Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (10)
 Add a review

Schaller Guitar Strap Locks and Buttons Featured

 
The original! Brilliant design and superb materials guarantee the unique quality of our leading product. For decades the most widely used strap lock system for guitars and basses. Indestructible even under the toughest conditions on stage. An inadvertent loosening of the strap is impossible. So your instrument is always in the best of hands. - - Our Schaller Security Locks can generally also be used on acoustic guitars with no problems, provided that the Security Locks are screwed into the frame reinforcement and not into the open frame. -


Price: $9 to $28 at 17 stores
Searched Schaller Guitar Strap Locks and Buttons in Reviews
 

 

Locked, stocked and ready to rock!

Comments The Schaller strap lock system is an affordable and easy way to secure your guitar. Remove the original strap pins from your guitar, screw in the Schaller strap pin and fasten the security lock on your strap.
I used to play with the DiMarzio clip locks and though they were as secure as it gets I was never to pleased with the feel of the straps. When I had enough of those straps I switched to the more comfortable Planet Waves straps. I had seen pictures of several players that seemed to have a locking system on their regular straps so I decided to check it out. As far as I can tell, the Schaller system is as reliable as the DiMarzio strap locks but it gives you the benefit of the comfort and to use exactly the strap you like. I would assume bass players with padded straps would embrace this locking system.
The Schaller strap locks comes in black, nickel, chrome and gold.


Liked about it - Affordable
- Secure
- Fits with virtually any type of strap.


Didn't like - They do squeak a bit as the gentleman mention in the other review, but that is only temporary.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By hp29
Jan 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

The original strap lock

Comments I've installed Schaller strap locks to a few of my guitars over the years, and have always found them to be fantastic, reliable pieces of gear that I couldn't do without.

They are a solidly built, easy to install device that no guitar worth anything to anyone should go without.

Replace the stock strap pin with the Schaller item, use the stock screw if need be, and attach the lock mechanism to the strap. It couldn't be any easier. Installation can be done with basic tools, all you need is a phillips head screwdriver for the pin, and a shifter spanner for the lock. Everything is completely reversible without any tell-tale signs the strap lock was ever used. Not that you would want to take the Schaller strap lock off once it's on there.

Attaching and removing the strap is a piece of cake too. Pull the pin on the lock, and slide the lock off the strap pin. You can easily use your favourite strap on all your Schaller strap lock equipped guitars if you wish!


Liked about it Extremely well built, it will be tough to break one.
* Simple to install, and no tell tale signs if you ever want to remove it.
* Simple to use as well.


Didn't like Can be a little squeaky.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By LonePhantom
Apr 07, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Simply the best

Comments I have used these on all my guitars for the last 20+ years.
There are so many locking systems out there, but this seems to be the easiest to use and you can use them on any strap you like although some straps may need a little tweaking/trimming to get the nut to tighten down nicely.
You can put your strap on and off with just one hand and once locked they are rock solid. People have mentioned them being squeaky, but if you are playing electric guitar the sound of the instrument is going to mask the squeak anyway.
Don't risk dropping your guitar, buy these now!!


Liked about it Very solid. Easy to put the guitar on and take off. My first set is still going strong 20+ years later.


Didn't like Nothing at all :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By stratcat69
Oct 05, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

The best of the best

Comments Schaller strap locks are truly as good as it gets! I first put them on my American Standard Telecaster and I can say with confidence that I am no longer afraid of letting go of my guitar! I've had guitars fall off of the strap in the middle of a live performance a few times, and it wasn't pretty. One day I just decided that enough was enough and picked up a set of these locks at my local guitar shop. I'm now looking at getting these put on all of my gigging guitars! These locks are completely solid and also incredibly easy to attach and detach. They do wiggle a bit when attached to the guitar, but I don't mind because it lets me move freely, like I would without locks.

All in all, this is the only set of strap locks I've ever tried (aside from the Planet Waves Locking Strap) and I see no reason to try anything else. These locks are affordable, and most importantly, solid as a rock. If you play live and you value your guitar, get a set of these locks.


Liked about it -Very affordable (as low as $13 a set if bought from Warmoth)
-Solid hold to both the guitar and the strap. Never had one fail
-Easy to install and to use


Didn't like -A little loose I guess, but I think this was done intentionally as to not limit the player's movement. Big picture-wise, they're very solid.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Shifty
Apr 20, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

The best lock for your Guitar

Comments This lock came stock with my fender floyd rose classic strat, that came with the whole good new stuff you can add to a fender american guitar. http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4025/4630650774_78c3cd6d8b_b.jpg
With this lock you can easy make the "malmsteen" trick of throw your guitar around your neck, that's how secure it is.


Liked about it I like everything, and I want to put this to my other guitars


Didn't like Really? Is the best lock ever.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Vintage_freak_fo
Jul 18, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great!! but if....

Comments Good Product..


Liked about it I works as expected!


Didn't like but if....you need to use another strap in a pinch...one without the female installed on it. you will have trouble with it falling! The Dunlop system has this covered.. A little tight. but better then downing your axe..


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Loony
May 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Still the best to me

Comments I've tried a variety of locking straps - from the usual DiMarzio ClicLoc's (which made me nervous about scratches), Planet Waves own straps - again, made me nervous - even the rubber ring from Grolsch bottles!!! But time and time again I return to Schaller's. Yes, you do have to replace the pins on the guitar with their own, and it would be nice if I could find somewhere who just sold the pins (so I could not have duplicate holders as I only use four different straps for 13 guitars!) but I've found nothing that feels as solid as the Schaller design.

Fortuantely they come in a variety of colours to match the existing hardware on your guitar, so after fitting they look as if they always were there.

As they lock the strap to the guitar, there's not much else to say. You pull the centre pin out to slide the lock off the pin, or back on. On some it can be a little stiff, but that's good if it keeps the guitar locked. I don't think I've ever had one fail (touch wood!)


Liked about it 1) Pretty much obtainable anywhere
2) good quality metal used in construction
3) not overly expensive - not when you're protecting your baby, your financial investment!


Didn't like As I said, on some the centre pin can be quite stiff - so sometimes quick changes of guitar ain't quite as quick as you would like...


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By arykala
Apr 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Solid and Sturdy

Comments This strap lock system is very simple, and secure. When i was younger i remember watching yngwie malmsteen swing his guitar around his neck and I would tell my dad I wanted a locking strap on my guitar so I could do that too. When I got these I installed them immediately on my Ibanez RG. I use my planet waves Joe satriani strap with these and it feels like a locking strap should feel like.

Like the other reviewers have stated, these would probably work well with a bass guitar too


Liked about it easy to install and use
very sturdy and reliable
fits any strap


Didn't like I have never had any problems with these


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DownHomeRock
Apr 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great strap lock from the innovator.

Comments These Schaller strap locks were some of, if not THE first strap locks to ever hit the market. They are easy to install, keep your strap locked securely to your guitar, and are available in: black, gold, and nickel. Once you buy a set and install them on your guitar and strap, you can purchase other sets of the locking nut and washer so you can swap your favorite strap from guitar to guitar.


Liked about it These straps work like a champ and are priced right. They are available in a variety of colors. Extra locking nuts and washers may be purchased for use on multiple guitars.


Didn't like They are bulky and obtrusive. While they are made solid and get the job done, I recommend the Dunlop lower profile strap locks I have also reviewed.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By AlaskaBat
Feb 27, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Schaller Strap Locks

Comments Strap locks....dead simple, what can I say. I've used them for years after catching my guitar just before it hit the ground. I like the Schaller version better than the Dunlop. My first set was Dunlop with the press button to release the latch. I used them on my DT400CS which had the upped strap button on the back heel of the neck. It bounced against my chest while playing, trigger the release and my guitar dropped off the strap. I was a Schaller man from then on. You have to pull up on the knob to release the strap on the Schaller version.


Liked about it The pull to release knob and variety of colors they are made in to match your guitar's hardware.


Didn't like The nut can sometimes work it's way loose over time. A drop of thread lock on the shaft during assembly prevents that from ever happening.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Riffraff
Feb 26, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $28
Compare Prices
at 17 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec41 spec699