid however, no real complaints there. It can go from a sharp, gleaming clean tone, to warm, bristling jazz. On positions 2 and 4 (split coil) you'll find more traditional strat/tele tones thanks to the maple neck, but since the INF pickups are kind of dull sounding, a pickup upgrade is a must for most.

It's kind of a give/take battle with this guitar, some tones are very endearing and some are just slightly muddy (mostly on high gain). Bottom line, for the price; the 350MYE is an AWESOME axe for modding or any beginner!


Action, Fit, & Finish I'll start with the high points:
This guitar is SUPER-DUPER-YELLOW. It's mind melting yellow. Pictures don't do it justice, and it's probably the closest thing to a true desert yellow available. I fell in love with it the moment I saw it. Everyone who see's it just goes, "wow...that's f*in yellow!" You can practically see it through a wall. Secondly, the fretboard cap is figured maple. A nice touch. Whether or it adds any tone is hard to tell since the INF pickups are not so amazing, but it looks really sweet. The fretwork is average, but easily playable. The neck is also beefier than the RG550 you might be used to playing. It's still really easy to play, though! Shred city!

The downsides :(
My 350MYE had a TERRIBLE setup done on the EdgeIII. It needed a MAJOR action adjustment, and the ENTIRE tremolo section needed to be tightened down (it -would not- stay in tune; and that takes me alot to say, since I usually defend the EdgeIII). The tremolo was just in terrible shape from the factory (someone just did a quick setup job, and everything was about half@$$ tight). This is now fixed, and everything plays great and I can abuse the mess out of it with no more going out of tune garbage....GOTTA tighten those screws!


Reliability & Durability The tremolo thing REALLY worried me at first. I've owned a bunch of 350's, 550's and other middle of the road Ibanez's with only minimal tremolo issues, but this GORGEOUS 350 (this is probably my favorite cheap Ibanez ever) -would-not-stay-in-tune-. I mean, it was worse than a bad Jackson on it's worse day... But I got it figured out, and now it's a keeper.

Somebody was just slacking off. Shame Shame. I'm sure it, like many of my other great 'Nez guitars will serve me well forever, melting faces (and now retinas!)


Customer Support Ibanez has good customer support, though I rarely deal with them.


Liked about it 1) THE COLOR! OH GOD MY EYES!
2) Priced to sell!
3) Tone is average, but palpable.


Didn't like 1) Tremolo needed immediate adjustment. (Well, most guitars should be pro-setup anyway)
2) Needs good pickups for maximum tone.
3) Neck is beefier than i'd hoped for, but acceptable.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By SonicProvocateur
Feb 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Ibanez RG350m (yellow) featured

Sound Surprisingly not bad for stock pickups. You get by with the INf's, (3, S3 and 4), and with a bit of fiddling some nice tones can be had. They clean up nicely and distort fairly well. when used with the single coil, strat jumps to mind with a nice quack with the right amp settings. however i find it lacking character a bit, and i've since ordered some BKP's to replace them. Good for a stock setup, but i need something a bit more!


Action, Fit, & Finish out of the box, action was great. Strings were nice quality and it came in perfect tune! Finish was, surprisingly yellow! good quality and very pleasing to look at. The Wizard 2 neck is so smooth, allowing your hands to just glide over the fretboard. personally it was a pleasure to play for a budget guitar, and surprisingly close to the RG550!


Reliability & Durability Only used for home practice so far, but nothing is broken or wearing and i'm a very clumsy person! The finish on the top of the Edge III bridge wears down easily (from my palm resting there), but this is common in black bridges.


Customer Support haven't dealt with them, haven't had to - which is always good!


Liked about it -good quality budget RG
-great feel in the neck
-looks just like an RG550!


Didn't like -Edge III tremelo
-dot inlays instead of Sharktooth - may be an aesthetical downer to some
-poor harmonics
-stock pickups sound a bit generic and bland, but good for beginners.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Sponge Monkey
Jan 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

My favourite guitar (i own a lot of guitars)

Sound The sound of this guitar has always been great. high notes, pinch harmonics and lead parts always scream through the mix unlike any other guitar I've played.

the infinity pickups were good until i started really studying tone and doing a bit of home mixing and mixing then I replaced the bridge pickup with a dimarzio crunch lab, the guitar kept all of the characteristics i loved about it and added more definition to chords as well as being a little louder all round.

the edge III bridge was alright, and like the pups it was great until i needed better, so i swapped it with the edge pro from my js100 and the sustain kicked up a couple gears


Action, Fit, & Finish i bought this guitar new and the factory setup was just perfect, intonation 100% action as low as i wanted and the pickups were set great

the only thing i adjusted on the guitar for a very long time was the height of the middle pickup, it got in the way of my right hand a lot so i set it lower, ive seen this done with many rgs

all of the routing was solid, they routed the bare minimum and kept as much wood on the guitar as they could. I had to shave a little extra off to accommodate the new bridge


Reliability & Durability I have given this guitar A LOT of abuse, its fallen down flights of stairs, had many beers spilled on it and been knocked against more walls and doors than i care to count.
i am a big fan of road worn guitars and this one is aging nicely but always stays perfectly playable and reliable.
so 10/10 for durability and reliability


Customer Support i dealt with ibanez once for a different guitar (i was buying it and it had gone out of production) they were very nice on the phone and tried to help me as much as they could


Liked about it i like how through all of the modding and customizing i've done to this guitar it has kept its core tone unlike o lot of other guitars which completely change tone when you swap a pot out
also the durability of this guitar is unbelievable as i mentioned above


Didn't like the jack output: i would have liked a more concrete jack but the stock jack on this guitar has never let me down.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By kaptinfire
Feb 07, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

nice for the price

Sound this actually sounded like a decent little guitar for the price.the pick ups have balls and are great for pinch harmonics if your into that kinda thing,these infinity pick ups are better than ibanez/dimarzio that are fitted in prestige guitars.


Action, Fit, & Finish yes not bad but it did need a set up.


Reliability & Durability no complaints here should imagine the guitar to last for years.


Customer Support cant comment never dealt with them.


Liked about it i liked most things about the rg350 especially the neck very thin and fast.also its a cheap guitar to buy and well worth the money,but the trem needs replacing.i customized mine,i replaced pick ups and the trem.


Didn't like the trem edge111 not good its garbage and should be replaced,also the guitar supposed to be desert yellow and it isn't :(


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By DUCK YOU SUCKERS
Jun 18, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

great guitar, but like most new guitars does need some initial setup/TLC

Sound this guitar gets a great all around sound, the sustain is awesome, and it suits my varied playing pretty well.. but make no mistake a pick up change is coming. the maple neck gives it a nice bright sound to it, but it can get lows nicely with the right amp settings.


Action, Fit, & Finish I love maple fret boards, always have, wish more ibanez guitars came with them. i notice some string buzz, so I'm going to have it set up by a pro The color is gorgeous, and one of the first things that drew me to it..
I tried this model at two different stores and both felt different. but this one i have feels a lot like my friends RG550.. yeah, it really does. also another review mentioned the tremolo bar hitting the volume knobs, mine has a trem bar height adjustment screw inside the back plate, you don't have to remove the plate to get to it, also if you insert your trem bar, and dive the bridge, there's a retention screw behind there, both use Allen keys to set/tighten. also one thing missing i wish it had, was the String Retention Bar above the locking nut.. i might have a tech add it when i have the work done on it. Oh and my pick guard seems to be a bit askew.. only a bit.. but noticeable by me..

Edit: string buzz is caused by a couple of uneven frets according to the pro i took it too.. and i believe him. he did say that other than that the guitar was setup rather well for being brand new.. i left it with him to fix for me. I should add, the buzz wasnt bad, not even noticeable when playing from an amp. so dont let this discourage purchasing this guitar. no points docked for this either, it happens.


Reliability & Durability I dont gig, so it should last me a while.


Customer Support haven't had to use them in the past and hopefully in the future.


Liked about it 1. Color, its gorgeous! now if i could find an RG550 20th yellow case hehe.
2. the neck is so smooth, really makes you want to play.
3. price.. paid $339+ for mine locally.. that's a lot of guitar for that amount to me.


Didn't like 1.pick guard is a bit askew on the body, I've seen pics of others on the web, that aren't like that.
2.would like to see the volume knob a little lower.. or moved back an inch or so.
3.reading a lot about the edge III bridge doesn't inspire confidence.. but i wont dock a point for that at all.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Boomerbsg
Jun 29, 2010
 
Last updated: June 29, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores

Great guitar for the money

Sound Not bad. I would change the pick ups


Action, Fit, & Finish If your looking at this guitar because you allways wanted the dyrg550 , but never got one this is not the guitar for you . I think it is a great guitar for the money and is right in line with the rg 350 and 420 . But is does not play or feel anything like a RG550 . Like i siad before if you alllways loved the dy color and thats what you are looking for then this is a good deal . For me if this guitar had a real wizard neck , I would buy one .


Reliability & Durability It is a ibanez


Customer Support Ibanez customer support could be better .


Liked about it color. finish , price


Didn't like the neck . the bridge . the pick ups


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By shydude6996
Mar 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $450
Compare Prices
at 9 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec98 spec484