Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (6)
 Add a review

Dimarzio Instrument Cable Featured

 
DiMarzio® Guitar & Instrument Cables are unsurpassed for connecting guitars, basses and keyboards to amps. Exceptionally crisp, clear, quiet and durable, they outperform cables costing much more. They've been called "the new industry standard," and have successfully passed Guitar Player magazine's "chop" and "jump rope" tests as well as many other torture tests....


Price: $24 to $47 at 13 stores
Searched Dimarzio Instrument Cable in Reviews
 

 

Do they really make THAT much difference? featured

Comments Ok, I normally wouldn't bother spending any time reviewing a cable. It seems like such an insignificant part of any signal chain, and so many people take the 'if it ain't broke don't fix it' approach; including myself for some time. Obviously when I started playing guitar about ten years ago, any leads would do, until I got my first set of 'Classic Volt' Fender cables free with a guitar I bought. My sound suddenly got a little brighter, and I assumed that this was the difference between a cheap cable, and an expensive one.

Move forward another couple of years and a friend of mine raves about monster cables, insisting I get one. I try it, and find that again it shapes my tone slightly differently. In the case of the Monster cables, I didn't like this. It added artificial sounding frequencies and made the guitar sound quite unatural, which really didn't go down well. Now I'm thinking - obviously cables make a difference, but I don't want them to colour my sound, I just want it to take the sound of my expensive guitar and pickups that I spent ages chosing and deliver to my nice amp in it's true form, and this is when the DiMarzio cable landed on my doorstep.

As soon as I plugged it in, I felt like I got the sound that I chose my guitar for, and more of it. The very low and high frequencies were all there without 'spikes'. It made my other cables feel restricted and got rid of those nasty spikes in the tone that are induced by 'tone cables'. Very pleased.


Liked about it You cannot tie this thing in a knot, it just won't do it. Provided you wind it up and unwind it with care, it'll stay straight as an arrow.

Tips are great, have a nice weight to them and aren't showing any wear at all.

This doesn't try to ADD to your sound, but give you all of it. Every nuance and harmonic comes through the cable, when I've found other brands colour them.


Didn't like I'm yet to find anything I don't like about the lead itself, but I don't think it's guarunteed which I find odd...

EDIT: Confirmed with Steve at DiMarzio UK, this lead is guaranteed for life!



Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Fun111
Mar 22, 2010
 
Last updated: July 14, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Lose the tangle, and then we'll talk

Comments After becoming a DiMarzio pickup devotee, I thought I'd try their cables next and so I got a 15ft. instrument cable (a friend who lost my old cable promised to get me one of these, and he did, so I got mine for free). Mine was black.

Trying the cable out for the first time it was about at par with my slightly pricier George L's with a bit less highs. This is now the cable I use to slightly tame my RP500's signal before hitting my power amp full circle, as it isn't a very bright cable, just right for what I'm using it as.

My greatest frustration, though, is the fact that it's a very stubborn cable to coil and uncoil. It seems to like coiling up (then again, when my friend gave it to me for the first time the cable was tightly coiled in his bag) even when you wanted it straight. I'm sure there's a workaround, but my other cables didn't do this even brand new.


Liked about it 1. no noise (pretty standard with shielded cables)
2. strain relief (looks nifty, but it does what it's supposed to do well)
3. output sound is just right, not too dark nor bright


Didn't like Again, the only problem for me was the fact that it resisted getting straightened. Otherwise it would've been perfect.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By theapprentice
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Is this witchcraft, or just good design?

Comments I've been playing guitar for perhaps around 4.5 years now, and in that time, I've maybe gone through 3-4 leads per year. I've never really thought about it and just thought that it was the norm, and indeed, all of my friends have done the same thing with buying cheap leads and having them last a short amount of time. After Christmas, I had a bit of spare money and I was using a frankly awful lead, so I decided to treat myself. I got it fairly cheap on everyone's favorite/least favorite auction site brand new, so I thought it was a good deal. When it got here, I could tell straight away from the bulkiness of the connectors that it was a well-built cable. After I'd taken it out and unraveled it, I realized the best thing about it: it's impossible to tangle. The cable's protective rubber lining (I forgot the technical term... oops) makes sure that it can still bend enough to be useful, but it can't tangle around itself, whatsoever. I don't think you could do it if you tried.

Being something of an audiophile/audio enthusiast, I was perfectly aware that upgrading headphone wire/speaker wire can be a decent improvement to sound quality, but I'd never thought about doing this with my guitar. I'd like to be original here, but I can't really sum it up better than how someone else did. This doesn't improve your tone, it's more that it allows all of the tone that should be there come through. It's just perfect in every way.

If this was somehow broken, I'd buy another. Not sure how that would happen though, this thing's built like a tank.


Liked about it Build quality
tone
It's frickin' DiMarzio


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By meticadpa
Jan 09, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Top quality as expected from DiMarzio

Comments I decided that after 18 years of playing guitar that I should really go out and buy myself some good quality cables. My first test subject is the DiMarzio 10 foot braided cable in a striking red colour.

The build quality of the DiMarzio instrument cables is second to none. There is a nice weight to the cable, hinting at the high quality shielded audio cable, and the addition of top-notch Switchcraft TRS connectors is welcomed. The material used for the braiding looks like it will endure the rigours it will be put through on stage and in the studio.

The assorted colours that DiMarzio make their cables available in is a nice touch too. Cables can be a very boring item to purchase and use, and giving the customer a choice of colours is a very smart move by DiMarzio.

Plugging the DiMarzio cable in I noticed a nice clear signal, with a little more clarity than the cables I had used prior to this. There is nothing artificial about the tone, generated through the DiMarzio cable, it's just nice and natural with no major emphasis on any frequencies.

The one issue I have with the DiMarzio braided instrument cables is probably a common issue with any braided instrument cables. They have a tendency to try and tangle up a little which can be annoying. There is no way that the cable will knot, but it seems to retain a memory of it's wound up state. I am careful when I wind up my cables, and I still have the problem. My band mate has a Fender braided cable, and complains of the same problem too.

Overall the quality and clarity of the tone shines through, and I am very happy with the cable. It looks like it will last a very long time with little to no maintenance, and the clarity of sound will be wonderful when recording.


Liked about it Quality components and solid build.
* Variety of colours is a wonderful thing
* Tone is great, very open and natural with loads of clarity.


Didn't like Cable has a tendency to tangle itself a bit, which can be annoying.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By LonePhantom
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

ups and downs ( but downs fixable)

Comments I got my cable 2 years ago at a local shop. I payed way too much for it, i paid 60.00 for a 10ft. cable.

I got it home and tried it out, it made a subtle difference to my sound.
I do a lot of my playing on my PC with Line6 gearbox.
It seemed to make the sound more crisp and clear.I have several other cables but i use this one and my monster one the most.


Liked about it I love the neon colors you can get with this cable. It is a solid cable once you keep the ends from unscrewing on you.

The clarity is unmatched with this one for p.c. use .I have never had a short with this one at all.

Again the colors you can get are sweet hahaha. Anyways I have to be smothered with Dimarzio stuff because I'm a huge Ibanez fan and Dimarzio and Ibanez are meant for each other.


Didn't like The biggest issue I have had with these is the ends were unscrewing often and causing noise so I put some thread sealer on them, and it stopped.

The price was huge for this cable and I think I got ripped, so be price conscience on these and look for the best deals. This was before i got into the auction sites a lot.

The cable gets twisted if not careful, but doesn't bind up in knots like other cables due to its rigid rugged design , so just don't be a slob and you'll be alright.

For the color options and Dimarzio love i have other than monster cables this one is the best and if not for the ends unscrewing before i fixed them would be on top.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By andrewsfury
Jun 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

After 20 years--STILL WORKS LIKE A CHAMP!

Comments Anything that comes from Dimarzio deserves a listen. Well, in the case of Dimarzio--a look, too! These cables are no exception. They come in a variety of lengths and colors. Some say, "It's just a cable, dude!" If a guitar is the heart of a musician and an amp is the muscle--then a cable is the blood flow that connects them. These cables do not disappoint!


Liked about it I was drawn to the Dimarzio cable 20 years ago for two reasons. First, it's made by Dimarzio--my FAVORITE manufacturer of anything. Second, the spiffy colors that my favorite company plasters on it's plethora of goodies. The outer coating is durable and easy to clean. The connections are strong, and I never had to resolder the connectors. After 20 years, I still use my neon green 10' Dimarzio instrument cable. Based on the length of time this little beauty has lasted, I really want to give it SIX stars.


Didn't like Are you kidding? It's Dimarzio! What's not to like?


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $24 to $47
Compare Prices
at 13 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec662 spec294