Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (7)
 Add a review

Dunlop Big Stubby Picks 3.0mm Featured

 
Contoured for smooth release, these picks provide an extremely positive attack for super-fast licks. Manufactured from Lexan® providing great strength and durability. Powerful gripping surface for easier handling.


Price: $1 to $13 at 13 stores
Searched Dunlop Big Stubby Picks 3.0mm in Reviews
 

 

Huge pick for huge tone featured

Comments I have been a fan of thick picks for many years. ever since my guitar teacher showed me the 3mm Stubby I was hooked on the tones generated from picks over 1mm thick.

I first tried out the aforementioned 3mm Stubby, but found it a little too small and slippery for my liking. I quickly moved to the 3mm Big Stubby, and found it to have a far better grip, and enabled a solid pick attack that was to my liking.

I was playing in a couple of punk rock bands at the time as a lead guitar player. I enjoyed the attack and response for fast tremolo picking on while playing power chords, and liked the finesse that the picks sharp point provided for lead guitar parts.

The issue I did have with them was the rate they wore out when doing pick scrapes on the strings. I made pick scrapes a big part of my rhythm playing, using the technique to lead from one one part of a song to another. The Big Stubbys were eaten alive from pick scrapes, and I was lucky to have a serviceable pick after a few rehearsals and gigs. The lexan material that the picks are made from would just be cut up by the strings, leaving gouges in the side of the pick very quickly. Thankfully the picks aren't too expensive, but it was still a bit annoying.

Overall the Dunlop 3mm Big Stubby is a fantastic solid pick for huge tone, and the sharp-ish tip provides a great point for sharp single note playing. If you like to use the pick scraping technique a lot in your playing then just be prepared to go through a lot of picks.


Liked about it Nice THICK pick for fat tone and no flex from the pick.
* Not too slippery.
* Sharp point for great pick attack.


Didn't like Wore out too quickly.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By LonePhantom
Apr 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Dunlop Big Stubby Picks 3.00mm

Comments Since I got back into regular playing about 4 months ago I have been obsessed with clarity and control. I always found thinner picks just too weak and twangy.

I used to use Dunlop Jazz II, but my one issue with them was the edges weren't smooth and dug into the string a little too much, particularly as I leave very little of the pick to strike the string.

I love these picks, particularly the thumb indentation, my only wish is they were slightly smaller as I have small hands.


Liked about it 1 Smooth, Sharp edges - fantastic for pinch harmonics and legato
2 Thumb indentation for a secure grip
3 Thick for better control


Didn't like 1 Overall size slightly too big for my hand - that's a personal gripe - would love if they put the thumb groove in the smaller stubby.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Laobi
Oct 05, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

My favorite pick...ever

Comments I have always got about a dozen different types of picks at a time just because I don't always want to do the same thing. I have way too many musical tastes. This pick could easily fill most of my needs, but depends on what day/what guitar/amp/etc. It is the #1 must have pick though if I had to choose just one. I think I got one over ten years ago and always remembered what it looked like, what it was called, and could always find it when I needed it. Other picks never quite had the impact on me like this. At first you might not realize what this thing can do until you start using it regularly. Works great for acoustic guitar also. Really adds flavor. Even with metal, if you switch back and forth with your picks this one will always have the best overall sound and consistency.


Liked about it Really tightens up your playing, defining every note in chords and solos.
Keeps notes sustained longer for legato, long vibrato, ringing out chords, etc.
Very comfortable to hold and play with.


Didn't like Have to sometimes give a little extra when speed picking, trade off is makes everything sound like Vinnie Moore :)
There is an audible little pick scrape sound most of the time, I think it's kinda cool but you might not like it.
You will probably have to dial your equipment differently if you dialed in with this pick. It has a lot of kick.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Whyrendog
Mar 30, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Great for rhythm playing

Comments I got myself one of these after looking through the individual picks at a local store. I thought this would be interesting to try out, so I bought it. After trying it out, I loved how comfortable it was to play with, and how good it sounded for playing rhythmic roles in a song. The pit in the center where your thumb rests is a great way to keep the pick from sliding out of your hand the way a normal Stubby does. If you're used to normal sized Fender picks, this is definitely a step up considering the control and attack you get from this compared to a flat Fender. However, if you come from using Jazz III's or V-picks like I do, this large pick is going to end up being relatively unwieldy compared to a Jazz-III type pick for playing lead parts


Liked about it -Large and hard to lose
-Great bass/rhythm guitar pick
-Easy to hold, great control.


Didn't like -More colors would be nice, not a real problem, though
-Pricey


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Jet9
Dec 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Thick but Nice

Comments It is a very thick pick but it has an area that is thinner in the center that forms to your thumb. It is very comfortable to hold and and very grippy. Even if your hands are sweaty you can still have a good grip on it. Even though it is thick you can't tell when you use it. The point sharp which helps keep it accurate and precise. It is very stiff obviously because of the thickness. It isn't great for playing fast because the thickness make it kind of sluggish between going from string to string. Good for playing chords. Overall it is a little big for my taste but works well.


Liked about it -Sharp point
-Very Comfortable
-Easy to hold onto even with sweaty hands
-Doesn't wear down quickly


Didn't like -Very thick
-Has a large feel to it
I wish they made it the size or a little bigger than a jazz 3.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By takenaway
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Lookin for a new Pick? This might be for you.

Comments At first glance at this pick, I was like wow, this i big. I normally play a .73 gauge Tortex pick. But I held it and it felt great in my hand; the imprint for the thumb is awesome and once I starting picking provided the control I needed. Picking was more defined and I found that I didn't have to work harder to pick at all. Notes were smooth and more defined. The pick edges rolled of and created a nice feeling to the hand and there was no chirping when picking. Note I use this pick on my acoustic guitar with phosphor bronze strings. I now use these picks exclusively on my acoustic guitar. They feel great, add clarity in picking and massive control a great addition to the guitarist who like to experiment and refine their sound.


Liked about it Pick design and feel of pick material
Clarity when picking and added control when picking
Durability - these picks lat quite along time before I have to replace them.


Didn't like They are a little pricey, but for what they offer and provide it is worth it. Also - colors, can we get some other colors in there?


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sporatic
May 14, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Worth a Look

Comments I am always trying new picks. After several breaks and dislocations, I have difficulty holding a thin pick for more than a few minutes. While searching through several thick picks, I found the Big Stubby 3.0mm and bought it.


Liked about it -The texture was nice. Makes it simple to feel the exact pick orientation.
-I was able to hold the pick with very little tension.
-Most heavy/thick picks, especially acrylic and metal, produce a noticeable "chirping" sound when picking the strings from a non-perpendicular angle. This wasn't the case with the Big Stubby.


Didn't like The indentation is too far from the plectrum tip for my picking style. I have to shift the pick constantly for thumb muting and pinch harmonics. It would probably be my main pick if not for that small detail.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Pamanagm
Jun 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $1 to $13
Compare Prices
at 13 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec664 spec296