Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (7)
 Add a review

MXR EVH Phase 90 Featured

 
MXR EVH 90 a collaboration between Eddie Van Halen and Dunlop Manufacturing that represents a totally redesigned, updated version of the legendary Phase 90. The EVH 90 will give you the same great spacey swirls and hypnotic warbles that made the Phase 90 famous. But the EVH 90 also features the all-new Script switch that lets you instantly toggle between a vintage, ...


Price: $76 to $136 at 11 stores
Searched MXR EVH Phase 90 in Reviews
 

 

Running with the Pedal featured

Ease Of Use This Unit is simple to use, one single dial control and a script switch for vintage/modern phaser sounds. It's a tough little monster and the blue indicator which lets you know the effect is on, is a very bright blue which shines the the thickest of dry ice from any onstage smoke machine!
The instruction manual i think is just a pure formality as you can figure this unit out in a second but it does have a section with a blank dial showing so you can note settings down which comes in handy is your settings change in a live suituation and you memory has gone blank!


Sound My gear line up is as follows - a pre 90's RG550 with a Seymour Duncan JB4 in the bridge, original Floyd Rose trem, through an MXR EVH Phase 90, a MXR EVH 117 Flange (by now you should've figured out that i'm a Van Halen fan)
into a Vox 100 Watt Valvetronix (a cheap, but top of the pile for Single pre valve solid state amps for me).
If you want a lead sound similar to Eddie, the Phase 90 does exactly that - set the dial to the 9 o clock position and push the script switch in - try the second part of Eruptuion and you'll hear exactly what i mean.
By turning the dial clockwise you increase the rate of the phaser which is great when using very lightly overdriven or acoustic settings, totally 60's 70's vibe.
This is one pedal i'll never get rid of. I use it on every lead passage i play live and although the effect doesn't stand out severley like a flanger, it changes you lead tone brilliantly and i've had people asking me after a gig what unit i was using and as soon as they see the red, black and white EVH pattern on the unit they know!


Reliability Never had a problem with this unit and i've had this pedal over two and a half years, i've dropped it by accident several times and as it is a solid metal casing i think you could drop it off the empire state and it would still work.


Customer Support Never had to contact MXR, every unit i've purchased over the last decade or so, the MXR units tend to beat the competiton (not that i'm saying all other effects are bad, but it deffinately has the edge.


Liked about it Superb Sound, Solid construction, Simple to use and of course the EVH pattern on the outside of the unit.


Didn't like The only slight minus factor about this pedal is the Battery access which means you will have to remove the unit from the pedal board, unscrew the bottom of the unit to replace the battery, but i use (as most guitarists) a 9v power supply, so that situation never arrises, but that is a tiny flaw on what i think is a superb unit.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By RGOU812
Oct 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Perfect phaser at a bargain price. featured

Ease Of Use The EVH90 is about as simple as it gets with only a single knob. The only adjustment possible is the phasing rate. There is a small switch on the front of the unit that allows you to switch between the classic "Script" logo Phase 90 sound, and the more modern MXR Phaser sound. A very minor detail that I really like is that the indicator line on the speed knob glows in the dark. It is very handy on a dark stage, very bright. The blue LED that indicates the pedal is on is almost blinding it is so bright. You will never forget that its on.


Sound I'm a huge Van Halen fan, and have always admired his use of the phaser to add that swirly, chewiness to EVH's earlier work. I've tried many phasers to get that tone, and almost all have let me down. You used to have only one choice really, get a boutique, custom built one, or seek out an early, and expensive, Phase 90.

Dunlop / MXR totally hit it out of the park with this one. It is the sound, period. If you put the script switch on, and set the EVH90 for a slow rate, you've got instant VH1 tone. You can vary the speed and play with script in or out, in front of your amp, or in a loop, whichever you prefer. You really can't get a bad sound out of this pedal. I love it. I usually swap pedals like I change my shirt, but I've held on to this one for a real long time now, and can't see me getting rid of it.


Reliability It is a heavy duty pedal, solid metal construction. Solid feeling switch. Everything about it feels well made for such a low cost pedal. I wouldn't hesitate to take this anywhere.


Customer Support Never dealt with them.


Liked about it The sound of it is great for me, obviously. Solid construction. Very clear indicator light, and knob marker.


Didn't like For skinny pedals like this, I tend to wish the input/outputs were at the top rather than the side. I also wish Dunlop/MXR had placed the adapter input on the top instead of right by the input. Though, these are very minor details considering what a great pedal it is. I should probably mention the paint job as well. It is painted like Eddie's Frankenstrat, so that is either going to be a plus or a minus for some people. I don't really care too much, however, I know some people who think it is kind of cheesy.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By blackspy
Oct 13, 2009
 
Last updated: December 08, 2009
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Basically getting two types of Phase 90 in one box!

Ease Of Use Has on control knob for adjusting speed, and a single button to put the unit it "Script" mode, to be like the script letter version of the old Phase 90. Can't be more simple.


Sound Sound is what you would expect from an MXR Phase 90. The difference between the script and block is very subtle, but you can tell the difference and it is nice to have both. The pedal, at least in my case, does add a decent amount of background hiss when using it with gain, but it's very bearable. Many different tones can be achieved with this pedal, and experimenting with it by using it with different gain settings, guitars volume control, etc. etc can really open up tonal possibilities.


Reliability Seems to be built like a tank like most MXR stompboxes. Switch clicks on and off nicely and feels sturdy.


Liked about it 1. It sounds great and I get, essentially, both types of MXR Phase 90s in one.
2. Easy to use
3. it just looks awesome! That bright blue LED light is awesomely blinding as well!


Didn't like None so far.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By KingV911
Aug 20, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Simple and Great

Ease Of Use Brain dead easy to use. One knob, one switch.


Sound I'm a big Rush fan and Alex used a lot of phaser over the years, and that is the one effect I use now. I was looking for something simple so that I didn't waste a lot of time tweaking, quiet and eye catching.
The script switch drops the depth a bit giving you a set mix control, so just enough tweaking to be interesting. My main concern was a level drop when the effect was turned on, well, no problem here. No discernible level drop. The effect is very quiet both on and off (no back ground swoosh when off). Sounds great clean and distorted and when the speed is set at a minimum, gives you a nice chorus effect.


Reliability Built like a tank.


Customer Support Never dealt with them.


Liked about it Cool graphics, great sound, ease of use.


Didn't like I agree that the AC adapter jack would be better placed at the top of the effect instead of right next to the input jack.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By tlhamon51
Jul 04, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Killer

Ease Of Use One look should say enough. One speed knob, 2 switches. The knob determines the rate of phase you want (which is a pretty wide range) and the switch determines how saturated you want your overall sound to be. The most difficult thing about it is switching the battery. You have to unscrew the bottom to access it. But that is really no issue.


Sound I was hesitant to use this at first thinking it could be a one trick pony being as it is a signature product. I was quickly corrected once I gave it a run through. This thing is lovely. With the push button open it's all out phase glory taking you clearly through the full spectrum with no ugly tonal degadation that I have seen in many phasers on the market. When you push the button you get a more transparent phase allowing it to compliment your sound rather than dominate it, which is where I use it. My friends even dig it with their own sounds. It fits every rig apparently.


Reliability Stands up to a lot. I would definately rely on it to do what it has always done everytime I use it (so long as there is a fresh battery). The only issue I ever had was the on/off switch started popping very loud, which was due to a harsh stomp in a panic to be on time live. I just replaced the switch and all is good again.


Customer Support Not sure, I have heard second hand they are easy to talk to.


Liked about it The quality of the signal is top notch all the way through the spectrum.
It can blend into any situation I call on it for
Push button allows beautiful transparency


Didn't like Battery behind screws and bottom plate (not a big deal)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By THE UNIVERSAL ON
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

EVH phase 90 is nice... but...

Ease Of Use It's so simple, a cave man can do it.


Sound Very rich tone. Great


Reliability Solid little box. No BS there.


Customer Support None.


Liked about it Construction quality. Meant to last.


Didn't like Well, my biggest problem is there is no mix / level / volume control. Even in the script mode the phasing is still to strong. This may be good for a couple key EVH tunes but thats it. I like to run phase as a constant in my setup but much more subtle. I like the charactor it adds to my tone. Any way, I have searched until the cows came home for a mod to fix this. Can't believe i'm the only one who has this problem. If anyone has an idea on where I can connect a trim pot in order to reduce the phasing level, that would be the greatest mod for the EVH 90. Regards! Paul


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By iec950cb
Jan 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores

Awesome Phaser

Ease Of Use One knob, one button..... doesn't get much easier really.


Sound I love the sound of this pedal, it's certainly a specialized sound that you can only use for certain things but you'll find it has many more uses as time goes by. I've started to use it in solos as it gives it an awesome tone.


Reliability Built tough as tonka toys, the only thing I could see failing it the click puck button as I know that these sometimes give out, especially in Dunlop wah's, but they're so easy to replace that it's not really an issue. The rest of it you could drive over with a tank and the tank would be the one to come of second best.


Customer Support No need for support


Liked about it Sound is awesome, durability is awesome, pedal is awesome all round.


Didn't like click button.... would prefer more of a boss style switch. The blue led is so bright you almost need sunglasses to look down at it, seriously, it didn't need to be that bright.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Macka
Jun 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $76 to $136
Compare Prices
at 11 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec21 spec619 spec582