Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (16)
 Add a review

Dunlop Crybaby Wah Pedal Featured

 
When people talk about wah pedals, theyre talking about the Crybaby.This is the one that created some of the most timeless sounds in rock.The pedal that would eventually become the crybaby was first created in 1966 by engineers at the thomas organ company.The new and expressive effect was an instant hit with players like jimi hendrix and eric clampton, who...


Price: $48 to $102 at 16 stores
Searched Dunlop Crybaby Wah Pedal in Reviews
 

 

Built For Rock! featured

Ease Of Use The pedal itself is very easy to use. Putting a battery in is as simple as un-doing the 4 screws on the bottom of the pedal and inserting a 9V battery into it. Battery lasts 1 - 2 from constant usage and probably 2 - 3 months form Fair usage.

Using the pedal couldn't be any more simpler! Just step down on the front and its on! Stepped down again and its off :) The sweep is a little too sudden for me, like there's no enough? Not a very versatile pedal but I would recommend it for Rock and Metal :) Kirk Hammet and Zakk Wylde swear by it so if your a fan of their playing then its a no brainer :)


Sound I used it plugged through my Vox AD50VT modeling amp and it didn't sound too bad, a little harsh but decent. the sweep and the fact that its not very versatile is what annoyed me. But most of all, when you turn the pedal on then it makes a HISSSSSS sound which can get quite annoying and colours your tone a little... not everyone's cup of tea.


Reliability I've used it at a Gig once and it was all fine, reliable and everything, no problems at all.
I've dropped it a load of times and it worked same as when i got it out of the box :) very solid pedal.
Never broken, it would take a tank to break this!


Customer Support Didn't need to contact the company.


Liked about it 1. Classic sound
2. Very good for rock songs, especially with riffs.
3. Built like a tank, can't imagine breaking it ever.


Didn't like 1. Makes too much noise when turned on.
2. Sucks the tone of your amp and colours it.
3. Short sweep and effect disappears when playing on higher frets?


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By Speedabob
Apr 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good solid Wah featured

Ease Of Use I have a '70s Thomas Organ model. It was one of the first pedals I got about 6 months after I started playing. The only thing I've done to it is replace the original SPDT switch with a DPDT one to make it true bypass. It's got a really great classic sound to it and when bypassed doesn't suck a bit of tone. The sweep can be adjusted from the inside mechanically by loosening a bracket the holds a geared bar that is attached to the pedal and engages with a round gear mounted to the shaft of the pot. It's a very basic design.


Sound This pedal has a great voice that is really hard to find in modern pedals. If you come across a used one grab it, you won't be dissapointed. Change the switch to true bypass (there are simple instructions are on the Fulltone website). It's a classic.


Reliability Mine is still going strong after 30 years. I've never had a problem with it.


Customer Support N/A, the company who made it doesn't really exist anymore although a new company using the same name open in the late '90s. Thomas Organ was founded in 1875 and started out as a manufacturer of pipe organs. Home organs were big business for the them in the 1950s & 1960s. They also were the importer of Vox organs in the '60s and purchased the manufacturing rights for Moog synthesizers. They brand labeled a number of products in the '70s and eventually went out of business in 1979. Thomas Organ/Vox failed to register "Cry Baby" name as a trade mark and Dunlop (who had been making a copy of the pedal under license) began selling their's under that name.


Liked about it Really nice vocal tone not found in modern pedals.


Didn't like HUGE tone sucker but easily fixed by swapping switches.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Riffraff
Jan 01, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Great entry into the Wah world featured

Ease Of Use The Wah is probably one of the easiest pedals one could use. Just stomp on the treadle to engage the effect, rock the treadle back and forth to manipulate the wah pot, and stomp again on the treadle to disengage the effect. That is pretty much it as far as use, so it is pretty darn easy. Another cool trick that Michael Schenker made popular, is leaving the wah in a 'half cocked' position and just use that to change the EQ of the guitar sound when you solo, or just in general. The thing about wah, is that it requires a bit of practice and has its on technique. If you have never used a wah before, then it will most likely take you a while to get it sounding like you know what you are doing.


Sound My guitar rig consists of an Egnater Mod 50 head with the Bassman and SL2 modules through either a Mesa or Marshall 4x12 cab. My main guitars are a Gibson Les Paul and a Fender Eric Johnson Strat. I play mostly metal, jazz, and prog styles. I started out using a Crybaby cause well, that is as far as my Wah knowledge went. I just assumed that the Crybaby was the best wah out there. 11 years later, I have upgraded several times but in my opinion these upgrades are very subtle and not something a newer guitarist would notice. In my experience, the nicer the wah, the less piercing the wah action sounds and the less it seems to alter your tone. The nicest Dunlop wah I have played was the Dunlop with the Fasel inductor. It sounded a little more musical and refined than this one, but like I said before, it is a subtle difference. Overall, it would say this is a very solid wah as far as tone. Maybe not the best out there, but I could get the job done with any Crybaby.


Reliability I have had a couple conk out on me, but they lasted a while. The pots don't last forever and will eventually need to be cleaned or replaced.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them


Liked about it Solid tone
Built pretty well
Cheap


Didn't like Not as refined as better wahs out there
Have a tendency to wear out
boring color scheme


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Dec 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

dunlop gcb-95 crybaby wah worth every penny featured

Ease Of Use This thing is super easy to use just push it foward till it clicks and your activated ame thing to deactivate it.then juet move it back and forth to get that signature crying sound we all love.There is labeled instrument on one side and amplifier on the other doesnt get much easier than that.


Sound As you will hear in the mp3 it is great sound for , funk, blues , and rock and has that all around classic tone about it.

crybaby.mp3



Reliability I have had mine for some time now and thins thing just holds up like a tank . just make sure to keep the cords out of it when your not using it and you will be just fine.It is made heavy duty and all my jacks are still tight and the thing rocks on like new


Customer Support I have never delt with them and shouldnt ever have to.


Liked about it i just love the crazy sounds i get out of this pedal it is a blast to mess with.
i aslo love the classic tone i get out of this it brings back some majic of the 70s for me.
its a rally fun pedal to have and makes solos rip and have a new dimension.


Didn't like i think after this time they could add a led to let you know if its off or not .
a new color scheme would be nice for the original i think.
it doesnt come with a power supply so be prepared to buy one or a ton of batteries.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By andrewsfury
Oct 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

I Laaaawwwve Thaaawwws Wwwwaaaaah !!!!!

Ease Of Use Just stomp on it and move your feet, no brainer. It only brings you one type of wah but it nails that throaty type of wah almost everyone uses.


Sound It sound what you would expect from any wah, a deep throaty vocal sound. I through the years have matured and I believe that this sound is not longer what I was looking for. It isn't what I am looking for. I know many guitarists that like this wah but they like different tonal opinions than me. It makes a very strange noise and it isn't true bypass so it sucks my tone like a bad Mo Fo.

I leave you these shootout where you can compare this two crybabys by Gearmandude (Jack Black)

Dunlop Crybaby Standard vs Cry Baby Classic guitar effects pedal shootout demo (video)



Reliability I bought this wah many years ago, it was my first pedal, it lasted me almost 5 years of me stomping on it a lot and opening and playing with it and letting it fall on the ground etc... I think it actually isn't broken I believe it has some dust on the transistor and that's why it doesn't sound. Anyway This thing is built like a tank!

The only time it hasn't worked for me in a gig was when I was very young and I connected my guitar into the output and the amp into the input I though it break so I connected my guitar directly to the amp. In this case it was my fault not the pedal itself. Apart from that I haven't had a problem with it.


Customer Support Never have dealt with Dunlop.


Liked about it 1) Very cheap wah
2) Built like a tank
3) Very nice tone


Didn't like 1) Hideous tone sucking
2) My one spot adapter doesn't fit this pedal
3) The legs on this wah doesn't let me attach it to my pedalboard


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By I?igoA Aug 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Wah'T a great pedal!

Ease Of Use It doesn't get much easier than this - you step on the pedal, rock it back and forth and it goes...wah....wah.


Sound I use this pedal primarily with Fender Strats and RG series guitars mainly fitted with FREDs, Evolutions and PAF Pros. I prefer the sound of the pedal with a battery fitted - when the pedal is hooked in to the 9V power supply, for some reason I find the sound then becomes too harsh - when fitted with a battery I find there is a more warmer sounding wah sound.


Reliability I have had my Cry Baby for about 10 years now and it is still trucking on. The battery cover has broken but a bit of duct tape and it's as good as new.



Liked about it 1. I love the simplicity of use - not too much to think about here, just feel
2. The price of this item is quite reasonable for what you get
3. I love the sound as compared to other wahs on the market - the original an still one of the best


Didn't like 1. I don't like the battery cover - it should be made out of metal
2. I don't like the fact that one day the pedal will eventually wear out
3. That's about it


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Wolfram
Apr 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Not a Favorite

Ease Of Use Straight forward pedal basically. Step on the pedal up to turn it on, step off to shut it off. No frequency knob or any of that. You have to put a lot of weight on the top though to shut on and off.


Sound Not a fan of this pedal at all. It works, but the wah doesn't breakup in a good frequency range in my opinion. It goes from super muddy to chop your head off highs. The transition(the whole point of the pedal) is very limited and small. It works, and that's about what I can say about it. Also does suck tone, and is noticeable. I generally used this through a Mesa Studio Pre with a Mosvalve Power Amp. Currently don't use and is on shelf waiting to be modded.


Reliability On a positive swing, it is built like tank, and would probably last if it was dropped off a building haha


Liked about it 1. Construction- The casing is hardcore, and not going to fail anytime.


Didn't like 1.Poor frequency Range and Transition
2.Can be a pain to turn on and off.
3.Would like true bypass


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By mgk321
Apr 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Crybaby Original (reissue)

Ease Of Use Wah pedals are simple and effective. This particular model has the recent circuit board installed, and has true bypass. Thats actually its down fall. The older models were open for modification and easy to get a GREAT full wah tone out of it, and the new circuit boards prevent modifications


Sound I dont particularly like this model. Do NOT confuse this with the "classic" or the "535Q", both are heads and shoulders above in the tone department. This model goes from really nasal to super thick, but doesn't have that cool transition (The wah sound you bought the pedal for in the first place!), and basically acts as an EQ pedal at best. I was disappointed, but again, the Classic and 535Q are VERY VERY GOOD.


Reliability Been stomping on my crybabies for years, never had a single problem with them


Customer Support Never needed to.


Liked about it Easy to use, classic tone and shape, relatively cost effective for a wah pedal. I bought mine at guitar center for 59.99$ (Still has the price tag on the bottom haha). Has 9v input for ease of powering. AND has true bypass, which is always a plus for these things.


Didn't like The tone sucks. Its not a full, sweeping sound. its one extreme to the other without any middle grounds and its terrible for solos. I was disappointed, and recommend you step up to the 535q or classic.


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5

By linuxpenguin
Jan 17, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Industry Standard Wah

Ease Of Use Very easy to use and get a good sound, just open the bottom and adjust the spot where the pot gear connects to the actuator to get the right tone sweep you want and it's there.. If you don't know what I'm talking about google adjusting your Wah sweep range.. It's a 30 second adjustment with onely a phillips #2 needed.


Sound I've used it with Vintage fenders and marshall's as well as newer amps and have even modded a couple myself. While it's not the best or most versatile out there, it's a great sounding pedal for the money.


Reliability I've got one I bought at a pawn shop 25 years ago and it still works flawlessly.
Make sure the nut is tight on the on off switch, no backup required.


Customer Support I'm from Dixon Ca, which is 40 miles from them but was Stationed in Alaska (USAF) and came home on leave with an non functioning Rotovibe, called Dunlop, they said bring it down, we'll fix it on the spot so you can use it while your here on vacation. they had me open the bottom and look around and a push on connector had come loose..


Liked about it Value (great pedal for the money)
Easy to mod.
Easy to use and set to personal taste.


Didn't like Could easily have internal trim pots for adjustments like gain.
thinner treadle would give more range and adjustment screws screws added for stoppers.
a little too much buffer when off..


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By ChrisPcritter
Nov 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Great pedal for a great price.

Ease Of Use I have the GCB-95 model and it is a great pedal! When I first plugged it in at the store I was surprised how well it sounded for a used pedal with a $30 price tag. I did not think twice about buying it. You can really give your sound a lot of character with this thing. It is great for soloing too. Definitely a nice addition to any pedal board.


Sound The sound is great on this guy. The only thing is if you leave it on while it is not in use you loose a lot of tone. But other than that you can get a variety of sounds if you leave it in different positions.


Reliability This thing seems to be built like a tank. The metal casing seems very high quality and durable.


Liked about it -Inexpensive ($15-$30 used, around $70 new.)
-Durable



Didn't like -To shut the pedal off, sometimes you have to press down really hard with your foot until it clicks.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By IBNZ_RG
May 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good value, but could be better

Ease Of Use Very easy to use - just rock the pedal forward to activate the switch and you're in business. If you use 9V batteries, replacing them can be annoying.


Sound Sounds good through pretty much everything, from cheap to boutique amps. My favorite tones can be found by plugging this in front of a Fender '59 Bassman and playing a 50's Fender Stratocaster through it - something like SRV's version of "Voodoo Child". Sounds very clean over distorted sounds as well. It's a bit noisy, though, and it can sound very high-pitched when in full-forward position.

The latter can be corrected by a simple mod: just open the back plate, disengage the pedal axis from the pot and roll it back to the minimum position. Then, with the pedal on the full-back position, reattach the axis. This shifts the tonal range a bit to lower frequencies, which makes the pedal sound better, IMHO.

Mine is a 1998 model, so it doesn't have full bypass, which sucks the tone a bit. This can be corrected by modifying the circuit. You'll need a 4-pole DPDT switch and some wires in order to remove the buffer and make it true bypass.


Reliability Built to last. I have mine for the past 11 years and it's still running.


Customer Support N/A.


Liked about it - Easy to use
- Classic wah tone
- Built to last forever


Didn't like - Doesn't sound as good as a Vox (tonal range mod corrects this a bit, though)
- No true bypass (can be easily modded to remove the buffer, though)
- A bit noisy


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By carlos seo
Nov 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

an 'okay' wah

Ease Of Use The stock unit is quite good sounding, but I've had modded it to true bypass, yellow Fasel and change a few components and it sounds great


Sound I'm using the crybaby with carvin head cab and js1200 guitar..its my first wah, and when buying it i'm compare face to face with vox 847a and ibanez screamin demon, the crybaby sounds alot better than the screamin demon and with the vox 847a the crybaby lack a little of that 'ao' vowel but pricewise the crybaby was alot cheaper and it made in USA (vox were MIC). i've got mine modded though.. And its sounds alot wider and more quieter.


Reliability Build like a tank, really sturdy


Customer Support Never dealt with them


Liked about it - great sounding wah for the price
- build like a tank
- can do that fixed wah (impossible when using the auto on/off wah)


Didn't like - the dc socket is not standard 9v like boss and other dc socket you must use longer/larger tip than standard
-its not true bypass
- the rubber foot are annoying because it used to lock the back plate of the effect so you cannot took it of to flattened it on your board
- cheap plastic battery cover


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By omar 87
Nov 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good, but not great

Ease Of Use this may be one of the easiest pedals to use that i have ever come into contact with. simply click it on and you're ready to go. the sounds from it are good, but limited.


Sound i use my rg320 into this with a satchurator behind it, and into my fender fm212r. this pedal produces the "stereotypical" wah sound, not that there is a problem with it. ive been using this pedal for 2+ years now and sometimes the on/off switch sticks or doesnt work at all.


Reliability this pedal is built sturdy, with a die cast frame, but thats it. ive had two major issues with the hardware with this product. 1. the battery door is absolutely trash. i tried to install a 9v battery and the plastic tabs that hold the battery in place completely broke off. also, the tab that clicks the door shut broke off too, leaving the door open, the battery hanging out, and the circuit board exposed. 2. the on off switch. for the first year and a half this worked fine, but lately it has been sticky, not working at all, and sometimes it makes my sound "quieter" no matter how loud the amp is. the distortion cannot be heard, it seems very confusing to me and i dont know why it happens. this happened me during a live performance and the performance suffered. this is a good pedal for begginners who want to add a wah to their sound but should upgrade to better quality and sounding gear as time goes on. i would definitely bring a backup for this pedal


Customer Support dunlop tells me that the switch issue is "operator error." ill have to disagree


Liked about it that "standard" wah sound straight out of the box
little resistance while moving the pedal withmy foot, allowing for quick variations in the sound


Didn't like quality of the parts other than the frame


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.5

By DownHomeRock
Mar 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

One of my first, one of my best.

Ease Of Use Simplest thing in the world to use. plug in, and put your foot on top.


Sound This pedal can add new life to anything you can play, from funk to rock, combine it with a whammy pedal and it sound like a synth. no need for settings on this, it's pretty much perfect.


Reliability Only problem I've ever had with this pedal was leaving it plugged in and having it drain the battery.


Customer Support Have not used.


Liked about it -No settings, incredibly easy to use.
-Not very flashy, if you're playing live, there's nothing distracting the audience in terms of this pedal.
-Built like a tank, and it's heavy like one.


Didn't like -There isn't much to not like here


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Jet9
Aug 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Can't go wrong with the classic

Ease Of Use Plug n play. Nothing complicated about the function of this pedal. Step, engage, rock away! Tone pot can always be adjusted easily to change the range of the sweep. Can be modded with some soldering know-how and some helpful how-to videos.


Sound Sounds great. I've played this on just about any amp and guitar combination you can imagine. Easy to get started on emulating lots of your favorite wah lines from Hendrix or even Slash. Can even get some interesting sounds if you plug it in backwards ;) Don't be afraid to experiment!


Reliability Very sturdy casing, lasts forever. Might just need to clean the pots from time to time as they can accumulate dust and get scratchy. Regardless, this baby can take a missile blast and keep cryin' away!


Customer Support Have not used.


Liked about it Classic tone, Used by my heroes, and I love the fact that they have many different models to choose from if you want a bit more customization in your fx setup.


Didn't like There's not much about this baby that I don't like other than the fact that it's tough to make it stop crying all the time.. lol. One can easily fall victim to having their foot on the actual effect for prolonged periods of time. Beware wah limbo. hahaha. Be wise. Use this effect sparingly. :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By radiogalaxy
Jun 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

This is the Wah that started it all!

Ease Of Use Very easy to use. A wide range of "wah" can be achieved. Just stomp down and go to town! The rubber top allows for a slip free grip when using the pedal.


Sound You can get that great Zakk wylde "wah" tone with this thing. I usually use it as a way to enhance my lead tone, similar to the way steve vai would use his. This wah can cover all genres of music easily. The crybaby is a true classic and speaks for itself.


Reliability Very reliable and a solid build. Had mine for years and never had any issues. It took a real beating!


Customer Support never had to deal, but I'm sure they are friendly and helpful.


Liked about it I Loved the rubber foot grip and construction. The pedal can cover a wide range of music, It's a very practical pedal and a must have for any wah enthusiast.


Didn't like It would be nice if you could connect the Wah with a link cable that connects the pedals together. You have to use a separate AC Adapter to power the wah. This isn't a big deal, but it would be nice to have one less cord!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $48 to $102
Compare Prices
at 16 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec29 spec239 spec582