Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (7)
 Add a review

Peavey JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head

 
The Peavey JSX head is a the 3-channel, EL34-powered head, which was designed with legendary virtuoso Joe Satriani to combine the tonal flexibility and responsive, versatile gain structures he's always sought into a single amp. The resulting JSX ...


Price: $0 to $0 at 0 stores
Searched Peavey JSX Joe Satriani Signature Head in Reviews
 

 

Sounds as good or bad as you want it to.. featured

Sound I use many guitars including a Jem 7DBK and a JS100 along with strats and a few G&Ls S 500, Legacy HB, Asat Special and a Will Ray sig.. I've tried a few configurations (tube-wise) and like the High Gain Pre- 6L6 setup. It is one of the few channel changing amp I like with high gain pre amp tubes installed. I play a lot of Classic rock, metal, and country. Seems to work as good for any of them. The key to great tone on this amp is turning the master volume down and the channel volumes up most/all of the way. It has a fuller sound with more lows and fullness this way.


Reliability I had no issues with mine.
Took it to gigs with no back up.
The only weak link from all I've read is the screen Grid resistors.
when one goes you loose power to it's power tube (each power tube has one)
I used a Bias Rite to keep an eye on mine and never had an issue. (I did with my 5150)


Customer Support Peavey has always been pretty good with customer support.
Not always easy to order hardware parts but only because of there
system not because of the employee you deal with. Still better than most.
Very strict about only warrantying for the first purchaser.
I got a 5150 that was 6 months old and had a bad resistor. They wouldn't fix it.


Liked about it Great tone, Control layout, effects loop, noise gate, footswitch.
Treble, Mid and Bass controls have a great amount of effect on the tone.
The noise gate on mine works very well. Also the voicing switches were
definately a bonus.


Didn't like As stated above, I kept a good eye on my tubes which means taking it apart now and then. I thought the chassis could have and should have been made a little more rugged.
Use high quality Screen Grid Resistors. (not a personal complaint as I had no issue)
Great amp but a little pricey when new


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By ChrisPcritter
Jun 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A very good amp featured

Sound Guitars i used with this amp: Ibanez JS1, Ibanez JEMFP, Ibanez AT 300, Fender Stratocaster YJM.
From the selection of my guitars you can tell what kind of music i am playing.

The amp is very versatile and can do about everything from Jazz to Blues to Heavy and Heavier stuff.

Clean channel of this amp often get`s bad reviews but i liked it. If you are playing mainly Blues you most likely won`t buy this amp. But if you want a jack of all trades while you mainly play (instrumental) rock music this amp is one of the best choices you can make. Here is an example of how good the JSX can do blues: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rh-cSZ9Kvyw
Otherwise it can do almost everything very well.


Reliability Didn`t have any trouble with the amp. From what i hear it is a very reliable piece of work.


Customer Support No.


Liked about it Almost everything. It really is a good amp with two killer distortion channels and a good clean channel with tons of headroom. The amp isn`t noisy and the noise suppressor works very well.


Didn't like I sold the amp for mainly two reasons. The amp clearly has the signature sound of Joe Satriani. Even if you play "Far beyond the sun" with a YJM Strat through it it will have a little bit of Joe signature sound/flavor. A lot of people talk about that Joe gets his amps modded by Fargen, etc, etc. I wouldn`t put to much weight on these statements. I also have the Vox Satchurator but i do not get Satch`s tone from the pedal in the clean channel but i certainly get his tone from the OD channel of the JSX. This amp has the Satriani signature sound no doubt. If that is what you want or you just want a very versatile high gain head which really sounds extremly well at low volume/ this amp is a very good choice. The master volume works really well and the amp sounds very good at bedroom levels. You don`t need neither pedal or the JSX Mini Colossal if you have the JSX.

Besides that i have or have had a Diezel Einstein, Peavey JVM and a Mesa Stiletto. All very good amps with slightly different tone and main applications. I wouldn`t say one is better than the other it mainly comes down to what you want. This amp has a good clean channel a very good crunch and a singing lead channel and can do about everything an amp can do well to extremly well. If it doesn`t bother you that it is a signature head then this is your amp. There is not an amp out there which excels in every aspect. This applies also to this amp. But it is a top notch extremely versatile high gain amp. And don`t forget to use the fx because if you do not you will be disappointed.

Any questions? Here is my You tube channel: http://www.youtube.com/my_videos?feature=mhw5


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By SimpleMind
Apr 07, 2010
 
Last updated: April 07, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Peavey JSX head featured

Sound I run several guitars into this amp. All have Dimarzio pups in them. However, this amp works great with Evolutions, Tone Zone, Super Distortion, Blaze and HS3 pups. With EL34's it supplies the tone I'm looking for. I love the smooth tone of this amp and it kind of reminds me of my Marshall Plexi I had. Was kind of weary of getting a Peavey as I had a 5150 head and that thing sucked for tone(at least to my ears). However, the JSX has it all and I love it's overall tone.

Has 3 channels. Clean, Crunch and Ulra. Don't use the clean much, love the Crunch and Ultra. Primarily use the Crunch channel as the Ultra tends to get to metallic. However, there is plenty of gain on both, so you can run either for rhythm or lead they both just work fine.

Has a supplied noise gate which is great, if you're running an overdrive pedal into the amp. Also helps to calm the gain channels down a bit as well.

No reverb though which is kind of a bummer.


Reliability I would gig with this amp, no questions asked. It's heavy and durable and worth every penny.


Customer Support Never delt with Peavey


Liked about it Tone, Gain and Noise gate. You can also switch tubes from EL34's to 6L6's(I wouldn't, can't stand 6's) but the option is there and you just hit the bias switch and you're good to go. NO worries about re-biasing them amp. Make sure you get the footswitch with this amp. Guitar Center forgot to give me mine and I went back for it. It really helps with channel selection.


Didn't like Only two things I don't like about the amp. No reverb and the clean channel could be bette.r


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Swirled777
Mar 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Powerful, Toneful and versitile featured

Sound This amp has an array of tones that can be used with various styles of music. I play mine through a Mesa 4x12 and typically use my LTD Viper while playing high gain modern metal. The clean channel is CLEAN! Lots of headroom and very loud and clear sounding. The crunch channel is like a compressed Marshall type of tone. I actually reminds me of a boosted Peavey Classic 30 or 50 with a more flexible eq section. I can easily play old school thrash, Van Halen and classic/hard rock types of music on this channel. The ultra channel has about twice as much gain on tap with an even more compressed feel and sound. I like this channel for playing modern metal as the low end thumps hard while the gain is very hot, but still articulate while playing. I can get this channel pretty brutal sounding verging on a 5150 type of tone. Only not as gritty and deep in the low mids. The JSX gain is smoother, and less "wild" sounding than the 5150. The only pedal I use is a Boss NS-2 in the X-Pattern hookup connection. The onboard noise gate does a good job of minimizing amp hiss, but does nothing to stop feedback at high gain levels. So an external noise gate is a must IMHO. This amp is very sensitive to guitar, pickups, speakers and preamp tube types. More so than any other amp I've ever played. So that makes this amp a tone tweakers dream.


Reliability I've owned this amp since June of 2005 with zero problems. I've swapped the power tubes twice and have done multiple preamp tube placement experimentation. (Which I highly recommend because the amps characteristics change dramatically with preamp tube swaps)


Customer Support I converse regularly with Peavey techs on the Peavey support site, and have a lot of faith in Peavey and their customer service. Again, I haven't had any issues with my amp, but they are always there to lend advice or answer questions.


Liked about it 1.I like that I could finally ditch my boost pedals after buying this amp because the gain is so responsive, tight and cutting on it's own. I've never been a fan of boosting a $1500 amp with a $50 od pedal to acheive satisfactory high gain tones.
2.The three channels are great for versatility. A multitude of tones are available from, Jazz, alternative, Classic rock, hair metal, thrash metal, virtuoso, shred, nu metal, death metal, metalcore, etc. You can't say that about a lot of amps.
3.I really like the design, build quality and looks of the amp. Others are turned off by the chrome, but I'm not. I've never really been a Satriani fan, so I don't really associate the amp design with him at all.


Didn't like There's not much I don't like about the amp. I'm going on 5 years with the amp and still smile everytime I fire it up.
I would however like to see a half power switch like they offer on the JSX 2x12 combo that brings the amp down to 60 watts. Its a nice feature that could come in handy on the head version. Maybe some onboard reverb too, like the 2x12.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Van Noord
Nov 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Does just about everything featured

Sound This amp is perfect for all the Satch fanboys, but it's also an amazingly versatile, Jack of all trades, amp. I've played it with several guitars and it suits all styles.
The clean channel, while not especially chimey is very good. It will not break up and with a bit of compression added, sounds great for chord comps in funk. The design was to take pedals well and it does. The crunch channel is fantastic. With low gain settings, you get classic rock crunch, think AC/DC and old Zep. It's great for rhythms. By turning up the gain a little and adding some presence, you get more modern and lead tones. There is a lot of gain on tap and you'd be able to get a good Satch lead tone without any pedals on the crunch setting. The EQ is extremely sensitive and responsive but it is not difficult to find good tones. Only small adjustments are needed. The ultra channel takes the gain up another level and it gets pretty heavy. It'll do modern metal. I found that it starts to get pretty muddy after 4 or 5 on the gain knob. I don't play particularly brutal metal, but it had plenty of gain for me.
I played the amp through a Marshall 1960 2X12 and also the matched JSX 4X12. The 4X12 sounded a little more full, but the Marshall seemed a little tighter in the bass section.
The controls on this were particularly responsive and there's a lot of tones in the amp without any pedals. I ran straight into the amp and found that with some small adjustments on my guitar and the amp, I could pull just about any style out of this amp. It was very responsive to picking dynamics and guitar volume going from clean and chimey on single coils to overdrive to full on distortion by merely working my JS1200 controls.
There's very little buzzing and it's pretty quiet until you turn the gain up on the Ultra channel. I tried the noise gate, it tamed things a little, but it was not particularly effective. I'd recommend turning the guitar volume down on your guitar between songs at a gig if you're going to run the gain way up.
The master volume was excellent and at conversation levels the amp still sounded good. Turning it up from there only made things get better.
The effects loops was also very good with a level control to manage different output pedal types.
While it's overkill for anyone who isn't a serious musician, it can definitely make a dedicated hobbyist very happy.


Reliability It's well built and can handle some abuse. The only thing that worried me was that the knobs stick out a bit on the front and could get knocked around in transit to rehearsals and gigs.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them.


Liked about it 1. 3 very distinct and versatile channels. Excellent crunch channel with a very good clean and hi-gain channel.
2. Good master controls that shaped the tone effectively at all volumes.
3. Stylish black/chrome looks that are eye-catching even if it does scream Satriani fan...


Didn't like Noise gate was not particularly effective at eliminating hum. Not a deal breaker for me, but it might be for some.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By smooth55
Aug 03, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

A Really nice sounding versatile amp!

Sound I owned a JSX head right after I sold my Bogner Ecstasy. And for quite a long time it filled the Bogner's shoes just fine for more than a 3rd of the price. I thought the clean was crystal clear and very hard to overdrive which is what I want in a clean sound. Clean Clean. Channel two was essentially hard to tame. It tended to compress a little bit too much for my taste, but I found that being conservative with the gain knob really helped this channel. And channel three was brutal! All the gain you'd ever need. Nice cut to it which would really help in a live situation.


Reliability Never had an issue with mine. I gigged it a couple of times without a backup so it did very well.


Customer Support I never needed to contact customer support for this amp, but I have contacted Peavey before in the past for other amps found them to be very responsive.


Liked about it The Clean channel and channel 3. Both were just what I was looking for.


Didn't like well channel two I was hopping to get a little more low gain crunch going on, but found there to be just a little bit too much gain on the channel to do this. A barber LTD pedal into the channel channel did the job just fine. You can;t have everything in one amp for this price, but you can get close. What eventually made me sell the amp was the interesting yet consistent cocked-wah sound in both od channels. I found myself really liking this tone at first, but it did eventually start to bother me because I could not dial it out. I ended up selling it, but I would buy one again if I needed a multi-channel switcher.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Superuser
Jan 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores

Kick ass tone and quality!!!

Sound The head is amazing! you have so many sounds available to you and the tone for 70's and 80's metal is phenomenal.
I play all my guitars through this rig, Kramers, ESP, Ibanez you name it. Great for both low volume and in your face playing, I liked it so much that I went as far as to buying a combo to practice at home.


Reliability The amp is made in the USA and it's built like tank it is definitely worth it, no issues so far and I have been rehearsing and gigging with it going on 3 years.


Customer Support Peavey customer support is hit and miss if they are in a good mood they are helpful and if not, they just dismiss your questions and concerns and reffer you to a repair center but one thing I will say, they stand behind the quality of their product. I had some issues with the combo and they paid for everything.


Liked about it 120 watt so plenty of headroom
Nice chrome fascia


Didn't like 1)No reverb
2)It definitely is a tweaker, you need to dial the controls just right to get a good sound. It took me an awful long time to find the right tone.
3)I ended up getting rid of the head and went back to Marshalls just like Joe. The reason? It does everything (or so I thought) but not my complete liking. I have never achived the right tone out of it, plus it hates every pedal or board you put before it (even through the effects loop!!!)



Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By OLIE_ROCKS_THE_8
Oct 08, 2009
 
Last updated: February 27, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $0 to $0
Compare Prices
at 0 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec82 spec409 spec571