Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (18)
 Add a review

Ibanez RG550 20th Anniversary Electric Guitar

 
The Ibanez RG550 20th Anniversary guitar features a slim, fast Wizard neck and a maple fretboard with 24 jumbo frets for easy leads and chording. The lightweight basswood body has a sculpted upper edge for comfort. The bridge is the original Edge tremolo with die-cast saddles. Pickups include Vintage 7 and 8 humbuckers framing a high-output single coil. 5-way...


Price: $804 to $804 at 1 stores
Searched Ibanez RG550 20th Anniversary Electric Guitar in Reviews
 

 

Well balanced axe featured

Sound Sound... hmmm.. not too basic as for a regular guitar, it has a decent PAF sounding in it, although not that edgy sounding like erm... EVOS. i would rather have pearly gates plus for the bridge and neck to make it sing like a banshee.


Action, Fit, & Finish action was low, kind of low for me since i get used to strats that has high action which i need for crazy bends, but if speed is what matters you are in for a treat. the neck is too slim for me..never been a fan of this type of neck that is why i traded mine for a gibson lespaul double cut but later on i decided to have an ibanez that has a chunkier ultra neck (ucewfm) so i bought one. the body is obviously made with basswood.. IMHO ibanez is wise enough to use them since it is cheap to buy and WELL BALANCED.. if you have an objection with that, you can ask Mr. Tom Anderson about it...why!?

Finish is decent, not bad nor that great... your typical workhorse look.


Reliability & Durability this guitar is great!! it can cover most of the songs that i needed from fusion to rock and metal.. it can cover funk too...but like what i said it doesn't feel right to play funk with this guitar so i always switch with my strat. this beast is definitely for speed.


Customer Support never did bother calling them... i did everything my own


Liked about it LIGHT WEIGHT!! BALANCED SOUND!! AND THE EDGE BRIDGE!! (i have been a fan of ibanez edge bridges esp. lopro edge compared to FR)


Didn't like Finish.. the type of paint is i think... polyurethane.. not good for sound
Neck.. too thin.. makes me want to play fast and non stop all the time.. the guitar is like telling me "play louder, play more!!"


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By gitarudesu
Apr 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Amazing!!! Prefered to the Original RG 550 featured

Sound The sound out of this guitar is pretty much what you'd expect out of the box, TERRIBLE b/c of the stock pickups. Since I've owned the guitar it's had an Dimarzio X2N and Tone zone in the Bridge position and both sounded great and suited the style I play(Rock, Heavy Rock, Metal). I use D'Addario 10's. I have the Tone Zone in the Bridge now b/c I preferred it to the X2N. I've played this guitar through several amps - Peavey 5150 Head, 6505 Combo, Rivera KnuckleHead II and a ENGL Screamer 50. The guitar performed very well with almost all the amps, (the exception being the Rivera, but I didn't care for that amp at all). The guitar over-all is made for hard rock and metal, the leads but through live with out being overly piercing. I like a tight low-end for my rythyms and the RG550 is pretty tight in that aspect. DISCLAIMER: your experience may vary due to the infinite combinations of gear and EQ out there.


Action, Fit, & Finish I am the 2nd owner of my RG550 DY Anniversary. I'm not sure if the setup was adjusted by the previous user, but in my experience almost any Ibanez I've owned needs little to no setup adjustments. The action is unbelievably low with little to no buzz. The neck is where this guitar really shines! I hate it when people say "it practically plays itself", but that statement is very true with this guitar IMO.


Reliability & Durability i haven't had any issues with the guitar crapping out or failing at in-opportune time. The wiring is pretty solid and the components seem to hold up well. That being said, I tend to baby special guitars like this one.


Customer Support I've had little experience with Ibanez customer support. I mainly call or go to the website if I need a replacement part. Usually my issues/orders are handled in a timely fashion and have never had a screw up.


Liked about it The wizard NECK is AMAZING! By far my favorite part of this guitar. The action is the best of any guitar that I own, and I own quite a few ;)


Didn't like The stock pickups leave much to be desired. The pickups will definitely need to be replaced almost immediately. I have Dimarzio's in mine. Bought and installed the day I received the guitar.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By MTM2-live
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Rebirth of the Phoenix featured

Sound To properly describe the sound of this guitar, i would've used a video. However, i can only cover and review an original RG550. The look and aura still glows miraculously from within the re-issue's flashy colored case, but the feel and sound have evolved. This is not to claim, however, that it does not encompass the original spirit of the 90's. When i first sat down to try this guitar in late 2007, i had no idea what to expect. I knew Ibanez was not going to release this guitar without delivering some extra goodies. First i must address the pick-ups. People crowded around me in the stuffy music shop as i fluttered around the satiny smooth neck of my yellow belied beast. While i paused to fuddle with amplifier, people would ask ''Whoa man, what kind of pick-ups are in that bad boy?''. I'd look up and tell them that they were stock. That's right, stock Vintage 7 and 8. It's incredible and i think everyone will feel it when they first strum it. The clarity is amazing in any position. There is a lot of play with the 5 way switch allowing you get some smooth bluesy rock riffs (think Stevie ray Vaughan). The mid-way position is really practical in clean settings. I can't say much about position 2 or 4. I played on them a bit, but i don't use them a lot on any of my gear. What i can say however, is there was a nice southern crisp on the 2nd position and a twangy british kick in the 4th. Drop it into 5th and the bridge's arsenal is at your command. Immense tone in such a small piece of plastic and magnets, however it's ability to deliver high output distortion is unparalleled for a stock factory pick-up. The full basswood body adds to the iconic oomph in a delightful way by contributing a good natural bass and a bit of mids. All in all, there is nothing but hours of enjoyment with this guitar, as you will be capable of possessing the power of Iron Maiden, the accurate gain of Yngwie Malmsteen, the sizzle of Led Zeppelin and blues rich melodies of Eric Clapton; All lovingly packed in one incredibly bright guitar!


Action, Fit, & Finish I was lucky to be the first to play the RG550 when it arrived at the local music shop. The owners assured me that the guitar had not been tampered with. I ask all of the time when i play a new Ibanez and i have yet to find one that has needed a larger amount of setting up after it's long trip over seas. That's the great thing about the Ibanez. Most people know that they are among the few guitars on store display that have locking tremolos and are always in tune. Isn't there anything more aggravating than picking up an out of whack guitar ?

In addition, Ibanez fanatics and newcomers alike will find that this axe has a beautiful feel. The thin Wizard replica neck is a constant reminder of what they do best at the Fujigen factory. Improved on it's original design ,that had a reputation of warping under stress and harsh temperatures, the neck is now a 5 piece maple neck with a dual truss rod system. It isn't easy to keep the skinniest neck in rock and roll straight, but the reviewed design is a good pay off.
Finally, an RG550 reissue couldn't be complete without the best finishes ever offered on the RG. I am of course referring to the trio of ''Road Flare'' red, ''Desert'' yellow and a classic black. For the majority of players, getting one in any of the three color options will bring back fond memories of long sweaty hair and ripped up jean jackets. To the younger players, however, it will grab the attention of band members, friends and nearby orbiting satellites. Whether you're looking for a slick axe to shred on or want to match your emergency construction apparel, the RG550 reissue will meet you every needs.


Reliability & Durability It is hard to predict reliability on a guitar that is now only about 3 years old. However, if taken into account Ibanez's extensive history of quality products, it is only safe to assume that this guitar will fare greatly. Why not? It has a thick lacquered body, a neck strengthen by two metal rods and a solid form fit case. As far as durability goes, i can guarantee it will outdo your expectations of what a guitar can do. I have a 1988 Rg550 in Desert Yellow in my collection. I play her everyday. Except for a bit of stained maple, this guitar looks pretty much the same as it did in the late 80's. Since the lacquer on the fretboard is upgraded, i can safely predict that the reissues will carry on the legacy.


Customer Support I have made a statement, in a previous review, that i have no formal experience with Ibanez's customer support. It's not because i am a quiet customer. If i receive a shoddy product, i will ring up the head office til' the CEO has blood seeping out of his ear. In all seriousness, i have never encountered a product from Ibanez that has left me unsatisfied. I own many guitars, from Fenders to B.C. Richs, and i have no real bias towards any make. If i could find something to report, i would, however ,until then, i will keep my phone on the charger. On a side note, from some of my friends and contacts, i have heard the customer support is very helpful and professional. If ever you are displeased or simply in search of information, Ibanez vows priority and satisfaction to their customers.


Liked about it To sum things up about this guitar, i will focus on 3 important details of this guitar that marked me. Firstly, the attention to detail. Sit it next to an original 550, close your eyes and take a few steps back. When you open your eyes you will see to identical guitars. Approach it and you will notice that a lot of the characteristics of the original were kept. For instance: the unmarked pick-ups (models in the 90's eventually came with v7 and v8 printed on the covers), Also, something i haven't addressed yet, the return of the Legendary original Edge tremolo and finally the square heel joint as opposed to the now standard aanj, otherwise known as the all access neck joint (no backplate). All these small things makes this guitar a collectors dream.

For my next top feature, i will bring back the Edge. This tremolo is what legends are made of. While the Edge pro and the new Edge Zero are great bridges in substance, the original is what defined a new era of floating tremolo systems. In a time when being able to dive bomb was a fad and a luxury, and a music scene dominated by Floyd Rose systems and many licensed version, Ibanez was the first, in my opinion, to successfully improve the original concept. With a heavy cast iron body, it gave a heavy tone and presence. The beautifully designed clip in whammy bar deserves recognition too. When you take a look at Ibanez's current models, you see a lot of influence the edge has left after 20 years, but ,when it comes to tremolos,I believe nothing beats the original.

The last item on my agenda would be the cases and i can't stop talking about them. Just look at it. Sit it amongst a pile of generic and black extruded plastic cases and you'll see what the fuss is about. Imagine the countless minutes you'll save sorting your guitars when you move. Two out of the three are equipped with a security system. Thieves will stay away from it. Even ninja's can't blend in a crowd while running with a flashy yellow case. Finally, the interior is quite reminiscent of an m100c. It has quality interior padding and compartments to boot. All in all, this guitar will never be sold to you by some flimsy salesman with a pitch. It sells itself by satisfying the needs of a large portion of today's guitar players.


Didn't like Like a lot of other guitars, there are always somethings that could be improved or changed. The only downside i experienced with this guitar, and i will ensure you that it is a preference issue, is the neck lacquer. I liked the original wizard because of the feel it had. It was mostly unfinished or if not covered with a light clear coat. These news one have a thicker satin finish that i just can't get around. A lot of players like them, so it might be just me, but other than that; i have nothing to say. This guitar speaks for itself. It screams for itself. Sit down with it, and you'll see it's so good it actually feels like it's playing itself.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Fender868
Feb 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Looks good, sounds good, plays good.... perfect? featured

Sound The guitar could be the most versatile guitar on the planet. The stock pickups handled everything from classic rock, heavy blues, shred, paul gilbert style stuff, to jazz. I did change the pickups though because I wanted something more specific. The pickups I have on now are Dimarzio Evo2 and Breed Neck. Now it's more powerful and brighter, and is perfect for jazz fusion, smooth leads, or Steve Vai-like experimental stuff. The singlecoil pickup on my guitar is the stock pickup, and it sounds very smooth and strat-like. I have used this guitar in the studio and live, and never had problems with getting a good sound for each band I played with, even when given limited equipment


Action, Fit, & Finish It was perfectly set-up and had no flaws, but then again, I paid extra to get the special set-up from Rich at Ibanezrules. I got everything I paid for


Reliability & Durability I've taken this guitar to gigs without backup guitars (only backup strings, just in case). The finish doesn't look like it's going to fade anytime soon. Tuning-wise, I can't believe it stays in tune after picking hard during solos and using the trem as intensely as I sometimes do


Customer Support Never dealt with them. Everything was through Ibanezrules, and I was more than satisfied


Liked about it The neck, the looks, the sound, the feel, the price (this KILLS every other expensive guitar I've played), the colour, the trem system, the maple fretboard.... everything! I'm sorry if this review sounds biased. I've owned this guitar for a while now and it has become an extension of me. All other guitars don't feel right anymore


Didn't like I thought really hard about this, but there is NOTHING I don't like about this guitar. I did change the pickups, but that was because the stock pickups weren't for me. If they stocked the guitar with the pickups I have now, a lot of people wouldn't like it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By no1spretty
Dec 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

The Guitar That Started it ALL! featured

Sound I'm big on bright sounding guitars that can cut through and this guitar it truly the master of that. Its factory pickups sound outstanding, so I really don't see the complaints people are having with them. I'm one of those people that buys a guitar and puts in a set of hot pickups but this is the first guitar I have owned in 16 years that I haven't felt I needed to change. Maybe that's because its a collector's guitar, but it has more to do with the fact EVERYONE asks me what pickups I have and I tell them the stock Vintage 7/8 and nobody believes me. So when it comes to sound, this guitar has to be my favorite of all time for its out-of-the-box greatness.


Action, Fit, & Finish The guitar came as if my luthier has already set it up to my specs. Maybe I got a lucky copy? Either way, the action was perfect and it had spot-on intonation. Every little piece on the guitar was in perfect working order and I couldn't get over how well the neck was finished. So smooth! My prestige models were never this smooth! Mine is Road Flare Red...it's bright...it's loud...it gets your attention.


Reliability & Durability Well I've never had the guitar not return to pitch and I'm pretty heavy on the trem system. I'm usually playing with an outstretched pinky, waiting to grab the bar. Well this guitar takes the abuse of that and hasn't had an issue. If it's anything like my other Ibanez guitars than it will certainly hold together. haha


Customer Support They were very helpful when I contacted them. I haven't needed them for this guitar.


Liked about it 1. It's an RG550 Reissue...COME ON! This is one of the best guitars in heavy metal history, an icon. I was going to buy an original RG550 when this guitar was released. I didn't think twice and bought it. I still haven't put it down!

2. 5-piece neck. A common issue with the originals has been cracking necks. The 5-piece neck is supported by titanium rods so I don't think it's ever going to crack!

3. Original Edge! I've used every Ibanez trem and this and the Lo-Pro are my favorites. The Lo-Pro is just smooth but this is where it began. I'm not a fan of the Floyd Rose because of the lack of sustain and ocasional pitch problems that vary. This hasn't had any of those issues and its increased mass means more sustain!

4.) The colors! I like to be different with my guitars. For some reason, I think something slightly weird is tasteful. I had an all black guitar with a since BRIGHT GREEN humbucker and thought it was the coolest thing in the world. Well this guitar is pretty cool too. Nobody has ever seen something this bright red. It almost glows! I want one in Yellow ASAP!! (BTW, be ready to get into arguments with your pigment-challenged friends who say the guitar is pink when it's actually a retina searing red!)

5. Limited availability! They only built 1987 of these and am lucky enough to have one...that's cool. What isn't cool is that I'm always thinking about how badly it would suck if anything happened to it.


Didn't like 1. Limited availability. Yes, it's one of my favorite things about the instrument but its also one of the things I like the least about it. I will never fully enjoy the guitar because I will always be worried about its safety. Finding another one of these is going to be hard and costly!

2. It ruined other guitars for me. The neck is so perfect, the look is just so cool, and the sound is out of this world. I want every guitar I own from now on to be similar to this one. I just want one set up for each tuning I play in. Then I'll be happy.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By RG550metal
Dec 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

You'll never know the joy until you actually play one. featured

Sound The fist thing to understand about me writing this review is that my main stage guitar for years was a '91 RG770DXLB, so when I heard that Ibanez was re-issuing the original Wizard neck on the 550's in some of the original colors I knew I had to have them. I ended up with one black, one Road Flare Red, and two Desert Yellow, one of which I modded and the other is sitting in the closet with the plastic still on the pick guard. The previous reviews are pretty accurate with respect to the stock pickups. They're a bit dark and can be muddy depending on your amp or EQ settings. The best of the three is the middle pickup that gives a great single-coil sound. I've changed out the pickups on all of the ones I play for Dimarzios with better high-end EQ curves (Super 3 in two and Breed in the black guitar). The neck positions got either Evolution or PAF PRO, and the middles all get Evolution Middle. There's not a rock sound around I can't get out of these guitars. I've upgraded the electronics and put in better-quality capacitors in the tone circuit.


Action, Fit, & Finish These guitars were the nicest and best setup I've ever played out of the box. I made exactly the same modifications to the ones I play and now they're all unbelievable--I removed the nut shims and dropped the bridge 1/4 turn on the top and bottom. That's it--now they play low and fast with .009's (D'Addario) and stay in tune beautifully. As noted, the paint is a little thin and anyone who has taken apart the guitar to do mods has noticed this, but even the old Ibanez RG's were prone to chipping and neck pocket cracks. I've already got a neck pocket crack in my Road Flare Red, but I expected this since I'm playing them so I'm not stressed.


Reliability & Durability Seeing how I've had my RG770DX since 1991 I expect these guitars will stand the test of time as well. My 770DXLB plays just as well today as it did in '91 and has no neck pocket cracks. I think it just depends on how animated you are on stage.


Customer Support Never dealt with them. Always went through a dealer or reseller.


Liked about it Wicked-fast-playing Wizard neck.
Awesome colors.
Versatile--can play many different styles of music on this guitar.


Didn't like Color-matched guitar case is flimsy and poorly-crafted.
Fret edges weren't finished as well as I'd expect from an "Ibanez Prestige" guitar.
Paint in neck pocket and other cavities is obviously thin.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By racerevlon
Nov 30, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Amazing guitar! My main player! featured

Sound This guitar sounds amazing stock! I guess some people aren't really keen on the V2 but I love it! If Maxxon made the V2 as an aftermarket pickup I'd buy it and put it in a few other guitars. Some say the Dimarzio Super Distortion is close but I disagree. V2 is a bit clearer, I think. The notes ring out but aren't too bright. I usually put a Tone Zone or an Evolution in the bridge position of my guitars but I left this one be.


Action, Fit, & Finish When these came out I thought they were nice looking but maybe not for me. When I played a friend's all that changed. I HAD to have this guitar! The reissue Wizard 1 is the same neck profile as the original Wizard, but the new construction and the titanium rods in the neck give it a nice stiff feel. I've had this guitar for 2 years and the neck only gets sweeter with age. The frets are nice. The maple neck is beautiful and feels great.


Reliability & Durability I would play anytime, anywhere with this guitar! I've owned it for two and a half years and it still plays as great as the day I got it. No problems whatsoever. Nothing is really worn except for maybe the pickguard and I play on it A LOT! The road flare finish is stunning. And, no, pictures don't do it justice! Though I don't own one, Desert Yellow is sweet too. Even the black one is very nice. I wish I had the dough to get all three. I kind of get a kick out of the reaction people get from seeing this guitar. Either they love how it looks or hate it, but regardless - it's memorable.


Customer Support N/A.


Liked about it 1. Neck! Amazing!!!
2. The V2 pickup.
3. Finish.


Didn't like The only think I kind of don't like on this guitar is the old heel joint. I actually love the tone the square heel gives the guitar, but being used to AANJ necks a part of me wishes this one came with an AANJ option. The square heel is sweet, sound-wise, but my left hand feels like it's climbing a mountain on the high frets compared to an AANJ RG.
I also kind of wish Ibanez would make this more of a stock guitar rather than a limited edition guitar. I feel a bit strange having this guitar as my main player knowing it's a limited edition guitar and that it will eventually get beaten up with age.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mike570
Nov 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

A classic reborn featured

Sound The Ibanez RG550 in stock form is a little inconsistent when it comes to how it sounds. Unplugged it is a little muddy. I believe this is attributed to the basswood body, and probably the fact that the pickups are mounted on a plastic pickguard.

There is a reasonable amount of sustain for a floating Floyd Rose type guitar, and the maple fret board enables a bit of snap from the notes too.

Plug in the guitar and set the bridge humbucker, and unfortunately there is still a little bit of mud. The notes don't really cut through that well. Again I think the basswood body doesn't allow bright punchy notes like an alder bodied guitar would. The Re-issue V series pickup in the bridge just doesn't quite have enough high end, and the low end is a little over bearing. I'm planning on dropping in a PAF Pro to hopefully sort this out.

However, the neck position V series humbucker is actually quite nice. When soloing high up the fret board you get a nice rounded musical tone that just sings. I think I'll be happy with keeping the stock neck humbucker in the guitar.

The single coil is nothing special, but it does the job. Lower the pickup considerably, and split a humbucker with it and it drops your distorted sound quite considerably. Roll back the volume a bit and you've got a pretty convincing strat type chiming sound for cleans. I personally prefer splitting with the neck humbucker.


Action, Fit, & Finish The action was just as I expected from a Japanese Ibanez. Nice and low, enabling effortless playing. The frets were pretty reasonable, although they could have been rounded off a little on the edges.

I did adjust the pickups to my personal preferences, but they were only minor changes. As always, the original Edge trem is a joy, intonation was pretty job, and it was a comfortable height to allow the nice low action.

The Road Flare Red finish on my guitar is just as amazing as I expected to be. It is a colour that just cannot be captured in photos, and it truly looks like it could glow. When the guitar case was opened up to me for the first time at the music store people walking past stopped just to check it out. Gasps were heard!

The newly updated neck with the 5 piece construction and titanium reinforcement bars is amazing too. Beautifully smooth, and easy to slide around, it is a joy to play. The 20th anniversary cavity cover is a nice touch too.

There are a few issues with finish as far as I am concerned though. It is pretty well known that Ibanez quality control isn't quite as good as it once was, and that there can be little bit on a guitar that aren't quite up to their traditional level of quality.

The paint is quite thin, and I do worry about chipping it accidently. I've been pretty lucky with that so far. The thin application of paint is really apparent in the trem cavity.

Some of the insulation on the pickguard was also showing a little on the outside of the pickguard which is a bit of a shame on such a high level instrument.


Reliability & Durability Despite the few little problems I mentioned in the previous category, I think that the RG550 reissues are built to last. With the reinforced 5 piece neck, I don't even see that needing a truss rod adjustment too often. I haven't touched it since I bought the guitar. Maybe only if string gauge is changed might you need to adjust it.

The paint certainly stands a chance of chipping, but that wont really affect the tone or playability of the guitar.


Customer Support I haven't needed to deal with Ibanez with this particular guitar, but in the past they have been pretty helpful. Although parts can sometimes take a while to arrive.


Liked about it Classic looks and Ibanez playability
* Road Flare Red paint of course!
* The neck construction is amazing


Didn't like Muddy tone acoustically, and when the guitar is plugged in and using the bridge pickup
* Paint could be thicker
* The little things like trimming the pickguard insulation could have been done better


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By LonePhantom
Oct 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Ibanez RG550 20th Anniversary featured

Sound Using through a Peavey solid state amp and boss pedals and string XL120 09's. I have to say I find this guitar outstanding for the cost. It retailed at £850 in the UK but i found a website doing it for £600 inc p+p and this is the best value guitar I have purchased. The sound it creates is very good, it's almost up there with the Jem, there really isnt too much difference. Dimarzio pick ups do a great job for clean and distortion. The guitar like the Jem is built for all sorts of styles of sound. The bridge is the original floyd rose style like the original 1987 RG550's, although not as sleek looking as the Edge pro, they perform just as well, very responsive, great for flutters.

Often see people debating whether go get a Jem 555 or one of these or other prestige RG. I say forget the Jem 555 and go with an RG550. For a similar price the quality of the Japanese RG is much better and you get a good bridge instead of an Edge 3.


Action, Fit, & Finish From the factory I just had 1 change to make, 1 dead note that was fixed by intonation. What I love most about this guitar is the neck. The guitar is made in Japan like all prestige models but the work on the neck is outstanding, it is very smooth, its a 5 piece neck that looks stunning on the back with its pattern of 2 stripes leading up the neck. It's also a very flat, which feels outstanding, similar to the Jem in width, but flatter than a Jem. The Jem does have better quality on the fret work themselves but I am being very picky there.

I have the black Rg550, i did try to get a DY with maple neck but unable to get hold of one, next choice was RFR but again missed out. I don't mind though the black looks classy and as you can probably tell I am really pleased with this guitar.


Reliability & Durability Seems pretty sturdy built, no issues for me so far and I've had it 2 years now. The case isn't that durable, not like a prestige standard case, which is a shame as this is a prestige guitar so it should of been given a the same level prestige quality case.


Customer Support Not had to deal.


Liked about it 1) The amazing feel of the neck
2) The quality of the work
3) The performance and look of the guitar.


Didn't like Nothing not to dislike. Abetter case would of been nice though.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By richard1973
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

It's nice, but more a collector piece

Sound It has a "vintage" Ibanez sound. It's hard to believe these came out 20 years ago, it kinda takes me back. Back in the day the V7/V8 would scream, now they're more "hoe-hum." Still a great sounding guitar. It will play anything from rock/blues to shred, if needed. I would say it preforms better in doing the former. I think you need a bit hotter p'up to get the metal shred sound. I'm basically running all my guitars through a Peavey Classic 50/50, Rocktron VooDu Valve, and PRS 2 x 12. Sometimes using a Randall RM100 (various modules) and Kirk Hammett 4 x 12 cab.


Action, Fit, & Finish Bought the guitar used (as I usually do), but it's nice. Absolutely no complaints. I plays nice, but I really did buy it more as a collector. I jam in the house with it, but have never gigged it. As I said before, for gigging I prefer a hotter DiMarzio (Tone Zone, X2N, Evo, The Breed).


Reliability & Durability It seems like it would hold up like the originals of 20 years ago. I wouldn't bring it gigging only because it's kind of a collector for me. If you wanted to throw some DiMarzios in it and play it out, I would almost guarantee it would impress anyone.


Customer Support N/A (I have never called).


Liked about it 1. It's an RG550
2. Retro and still relevant
3. Neck is brilliant


Didn't like 1. Realized I don't care for the V7/V8 very much
2. Should have held out for a DY instead of a BK, but I can't really blame that on the guitar - can I?
3. I can't say anything bad about it... really.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By DrewIvy
Jul 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Exellent Guitar -- 80s Styling Rules!

Sound Now, the guitar comes with pretty bland pick-ups, but most swap those out ASAP regardless. Very tight, and the maple fretboard gives it a very nice snap. Swap the pickups, and it'll scream!


Action, Fit, & Finish Fret level was good, we all know about the Original Edge, this guitar is built for low action!


Reliability & Durability Original Edge is awesome, probably the best licenced floyd out there. The finish dings/dents VERY easily, either because of how soft basswood is, or it's extremely thin paint, probably a combination of both.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it Looks.
Sound.
Tuning Stability.
Playability.


Didn't like Stock pickups are a bit bland. Swap them ASAP!
Finish dents VERY easily.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By SilverEra
Jan 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Fantastic!

Sound Sound is surprisingly agile and tight. It could benefit from a pickup change, but that's the case with most Rg's. The maple fingerboard gives it a lot of snap.


Action, Fit, & Finish Action was super low and dead on at the shop. Everything was superb. The trem was great to use!


Reliability & Durability I would be proud to take this to a show. It looks and rock with amazing pawnage


Customer Support I haven't dealt with Ibanez directly


Liked about it I liked the sound and the color- Road Flare Red is pretty amazing. I'm also a fan of maple fingerboards and found the guitar to have a sharper attack than some of its siblings. It is a good value too. It's one of the best axes Ibanez makes.


Didn't like The wizard neck can feel a little too flat sometimes. It's great for shredding, but can be a little too narrow depending on playing style.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By The Rossness
Jan 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

One of the best Ibanez offers but....

Sound punchy, and with the right pickups very mid to hi range. Definitely a basswood guitar.


Action, Fit, & Finish Great Action, feels very comfortable to me, finish is well....it's a 550.


Reliability & Durability The originals have lasted forever. I used to own one from 92, excellent condition after so long.


Liked about it Great guitar to reissue


Didn't like Way overpriced considering that you can go to any local pawn shop and find the original for around 100-200 dollars


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By guitarist for hi
Dec 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

The ultimate shred guitar!!!!

Sound OK, I'm a shred man and this guitar i made for it. 5 way switch (much like the jem's), you can get plenty of different sounds from this beast. Unplugged, I must admit it doesn't resonate that well. Plug her in and it's a different story. I play through a Marshall Vintage Modern 50w Combo - there were plenty of different tones I can get from this guitar. I know a lot of people complained about the pickups lacking output, but for me they are absolutely fine - plenty of output. Very nice sounds, all the way from a single coil stat sound to that shred lead tone!!!


Action, Fit, & Finish I bought this thing second hand, but honestly judging from its condition, it had barely been played. The action as delivered was a little high, but a bit of adjustment and we were up and running. Neck was perfect, the all maple finish was fret wise flawless - MIJ quality. I know that some people say that the NIJ IBZ's aren't the same, but I certainly got a winner. All in all, could not be happier.


Reliability & Durability I haven't had it long enough yet, but just look at players that still have their 97 RG's - they are built to last. As usual though, it's a double locking guitar, so back is always required. The only downside I would say is the finish - I'm a bit worried that it will be pretty susceptible to dings and chips.


Customer Support N/A - Don't know, never needed to deal with Ibanez


Liked about it Neck - Perfect for shred - thin profile
The look - I bought a RFR version, the colour has to be seen to understand.
Trem - Original Edge ROCKS!


Didn't like Finish - Bit worried about whether it will last some abuse
Case - Very cheap case for a high end guitar


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AussiePGFan
Dec 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great Shred Guitar!

Sound The tone is really Similar to what the older RG550's sound like, it all depends on the piece of wood you are getting. Mine was DY #974 and souded really alive and punchy.


Action, Fit, & Finish The neck is far better than what you could find on the originals from a consistency and longevity point of view, plus it is what it should be; extremely comfortable and fast.


Reliability & Durability As i said the neck is more stable and durable than what the originals were, totally dependable but just try to keep it away from uv rays so the finish can keep it's brightness.


Customer Support Never dealt with them as a consumer...


Liked about it Neck, Quality of the finish and the fact it's already a good investment as long as it is in dead mint condition.


Didn't like The case seemed a little flimsy but looks very cool.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Luthier
May 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Excellent Shred Machine! The epitome of the 80's rock guitar.

Sound Great overall spec's. The guitar has the thinnest neck ever! The stock Ibanez pickups are not the greatest, but they certainly get the job done. The Basswood body, despite the criticism towards the wood choice, sounds excellent. A wide range of music can be covered.. Just look at the artists who play em'.


Action, Fit, & Finish Bought the guitar 2nd hand, but the action is great. Ibanez guitars are known for their playability, so you can expect to have a fast action. That goes for new and used Ibanez 550's!


Reliability & Durability Overall very reliable. The electronics are not the greatest. You can expect a volume pot or switch to go out. Unfortunately, Ibanez electronics are lower end import components. In the event that a tone pot goes bad, you can plan on buying a CTS pot, and widening the pickguard holes so the Pot's can fit.


Customer Support never had to deal with them, I'd imagine they are pleasant and helpful.


Liked about it Everything about the guitar is incredible. The best feature is the original 87 wizard neck. Its the thinnest neck in the world! The pickup configuration makes a for a versatile sound.


Didn't like Import electronics are not the greatest. The pickups could be upgraded to dimarzios. More color 80's scheme color options should be added. The paint finish could also be a littler more generous. The finishes are paper thin!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Great guitar!

Sound The stock sound was decent. I was expecting a little more, but after I changed the pups it really came alive. I didn't have it long, but for the time that I did, it was great. Used it mostly to practice and have fun with when I wasn't working or busy. I was just using it through a Laney LC15 with no effects and it was great.


Action, Fit, & Finish Everything was perfect when I received it. Action was just right, fit was nice and finish is awesome. I had the road flare red and pictures do not do it justice. It's a beauty.


Reliability & Durability I didn't have it very long, but it seemed very reliable.


Customer Support n/a


Liked about it Loved the color and having it reminded me of days long gone. It was a great guitar.


Didn't like Stock pick-ups and case. The case was very cheaply made.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Snoogans
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

could be alot cheaper for the quality.

Sound the sound is ok but not as good as the original ones.


Action, Fit, & Finish the finish is beautiful down to the new style neck. and beautiful paint.


Reliability & Durability how can it not be reliable its a japanes ibanez need i say more.


Customer Support never delt with.


Liked about it i looved that i could get a rfr rg550 now.
i love the trem never goes from tune.
i love the anniversary back plate look sweet.


Didn't like i think it could have been an exact replica of the 80 models would yhave been better.
i still thin k all ibanezes should ship with dimarzio pickups.
it cant touch the originals.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By andrewsfury
Oct 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $804 to $804
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec98 spec484