Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (37)
 Add a review

Dunlop Jazz III Featured

 
The Jazz Nylon Series picks provide a variety of tones for player preference depending on tip shape. The Jazz III is a small, broad grip pick featuring a sharp tip.


Price: $3 to $14 at 10 stores
Searched Dunlop Jazz III in Reviews
 

 

Great picks! featured

Comments I read about these picks almost everywhere, so figured I would give them a shot. Needless to say have absolutely no regrets! This is a thicker and smaller pick then most standard, Fender-style, picks. The certain pick I am reviewing is Jim Dunlops newest incarnation of this legendary pick is the brand new Dunlop "ultex Jazz III".

This pick is made from a special yellow translucent-like material that Dunlop calls "ultex". It seems to be extremely durable and has a very solid attack, great if you are sweeping, tremolo picking, or using legato!

As I said, this is a very thick pick, the heaviest gauge - My favourite - Is 3.0mm. because this has a sharp beveled tip, its very smooth because its essentially a perfectly round tip, the string just glides off the tip! Whereas fender style picks are often under 1mm and have an awkward tip shape that is not that friendly to techniques that require speed and precision, it can be a little "clumsy". And the ultex material certainly does not hurt performance either, it gives it a very rapid ans smooth attack (think Petrucci) and has great grip despite its small size!

I would Recommend this pick to most people, especially in the rock and shred genre


Liked about it 1) Excellent tip!

2) Ultex material has smooth tone and attack!

3) Harmonics just bleed off of this thing!


Didn't like 1) nothing about the pick, I just wish more stores carried the Ultex version


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By fwd0120
Aug 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great pick for precision--be warned--you may never go back. featured

Comments As with some of the other reviewers, I was turned on to these picks by my local music store manager. At first they felt weird, but I noticed my picking was becoming quicker and more precise. Triplet-picking and sweeps were coming easier and I wasn't getting any string bleed-over and didn't find myself having to re-grip or re-position the pick. Now I can't even comfortably play regular-sized picks. As a bonus, Dunlop has now released the Ultex III pick which is a more durable material and doesn't wear down the tips as easy along with providing better grip. I noticed the black III's had better grip than the red III's, but now I'm strictly playing the Ultex III.


Liked about it Excellent for precision picking.
Smaller pick is easier to palm for tapping.
Small size puts my thumb closer to the string for at-will harmonics.


Didn't like The new translucent-yellow color on the Ultex is a little weird.
Grip on the red III's doesn't seem to be as good as the others.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By racerevlon
Dec 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Precise small pick featured

Comments The JazzIII picks come actually in different tip shapes and thicknesses: Round (1.10), Semi (1.18), Sharp (1.38), plus either in Red Nylon or Black Stiffo Nylon. There is also a version made out of Dunlop's Ultex material, an exceptionally sturdy plastic which has a satin surface. I personally play the Black Stiffo Nylons in Sharp.

It takes some time to get used to these picks if you started up with regular-sized ones: JazzIIIs are small. And we're talking way small. They might even be physically too small for some big thumbed folks to hold properly.

I had to work a bit on my pick holding technique to make them work for me, as I kept hitting the strings with too much finger surface. But once you master them, they are very precise picks with a strong string attack - small pick with a pointy tip, makes a big difference. Ok, maybe another part was that I actually had to pay proper attention to my pick-holding technique when I switched over to these ;).

If you like doing harmonics with your picking hand, these are perfect. However, doing strong strumming for cords is awkward initially, once more due to the size. But all it takes is some time to get used to it.

The Nylon JazzIIIs are also easy to hold on to, as the slightly protruding JD logo allows comfortable grip, even with sweaty fingers. The Ultex versions are even better to grab due to their overall satin-like surface.


Liked about it - Pointy tip for precise, fast playing with good pick attack.
- Sturdy.
- Easily available in many stores.


Didn't like - Keep losing them because they are so small ;).
- Takes some time to get used to.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By cm_17
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

The essence of "pick-ness"

Comments I tell my students that the *most*-important factor in choosing a pick is: get one that clashes with the carpet (or you're going to be losing a lot of them). That's a nice perk of the Jazz-III's, you can get them in red.

This is actually the pick I have used, exclusively, ever since about my 2nd year of playing. My guitar mentor was exceeding anal about efficient fretting and picking techniques, never any more movement than needed (and, yeah, he was a big Al Di Meola fan). That pre-occupation with "getting things down to just what is necessary" makes us both love the Jazz-III.

First, there's only enough pick to hold onto, with a little bit of point sticking out. Grab most other big picks and you see plastic sticking out all over the place (which is doing nothing except stirring the air up as you pick). Also, it's the thickest, most inflexible pick I've found (aside from metal ones, which cause chirps and squeals when you pick), so the string gets picked when *you* decide to pick, unlike other picks which flex.

This pick is the Doberman Pinscher of picks. All of the parts you need, well formed, elegant.


Liked about it Small and compact.
Thick and stiff: picks exactly when my finger moves.
Comes in red.


Didn't like They're among the pricier picks in the store (about .25 or .30)
I'm always worried that Dunlop is going to stop making them and then I'll never get to play guitar again.
They *could* use a little more grip. The raised printing on the pick helps, but more texture would be better.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By jemenake
Nov 20, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

There's a reason why so many great guitarist use them!

Comments Almost right from the start of my guitar playing I have used the purple 3mm Jim Dunlop stubby picks. More and more I read how so many of my fave guitar players use Jazz IIIs. So I bought three to try out: a red one a black one and an ultex one. Initially they felt strange, bigger than the stubby but because they were thinner there seemed more room between the strings to pick. After the initial readjustment this makes picking feel so much easier than before as there is more room to get the pick between the strings. They seem to leave the string easier and wear in a lot quicker than the stubbies did.

The ultex felt the stiffest of the three, but I kept losing it - its a weird colour, a kind of 'urine stain yellow' ;) that seems to camouflage itself too well against carpets etc. if you drop it! The red felt a little more flexible than the black, not by much, just a bit more give in them. So I've settled on the blacks.
I'm a guitar teacher with a local authority music service, so I'm playing/teaching all day. The JD stubbies would wear out fairly quickly, losing their tip. These Jazz IIIs don't seem to wear as quickly and and I'm certainly going through less plectrums than I used to.
I would say overall these picks have improved my playing, I feel a little bit more in control with them.


Liked about it They leave the string nicely, wear very well, rigid but thin.


Didn't like They colour of the ultex, there is a tiny moulding seam on the edge that looks as though it might get in the way. It doesn't and its easily scraped off if it bothers you, but its there.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By stratcat69
Oct 05, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

OK pick

Comments OK, I have tried several jazz iiis, ultex, max grip and regular nylon jazz.

I usually play with 2mm ultex sharp, and I need several days of playing to get myself used to jazz III feel.

There's a lot of hype regarding this product, some people say it's the ultimate for fast playing, but it's not without it's own downside.

For fast picking, my ultex sharp offer less friction and allow me to pick faster, but jazz alter my technique slightly, and I think my picking has become a little more precise. However, 2mm ultex sharp allow me to pick harder, and the sound is a bit cleaner and compressed.

Bottom line is, If you play blues or any other music than 'shred' where you require hard picking dynamic the jazz is not for you, you might end up hurting your hand. For fast picking, it's quite good to 'economize' your hand movement, but I still think my ultex sharp has better, clearer pick attack for shredding.


Liked about it 1. Good for your technique
2. Make pinch harmonics easier
3. Available in many varieties, ultex, tortex, max grip, nylon, etc.


Didn't like 1. Really bad for hard blues picking, it might just fly off your hand, and you will hurt your hand


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By bowie8889
Jun 27, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

If Sonic The Hedgehog had a line of picks, It would definatly be the Jazz pick lineup!

Comments These picks are almost my main weapon when it comes to playing guitar since I like playing in the more versatile and technical style. After playing with alot of diffrent picks I then saw multiple players,fourm posters and youtube posters and many other people who were using these picks, so then I when to the local guitar shop to see what the rave was about, and man these picks are really amazing, especially for building skill or technique!

And I really got the most from the JazzIII by holding it lightly, It almost felt like playing legato because my picking had felt very smooth. These picks take getting used too but they are excellent!
These picks feel awkward at first but when you keep practicing with this pick it will blow out any pick out the park in my opinion and it will help you get used to other picks in my opinion as well.

If your big on pinch harmonics (or any other type of harmonics) then this pick is hands down the ultimate weapon of choice! Because of the size of the pick it would be easier for your thumb or index regardless of your picking technique to pull off harmonics becuase your fingers would be closer the the strings. Plus it makes doing backwards pinch harmonics easier too!

Air3s - Sky Jump (Guitar song) (video)



Liked about it ? Size hands down rocks, and great to hold unless you have sweaty hands I guess.
? The tip of the pick is sharp, great for attack or controlling velocity of your strum. Also helps with pinch harmonics
? These things are 3.0 mm I'v heard? whatever they are, THEY WILL NOT SNAP!
? Last These picks give you like a bouncy feel that makes your next string attack alot more controllable. (in my opinion)


Didn't like ? The tips of these picks wear off FAST. I mean they only wear of fast if you play alot or the technique your doing is intensive.
? When these bad boys fall on the floor where there are like wires or were it is dark, its like a game of hide and seek.

? Other then that no real Dislikes, but if they made a metal,tortex layered version of this pick and string safe, I would hands down buy a life time supply of these picks :D


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Aires
Apr 20, 2012
 
Last updated: April 21, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

If It Is A Little Bit Larger

Comments So call recommended pick, I give it a shot, my favourite pick is Dunlop Tortex yellow & orange (0.73 & 0.60),

this pick is quite impressive but I find it is not quite suitable for me. it is also easier to shred using this pick

I have large fingers and this small tip make picking uncomfortable for me..

I prefer red color over black, because i always lost the black one, sometimes miss seeing them in front of my eyes on dark surfaces

It is easily available, most stores carry them

Tone wise, I think no different at all, it might be because the phrase 'tone is in the fingers' not the pick, but my Tortex 0.73 & 0.60 can produce scratchy tone by adjusting the angle of pick, Jazz III quite difficult to do that most probably of its small size and sharp tip.

Overall, its not bad, just not for me, but i always keep one in the wallet


Liked about it - Last longer than my usual pick
- Better control..
- Easy to perform pinch harmonics squealing


Didn't like - A little bit pricey..
- Small tip might be uncomfortable for other (at least to me)
- the black color, always hiding on dark surfaces, difficult to locate


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By nezcar
Nov 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

every guitar player should at least try them

Comments Introduced to Jazz III picks by a friend who was obsessed with Dream Theater and Al Dimeola. This was around when I first got into playing guitars. He changed the way I held a pick and gave me a Jazz III pick to show me. So I don't necessarily remember the transition period that well. It is probably easier to make the transition to Jazz III than to transition out of it. When I first tried to try different picks it was hard because they all felt weird at first. Once you get used to Jazz III picks other picks feel large and clumsy in your hand. Alternate picking is the game, and a person can pick a lot faster using this pick. They are more expensive than say the Fender Medium picks but still cheap enough that I never really pay any attention to how much I'm paying for them. Guitar center sells them in packs of 6. They come in black and orange. Eric Johnson has his own signature version as well. There are a lot of positive qualities in this pick that are worth a try.


Liked about it 1. grip, don't think that one has ever slipped out of my hand
2. durability, they hold up really well
3. size, the smaller size makes pinch harmonics easier


Didn't like 1. Not great for strumming on an acoustic guitar.
2. The biggest negative that I can think of which is also a positive is how reliant a player can become on these picks. Trying different picks afterwards just feels awkward. It is almost as if the picking hand is having withdrawals needing its fix, the Jazz III.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Highwaystar
Dec 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

This is a gateway pick.

Comments This pick is one of the most famous amongst guitarists, and for good reason. When you start using these, it does take quite a bit of modification to your technique to get it right and hold this smaller/thicker pick properly, but you will quickly reap the benefits. The sharp tip allows you to play much faster due to the fact that the pick clears the string a lot faster than a wider-tipped pick. I call this 'the gateway pick' because it opens up you to so many other things. Most people who use picks inspired by the Jazz III start with the Jazz III itself. after using this, you might find that you like the tortex version better, or something of that sort. eventually, ut'll turn to something completely different(such as V-Picks or Dava's), and you'll still love and be thankful for the Jazz III.


Liked about it -Cheap and available at almost any store(it's OK to lose one because of how easy it is to replace them)
-Many different kinds(normal, stiffo XL, eric johnson's, tortex, ultex, etc.)
-Opens up so many different pick possibilities for newer players


Didn't like -Can we please get something besides red or black?


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Jet9
Dec 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Shred Buddy

Comments This pick is awesome for shredding. Especially playing some John Petrucci tunes :)
But freaking toooo small!!!!
The grip isn't really confortable because on the back where it says "Jim Dunlop" has a bad font and has a bad look too.
This tool never wares out so thats great for many guitarists out there.
Its hard to get used to from using normal picks to start using this pick and hard to get back to the normal picks if you didn't like these picks after a while.


Liked about it 1. Shreds the guitar easier. I only use them when I play songs by John Petrucci cause it is actually much easier to play his songs with this pick
2. Looks awesome (black jazz IIIs)
3. The shape is attractive


Didn't like 1. TOO SMALL
2. The back where it says "Jim Dunlop" doesnt look cool... Plus when you grip the pick it doesnt feel confortable...
3. The Nylons should be black and Stiffos should be red.... just personal opinion...


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By mizukster777
Nov 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Better than expected!

Comments I wanted to try Jazz III for a while and picked up a pack of the red Eric Johnson's at Guitar Center. I had to get used to them because of their size, but once I got used to them I began to fall in love with them. They quickly became my favorite pick. The sharp tip is great for fast picking and gives a lot of attack. The raised logos on each side provide pretty good grip. One thing I experienced with one of the picks was after a few days of playing a small smudge on the edge kept catching on my string. I just filed it off and had no more problems. I guess the material isn't as strong as others and my string smudged the edge of the pick. Not that big of a deal though.

When I purchased the picks I was a bit iffy. I thought I probably wouldn't like them. I was afraid I wasted money when I bought them, but let me tell you, these are the best picks I have ever played, period.


Liked about it Sharp tip for fast, accurate playing
Pretty nice grip
Small and compact


Didn't like Switching between these and normal picks takes getting used to, not a big deal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IBNZ_RG
Sep 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

A very neat tool to add to your aresonal

Comments To be honest, my first impression of this pick was that it was a little bet too hard, and unresponsive to my fingers. As I played with it more and more, I learned that once it has broken in, it has a very smooth, warm tone/feel to it, and is great for all things legato as well as sweeping.

I use it on 10 gauge strings, and feel that it you can really shape the tone/ attack of your notes, with just a simple strength adjustment. play closer to the bridge, and get a little brighter and punchier tone, where as if you play near the neck, you can get a smooth, drawn-out and warm sound. the only other pick I use are fender cellulite mediums


Liked about it -great versatility
-very durable, doesn't snap
-nice feel in your hand


Didn't like -took a while to adjust my picking technique
-came with this weird powder on it


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By jbouxa
Sep 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

The famous one justifies its fame

Comments This pick was designed with speed and accuracy in mind, that's why it's used by most speed-picking guitarists all around, and it's the best one I've found so far for that purpose. It's small, so you need some time to get used to it, but when you do, it's like you're playing with no pick on the fingers, so smooth it feels. The black one has more grip than the red one, but the red sounds slightly more bright (better), that's the difference between the two, basically. I prefer the black because its grip feels really good. The drawback, however, is that it's not a good pick for rhythm, strumming passages, because it's small. you can even hurt your fingers on the strings, because they stay very close to them.


Liked about it 1) Gives you a lot of control over speed-picking;
2) Nice grip, you can play even with sweat fingers;
3) Lasts long.


Didn't like 1) Not good for rhythm and strumming, because it's small;
2) Black and small: if it falls on the floor, you'll never see it again;
3) When you get used to it, other picks feel awkward in your fingers.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Rachmaninoff
Aug 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

One of the best picks ever

Comments I love these picks!
I use the Eric Johnson Jazz 3 picks.
I have gone through so many picks, I always make sure I have a dozen or two of these on hand!
I went through a faze and used "other" picks but I always kept these in my trick bag.
One time I was in Cali and there were a bunch of "famous" guitar players at my friends house and they all wanted to jam but didn't bring any picks. "Does anyone have Dunlop Jazz 3 picks"....yeah...I do...Jam on!
Good to know that even the big time players use the same picks I use....I am just saying they could use any pick but they chose the Dunlop Jazz 3.


Liked about it The feel.
Something is just so right about these picks.
I can "feel" the strings.
Every note shines when I use them.
Just a great product.
Love the red ones!


Didn't like More stores should carry these picks so I don't have to order them all the time! Lol.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By milkywayslipnsli
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Good pick, not for me though.

Comments These are great picks for technical pieces, or playing that involves a lot of precise picking and speed. They do take a bit to get used to if you're used to using normal sized picks. For my general technique, I found them to be too small for me to comfortably use all the time. I suppose I could have stuck it out and really learned to use it better, but I just wasn't really that interested in it.

One thing people tend to overlook with picks is that it can change your tone. The thickness, material of pick, in addition to the attack alters the sound the guitar produces. I found this pick to darken the sound somewhat, and had a softer attack sound. While it may desirable to someone, I prefer other tones. Of course, if you like the pick you can always adjust your EQ for any tonal differences if you wanted.

In a nutshell, it just wasn't a pick I could get used to. I've tried them at times, over and over, for many years, but always go back to other picks.


Liked about it It really helped me increase my accuracy and picking. Pinch harmonics are a breeze with them.


Didn't like They're just too small for me. Tone difference when using this type of pick.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By blackspy
Jun 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Very precise pick!! Ideal for fast playing.

Comments The Jazz III is a favorite amongst shredders. The reason lies no further than its construction. Its designed to feel as if the pick is an extension of your fingers. Its about half the size of a normal pick! After switching to JazzIII's its impossible to go back to normal sized picks.


Liked about it The pick has well beveled sides that allow for quick string release, which helps when alternate picking across strings. Also, because the pick is small, its easy to palm it during tapping. Its hard to believe normal sized picks are still being produced.. The creation of the Jazz III marked the end of the standard pick!


Didn't like Small size means less grip. The pick has raised lettering to add some extra grip, but because the picks are constructed of Nylon, they slip easily when your hands get sweaty. Currently, Dunlop introduced a new "max grip" Jazz III that has a new and improved grip. It's definitely a HUGE improvement from the standard III' grip.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

All I use!

Comments Been through a few picks before this (Red Jazz III XL), Black Jazz III XL, Tortex, Ultex and other random types. The others didn't have the right 'cut' across the string and the black Jazz III XL was too rigid. This, I feel, has the perfect balance of thickness, rigidity, size and how sharp a pick should be. The other two edges are a nice addition, but I have to admit I only use the main, sharpest, side as I prefer the feeling of this side even when strumming (the only way I can describe it is that it feels very precise). Everything becomes tighter when you use this, and I don't feel the grip is an issue at all.


Liked about it As mentioned, I really like the edge, size, thickness and rigidity of the Red Jazz III XL.


Didn't like I can't really fault this pick, it really is all I'll use. I suppose one bad thing about it is it (if you're experience is like mine) turns you into a 'PICK SNOB'!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Guitarist-Jonny
Feb 18, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Very accurate pick.

Comments I have used Jazz 3 picks exclusively for most of the time I have played guitar. After many years of red and black jazz 3's, Dunlop has made a yellow one. It's made of ultex and it's hard as hell! It's virtually indestructable if you play normally and don't hit it with battle axe, and it sounds really bright. All of these three models are little differet by feel and material. So, try them out and find what's the best for you!


Liked about it Durability. These don't wear off anytime soon.

Sharp tip. Wow. You can play some fast leads with this pick. It's made for precise picking and you can change the attack, sound and vary your articulation just changing the angle of this pick.

Feels good on your hand after getting used to it.


Didn't like These get lost pretty easily..

They need some time getting used to them.

Your mistakes with picking really stand out with these picks. But that's really a plus for me.. Since you'll have to be more precise.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By FrostStorm
Feb 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Dunlop Jazz III MAX GRIP

Comments This is a newly released product that I just got my hands on. It's the same Jazz III that everyone knows and loves as far as shape and material goes-it's small, stubby, and sharp, which makes it fantastic for fast lead runs. This pick also has great attack, and every note rings out crystal clear. The MAX GRIP version features a textured surface that is seriously grippy-this helps especially when your hands are sweaty. You will not drop this pick!


Liked about it Everything I already love about the Jazz III-small, economical design, amazing attack, and great versatility. Plus the added bonus of insane amounts of grip.


Didn't like If I had to be extremely picky, I will say that these pics don't quite have as good of a sound for big chords and riffing-I greatly prefer these picks for leads. That being said, they are still perfectly adequate to riff with-just a slight change in tone.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By m3ta1head
Jan 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

My go to pick for the last 5 years

Comments About 5 or so years ago, I went through somewhat of a metamorphosis as a player. Because of the way I held my pick, I felt like my speed and relaxation were being compromised. I did a lot of research and looked into how some of my favorite players held their pick. At this point I was holding it with the tips of my index finger and and thumb, kinda like how James Hetfield and Pat Metheny hold theirs. Ironically, they are both two of my most influential guitarist, but for me that technique didn't seem to work. I watched how guys like Eric Johnson, Paul Gilbert, and John Petrucci played and they used their thumb and the side of their of their index finger to hold the pick.

After deciding to make the switch, I also decide to switch picks. I chose the jazz three because my goal was speed and one of my idols, John Petrucci used them. It wasn't until a year after I switched my picking hand technique that I felt totally comfortable with the pick and my new technique. I had to change a 9 year habit, and that was tough! Honestly, the Jazz 3 really helped in totally reinventing my picking technique. I am much more accurate and expressive with my playing. Before, I had to anchor my hand on the bridge, but now I don't have to really anchor my hand on the guitar at all.

What a lot of the guys here have already said is true. This pick is built for fast playing, but I can really get great tone with this pick no matter what speed I am playing. The toughest thing to overcome when switching from a 'standard' pick size to a Jazz three is the small size. It is tough to figure out how much of the pick you should have exposed outside of your hand, but that comes with practice. Now it feels like an extension of my hand, and I have a heard time playing with anything else. I always have a couple of Jazz 3's in my wallet.

I have tried every kind of Jazz 3 and I switch between the Ultex, the standard red, and also the Eric Johnson Signature. They are all great but I like variety so I will swap them out. Also, these picks last MUCH longer than the normal picks you might use. I even like them a little worn, so I can use them for months on end; and I play a lot!


Liked about it Great articulation
Great for speed
Last forever


Didn't like Expensive for a pick!
Took an adjustment period
Easy to lose because of size


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

An amazing pick that will improve your playing.

Comments I have been playing for many years now, and have always liked a thicker, sturdier pick. I played 3mm Stubbies and Big Stubbies for many years. I loved the picking action you could get with the tip, but they wore out for too quickly. I moved on to 2mm Gators, and I liked that they had a little more durability, but they still wore out too quickly. The pick shape wasn't as nice either.

I read an article in the now defunct Guitar One magazine on the Jazz III, and the top players that preferred them, and though that I should give them a go. I tell you what, once you try them there's no going back!

The Guitar One article stated that the Jazz III highlighted all of your flaws as a player, and that is true. I by no means am that great a player, but using this amazing pick has really improved my playing. By helping me identify my flaws the Jazz III has enabled me to improved on my picking a great deal.

I attribute that to the shape of the pick, and the sharpness of the tip. You have to be picking extremely accurately in order to make sure you pick cleanly. There's no safe zone when picking fast, you either pick the note nicely or you don't.

Being a thicker, more stable pick, the Jazz III is capable of really hard, and soft picking attacks, as well as everything in between. You just cannot get a real nice hard attack going with a thin pick that just flexes around too much. The Jazz III enables you to be as heavy or as light as you want.

The Jazz III is also a very durable pick. I can have one last for a few months before I look at starting with a new pick. They are great value for money in that respect. It seems to cope well with pick slides, extreme picking, and chord bashing, and just keeps on piling on great tone.

If you are looking for a pick that will expose your playing to a new degree, and are willing to put in the effort to improve your playing the Jazz III is the pick for you. I have never found a tougher, and more rewarding pick to play with.


Liked about it Drastically improved my picking, especially fast stuff.
* The tone and attack is fantastic, I cannot play with any other pick now.
* The durability is fantastic.


Didn't like I guess if you don't want to hear the flaws in your picking you probably don't want to use the Jazz III. I say take it as a new challenge, and you will be rewarded.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By LonePhantom
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Jazz III... I pick you!

Comments Just want to lend more weight to the already resounding applause for this guitar pick. If you a rock player, who loves playing fast and hard then this is for you. Easy to pinch those harmonics with its tip makes it ideal for metal and blues. Even the impressions on the pick help with gripping it, so it rarely ever slips mid-bone-crunching-solo. The only time I wouldn't use these bad boys is on the old acoustic guitars.


Liked about it 1. Price. Very affordable.
2. Durable.
3. Precision built for fast players.
4. Comes in black and red! (From what I've seen!)


Didn't like 1. Not good for acoustic guitar strumming (although not designed to).
2. I think they'd look great in yellow. Or green. More colours please Mr. Dunlop!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By custom24
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Never go back!

Comments I bought these on recommendation from friends. I initially went for the Jazz III XL's which are sized between "normal" and Jazz III's. Once I was used to them I them went onto the regular smaller III's. Although I find the XL's great for the acoustic guitar, still quite a point on them, yet they are bigger size for more "purchase" on the strings.


Liked about it Articulate. They are really good for accuracy. Once again, once you are used to them they allow you to pick cleanly with their sharp points and small size.
Hard wearing. Yet to "blunt" one!
Price. Cost no more than regular picks.


Didn't like Didn't really have a dislike, just a "transition" but once used to them everything else feels huge!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Shockme.au
Dec 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Turbo Shredder

Comments These picks are small so they are perfect for fast picked solos,and they're perfect for practicing pinch harmonics.
Plus these picks can take alot of thrashing too so they are guaranteed to last a long time and
you don't have to worry about.
I use it only for distorted tones,for clean tones I use lighter picks.


Liked about it 1- Size

2- Ultra fast picking

3- Price


Didn't like Nothing bad about it


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By 6fingers
Nov 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

The reason why my skills developed so well

Comments Before I ever found my favorite pick, I went to different music stores finding the right pick for fast playing, and found the first Jazz pick i ever used, a PickBoy Jazz that looked like the Dunlop one Malmsteen used but a bit smaller. It greatly improved my control, and it already felt small when I hold it in my fat fingers. The main thing I hated about it was that it was made of relatively soft plastic that wore down pretty quickly. After the supply of Jazz PickBoys ran out in my local music store, I had to find new ones. I stumbled upon these Jazz III picks which were even smaller and felt even more awkward in my hands at first. After a few months my chops started cleaning up, my picking got faster and more precise, and the attack was soft and powerful at the same time. It was almost a miracle if you'd ask me.


Liked about it 1. beveled tip disciplines picking hand well on strings
2. Nylon version doesn't wear out easily
3. Smooth contact with strings eliminate friction


Didn't like The Jazz III would at first feel weird on your hand, but as you learn how to use it, it becomes second nature.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By theapprentice
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Fastest pick in the West

Comments Used these back in the 80s "shred" days and all my buddies and myself loved them. I kinda got away from them in the 90s and early 2000s but I just saw them the other day and decided to give them another try. Went to the local store and picked up a few, well I am so glad I did because they make me sound and feel so much better I was worried since they are so thick it wouldn't work as well for rhythm playing but they work great for that too. LOVE them


Liked about it Even with the diminutive size they are easy to grip
The small size makes it easy to control
The pointy tip makes them very accurate


Didn't like There is nothing bad about these whatsoever


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By GuitarMechanic
Jan 01, 2014
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

I will use this pick till I cant play guitar

Comments I have been using this pick for 18 years now. I have tried so many kind of picks, but jazz iii is the best. Hard to say, but just buy one and try. You'll never go back to whatever you used before.

The pick is last forever. When I was a kid. I had only one and used for year.


Liked about it Fast pick
Durable


Didn't like None! Nothing at all.

If I would ask is more variety of color not only red and black :-)

Neon color would be great. I have lost so many of them in the past especially the black one.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By here.choo
Sep 23, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Improves speed, especially in a clean setting

Comments This pick feels great in my hand, and didn't have any problems sliding, tilting, or falling out of my hand at any time. I'm partial to smaller picks as it is, so naturally this appealed greatly to me to try. I most like using this pick when playing jazz, or something that requires a clean setting, as the tone of the pick on my guitars suits that sort of genre best in my opinion.


Liked about it 1. The pick was small, easy to put in my pocket unobtrusively
2. The pick enabled me to play with greater speed and accuracy due to its smaller size.
3. The pick was easy to grip!


Didn't like I didn't like the lack of rubber on the pick for added grip.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Bryancap77
May 01, 2013
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

try one today!

Comments I have been using these picks for 27 years and there is nothing out there that can match the control this pick gives. They are also great for players who use a combination of pick and fingers, due to the size.

My brother was a jazz guitarist (I am more rock/blues) and he gave me this pick years ago. I had been using the old Gibson Heavy and would break at least 1 string per week. Did it work? well in the last 20 years gigging I have NEVER broke a string and, before you ask, yes I do play fast and heavy :-)

As other have mentioned, they do take some getting used to and once you do it is hard to use anything else. The trick is to get a pick case keyring (yes, I know they're nerdy!) and always keep a few on you.

Lastly, they are a little more expensive but I have used other picks that wear out and these pics never will.


Liked about it solid
precise
well priced


Didn't like Other players will NOT want to borrow it (is that good or bad?!)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By bjjemman
May 24, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Fastest pick you will ever own!!!

Comments The title says it all, this is indeed the fastest pick out there. If you love to shred then this pick is essential. A friend recommended it to me a while ago and I have never looked back. All the previous picks I used previously now just feel clumsy and slow. There really aren't many things out there that increase your playing ability simply by changing equipment but this pick WILL allow you to play faster. There is a small adjustment period between this and a normal pick as this pick is very small as well as thick, 1.38mm. Also you play metal this pick is an absolute must, it can be very difficult to play fast licks with lots of harmonics, this pick however makes it much easier. Because of its small size and how thick it is, it makes harmonics very easy and natural to do. I often like to refer to this pick as the scalpel of the pick world based on its precision and accuracy. If this pick has any downfalls it would have to be that this is not a very good pick for acoustic play. Strumming sounds rather dull and it seems to make notes feel dull compared to a regular thinner pick. Odds are though if you are using this pick you do not expect to use it to play acoustic. Overall this pick is absolutely amazing and I would recommend it to anybody out there who loves to shred!


Liked about it 1. Allows very fast play.
2. Increases playing ability almost instantly.
3. A surgical tool, very precise.


Didn't like 1. Not recommended for the acoustic player.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By dudebroman
Dec 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Love them!

Comments This is current the only pick I use. It makes pick harmonics super easy, and also really good for alternate picking. At first it maybe quite a change from a larger pick, but once again your accuracy will improve a ton.


Liked about it 1. Thickness- I enjoy the how the thickness of the pick,its not massively thick but has perfect in between.
2. Point- The point is what makes it super easy for harmonics in my opinion. Also is responsible for the accurateness of the pick too.
3. The logo- Very random, and nonsense, but the logo looks cool on pick!


Didn't like Nothing!Maybe make more colors haha Not really good for acoustic either depending on how you play.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By mgk321
Oct 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

I refuse to use a standard pick after playing with these!

Comments The absolute best picks I have played with so far in my journey of guitar playing. It's small shape forces you to hold it in a way to make your playing clean and fast. I feel like most people getting into guitar now a days really want to get good at shredding and sweep picking and stuff like that. So if you have been practicing sweep picking and just can't get it to sound right with a regular pick, try these out! You will get it very quickly. The same statement can be applied to other fast picking techniques as well. My alternate picking and string skipping became much cleaner.


Liked about it 1) Small shape forces you to use better form when picking.

2) Thick pick for very fast shredding. No flappy pick sounds from these!

3) I could NOT sweep pick with a regular pick. After switching to these, I could sweep pick with a solid week of practice!


Didn't like I have nothing negative to say. But I use the black ones, and I have a black couch. When I play and set it down, I sometimes can't find it until I see my cats playing with something. But that's just my fault...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AChan
Apr 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

One Of the Better Picks I Have Used

Comments I have tried, bought or made hundreds of picks. This pick actually improved my playing. It took a while to get comfortable with it because of it's small size, but once I found my grip on it, I noticed a world of difference. My picking was more accurate, which led to a speed increase as well. There is also an ULTEX version, an XL(extra large) version and a MAX-GRIP(has small ridges on the surface). I currently use the XL or MAX-GRIP.


Liked about it I found it improved accuracy and comfort.
As other reviewers have noted, it is difficult to go to another pick after using these. They are that good.


Didn't like It's small size made the transition from other picks slow.
Once the tip wears, it isn't nearly as good.
Sweat made it easy to drop. The MAX-GRIP version all but eliminated this problem.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Pamanagm
Jan 24, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

epic!

Comments A friend gave me one of these and i went out that night and bought 4 packs! pinch harmonics are a breeze with these babies! they may be "jazz" pics but i play metal and i will never use another pick i love them


Liked about it everything!


Didn't like they wear down kind of fast


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By rg_man 1993
Jan 13, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

switch over, you know you want too

Comments My friends have always played these picks and they kept trying to use them. At first I couldn't get use to it so I switched back but the second time I switched I realized that they are so much better. You can pick faster and the pick won't get worn out! I have used them for months without needing to sharpen them. It is so much easier to do pinch harmonics with jazz IIIs than other picks that you would be amazed. There is a little bit of a tone difference, you have to be a little more aggressive with thick picks.


Liked about it 1 They are more precise
2 Many varieties
3 Easier to do pinch harmonics


Didn't like 1 Size: I lose them all the time
2 Price: more expensive than other picks
3 Tone difference


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By AbeFreshwater
Aug 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great pick with a great attack and feel.

Comments I've been using these off and on for about 5 years. I've been using them almost exclusively on my electric guitars for about a year straight now and plan on using these from now on.


Liked about it Very comfortable. I managed to only drop this pick a few times. I love how well I can control my pick striking with this pick.


Didn't like I can't really think of anything that I didn't like about this. I have not tried using the other two sides though. I never really thought to do such a thing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By boyd
Apr 28, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $14
Compare Prices
at 10 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec644 spec296 spec577