Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (14)
 Add a review

Ibanez JS1000 2002 Electric Guitar Black Pearl

 
The Ibanez Joe Satriani JS1000 guitar is has a multi-radius Prestige neck that is an exact digital rendering of the neck on Joe's favorite axe.Its lightweight aerofoil shaped basswood body provides comfort, upper-fret access and expressive singing ...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Ibanez JS1000 2002 Electric Guitar Black Pearl in Reviews
 

 

Got two and love em both. featured

Sound I've played this guitar with my Mesa in a country group at a local fair and in every other situation you can think of. The mild output pickups have enough to get controlled feedback for Hendrix type stuff with my Plexi and do Brad Paisley lead guitar with. When it comes to humbucker guitars this one is only second to my Jem DBK in terms of fitting my style but is more comfortable and is more versatile due to the medium output pickup. It was not noisy or difficult to use in the outdoor setting and other than a really bad sound engineer that kept turning my volume up and down causing a little extra feedback from the monitors it worked perfectly, of course at home I use it more for what it's intended, and the pickups with the basswood body allow you to use it with just about any amp and pedal out there.


Action, Fit, & Finish I've got two, one I got used and the other I got new at a clinic (JS1000BP). Joe played it for the clinic and I bought it. The fret ends were sticking out a bit and the shop fixed it the next day. They both are now flawless in the fit and finish category. Fret ends do that when the fretboard wood dries and shrinks a little and is common in any guitar. It is something I feel should have been taken care of by the shop before handing it to Joe at the clinic. I'm pretty picky about my Ibanez guitars and normally do a complete setup when I get one but this one didn't need anything else. The other is a Burnt Trans Blue, that I am crazy about.


Reliability & Durability I have had no issues and feel that as long as you keep it clean and use a little oil where you need to you'll have no issues with these. The trems are one of the best made and are my favorite on any guitar. Put a drop of oil on the lock nut screws and the stud anchors now and then and you'll have no issues.


Customer Support Ibanez is good to deal with and has a lot of info online for ordering parts. Do your homework and get the part numbers ahead of time, don't give them the serial number as I've found that they can't date there guitars and sent me knobs for a 90 instead of an 89 on my S 5040 LTD PN. They did take care of the issue with no loss to me except a little time.


Liked about it Great tone for just about any Genre of music.
Lite weight and comfortable to play, you could play it all night without feeling worn at all.
Quiet and versatile with the coil tap and high pass filter it's just fun to play.


Didn't like Initial fret end issue, which like I said I'm pretty sure was due to the shop not catching it.
Price, isn't crazy high but high enough that I don't have Three of them.
More colors would be better.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By ChrisPcritter
Dec 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Melodic, harmonic beast of an instrument. featured

Sound Sound is the best thing to know about this guitar. It is super sensitive to your playing technique.First i must say there is harminics from the first to 22nd fret.

I plugged it in the first time and was expecting something way different.I have always played high end ibanez rg's and this was nothing like them.It is more subtle and requires more attention to how you fret the notes and phrase them, let me explain : on my rg770dx i can just blister the fret board with no suprises , just pure shred .On the Js1000 i try to go deeper into what i'm doing and find these great tones just wating to be discovered .I'm definetly not saying i'ts bad it's just a very differnt beast from a classic shredder.I find it to be one of the best instruments i have ever had, and until this axe i always called them guitars not (instruments).

The guitar can go from 0 to 100 very fast depending on how you play it , fast, hard etc.
One thing i must point out is for clean tones i use the middle selection with the coil tap pulled out (locatd on the tone knob)and it gives this perfect clean sound.the neck pickup doesnt sing as well as a rg/jem , but you will see this guitar will make you play sound and feel like satriani.Think of this guitar as a scaple for surgery vs. a jem is like a chainsaw for cutting down trees.


Action, Fit, & Finish I got this guitar from mguitar center used, it is a 2008 model with the jcraft stuff.It has the edgepro bridge which some might argue is inferior to the original edge, but both are equaly great (trust me).The finish is absolutely stunning .You can see the gold flakes in the black pearl like stars in the sky. The hardware is a gunmetal color and if you keep it clean from oils on hands it will last a long time.

The neck is rosewood and is super slick , i love it .It has abalone inlays that appear dull frome some angles and very bright and pretty from other angles.One thing is on one of my dots there was a large brown spot on it from the factory and it draws alot of attention to the 12th fret but thats fine a better marker. I wouldn't call it a defect but its definetly noticable.

The action for me wont do great below 2mm , it will go past that but loses all the sustain and mojo.I think its because of the radius of the nick falls off alot on the high and low e , but its very tolerable and like i said before it's not a shredder at heart.(Don't tell Joe that).

The light weight body is great for long playing and is super comfortable all over , as the neck.
Speaking of the neck , it is great.It is the exact neck Joe uses i mean to the tolerance of a human hair , being its digitaly copied from his.Mine stays in tune perfectly and has no mods at all.

The case is a team jcraft case and fits the dody very snugly.It in fact could be dangerous to the guiutar if your not careful because if it doesnt get put in just right the neck will not sit flat on the neck pad and could potentially cause twisting.

It also comes with all the nice team jcraft tools that are neat and have foam pads on most of them , in a nice team jcraft bag.

If you are nithing but metal heads stay away from this guitar it is an instrument of harmonics and soul , not a shred your face off full blast demon, but rather like i said before a precise instrument that you can achive great flow, harmonics,and get lost deep in your music .


Reliability & Durability The guitar is 2 years old and is flawless still not a nick or tarnish to be seen.On the other hand check the nuts on the tuniong keys on the headstock front.

When i got mine i thought i was going to kill someone the neck sounded like the trussrod was shifting back and forth when i shook the neck .After hours of wanting to die i checked the tuners one by one to see if it was something inside of them and it was the 3rd one was sticking out about a quarter of an inch.

So apperently the neck is super resonic because it sounded like it was in the 22nd fret to the top.


Customer Support I never deal with ibanez , but their products are gold and only get destroyed because the user.


Liked about it The tone is beyond my expactations , it is a super freak in the market of tone.
The playability is uncalled for , and you get some of Joe when you buy this one.I swear i have had to change how i play, maybe the small freats or the way the dimarzios act , i don't know but i like it . It is making me a more precise player and going deeper in my technique, rather than full on beast blasting shredding.

I am really digging this guitar and am very excited on getting my technique up to par to be able to get the most from this instrument.

The whole package is super cool from the jcraft badging to the digitally made copy of Joes neck, and the whole feel of this instrument that i see myself becoming a better more versatile player with more depth.

Ibanez are true magicians and kjnow how to put a soul into an instrument, i guess like the japanese sumaris are said to put their soul into the swords .I think the same is true with thier guitars.


Didn't like I wish it had an original edge but the edge pro is a great trem , but why does Joe Satriani not use the edge pro and Ibanez puts it into the signature model of his.

Another thing is, i may be used to the rg cases but the jcraft fits a little snug for my taste . Like i said before be carful how you place the guitar in it because the left side doesnt want to go down enough if you put it in wrong and the neck will not sit into place correctly.

Only other thing i can think of is the weird dot on mine with the brown spot, not a defect but doesnt look like the others because of it and draws alot of attention towards it.But i will never miss the 12th fret because of it hahaha, it does have the shiniest abalone and maybe thats why i notice it the most too.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By andrewsfury
Apr 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Perfect migration from a Strat to something slightly better, lovely feel featured

Sound The FRED pickup in the bridge is amongst the most unique I've used before. It has splendid harmonics which is kinda strange for a mid output pickup. The pickup suits Satriani's playing style perfectly, any mid/high end leads are clean and clear as well as the bottom end being slightly under powered to stop it dominating the mix. One thing I did find was the pickup doesn't react terribly well to different ranges of notes being played at the same time. The bottom end can easily drown out the top end or negate it almost completely, so you have to be a bit more careful with keeping the strings under control if you want the best out of the instrument. The PAF neck pickup is warm and great for cleans that involve tapping and chorus style sounds, I can see why Joe went for it.

The sounds are made even more versatile by the coil tapped system. Not only is the tone coil tapped so you can simulate a single pickup setup on a dual humbucker guitar, the volume control is coil tapped as well to provide a lot more versatility with the high pass filter system it implements.

As people have already stated, the pickups will detect even the most subtle strikes so your playing style may have to be quite disciplined to get the most out of this guitar sound wise. The JS1000 is definitely not built with flat out shred in mind.


Action, Fit, & Finish The guitar looks lovely, completely black that changes texture in different light. The abalone / mother of pearl inlays along the neck are a great touch and the cosmo black hardware on the guitar creates a nice compliment to the overall theme. The action out of the shop was a little high for me but after a small adjustment I was well away with it.

If you've started out on a strat style guitar this instrument will be a great upgrade, the neck is modelled on Joe's favourite strat. Anyone like me who was used to playing a Strat at the time of purchasing this instrument will take to it like a duck to water. The benefits being the better hardware and locking lo-pro edge tremolo that are installed in the body.

What this does mean is the guitar handles and feels differently to a Jem or RG Wizard neck so if you're after pure speed you might not find what you're looking for here.


Reliability & Durability I've kept the guitar safe in it's case since I picked it up in 2003 and the only thing i've noticed is a little tarnishing on the trem over time. The pickups being black don't show much in the way of dirt and the body itself has been very resistant to scratching, even the back of the body that normally picks up belt / strap scratches seems to be in good condition after all this time.

I'd rely on the instrument for a gig without issue, however due to it being very light in weight and almost an S style shape in nature I've treated it more like the weakling of the pack and guarded it a bit more heavily than some of my Jem's / RGs. Treat with care and it will last a lifetime.


Customer Support Have not dealt with Ibanez directly since buying this instrument.


Liked about it The strat like neck was great as I was used to playing Fenders, except you can have a slghtly lower action and get away with it.
The looks are lovely, who can resist a shiny black, sleek guitar
The hardware is actually very good, I love the lo pro edge trem which has since become my favourite.


Didn't like FRED pickup took a bit of getting used to, had to adjust my style so it was a bit more conservative and controlled, but to be honest this was probably no bad thing at the time :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By D1m3b4g2
Nov 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

You won't be disappointed featured

Sound I own both a JS1000 and a JS1200, but the JS1000 was my first. Both give really rich, warm tones from their neck pickups (PAF-PRO for the JS1000, PAF-JOE for the JS1200.) However in single coil mode I hear just the tiniest bit more mid frequencies out of the PAF-PRO neck pickup on the JS1000. Both have FRED pickups in the bridge position.

Both the JS1000 & JS1200 have the pull-tap for splitting both pickings into single-coil mode, which is a great feature of these guitars for me. Combined with the 3-position switch you get six different combinations of sound. The high-pass filter on the volume knob is engaged by pulling it up as well, which allows you to roll off the volume but maintain the higher frequencies. I use this extensively when playing clean, subtle sounding passages.

I love both of the guitars for every type of funk, blues, and rock sound. There are some harmonics I can achieve when on the bridge pickup that I just don't get from my other guitars.


Action, Fit, & Finish I think for a lot of folks, picking either the JS1000 or JS1200 might come down to look. Do you like Black Pearl, or Candy Apple? Well, I had to have both in my collection. The fit and finish is superb. I'd purchased my JS1000 new from a local guitar shop that had it set-up for low action. I have adjustments made about every year, as where I live there are temperature & humidity changes that do tweak guitars quite a bit. But I've had know problems with either guitar. The Edge-Pro trem & locking nut keep the guitars in pefect tune for me.


Reliability & Durability I'd never bring a tremolo-equipped guitar, or any guitar for that matter, to a gig without a backup. I do feel the JS1000 is very durable.


Customer Support Never had any issues.


Liked about it I love the Black Pearl color, and the comfortable shape of the guitar.


Didn't like I've yet to find anything I'd like improved on the JS1000.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By PortlandAxe
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Everyday, All Day, Primary Axe featured

Sound This is one axe that actually produces sounds like the artist it was designed by/for. I have had 3 of these and had no complaints with the build, necks, electronics or the guitars in general. The only thing is the trems. The early Edge Pro stayed in tune better and just outperformed the newer trem. This guitar plays incredibly and has a very comfortable neck and a body shape that makes it easy to play all day long.

It produces clear singing lead lines, nice rhythm tones and is a great all around guitar. Would rate this guitar a 5.0 if it still had the Edge Pro Trem.


Action, Fit, & Finish Out of 3 guitars all 3 were were basically the same. I like extremely low action so I had to lower all of them, but each of them played without buzz. I personally like the frets (fretwire) which are great for touch playing and low action.
All adjustments were decent and needed very little tweaking for my preferences.


Reliability & Durability The JS1000 can take a beating and is made to be an everyday player. Finish is hard and tough but will succumb to a knock. It could be brought to a gig without backup but break a string and you could be out for 5 minutes so the simple solution is to buy 2 or have another axe as a stand in.
Overall a solid, great playing guitar.


Customer Support I haven't needed Ibanez's help so far........ a testimony to their build quality.


Liked about it 1. 6105 fret wire. Tall thin frets are great for playing lead lines.
2. Pickups and electronis. Dimarzio Fred & PAF Pro with the Push Pull Tone pot and great tonal solution.
3. Neck & Body, especially the neck!!!


Didn't like Liked the edge pro trem much better.
Trem rarely returned to zero point


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Billyb63
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

My go-to guitar featured

Sound The sound on this guitar is all Joe. The pickups can get a bit noisy because they tend to track everything you're doing, so beware of this. I have recorded with this guitar and when I played the recording for my wife, she said that the sound was similar to Joe's. One thing that is sort of annoying for me, is that the pickups are very sensitive and I have to be careful of what I'm doing otherwise it'll get picked up. Although I'm still trying to tame that feature of the guitar, I don't find it as a negative.


Action, Fit, & Finish I didn't buy this guitar new but, the guitar was well taken care of by its previous owner. I have since adjusted it to suit my needs and it works beautifully.

Although some people worry about transitioning to this guitar from others, I can tell you that there were no issues that I could tell. I have 2 Strats and picking up this guitar and playing it after playing my Strats is not an issue. The necks are very similar to each other, though the JS is a bit thinner.


Reliability & Durability The guitar itself is quite reliable and extremely dependable. The body of the guitar itself can be a bit fragile because of its composition (basswood), so it can ding easy and/or get dents easy if you're not careful.

The cosmo finish on the bridge can wear off easily, so be sure to wash your hands before playing it and wipe it clean when you're done.


Customer Support I haven't had to call Ibanez for any issues regarding this instrument.


Liked about it The ergonomic design of the guitar.
How easy it is to play it
The eletronics


Didn't like The frets (I wish they were stainless steel)
The trem (I wish Ibanez would give the customer an option to get it with an Edge instead)
The frets...


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By jb4674
Oct 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Solid Axe featured

Sound I own the JS1200 but since my local GC is not an A-list store, I demoed the JS1000 extensively before I dropped over $1400 for my JS. The two are pretty much the same with the exception of the finish and the neck pickup. Compared to the JS1200, the neck pickup in the JS1000 is a little warmer and rounder. It is not as clear and precise as the PafJoe. That's not a bad thing, it's just a bit different. I felt it gave a slightly more vintage sound, especially when coil tapped. The Fred in the bridge snarls and barks. It gets great harmonics. Despite the heavy emphasis on the mid-range frequencies, the JS1000 can handle a variety of tones and music styles. It is suited for rock and is definitely more inclined to be a lead instrument but it can comp chords, get nice and jazzy and still sit in the mix very well. The tone and volume controls are very responsive and the coil tap and hi-pass filter open up even more opportunities.


Action, Fit, & Finish I tried several different JS1000's over a period of months before I was sure I wanted one. I had never spent that much on a guitar, so I wanted to be certain. Some were set-up better than others. Because of the fretboard radius, most of the time you will be unable to get the action quite as low as an RG, for example, but you're able to get close. The feel is sort of a mix between a strat and an RG and the Edge-Pro stays in tune. I liked the finish but already had a few guitars in the blackish color pallet so I went with the 1200. Still, the way the light can hit it and make it olive green and other hues is pretty cool. The only improvement to the finish would be to have made the headstock match, but that's personal taste on a cosmetic issue.


Reliability & Durability I would strongly recommend purchasing the stud-mod from ibanezrules. Basswood is a softer wood and therefore not as durable. This will pay dividends 5 years down the road when your trem studs haven't made ovals out of the original round trem stud holes.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it 1. Vintage to modern tones with mere adjustments to the volume/tone controls.
2. Cool finish that can change color to some extent depending on the lighting.


Didn't like 1. When hi-pass filter is engaged the trem bar will catch the knob.
2. Non-matching headstock in black...it should match the body finish.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

On the hunt for the Satriani tone? Find it here... featured

Sound My main playing style is Satriani, Van Halen, G&R etc.. By far the very first job you should do with this guitar, new or used, is get it set up by a good Luthier, it makes a noticeable difference with this potential beast. Even if the intonation is slightly awry you will lose vitally needed tone & harmonics and will feel very cheap to play. The lo pro edge tremolo will serve you well and is the very best trem i have ever used, its absolutely perfect if thats your style of playing, always returns to zero and great for signature Satch tricks such as pinched scream-ups and the cat gargle. The tremolo arm was always AT ONE with the base too, theres nothing worse than your trem arm wobbling in its hole. The prestige neck is very thin with low profile frets, a shredders dream to play though i think it should have 24 instead of 22, you do struggle a little to get access to the last 2 frets and find your self using your first & second fingers instead of the third. I only use 9 gauge d`addario strings on this type of guitar, some say .10`s work well too but in my opinion its made for 9`s.

The JS1000 (when set up properly) sounds great through almost any amp, i played it through a voxVT50 and a JSX212, both of these amps on the right settings could fairly easily give a 95% match SATCH tone, remember to use a strong bluesy distortion with slight delay and slight reverb, a good wah pedal such as a vox big bad wah will fill in that last 5%. Perfect.

I have to be honest i wasnt a massive fan of the pickups, i had a white JS100 that sounded better on occasion, the thing is with high end guitars like the js1000 and the jem7`s, you have to drive the pickups to get the tone of the virtuoso`s and chances are you probably never will be able to.

I toyed with the idea of installing upgrade pups, the Mo-Joe and the PAF-JOE for £150, never got round to it, i doubt if it would have made much difference, again its down to how you DRIVE the pickups.

The neckup pickup was more fun than the bridge in my opinion, though both are good pickups, with the push-pull filter pots you can achieve a massive tonal variety from this thing, whatever your style, im sure you would find the right tone.

Is the JS1200 better in any way?? Dont know, never played one, if it is better, the average guitarist probably wouldnt notice the difference anyway.


Action, Fit, & Finish When i picked mine up the setup was a country mile out, it had .8 gauge strings fitted with no adjustment done to the bridge or truss road, she went straight to my luthier. When i got her back it was perfect. The action was seriously low, no buzzing and deadening on top-end string bends. All in all a good quality axe with a great trem system.


Reliability & Durability Never broke a string, required fine tuning after 2-3 songs, and i gave this JS some proper hammer, gigged her approx 10 times, faultless performance, im almost sick to the stomach that i got rid, but i had GAS at the time.

A very low maintanence guitar.

GAS = Guitar Aquisition Syndrome :-)


Customer Support Never required any customer support, but if i wanted any help or advice i would have posted in JEMSITE anyways.


Liked about it The EDGE lo pro tremolo was its best feature, great for tuning stability and capable of lots of tricks, the trem just had that feel of quality and instilled confidence in the player, this guitar is sooooooooooo playable, very little effort required and almost made legato easy (but its not), the low profile frets were definately a bonus.

With the right equipment and settings this is a fantastic SATCH TONE FINDER.


Didn't like Only one thing i didnt like about mine, burnt transparent blue, some like it, some dont, i didnt, and wished that ibanez would make different colours, a real nice metal flake purple would have been good.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Aeolian555
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

The right guitar for me if it is a modern ibanez

Sound well, the sound is amazing... i don't have to swap it.. basswood helps the paf sing which is great. i play fusion and this man can cover what i need. i run this with my 75w 80's peavey practice amp and goes well with it.


Action, Fit, & Finish action is awesome, not a fan of super low action but this guy... mid action which helps with my bends and paf helps with the sustain another great combination is the neck, REALLY chunky neck!! i am asian and i have small fingers but i love the chunky hand rolled edges of this neck (it's like playing my favorite strat which became super!!). finish... i know this is crazy but i am an artist so i guess it is kind of bland for me.. i might strip the paint off on this one and make the body a canvas for "faces"(satch guitar) looking artwork. i might post it soon when i get a chance.


Reliability & Durability build like a tank.. i don't throw instruments on stage or wham it on other people.. so this guitar is safe.. it does not go out of tune (thanks to the bridge) and this is like a minimalistic type of super strat.. not much knobs and just h-h pickups which is my preferred kind.


Customer Support didn't bother calling them for issues


Liked about it 1: the body is basswood

2: the neck is chunky!! i love it better than any of my ibby's

3: no extra electronics.. straightforward, direct and simple guitar that can do the job


Didn't like 1: i like PAF but i am more of a SD pearly gates +

2: the only ONLY favor i would probably ask ibanez is make a js model with no double locking trem with sperzel tuners. that will be fun.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By gitarudesu
Apr 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Does what it says on the tin - Brilliant guitar

Sound I don't really know how to describe it! I love the sound the JS1000 makes. I suppose it is a very full and rich sound. A very, very versatile guitar - I play instrumental stuff including Vai and Satch but mainly covers of bands like Oasis and Foo Fighters. It can handle a nice soft ballad as well as a raucous shredding session.

The JS1000 also has push-pull knobs, a high pass filter and a coil tap. These extend the versatility of the guitar even further. Perfect for volume swells.


Action, Fit, & Finish I bought the guitar second hand so no comment I'm afraid!


Reliability & Durability I've never had a problem with the JS1000, technically speaking. Just the odd crackle on the volume switch, which is easily fixed though mine is 18 years old and it is expected.
I must say, I wouldn't take it to a gig without a backup though. Strings break quite easily and I've often been crapping my pants quickly putting the string back in/putting a new one on before playing. That's my fault though lol...

The finish is brilliant! Some really strong stuff. I've got about 4 dings in the paint and I haven't seen one bit of wood. The finish seems to 'smash' like glass. The colour is still as beautiful as ever as well.


Customer Support Never dealth with Ibanez!


Liked about it The playability - Just wonderful. I love playing it!
The look - It is a very sleak looking guitar and you look the part playing anything.
The sound - I've already talked about the sound. It's just so versatile! Too versatile in fact... I can't decide what to play next!


Didn't like Easy to ding - Despite how I said the paint doesn't just come off and leave wood showing, I have found it a bit too easy to mark with the lightest of touches. Maybe I should take more care...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By TheYoungGuitaris
Feb 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Top of the line guitar

Sound The JS1000 has some great punch, the pickups have superb clarity, brightness, and major tone. The dual humbucker setup is great, both humbuckers are high output. The bridge has great tones as well as the neck pickup. Switching to the neck pickup is very noticeable in the tone but still cuts thru and has great harmonics. Some people say this guitar can sound like a strat, distorted maybe....but clean you will find a various array of tones. The coil taps and freq cuts are super for dialing in different tones.


Action, Fit, & Finish I've gotten the strings to set down to just 1mm of the neck, but have since raised the action slightly cause I found the low action to be a little overkill. This guitar is very easy to play, it plays like a strat on crack. I have the black pearl finish, its a nice and thick coat of paint, really easy to polish. A glamorous and light tone monster of a guitar.


Reliability & Durability Excellent reliability and durability. I really bang away on the trem with pull ups and divebombs and it stays in tune, no popping or creaking. I've had this guitar for a few years and its my go to guitar.


Liked about it I like the feel and look.
Especially love all the sounds from the guitar.
This guitar will become a part of you, its so natural to hold.


Didn't like I wasn't a big fan of the truss rod access


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By OME
Aug 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Much more then expected!!

Sound This guitar is amazingly versatile. It has the ability to be rich and warm, but with a flick of the pickup selector you get a bright/cut through sound. I did replace the bridge pickup to get a little more volume, but that was personal selection and had nothing to do with the original factory pickup.


Action, Fit, & Finish Typical Chesbro set-up, needed only minor tweaking to get it where I liked it. Fit and finish is good, but as expected with Ibanez, there were only minor issues, none of which needed to be addressed.


Reliability & Durability This is one of the most reliable guitars I own. When all else fails, I go straight to my 1000 knowing that it can handle whatever I throw at it and works like a charm every time. It is just like that favorite old pair of shoes!!!


Liked about it The compound radius neck feels like a guitar I've played for years!
The contour body is very comfortable.
The electronics layout is exactly where I would have put it.


Didn't like The bridge pickup wasn't exactly what I wanted, but overall still a very good pickup.
The tremolo was a little picky. Some slight set-up work fixed that.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By acoustic1991
Aug 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great, Reliable Guitar, Just Not For Me

Sound The way this guitar sounded was just somewhat flat and weak to me. Compared to a few of my other guitars, a jem and a uv, it just couldn't provide the right sound i was looking for. I did not own this guitar long, and that is one of the main reasons why. When doing a sort of jazz/rock solo, i did feel like this guitar accomplished producing the right tones, but when i tried to play more shredding, the pickups just weren't hot enough.
The neck was also a little to thick for me, i had trouble playing through faster runs and sweeps due to this.


Reliability & Durability This is a very reliable guitar. I could use the tremolo as much as i want without having to worry about the guitar going outta tune. Id comfortably expect to be able to play an entire show worth this one guitar.


Liked about it I liked the stability of the tremolo,
The finish was very classy
The curvature of the body was awesome to look at


Didn't like Standard dot inlays=boring
The neck is just too chunky for me
The guitar needs different pickups


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Bryancap77
Jun 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great daily Axe

Sound Just like any other high line JS guitar this one is just awesome.
I'd give a 4.5/5 rating just because it doesn't have 24 frets.
I love the action, love the sound. Have it well set up and this guitar is a very reliable and fun to play.


Reliability & Durability Like every single Ibanez, whenever well adjusted there's no wrong doing


Liked about it -LIght Weight
-Fast neck
-Amaizing sound


Didn't like I need a JS1000 with 24 frets


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By JimmySinner
Oct 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec98 spec484 spec554