Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.4 (22)
 Add a review

Boss MT-2 Distortion Pedal

 
Metal Zone Equipped with a dual gain circuit, the MT-2 provides super-long sustain and heavy mids and lows like a stack of overdriven amps. With three-band EQ, a wide range of distortion textures is at your command.


Price: $27 to $121 at 19 stores
Searched Boss MT-2 Distortion Pedal in Reviews
 

 

Great, if you know how to use it. featured

Ease Of Use I can't rank ease of use very highly here. The Metal Zone is a pretty polarizing pedal. Some people really hate the thing. Understandable. It can produce some truly terrible tones. But, I'd argue that used subtly, it can sound very nice indeed.


Sound General tips:

- Be VERY subtle about how you use that eq. Start out with everything centered, and make very subtle adjustments. Using the clock analogue, maybe 15 minutes at a time.
- Keep the level at least at 12:00.
- Use the distortion sparingly, if at all. I've never heard a distortion pedal that has provided truly great sounding distortion entirely on its own, in my opinion. I basically use this thing as a sort of boost/colouring pedal. I let it boost the signal a bit to the amp, and let the eq colour the sound. The way I use it, it imparts a bit of a low-mid "growl" to my sound. I'll only add a hint of distortion if I want to play a lead. Otherwise, the amp is doing most of the work.

I've used this on its own, playing through my synthesizers effects loop. I've played it through my old Peavey Classic 30. I've tried it through a small Squier 15 watt bass amp (sounds pretty amazing, actually!). I've tried it through Peavey KB3 keyboard amp. I've tried it through a dual rectifier. I use a plugin version of it in Guitar Rig 4, alongside a dual rectifier, among other amps. I've used it with an ESP guitar with EMGs, a Fender fat strat, a Music Man Petrucci, and loads more. I'd say I've gotten a decent sampling of what this pedal is capable of, and how to make it do what I want it to.

Don't go plugging it into a completely inappropriate amp, expecting crushing, full metal tones. My Peavey Classic 30 taught me that. Don't put a completely inappropriate guitar in front of it. Don't use it as a substitute for amplifier provided distortion. It will fail if you expect it to handle any of those things.

It's a tool. It has its uses. It can sound terrible or amazing depending on what you're using it with, and how you've dialed it in. It can't do everything... at all. Hell, it arguably can't even do what it's advertised to do (provide distortion). But, used the way I use it, I love it. Adding it to anything I'm playing through (using my very strict usage guidelines ;)), makes the resulting sound sound like "me". For that, I love it.


Reliability Bullet-proof.


Customer Support No idea.


Liked about it - Sounds great the way I use it.
- Well made.
- Pretty reasonably priced.


Didn't like - Can sound utterly terrible.
- Has added fuel to the fire of every bedroom shredding Youtube nerd who hides behind insanely distorted, buzzy, tone while showing off his sweep arpeggios.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By floobie
Sep 26, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Really Good If youre using A Tube Amp featured

Ease Of Use Really Easy, as long as you know How to Use/Utilize/Get The Most out the MT-2's Extremely Wide Midrange Controls!

If This thing, (The Original) MT-2 Circuitry, were "Digitally Programmable",
but retaining their All Analog Dual Circuit, Distortion Circuitry Design, along with a 2nd/Alternate "Keely-Style" Modded MT-2 Metal Zone "Channel" for Better Overall Rhythm "Chunk", and, a 2nd
Programmable Lead /Rhythm Channel,

and An Adjustable/Programmable Noise Gate

I Know Im' Dreaming, But you would basically have A Better AMP/Preamp than Most Choices (For Metal) out there!

Too bad Nobody, Including Roland/Boss, Has Not Done this Yet!?

Perhaps Robert Keeley, along with Roland/Boss can Collaborate with Roland/Boss US!?

kinda like Reinhold Bogner Collaborated with Line 6 on those Amps they developed.

It Would Be Very Cool For Roland/Boss to Develop this "Metal Zone Stack & Head/Combo" with Robert Keeley, Purchase the Forgotten "Patented" MosValve Power Amplifier Technology from Genz Benz, to allow for An All Analog/Mosfet Power Amplifier Tube Like Sound & Feel, But Making The Power Amp Tightness/Looseness "Damping Factor"
Digitally Progammable, Into the Programs Memory?!

But like I said, Im' Only Dreaming, and This Product Does Not Exist Yet!

Back to the "Pedal"


Sound I Know How Great (and Shocking!) the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Pedal Sounds Loud and Clear Thru a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 1x12 40watt Tube Amp.

Let Me Tell you that 40 Watts of "All Tube" Fender Preamp/Power Amp into A Special Design 1x12 Speaker IS Shockingly LOUD!!

One Day when me And A Guitar Playing Buddy were getting together to go over some King Diamond Songs I had Been Learning on Guitar, from the "Abigail" album/cd, and

I Easily Blew Away my "Guitar Buddy", Victor, with Only my 1x12 Fender 40watt Tube Amp.

Victor, who apparently had a 200watt Crate All Solid State 4x12 Half Stack!?

At Times my 1x12 Fender 40watt Tube Amp with My Trusty Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Pedal Easily Overpowered My Buddies 200watt Solid State 4x12 Half Stack!!?

Now Remembering,the Crate Solid State had Such a SMALL Transformer!


Reliability Perfect! Its Amazing how Much Variety you Can get out of these Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Distortion Pedals!

Ive Heard Fat Sounding Ones, Not as Fat Sounding ones!? Etc, And it Seems to Me Since they 1st came out with the Metal Zone in 1991, Overall Where ever/when ever they're made, they generally have a Very good/Decent Quality Control Reputation!


Customer Support Never Ever had a problem.

My Guitar Playin' Buddy Eric Has A Boss MT-2 with a Keely Mod and it Sounds a Little Thicker, But Not enough for me to Send my stock MT-2 to Keeley!


Liked about it Its Interesting if you Listen Closely, Depending what Pickups you're Running into this Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Pedal, (I Use High Gain Humbuckers),

you can hear A real Hot Rodded/Modified Late '80's, EL34 Type MARSHALL
"Kill em' All,Ride the Lightning/Master of Puppets/And Justice for All" Type Amp/Distortion Tones from this Pedal! Dont Get Me wrong This Boss MT-2 Is Not Nessesarily a One Trick Pony,"Metallica Guitar Sound" in A Box ONLY!,

I mean, It May Be Because I Have EMG 81's Going Into the MT-2 + Fender Hot Rod Deluxe Amp, and I was Raised on these Guitar Patterns/Songs, that I can Make That Authentic "Metallica Approved" Connection with this Guitar+Effect+Amp Set Up!

I Mean Dudes In Metallica were using 100% Mesa/Boogie 6L6 Type Amps on Justice, but just the same,

the Roland/Boss Engineers were Obviously keen to follow the trend at the time for what was Arguably the Smoothest, and Most Metallic, Highest Gain Tones Around as A Guide!? Also, around 1991-'92 when this Pedal 1st came out,
I had Heard that the Boss Engineers Really Worked Hard to Make It Sound Like The Best "Mix" of a Hot Rodded Tube Marshall,

"Layered" simultanesouly with A Hot Grinding Solid State Randall, Like George Lynch Used on "Tooth and Nail", obviously the RG80ES/RG100ES!?

If You're Really Careful with the Dual "Mid's" Control, I have Gotten Sounds From as Smooth as A Lot Of Tube Preamps, to as "Gnarly" as A Grinding Solid State Randall like you'd' Hear on Dokken's Tooth and Nail" or "Cowboys from Hell/Vulgar Display of Power" Tones from Pantera, all three of which were used in the Recording of these albums/Cds


Didn't like Nothing At All!

I Mean Can You Say "Perfection"

One,2,3 Perfection!: #1.Guitar,-#2.Metal Zone,-#3.Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 1x12 Combo!

That Is Take a Guitar-into-Boss MT-2 Metal Zone-into- Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 40watt 1x12 Tube Combo Amp, w/Fender Reverb, = Guitar HEAVEN! Suprisingly, Its As Simple as That!

(If They Only Knew Lord!)

If You Use This Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Pedal with A Quality Tube Amp, Like My Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 1x12, 40watt Tube Amp, You will be Amazed At the Perfect Combination/Marriage of A Boss MT-2 Metal Zone and A Quality All Tube Amp!

Any Complaints you may have Heard about the Boss MT-2 Metal Zone Sounding Thin, Trebly, Etc, are All Smoothed out when you use a Quality Tube Amp, Like a Fender.

Being That Fender Has A Killer Reverb on Most of their Amps, Im' Speecheless when it Comes Time for my Lead Solo, the Reverb on this Amp is So Serious Sounding I Feel Like Im Recording the 1st VH Album!

Also,Using a Delay/Echo + Phaser Pedal (last in chain VH Style)
Thru the Effects Send/Return

Im' Makin Most Guys Solid State and Digital Rigs, look & Sound like A
Waste Of Money, for well under a Thousand!

But then again Im' basing this on the fact that this set up Sounds like a Mix between Kreator's "Coma of Souls', Slayer's "Hell Awaits" and
Van Halen's 1st!

All wrapped Up in One Crazy Tone!

Which to Me, Is The Basic Guitar Tone Framework Im,(My Ear), is Always Goin' For!

Am I The Only One Who Goes for this type, or Mix Of Guitar Tone!?


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Metalbucker
Apr 15, 2010
 
Last updated: April 27, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good pedal for an indoor/bedroom guitarist featured

Ease Of Use Very easy to use pedal(if your experience)It can be quite difficult if your a beginner but that is what the manual is for! The pedal is pretty much self explanatory It has a 3band EQ Control, a Mid control, a Volume and Gain control! You cant get much easier! Most experience guitarist already know the sound they want so its a ease of use...but for beginners, I would suggest to take the presets the manual gives you as it serves for a starting point and later you can mess around to get your tone!


Sound The sound is fairly decent!! it gives you that umfph! and distortion to play along with your bands That every bedroom guitarist desires!!! Other then that, I wouldnt play with it live or with other instruments as the sounds of the other instruments start negating the distortion of the pedal!! you'll lose your tone and sound and it just wont sound good...that is if you were to play live! You get your 80s Hair metal sound but I wouldnt use it for brutal death metal thats forsure! I mean you can, but its not the sound I desire for DM


Reliability Boss is extremely known for its bullet proof, window breaking pedals. Its a very sturdy pedal, you can drop it, throw it, kick it and it'll still work after!! ;)


Customer Support Never dealt with the company because I never needed too..which means this pedal is solid!


Liked about it Very well built pedal! Would withstand a nuclear attack! Great for an Indoor guitarist, Great for beginners!


Didn't like Not for an active musician who is looking for a heavy sound!!! It Doesnt blend well with other instruments! It didnt come with a power adapter, SO I had to use batteries which died quick in this thing!! just stick away from it...!!


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Weezel
Jan 31, 2010
 
Last updated: February 03, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great for isolated bedroom use, avoid for band situations featured

Ease Of Use The pedal is easy to use in so much as the "level" and "dist" dials are fairly self explanatory, volume and gain. However for someone that's never come across an EQ before or understands where the frequency values actually sit in regards to the mix or what you can hear, it might be a bit more confusing.

I always found the sound great metal when in use in an isolated environment, such as a bedroom. For a band situation though the pedal doesn't have the cut in the midrange to satisfy and your instrument may well get lost in the mix.

Being a boss compact the pedal is pretty easy to use in practise, stick a battery in it and stomp on it, attach a lead in one side and out the other, what more do you want.


Sound I have to echo the sentiments of another reviewer on this board.
This pedal will suit a beginning looking to chug away on guitar in an isolated situation achieving a great "bedroom" guitarist sound. The issues come as previously mentioned when this pedal is used in a band situation where the guitars are supposed to be hitting the mid range of the mix.

I used this pedal as my preamp fed into a fender combo amp for a few years when I was much younger, it's a fun pedal to mess around with creating crunchy sounds that emulate what you can hear coming out of speakers with your favourite band playing. Especially good if you use it on a small combo amp with a single speaker, able to cut out a lot of the mids giving you a decent bedroom sound.

The problem comes when you take the same setup into a band situation and suddenly the guitar disappears into a mess of hiss as the sound fails to cut through. Sure the 4 Band EQ is useful for trying to combat this, but I can't recommend the sound of this pedal in a band environment; something like a DS-1 would be better, or just natural preamp solid state / valve drive created by the amp.


Reliability Boss pedals have a tendency to be built very solidly indeed, I've never had one go wrong or bits snap/break off of it. For reliability I'd recommend Boss every time.


Customer Support Never dealt with Boss directly, they make solid stomp box products built with good enough components and tank-like outer casings. You could stomp on this thing 10,000 times and as long as the spring inside survived the rest of the product would operate just fine.


Liked about it Gave a great "bedroom" sound ideal for a beginner wanting to lock themselves away and dial up a metal sound
Provides a moderate amount of flexibility in the EQ and a dump load of gain
Built solidly and will last


Didn't like Unsuitable for band style environments if I'm honest, there is much better distortion out there
Controls are often very sensitive, especially on the EQ side, changing a dial a slight bit will alter the sound a lot


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By D1m3b4g2
Nov 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great for bedrooms, not so much in a band situatio featured

Ease Of Use The Boss MT-2 Metal Zone pedal is a puzzling beast. At first it seems like a metal heads dream; insane amounts of gain, and the ability to almost violently scoop mids, whilst cranking the bass and treble. But once you start playing with it in a band scenario things get a little tricky.

The EQ controls, which at first look to be nice and simple in theory, are far trickier to set than you would think. All 4 controls are very touchy, and even the slightest knob twiddling can result in drastic changes.

But if you are a bedroom shredder, and just want the brutal scooped sound like you hear on Metallica's "...And Justice for All" this may very well be the pedal for you.


Sound The MT-2 has an insane amount of gain on tap, and is particularly suited to the heavily scooped metal sounds that can be heard in the previously mentioned Metallica album "...And Justice for All", and most extreme metal genres.

As many would know though, the sorts of settings you might use in the bedroom by yourself is completely different to the settings you may have in a band situation.

Excessively scooping mids, and cranking the bass and treble with high gain in a band scenario results in the guitar being lost in the mix with the bass drum and bass guitar.

And that's where the MT-2 fails. If you are wanting to use this pedal to get these sorts of tones, whilst still being heard clearly in the mix you are going to have your work cut out for you. While it is possible to get the EQ balance right, the MT-2 just doesn't have the same sort of high gain tone you might get from say a Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier. It pales in comparison to the real thing.

It is possible to get reasonable mid gain tones that can be heard in a band scenario. I used the MT-2 through the clean channel of my Kustom KGA65 amp in a three piece band. Seeing as I was the sole guitar player, and I didn't scoop mids I could could get a reasonable guitar tone for rhythm and lead.

But at the end of the day this is a fairly average pedal. Great for brutal metal sounds in the bedroom, but not so crash hot for nice tone in a band setting, brutal metal or not.


Reliability It's a Boss pedal, they know how to build solid, rugged, reliable pedals that last. If there is one thing you can trust with a Boss pedal, it's the build quality and reliability.


Customer Support I haven't had to deal with Boss.


Liked about it As always, awesome Boss build quality
* Extreme gain available, so plenty of room to dial in just right amount of gain you are after
* 4 band EQ


Didn't like Very hard to get a GOOD Quality tone out of.
* Extremely nasally if not dialled in carefully.
* Very artificial sounding distortion compared to some other high gain distortion pedals.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By LonePhantom
Nov 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Not my cup of tea featured

Ease Of Use It's fairly easy to use. There are a few more knobs for tone shaping than your typical distortion box but it was not hard to figure out. I assume those purchasing this are looking for something to give them a huge amount of distortion for heavier metal styles. It does that in spades without much effort so decent marks there.


Sound I may be overly harsh in this regard as I like metal but brutal distortion is not my primary music taste. I got this pedal because my other distortions were more hard rock and I needed something a little "more." I like heavy stuff and this pedal is good at chugging rhythm tones. It's easy to dial in settings that scoop your mids and give you that classic thrash to modern brutal sounds. Where the pedal fails, and this is as much an EQ issue as it is a pedal fault, is that you absolutely get lost in the mix. I could get a pretty good tone when playing by myself, but as soon as I played it with someone else on guitar, I disappeared. I've played in bands with other guys who've had the same problem with this pedal. It's great while you're chugging along, but it drops out on any sort of melody or solo. Those mids are essential to any sort of melody or solo and this pedal just cuts them out. It also gets nasally when you get into the upper register and is thin, again a midrange issue. Try as I could to EQ the pedal around this, I was unable to find a suitable setting that would allow me to keep some of those essential mids. I spent a while with it but eventually got rid of it, not for me.


Reliability Boss always gets high marks from me for their build quality and this is no exception. That said, I did have some problems after gigging where if I made an adjustment to the outer or inner knob on the EQ, it would inadvertently twist and change the other knob. For example, this made things annoying if you found a setting you liked for the bass but needed to tweak the treble. The rest of the pedal was robust and took any abuse I threw at it.


Customer Support Not needed


Liked about it 1. It did have gobs of gain and could get as dirty and nasty as you want.
2. Solid build construction.


Didn't like 1. Mids were non-existant. This is typical of brutal metal styles but it makes the pedal very limited.
2. Knobs are tough to adjust after a while, gigging, because the rings don't move independently once they are no longer pristine and new.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By smooth55
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

It scratches an itch for a while featured

Ease Of Use This pedal is a cool looking gunmetal colour with a bright orange logo showing it means business from the offset. It's based around boss's three stage gain circuitry like the mega distortion before it, and is a distortion/overdrive and to date is boss' biggest selling pedal. There are Two concentric control knobs and two standard control knobs. The two cocentric knobs are for the eq settings entitled high+low and middle and mid freq. Mid freq actually being a parametric midrange eq. The other two knobs are for level and distortion. The unit is powered either by a 9v battery or a 9vdc supply. After some tinkering its fairly easy to understand how tp use the stomp box so settings to suit what you require should be easy enough.


Sound Firstly the unit to my ears never sounded great through my amp, my main issue with the effect is that it had very nasal twangy mids. Don't get me wrong in the shop when you try it, it ticks all the boxes. Destructive lows, mid cuts, lower mids boosted, heavy distortion. In reality through a screaming hot valve amp it seems to wreck th creamyness of your hard fought for tone. I sent mine to have the keeley twilight zone mod done to it as this apparently ironed out alot of these issues but it still sounded false and wrong so we parted company. The pedal will almost certainly suit solid state amps better. The pedal seems to caress your ego and patch over the cracks by making you feel like you've got the worlds biggest amp and best guitar when in reality it caress' your ego then feels you leaving used. Its not all bad however as convincing old school thrash tones can be had relativly easily just so long as you are content with a bid range buzz. I personally though would look elsewhere for long term appeal. When compared to some of its peers from t-rex and subdecays blackstar you realise maybe you chose wrong. I'd rather eat my own shoes than buy another one, i'm normally unbiased and fair and i still i am being. i paid my money, paid some more and still loathed it!


Reliability I'd definatly find it reliable although the concentric pots feel a little flimsy. It is after all a boss pedal and after all boss pedals are very road worthy.


Liked about it ease of use
colour of theenclosure


Didn't like nasal midrange tones even when scooped
concentric pots feel weak
impossibly false and processed sounding


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By fretboardpyro
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

It was METAL all right...it sounded like a bunch of tin cans!

Ease Of Use The Boss MT-2 Metal Zone has a total of 6 knobs: a level knob, 2x2 EQ knobs (a combo pot for bass and treble, and another for mid and mid frequency), and a dist knob. The pedal is very simple and function labels are quite clear.


Sound Back when I was starting out I thought this was the ultimate dirt pedal, and my classmates did, too. After being exposed to a number of what I consider "benchmark" tones for rock, metal, etc. from reputed players and popular artists, I quickly realized how lousy this pedal sounded.

The infamous nasal sound of this pedal is very dominant, and the mid controls get pretty unnatural when set at unreasonable settings. Bass was fine, but the treble sometimes gets buzzy. The best this pedal gets is when placed in front of a clean tube amp, which we have had the privilege of doing every time we practiced at our former drummer's studio. However, the unpleasant sonic signature of the pedal is still evident despite this.

I have heard of a number of modifications to this pedal to tame the nasal sound as well as make the pedal a more useful dirtbox overall. I believe with the right component tweaks this pedal will finally be able to crush some real skulls, but for now, it'll probably stay hidden in my gig bag.


Reliability I got this second hand from a friend, who in turn got this from another friend of his. The pedal did not seem to get too much action in actual gigs (probably because of the sound lol). Having said that, I think it was in a remarkable condition when I got it. I believe this'll handle a couple thousand more gigs in the future.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it 1. Sturdy box
2. Compact
3. Lightweight


Didn't like THE SOUND, PERIOD. I'll get it modified pretty soon though, so maybe this'll change.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By theapprentice
Feb 21, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great pedal, well worth the money but I was expecting something different.

Ease Of Use Very easy to find all kinds of different distorted sounds.
The options are endless with this mega metal pedal.


Sound My crazy Prestige with Dimarzio LiquiFire, Area 67,and CrunchLab pickups.
The effects are great, if you want massive distortion this is it!
I was looking for more of an "overdrive" pedal and bought a "metal" pedal. Oops! My bad.

Punkin 001.JPG



Reliability Very reliable...it's a Boss....enough said!


Customer Support Boss is the best company to deal with...end of story.


Liked about it I like all the options the pedal offers. Looking for HEAVY METAL tone? This might be the last distortion pedal you ever buy.
I like the looks of the pedal. So easy to dial in so many different distorted sounds, twist a knob and BOOM! New sound!
I love Boss!


Didn't like My biggest issue must be a personal one....I couldn't find "my" tone. It is not the pedal, it is me.
I was looking for more "overdrive" and not so much distortion....my stupid self bought the wrong pedal for the sound I was wanting.



Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By milkywayslipnsli
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Nice for Beginners

Ease Of Use It is easy to use, and fun. This pedal got lot of parameters that you can play with. I used it for around 2 years with my Washburn X Series.


Sound I really liked it so far. But when I bough a Jem... it didn't even came close to what my Marshall Amp was giving. This pedal comes with a good distorted sound, lot of Bass, good parameters and you can get any type of nice distortion, but I really understood that this is not for me. When I play with Overdrive its much cooler. This pedal really removes my Jem Tone to come with a distorted thing. Its cool for chords and fast metal stuff but when you go into Soloing and searching your Tone, this isn't it.


Reliability It's a Boss come on!


Customer Support Have not used.


Liked about it -Nice distorted sound for Hard Metal and Chords
-Good durability
-Cool appearance


Didn't like -I cannot (or don't WANT to) solo with this
-Don't put your guitar volume down, it's not made for this
-Killing my beautiful Jem Tone


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Phenixer
Jul 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Awesome pedal for tight distortion

Ease Of Use I got this pedal as a gift from my dad for finishing school year with A-B honor roll. Right out of the box it sounds great and is very easy to use. It has your basic mid-range, mid-range frequency, bass, and treble controls. it doesn't sound like much but they are all very sensitive. It covers everything from low bass and high treble bands like Nuclear Assualt to deep high bass bands like morbid saint and the there destruction system EP.


Sound I am currently running through a Ibanez Rg120 ( cheap guitar ) and a Peavey Backstage II amplifier ( possibly the cheapest guitar amplifier in existence ) and this pedal screams. It is very bright and clear. i use it with the treble up all the way, mid-range turned back a bit, and the bass also turned back a bit and it is the exact sound i have always wanted. i do find the pedal a bit noisy, but that is probably because i use max distortion and i am very rough in my playing


Reliability I could depend on this thing if my dad ran it over with his truck. Very solid metal box it is. If it can withstand me ( i like to really stomp on the pedal for some reason ), I'm pretty sure it can withstand anybody. i would bring it to a gig with a backup but there is no need for it, and so far it hasn't broken.


Customer Support I have not had a problem with the pedal but I believe it comes with a five year warranty.


Liked about it The pedal sounds great. It offers a tight distortion like classic thrash metal and progressive metal. It is very simple to use and very small. All you need is a 9v power converter and you can jam all night.


Didn't like I wish it came with a built in noise suppressor but that is uncommon and the only pedal I think that has one is Line 6.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By dburn42
Jun 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

With a little twaeking, the best Distortion Pedal Made!

Ease Of Use Not very user friendly in it's stock form, I originally bought one for use in front of my Marshall DSL 401. I was looking for a pedal with more "hair" than a tube screamer, boy did I find it. This pedal has all the drive you could ever want. It is hard to adjust to exactly the right settings to get a good sound with out being fake sounding. I then bought one from Analog Man online that had been modified to smooth out the harshness.


Sound My now Modified MT2 in front of my Marshall DSL 401 when played with any of my axe's sound absolutely amazing, My Strats sound creamy and smooth on the neck pickup, My RG3550MZ sounds like a metal masters axe and my Les Paul Studio can dial in all the sounds of the 70's and 80's I was looking for.


Reliability It is built bomb proof like all BOSS pedals, I always thought the actual pedal seemed kinda flimsy, but I have never seen one break and I have had Boss pedals since 1985.


Customer Support I have never had to deal with Boss (Roland) but I have heard good things.


Liked about it Great things about it, It has supreme amounts of distortion, with the Mods performed by Analog Man it smoothes out all the rough edges, and best of all he adds a green LED to it, thats just cool!


Didn't like I hate having to change batteries, I am going to get an ac adaptor (I think it should come with it)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By wkwright
May 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Probably the most used pedal of the late 90's to create a "metal" sound

Ease Of Use Super easy to use, if you can dial in eq and be able to distinguish what you do and don't like in sound this pedal is awesome.


Sound I've run this pedal through Marshall heads, marshall micro stack (the real tiny one),bogner, framus, peavy. No matter what I plug this pedal into it sounds great. The only thing you don't want to do is use it with a distortion channel on your amp. Make sure you're on the clean channel


Reliability 10/10 reliability. You could drop this off of the empire state building/glue it back together and it would probably work flawlessly lol


Customer Support never had to contact them. product is perfect.


Liked about it Easy to dial in various tones. The bass is super impressive to me on this thing. And the other thing I like about it is that it makes any size amp sound bigger then it really is.


Didn't like Every kid I knew that played guitar growing up had one of these!
Batteries drain quickly. If you use a power supply it doesn't sound good at all, have to use a battery


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By paintyoursky
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

BOSS finally released a stinker!

Ease Of Use It's easy to use, and the controls are easy to decipher. I'm not a fan of concentric pots, and trying to use them is a slight pain. Typical input and output configuration.


Sound I've tried this pedal in front of solidstate and tbe amps, and it's almost an epic fail! While I'm sure the R&D folks at BOSS meant well, this thing falls short as a metal pedal. It wouldn't be so bad if they just called it a distortion pedal, but that Metal Zone label led me to believe it would be a scorcher. The top end is way too grainy and the low end is too spongy and lacks punch.


Reliability It's built "BOSS tough!"


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it It produces barely acceptably distortion. Would make a nice paperweight.


Didn't like Anything named Metal Zone is expected to really scorch--this thing doesn't.
The high end is too grainy.
The low end is too spongy
Lacks any real punch.


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By AlaskaBat
Apr 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

I was expecting much more..

Ease Of Use Like most Boss pedals its fairly easy to use. I like the fact that it had a built in equalizer. The metal casing is also very durable and can handle being dropped or stomped on.


Sound Well, I have to admit I wasn't a fan. This was the first stomp box I ever owned. When I was first starting out, I thought this pedal was the greatest thing ever; tone wise. Then, after years of experimenting with sound, and developing my skills as a musician, I realized this pedal was severely lacking. If your just a practicing musician, then I can see this pedal working out. However, if your looking for a little extra gain to add to your amp, then an overdrive pedal like a tubescreamer, or an SD-1 would be the way to go.

The MT-2 was just too distorted and too over the top for what it should be used for. If your jamming with another guitar player, you can plan on your sound being so muddy that it doesn't cut through enough to be heard. If anything, I suggest using this pedal as a "tone" shaper. I would not recommend using this pedal as your only means of distortion cause you will be sadly disappointed.


Reliability All boss products are well built. The metal casing is very durable and can take a beating. The tone the MT-2 produces, is far from a reliable source of distortion IMO.


Customer Support Never had to deal with boss directly.


Liked about it I liked the Equalizer and unfortunately thats all that I found good in this pedal. If your using it as an overdrive pedal, then I can see the practicality of this pedal, but if your using it as your main distortion, then i suggest exploring other avenues for that.


Didn't like I wasn't a fan of the distortion. It was way too saturated and muddy. More gain then is ever needed is contained with the MT-2. If your a novice musician, then I can see the practicality, but other than that, I would stay as far away as possible from the MT-2. 2/5


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Bedroom blaster

Ease Of Use Actually I got this second hand about 10 years ago, with no box or manual. I only recently downloaded the BOSS manual and started getting a better response. The EQ is a touchy beast, sounds great a volume A crank that up and it sounds crap at volume B so tweak it here and sounds great but the sound at volume A is meh.


Sound I have pretty much relgated it to my Park 10watt practice amp. Sounds pretty good through that. Imprints too much of its own sound on my Laney.
Apparently BOSS's best selling pedal.


Reliability Been through hell and survived, except the battery connection has had to be replaced.


Customer Support Never tried. Website is quite good.


Liked about it Great for bedroom level practice.
Built like a tank.
Good range of sounds if you are prepared to experiment.


Didn't like EQ can be too touchy. Can make it really difficult to set up.
Not so good as a boost pedal, really only good on drive one (crunch like) for a 80's metal boost.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Shockme.au
Dec 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

AWESOME PEDAL!!!!!!!!!

Ease Of Use very easy to use as are most Boss pedals..you can dial in distortions ranging anywhere form Metallica, 38 Special, Van Halen (all 3 eras) and more with various added pedals


Sound sounds great with dist level below 50% and cut the mids a little


Reliability yes..very dependable


Customer Support not dealt with


Liked about it overall dist sound and the available varied sounds i can get with just this one pedal...BOSS is the best


Didn't like cant think of one


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By kelmaur
Nov 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Popular pedal, not sure why though.

Ease Of Use It is relatively easy to use. Most Boss pedals are.


Sound I've used this pedal with LP's, Strats, Teles, & SG's all resulting in a harsh, thin processed type of metal distortion. This pedal is actually the exact opposite of how I want my Metal tone to sound.


Reliability Tough as nails.


Customer Support No dealings.


Liked about it It's a Boss. I like their design and construction. That's about it.


Didn't like Pretty much everything.


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By Van Noord
Nov 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Metal

Ease Of Use The MT-2 has a few more controls than your typical distortion pedal, only because it allows you to alter the tone a lot more than other pedals. It has Level, Dist, Low, High, Mid and Mid frequency, and standard 1/4 inch input and outputs. The manual tells you everything about the pedal and it also includes some settings one of which i still use today.


Sound This pedal has a lot of gain and when pushed it can get a bit noisy. With the tonal controls its possible to get a few different sounds out of it, it can do anything from low distortion to a high gain. I usually have this pedal on the majority of the time as it has a sound that i absolutely love. It will take some time to find a setting that you will like but I'm sure if there is a particular sound you are after this pedal could almost certainly do it.


Reliability Built like a tank. Never had a problem with it.


Liked about it The sound
The tonal controls
Simplicity


Didn't like More output would be good
A bit Pricey


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Mike239
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Boss MT-2 Distortion Pedal

Ease Of Use Easy to use, pedal has 4 dials and 2 of the dials have 2 extra dials on top of them, so in all 6 dials to set your ideal distortion sound.


Sound As stated in ease of use there's 6 dials to create the sound your looking for. Also dont be fooled by the pedal name of metal zone, it does much more than just metal, with the 6 dials you can create softer distortion sounds, but it really does deliver for metal. I like the 6 dials as you get all options from low, middle, high frequancies as well as 2 dials dedicated to how much distortion and what level you want it, so loads of settings can be created. I personally use a Peavey amp on clean channel so the pedal does all the distortion setting and I use Ibanez RG/Jem guitars. If your looking to create a Metallica kind of sound then this is a good choice of pedal, but as I said you can really tweak this pedal to do all sorts.


Reliability Like every Boss pedal, solid metal block thats very durable. If gigging take a spare 9v battery as back up,if you dont use an adapter.


Customer Support Not had to deal with them.


Liked about it 1) Ease of use
2) Durability
3) That stomp boxes its one tap its on and 1 tap its off.


Didn't like Nothing not to like about the pedal. Great unit.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By richard1973
Oct 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good

Ease Of Use It's easy to use, specially starting by emulating the presets and then going for your sound. The parametric EQ is very fun to explore, but to understand it you better read the manual (for the 2 middle knobs)


Sound This pedal is made to sound good. from hard rock to metal, this one gives exactly what you want. from almost to full distortion the pedal works good, by trying to use less than half of the gain, the sound is similar to when the batteries dry out... crap.


Reliability extremely good! i've had it for 10 years (taking care of it, of course) and never had to repair it. It even has 2 "bent" knobs, but never gave any problem.


Customer Support never used it.


Liked about it the Thrash/ Glam/ heavy metal sound is just amazing!
Good for rock/hard rock too. of course experimenting hurts nobody!


Didn't like hmm... don't try to make an overdrive sound of it. It's the only advise. ears get hurt.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Kamm
Aug 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Not even worth a dollar.

Ease Of Use Pretty basic controls. Simply turn and listen. There's no usb port so there's no upgrade for this thing.


Sound Of all the time that I tried using this thing, I could not get a decent tone out of out. Could not, absolutely no way. The distortion is way too digital, the tone itself way too trebly and shill/biting. Some say that you can mod it to sound decent, but honestly I just moved on to bigger and better things. Don't waste your money on this thing and just save up. (No matter what setting - clean or OD channel EQ'd flat or to taste)


Reliability For the couple of hours i played it, it never broke down. just sounded terrible.


Customer Support Never deal with them.


Liked about it 1. Seemed pretty sturdy/reliable


Didn't like 1. Terribly shrill/biting tone
2. Too expensive for the tone
3. Fake digital distortion sound


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By GroovyTubes
Dec 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $27 to $121
Compare Prices
at 19 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec24 spec231 spec582