Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.2 (7)
 Add a review

Boss Super Chorus CH-1

 
Boss Chorus pedal to add a warm, rich, bright body to your tone.


Price: $33 to $69 at 18 stores
Searched Boss Super Chorus CH-1 in Reviews
 

 

A great buy and simple to use. featured

Ease Of Use The unit is extremely simple to use with it four knobs for effect level, eq, rate and depth. Its not all singing and dancing like the ensemble version of it but if you are looking for an alternitive to the monsterously priced mxr chorus then this is the unit for you as it takes it off perfectly withour the 18v hassle or odd size. There are no stupid ear bleeding peaks and the unit is perfect at line level through your efects loop not altering the volume one iota. This unit also has the ability to do stereo so the effect can pan and swell between two amps or through a mixing desk to create chorus in stereo after.


Sound I play quite alot of thrash and find it great at nailing a "little bit" sound that thrash has, i also use it occasionally insted of my mxr flanger to do the odd van halen cover. Its very vintage sounding and very lo-tech, but thats what it does best! Its a basic chorus modulation pedal that is crystal clear and organ like. I never take this pedal off my board and purchased it over the ensemble and mxr chorus. The unit is obviously buffered bypass, but i dont se any problem with that as it maintains your signal strength. purists will argue it colours the signal but i hear no bleed into my overall tone when its not engaged so lets assume its fine in that respect.


Reliability 2 years now and still plugging away. The housing is boss standard alloy cast and whilst not the toughest out there its still able to take the rigors of some mentalist in doc martins boots stomping on it or the most abusive roadie. That said i'd like to see metal knobs and a thicker paint finish.


Liked about it The sound is second to none as is the ease of use, and for the price its alot of box for a little money!


Didn't like Paint could be thicker, metal knobs would be welcome


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By fretboardpyro
Oct 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Transparent Chorus featured

Ease Of Use I've found it's very easy to get a good sound out of this thing but it takes a little effort to get a really great sound. It's not hard to use and the knobs are pretty intuitive. There is a broad range of effect control available so fine tuning can take some time to get things absolutely perfect, but I've never gotten frustrated trying to get a chorus sound I want.


Sound This pedal does exactly what I want for a chorus pedal. It's more subtle and I don't use the really wet tones you can get from this. I play it mostly with the clean channel to give myself a little more lush, fullness to my tones. With single coils, or coil tapped humbuckers, you can get some great big dreamy sounds. I also like that it can be subtle enough to use with distortion. I've had problems with too much effect with some other distortions and this one is great. It can do the really wet stuff, but it can also be extremely subtle, allowing you to have just a touch of the effect in there. I've never noticed it being noisy. I use it in the effects loop of my amps, and I've never noticed it "sucking tone" or anything like that. Great pedal.


Reliability I've gigged with it a few times and never had any problems. I've had great experiences with Boss products and have never had one break down on me. I would gig without a back up.


Customer Support No needs.


Liked about it 1. Great range of chorus effect from extremely subtle and dry to as wet as you would reasonably want.
2. Solid Build quality.
3. Easy to use and dial in a good sound to suit your tastes.


Didn't like 1. Expensive if bought new, I got mine used for $40 and think it was a great deal. At $90 new, that's a lot for my more subtle tastes. Other than that, I don't really have anything negative to say about it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Sep 01, 2009
 
Last updated: February 03, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Essential gutiar FX featured

Ease Of Use The Boss CH-1 is a single effects stomp box, what I love about stomp boxes is you plug in them, tweak the 4 knobs to how you want them, and in most FX situations like this pedal once you have found you perfect set up you rarely touch it again, so its just a simple case of 'stomping' it on or off for when you need it, no patches, no programming just stomp! I haven't smapled many chorus pedals so I can't compare it to all other brands but the Boss pedal just does the job for me, I use it mainly on a clean sound, it turns a dull clean channel sound into a rich, lush quality making it so pleasing to listen to. If your a big fan of chord picking and clean instrumental playing then you will not regret this at all. It can also be effective for adding a bit of spice to a distored solo, but 99% of the time i use this as my main clean sound on a clean channel on my amp, it's all you need (i use a bit of reverb too which is on my Peavey amp).


Sound My main three guitars I use are Ibanez Jem/JS1200/RG550 20th. Whenever I play clean this pedal is always on and it sounds great with all the guitars. For the very rare occasions I use it on a distored sound I use a Boss MT-2 (again on clean channel on the amp).


Reliability I love the Boss pedals, they are a solid piece of metal, very strudy and reliable and they never age! my CS-1 Compression Sustainer is the same design in 1992 when i bought it, to what it is now. FX boards generally age over time with technology, but these stomp boxes seem to carry on forever!


Customer Support Not had to deal with them, but my CS-1 is 17yrs old and works as well now as it did back then!


Liked about it 1) The CH-1 sound, I just love the sound a chrous pedal makes it adds so much to a clean set up.
2) That they are as solid as a tank.
3) Stomp boxes are so simple to use!


Didn't like There is nothing i dont like about it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By richard1973
Aug 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

industry standard

Ease Of Use The unit is very simple to use. Even replacing the battery with BOSS units is very fast and easy. If you can of course place it in your effects loop and not before the amp.


Sound The overall sound from the unit is what you expect from a chorus and the first 2/3rds of the way it also adds only little noise. Nothing your standard noise gate cannot handle. It is also very nice, that you can do very subtle and gentle chorus adds, which also work quite well with distorted sounds. When you push it to the effects limit, it adds more noise, still controlable, but noticeable. There may be units out there that can add even more chorus effect, but the Boss will do what the usual user wants, more effect level would be overkill and I dislike sounds that try to do that. Additionally this seems to be one of the Boss units that did not decline sound wise over the years, I cannot hear much difference between a vintage Boss chorus and the new unit, I know purists will flame me, but that is what I hear.


Reliability Like all Boss stomp boxes this unit will survive a small tactical nuclear warhead.


Customer Support Not needed.


Liked about it + Sounds
+ Subtle range
+ Ease of use
+ Built quality


Didn't like Noise when going all the way.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Tank
May 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Good bang for your buck

Ease Of Use Fairly easy to use. It takes some time to tweak it to your setup, but once you do you'll hardly ever touch the knobs again. My favorite part is the Effect Level knob. It allows me to dial in a thick Zakk Wylde chorus or take it back just to give my tone a little flavor.


Sound I'm using this in the effects loop of my Peavey Valveking 112 along with an EQ and Decimator pedals. It can be a little noisy if you don't have anything to suppress the noise. Like I said before you can dial it from barely there to super-lush.


Reliability Good to go as with most Boss pedals. Definitely gig-worthy.


Customer Support never had to deal with Boss.


Liked about it -simple knob layout
-easy to use
-can find them at reasonably cheap prices if you don't mind buying secondhand


Didn't like If the battery is not in just right, the wires may interfere with the on/off switch.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By silverctr
Aug 03, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

One of the best BOSS pedals

Ease Of Use Boss-simple


Sound One of the most useful BOSS pedals regarding sound useability/noice.


Reliability Works


Customer Support Not


Liked about it Good sound manipulation quality, useful even without distortion on the Electric G


Didn't like ---


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Metallion
Oct 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

GOOD BUY

Ease Of Use takes a little tweaking to get a decent sound,its all about what you looking for,for me it was O.K.


Sound well its not as lush and deep as many, its got the EQ control knub and its very halpfull when changing gear by not having to ajust you'r AMP setting to the peadal.
also i liked having the dry/wet level control from the same reasonof not dealing with the AMP setting.
bottom line line i get what i need.


Reliability build like a tank.


Customer Support no need.


Liked about it i big fan of boss just like give me what i need.


Didn't like wish it had deeper sound, but it still good for me.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By SHAIBANEZ
Sep 01, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $33 to $69
Compare Prices
at 18 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec21 spec231 spec582