Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
5.0 (9)
 Add a review

Planet Waves 'Up in Flames' Joe Satriani Strap.

 
The Planet Waves Joe Satriani Nylon Guitar Strap is the result of a collaboration between guitarist Joe Satriani and Planet Waves. - - The JS Series signature guitar strap collection features premium quality 2" tubular nylon construction showcasing Satriani's own artwork, inspired by his famous guitars. - - Length adjusts from 35" to 59-1/2".


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Planet Waves 'Up in Flames' Joe Satriani Strap. in Reviews
 

 

Good Strap featured

Comments I've got the standard version of this on my JS1200, go figure :)
The first thing I noticed about the strap is that it's really difficult to work it around the strap buttons on my JS. It took a little breaking in. While annoying at first, it means that it doesn't fall off. I'm not a super aggressive player, but I never worry about the strap coming off. That's happened to me at gigs before and it's no fun. The strap is very comfy and plenty long enough to accommodate players who like to sling it low but it adjusts fine to more reasonable lengths. It's reasonably comfortable. The width is enough that it doesn't cut into your shoulder but I've had a few 3"+ straps that are a little more comfortable. The graphics are sweet and it looks great paired with a candy apple or other red/black guitars.


Liked about it 1. Doesn't come off easily.
2. Cool Graphics.
3. Comfortable.


Didn't like 1. Expensive but not totally unreasonable for a nice strap.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By smooth55
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Solid strap with good padding and a cool design featured

Comments Actually a very well made strap, the main length of the strap is tightly wound and well padded. The connectors at the end are a bit tough to break in at first but this ensures that the guitar won't simply fall off if presented at the wrong angle.

The design by Joe is a nice touch to the strap although it did add a bit to the price of it.
I use these on a couple of RG guitars, a custom Jem, my JS 1000 and at one point my UV.
Only ever had a guitar fall from the jack end once during a gig due to the strap slipping lose from the button so not a major fault but perhaps some sort of protection would be useful too.


Liked about it Strong strap, feels well made
Comfortable to wear with extended use, well padded as well as being strong
Great designs can be had, the strap aesthetically is very nice to look at


Didn't like Price is slightly inflated due to the Satriani branding, however the strap is very good quality
I did miss the security of a strap lock system so perhaps this strap would be better used with such a system.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By D1m3b4g2
Nov 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Use with Schaller Locks featured

Comments The nylon is very nice and sturdy. While the strap is not that wide it is still very comfy even when you have a heavy guitar hanging (like my Les Paul Std) for a long gig. I use those PW straps now on all my guitars. The usual PW locks are to big for me, so I used the standard strap and put in Schaller Security Locks. Those come in different colors and the golden version looks extremely nice on the 7vwh. With those Locks the strap looks very nice and sleek and it is rock solid.


Liked about it - Very comfy
- Very well built
- Color did not fade after open airs in bright sun for hours


Didn't like - Usable pick holding thing would be nice addition


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Tank
Oct 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Seriously Eye-catching Design!

Comments While not being big on Joe Satriani, I am a fan of his playing style, as well as his strap designs! :)) I have both the Silver Sketches (on my main guitar) and this one, Up in Flames. Extremely well-made and sturdy, these keep me from worrying about my guitars falling to the floor while I move around playing with friends in cramped spaces. The plastic buckles look very solid and rugged, and the strap material is very soft and doesn't chafe my neck when wearing it, despite the weight of my guitars. The designs are very eye-catching, and while they're not "police line" types of strap designs nor are they made of leather, their relative simplicity keep them from being too "loud" when you don't need them to be. All in all, if ever I'll need more straps for other guitars I'd probably get more of these :)


Liked about it 1. great designs
2. sturdy plastic buckles
3. soft strap material


Didn't like the leather ends with the button holes tend to get fluff stuck around it after a while, but it's easily cleaned.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By theapprentice
Feb 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Worth checking out!

Comments After using DiMarzio's strap locks for 15 years I wanted to try other straps. Mainly because the DiMarzio's were digging in my shoulder area, but also because I have a few black guitars and I thought it would be cool to change the overall look a bit with colourful straps. I bought the Up In Flames first and after a week I was so pleased that I ordered the rest of the JS series and a few other straps with nice designs.
These straps are very comfortable and reliable both on electric and acoustic guitars. Several (but not all) models have a small guitar pick pocket hidden in the embroidered Planet Waves logo. I found this detail to be very practical. They are a bit expensive, but considering the comfort and quality I'd say it's an well spent investment.


Liked about it - Comfortable.
- Very good quality.
- Many designs to choose from.


Didn't like - A bit expensive.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By hp29
Sep 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Love it!

Comments Was skeptical at first because this is a "signature" strap. Boy was I wrong because this is the most comfortable strap I've ever used! It's cushy but doesn't dig in your neck/shoulder like some others. A little tough to put on especially if you have over-sized strap buttons, but in my case I put it on and leave it on.


Liked about it 1. Super comfy
2. JS graphics
3. Variety of designs


Didn't like 1. Price although you get what you pay for
2. gotta break it in if you take your strap on/off


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By silverctr
May 22, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Great, Comfortable Strap

Comments I have this strap on my '91 red strat, and I have a black js strap on my js100. These straps are incredible comfortable and reliable. These work great with Schaller strap locks. Also, I get compliments on my guitars and my straps. I wouldn't expect anything less from something with Joe's name on it.


Liked about it comfortable
cool looking
reliable


Didn't like a little pricey, but only because it has Joe's name on it


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DownHomeRock
Apr 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Must have!

Comments The nylon mesh is very fine, which makes this guitar strap both strong and comfortable. Just like richard1973, I too have the JS1200-CA guitar and could think of no better strap to add to this guitar than this "Up In Flames" design. Joe's own hand-drawn decorates the strap and is a really nice touch.


Liked about it The comfort and overall fit.


Didn't like The locking version of this strap is a bit cumbersome with its very stiff locking end plates. I recommend the standard version of the strap, with a couple of 89-cent ring-type locks installed. Very clean and very secure.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By PortlandAxe
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Planet Waves Up in Flames Strap.

Comments If you have an Ibanez JS then you got to finish off the whole set up with a Joe Satriani design strap. I have the JS1200 CA model so I went for the red design 'Up in Flames'.


Liked about it Feels very comfy and the eye slots are very tight on the guitar strap studs so its pretty secure even without stud locks.


Didn't like Nothing not to like, I like the design, it finishes of the guitar nicely and its comfortable.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By richard1973
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec41 spec334