Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (9)
 Add a review

Marshall 1960A 4x12 Cabinet

 
The Marshall 1960 Speaker Cabinet puts out beautiful tone at any volume. The addition of an impedance (4 or 16 ohm) mono/stereo switching mechanism has transformed the "industry standard" 1960 into the ultimate speaker cab. These 300W Marshall cabs are loaded with Celestion G12T-75 speakers.


Price: $220 to $650 at 7 stores
Searched Marshall 1960A 4x12 Cabinet in Reviews
 

 

I think maybe you're paying more for the logo. featured

Sound Now don't get me wrong--I'm not trashing this cabinet. However, for a street price of $800 US, I'd think they can do better than the Celestion GT12-75 speakers. Now I understand that these speakers are a rock standard and for years my main stage cab was a 4 x 12 that has GT12-75's in the top and Greenbacks in the bottom (this is also the configuration on the new Kirk Hammett Randall cabinet) and always sounded great (still does!). But the GT12-75 streets for $109 US, so if there's $440 US in speakers, is the cabinet really worth the other $360.00? I don't know, but I have one of these and I have on order a Marshall 425A which is the cabinet that comes with the Vintage Modern half-stack. I have a VM 50-watt head that I'm going to pair it with, but I've heard from others that if you plug a JVM410H head into the 425A it's magical--we'll see. The 425A streets for $1000 US and the 25-watt Greenbacks inside aren't even available for purchase, but the comparable G12H Greebacks street for $249 US, so it seems the better investment is the 425A. I'll do an A/B comparison once I have both and can pair them both with different heads to see which one comes out the tonal champion.


Reliability Never had a problem with a Marshall cabinet, but I re-wire all of mine with Monster wire so I can't claim that they're stock.


Customer Support Marshall customer support seems fairly solid--I dealt with them on another problem and they gave me a replacement footswitch no questions asked and didn't ask for the defective one back.


Liked about it Looks both classic and menacing standing behind you.
Able to handle many different amps and still sound good.
Able to do both mono and stereo easily.


Didn't like Seems overpriced for what you're getting.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By racerevlon
Dec 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

It's a classic! featured

Sound I've played so many guitars and different gear through it and I always got awesome results.
Celestion rules,I played other cabs like peavey,laney,behringer and all of them sounds really different from marshall.
To my ears marshall and mesa boogie are the best cabs out there.
You can set it in mono or stereo but for stereo I really prefer two cabs cause in the same cab you don't have
a separation for a good stereo.


Reliability Built like a tank,this thing can destroy your car lol
Since 1992 I never had a single problem and I gig a lot.


Customer Support No problemm.


Liked about it 1- Sound

2- Looking

3- Built like a tank


Didn't like 1- No detachable wheels


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By 6fingers
Dec 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Behind Every Good Man.... featured

Sound Behind every good man should be one of these babies. Particularly if they play a wide variety of musical genres, from the most in your face Rock and Metal to the more subtle Blues. It has a devastating low-end thanks to the G12T75 speakers, exactly what you'd expect from a Marshall amplifier at this price range. Its a low-end that the lower priced Marshall speakers, particularly those of many Combos, try to emulate but fail. The curved cabinet delivers sound to all corners of the venue. The immense clarity of tone really does set this as THE classic rock cabinet.


Reliability Without a shadow of a doubt you can bank your life on this cabinet. It will not let you down! Compared to recently released PRS cabs, this cabinet is made of 'inferior' materials. An excess of plywood and plastic, as opposed to PRS pine cabinets. But I feel that all of this contributes to how the sound spills from that cabinet. This cabinet is untamed, and does not need a pine leash. The plywood allows the sound to spill from the cabinet without restraint, and that material is reliable. This cabinet is built to last.


Customer Support I've never had to deal directly with Marhsall, which again is testament to the reliability of this cabinet.


Liked about it Lets be honest: you have one of these behind you, it will make you look bad-ass. It is a beauty. When you're dreaming of becoming a rockstar it is this cabinet that is sitting behind you. The clarity of tone even at high volume levels is extremely likeable, and the dispersal of sound from the curve on the cabinet is a much less talked about, but underrated bit of 1960s science!


Didn't like I would be tempted to see if Marshall can produce this cab using high-end materials, then again that may just change the entire personality of it! Which would be a disaster. I know a common complaint is the material used for the grill, which if torn exposes the speaker, which alters the cabinets true sound, but again a sturdier grill might affect output. The obvious drawback of having this versus lets say a 100watt combo, is that it is rather large, and therefore is not easy to transport if you dont have access to a van. I'll take one mark away from it being perfect purely because I'm sure Marshall can deliver the same sound from a cabinet built from higher-quality materials.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By custom24
Nov 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

A Rock Standard featured

Sound This cabinet handles all types of rock and metal music with ease. I've used this cab as an alternate in my former bands jam space. The G12T75 speakers have a thick yet tight low end response with relaxed midrange and clear and present highs. This cab instantly "woofs" with even the slightest palm mute or low E chug. The sound projection it stellar, with great clarity and force. Having a high wattage capability this cab handle high volume playing just fine.


Reliability Very sturdy cabinet. Some concerns regarding the plastic corners, handles and jack plate, but these things can easily be swapped out if ever broken or cracked. We've all seen these cabs on small dingy stages in out local bars as well as in arena and statium gigs. They are road tested and proven. No worries here. Some complain about the MDF back board, but I think it adds to the character of the cabs tone. Everything else is plywood so I don't see what the big deal is.


Customer Support I've never had to make contact with Marshall service reps, so I have no comment on that.


Liked about it I like the looks of the cab and the G12T75 speakers are great IMO. (This is coming from a V30 user too)
The stereo option is a handy feature which includes an easy to use slider switch.
These cabs are also cheap on the used market because of their abundancey in the market. I am current searching for a used one to keep for myself at home.



Didn't like I'm not a fan of the plastic corners. Which I think is a common complaint.
I would also like to see a more robust grill cloth because the grill is literally cloth! Very easy to tear. This cab is about the same price as my Mesa 4x12 and that cab has a VERY hard and strong woven grill with riveted leather corners!
So another thing I would add is the high price of these cabs go for new. I just don't think the materials used justify the high price tag when compared to the competetion.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Van Noord
Nov 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Classic 4X12 cab featured

Sound I am using a Les Paul into a Marshall 6100 LM into the 1960 cab. I play classic rock and the cab does what I want. With that said, I did switch out 2 of the G12T-75 speakers with a pair of Greenbacks (G12M-25). The greenbacks were warmer, and having the 2 pairs blend are really nice. I love the option of using all 4 speakers in mono or stereo 2x12 configuration and I usually only use 2 at a time so it's like having a backup all the time. Would like more options on speakers during purchase of the cab, but Marshall has been around a long time and I don't see that changing much.


Reliability I find these cabs indestructible and never bring a backup. I worry a bit about the plastic jacks in the back of the cab, but if one of the jacks broke I could use another jack and adjust the switching.


Customer Support They are very helpful when needing support, I did not have to contact them on this product.


Liked about it Classic lines and look
Well built
love the switching capabilites


Didn't like Plastic jacks and handles.
heavy - but that's what helps tone too, right?


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By torgeot
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

The standard in speaker cabs featured

Sound My main guitar/ amp setup is a Gibson Les Paul with 490R/ 498T humbuckers through an Egnater Mod 50 with the Bassman and SL2 modules. I play metal and jazz styles. Well, this is the standard that almost all 4x12 cabs have been designed around. They are available everywhere and if you end up using a backline rental somewhere, you have definitely used one. Out of all the 1960 cabs, the 1960A is my least favorite. Now, I do like Marshall cabs because of their unique sound, but I am not a fan of the speakers in the 1960A. The speakers used are Celestion G12T-75's which are not known for their warmth. They provide a very 'scooped' sound with very little midrange. This would be a great cab for some types of metal, but not if you want a very warm guitar tone. Along with the speakers, the type of construction used in the cab makes it have a somewhat loose feel. I actually like this, but I can see other not liking it. They have no problem projecting especially when cranked which is great in a band situation.


Reliability This is where I am on the fence. I have swapped out speakers or worked on all of my cabinets at some point. Out of every type, the Marshalls looked the worst in quality. With that being said, I have only owned nice cabs, so this is compared to the best out there. The screws on the inside of the baffle looked to have been drilled in at almost random places. The back is made of particle board instead of solid birch ply which to me makes a negative difference in sound. Overall, it just looked a bit sloppy. But the questions is, does this translate to a substantial difference in sound. Well, yes it does, but maybe not as big a difference as you would think. The other issue is the stereo input jacks on the back. The jacks are plastic and would easily break if too much pressure was put on them in the wrong direction. The handles are also plastic and are almost guaranteed to break. With all of this being said, I have not had any issues with this cab personally, but I can see them happening. On all of my Marshall cabs I replace the plastic handles with metal handles, replace the stock wire with thicker wire, and replace the input jacks with metal ones. I would gig without a backup cab, cause bringing multiple cabs too a small club is a little too much for me.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them


Liked about it Classic look
Great projection
Cheap in the used market


Didn't like Scooped sounding speakers
Cheap handles, jacks, wire
Particle board back panel


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Rock standard?

Sound Now that many people think this is the standard cab to get, I had to give it a shot again (after many years not playing Marshall cabs).
Now the cab comes with a solid feel and nicely that it is on rolls. But if I compare the construction to my more modern cabs, the cab looks "small".
Also I have to agree with a previous poster, that the speakers are not what I expected, but well lets give it a try using my standard setup with a Carvin V3 and Mesa DualRec.
The Clean sounds of the cab are actually quite nice. Not as good as with Greenbacks or Tonkers, but still well defined and the tube warmth gets through nicely. However playing it with my bassplayer I had to fiddle a bit an the amp to really cut through the mix.
Switching to crunch mode the cab really shines and I really like the crunch tone. Gain it a little up and you have a nice well defined crunch for any kind of vintage rock.

Well now we crank it up some more...
The sound stays well defined even at high gain and the cab does reasonably well.
However I have 2 complaints:
1. I feel like there is "not much moving", probably due to the smaller construction of the cab I do not get as much pressure as I would like, due to the lack of enough air moving.
2. The speakers seem to be in their limits. This is no cab for extreme metal at all.


Reliability Looks very well built.


Customer Support No dealings.


Liked about it + Crunch and Clean Sounds
+ Overall OK sounds
+ Construction


Didn't like - I think it is overpriced (hence only 3.5 stars)
- Better speakers would do the cab real good
- High Gain Sounds


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Tank
Jun 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

Unbeatable

Sound I have been using Marshall cabs since I started playing guitar 24 years ago. For me, it doesn't get better than a Marshall. I have owned Boogie, Carvin, Fender, Crate, and Ampeg and they don't have the Marshall warmth I have come to love. The 75 watt celestions sound killer. Tight bottom end and very open sounding. For my ears, you cannot beat a Marshall cab.


Reliability The tolex can tear and rip fairly easily. The plastic corners can also break and crack. A hardened rubber would work much better. Other than these issues, I have never had any sound problems with my Marshall cabs.


Customer Support Never needed to contact.


Liked about it Mono or stereo options

Looks (nothing more badass than Marshall cabs)

Screw in wheels than can be removed easily


Didn't like Plastic corner coverings



Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By javashred
Aug 15, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores

not what it use to be !!!!!

Sound I use to be a Marshall guy I have owned countless Marshall's JMp 100's, JMP superlead 100's,JCM 800's Jcm 900 JCM 2555 silver jubilee .

it seems the quality has went so far down hill on Marshall's period that I wouldn't even own a new Marshall cab or amp . The construction has went down hill Particle board backs flimsy bracing for the baffles plus Chinese Celestions! that don't sound like the real ones put a cab from the 70's & 80's with a new you will hear the sound difference!!!

I won't buy a head dated from 1990 on and a cab 1999 and beyond just because the construction and quality has changed so much the tole is so thin on these products! to get any kind of quality from Marshall that use to be standard you have to buy a Hand wired series which is BULL that is quality they are known for in the first place


Reliability they are ok if you are just bedroom jamming or if you mod your cabs like I do


Customer Support never had to use them much


Liked about it other than you are getting the Marshall look but not the quality they look good just won't take the beating they use to


Didn't like particle board back panels
Chinese Celestions
plastic corners ,thin tolex


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By RG man
Jun 26, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $220 to $650
Compare Prices
at 7 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec71 spec406 spec571