Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (6)
 Add a review

Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer Featured

 
The Ibanez TS-9 is an Overdrive pedal, used for boosting Valve amps to give it the extra "Oopmh" - Used by many many musicians and bands and known to be one of the best overdrive pedals ever.


Price: $3 to $99 at 13 stores
Searched Ibanez TS9 Tube Screamer in Reviews
 

 

Every electric guitar player should have one. featured

Ease Of Use There's only three knobs on a TS9, Drive, Tone and Level. They're pretty self explanatory; drive is the amount of gain, tone is a frequency knob that affects how the pedal sounds, level is the amount of output. It is very easy to dial in a sound, just set your gain, level and adjust the tone to taste.


Sound I've used a TS9 in countless settings, with many guitars. It has a wide variety of uses; from boosting your overdrive, tightening up a muddy amp, or adding some "jangle" to clean sounds for bluesy, slightly fuzzy clean.

It can sound good in almost any setting if you know how to dial it in, and dial in the rest of your equipment with it. For example, a nice Marshall tube amp, set to an AC/DC crunch, boosted with a TS9 is like rock heaven tone-wise. A Fender amp, set to pristine clean, with a little TS9 overdrive thrown in sounds very Stevie Ray Vaughan-ish.

One thing to keep in mind is that the TS9, while it is a model name that has been around for a long time, all TS9's from all periods are not the same. My favorite one I pickup up on eBay, and was originally made around 1983, I've directly A/B compared it to a brand new TS9 from 2006, and it sounded a fair bit different. One isn't necessarily better than the other, but models from different runs of the unit can sound different.

The good side to the various sounding models is that you can pick up a new one, and buy a handful of low cost parts, and an internet tutorial you can easily modify the pedal to use different internal components to adjust the sound to your liking.


Reliability I've had my old TS9 for a long time. I bought it around 1992, and it has been in use fairly regularly on and off since then. Before that it was used daily by my old guitar teacher who bought it new in 1984. It is scratched, dented, has had new jacks installed, various knob replacements, but it still works flawlessly, day in day out.


Customer Support Never had to deal with Ibanez.


Liked about it It is a great sounding pedal, can make a good overdrive sound great. Has many uses. Is very common, and therefore very easy to mod.


Didn't like There's really nothing I don't like about them, the green paint is a little on the ugly side maybe.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By blackspy
May 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Maximum Overdrive ! featured

Ease Of Use Just plug it in , turn the dials to the preferred settings and your ready to go ! I got mine 2nd hand around 2 years ago, the pedal itself is a few good years old, in really good condition apart from the battery cover missing under. I have never had any problems with it, ive dropped it and kicked and it around a whole load of times and it still works as good as always.


Sound I use it with my Vox AD50VT or sometimes with a Fender Champion 30.
Even though my amps are not tube/valve amps, I still use the TS-9 overdrive pedal to boost my gain up to 11 ;)
Changing the settings makes a big difference, This allows me to customise my tone to the way I prefer it.
I can't get the tone of a band or musician due to them using Tube amps, and obviously mine being a Hybrid, I can only achieve half of what they have :)
I have tried the TS-9 side by side with the TS-808 and the TS-9 has more of the punch, the scream, the growl rather than the mellow sweet sound of the TS-808.


Reliability Wouldn't need a back up with this baby :) It looks like its been through world war 2 and its still alive + I've used it for a few gigs and no problems at all :)
Its never broken and I doubt it ever will.


Customer Support Never had any problems, never dealt with them :)


Liked about it 1st thing I like about it is how Versatile it is, amazing delicate :)

2nd thing is How reliable it has been/is, I've used it for about 10 gigs and have had no problems with it at all!

3rd thing has to be for the pure fact that its green...like my room :P haha


Didn't like I wish the button would be different, Prefer something more clicky rather than springy.
Other than that, its a great pedal and a must have for any musician/guitarist!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Speedabob
Dec 31, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Overated

Ease Of Use Straight up this pedal is easy to use. There is no question about that.


Sound I have found that this pedal is way overrated. It may have been the bees knees years ago but in comparison to other pedals out there on the market today it misses the mark for me.

I find the sound to be so simplistic and narrow that it becomes a bit of a one hot wonder. I have used it through strats, Ibanez Jems and RGs and it just doesn't do it for me. I know there will be many who are scoffing s they read this but hey, that's just my thoughts.


Reliability I have an early 80s unit that was made in Japan. The unit appears solid and has not faulted me to this point.


Liked about it The footswitch itself is good because its nice and easy to hit on stage rather than a single little switch.
The solid construction is good too.
Sorry but I can't say the sound for me, so that's about it for good bits.


Didn't like I don't like how it is so overrated. I wish it had a little bit more bite in the sound instead of sounding so nasally.

I know I am probably a hunted man right now but.........


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.5

By Wolfram
Apr 23, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

My family has owned and used the ibanez tubescreamer since 1983, they're amazing

Ease Of Use Very easy to dial in a great boost to your sound. I even like the way it sound boosting a clean channel. I've used both original and the newer ones coming out. They both sound great especially to boost a crunch channel.


Sound have run this with a lead 100 mosfet, marshall jcm900 50 watt, bogner uberschall, framus dragon, framus cobra, jcm2000TSL 100 watt, makes great amps sound phenomenal when boosting the signal. I find it hard switching off of the pedal to a direct signal because of how much better it makes it sound. I'd say if you don't have one of these you owe it to yourself to check one out.


Reliability the original one we have has been used for almost 30 years and works flawlessly. You won't need a backup. Very solid


Customer Support Never had to but Ibanez has a great rep for fixing any problems that occur.


Liked about it Makes you sound even better, tightens up the low end, doesn't make your signal sound compressed to the point of losing any tone...it helps your tone if anything


Didn't like I wish there was something I could say so that I wouldn't sound biased, but this is the standard pedal in my eyes for boosting your signal and man does it sound good.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By paintyoursky
May 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Little green monster!

Ease Of Use This little classic is one of the BEST overdrive pedals out there. It's very easy to dial in a nice overdrive boost. Knobs are laid out in the typical pedal configuration, and tweaking is a breeze for everyone.


Sound I typically run the TS-9 as an overdrive boost in front of a Carvin Legacy. I have tried it with solid state amps, too--it adds just enough grit for exciting the overdrive tone. The level control makes it easy to back off the effect if you don't want the full onslaught of overdrive.


Reliability I've had mine for 20 years, and it's taken all of the stomp-abuse I can throw at it. The housing is tough and the switch is built strong enough for an elephant to press it. I've never been able to break it, but I'd rather not try to.


Customer Support N/A


Liked about it I LOVE this pedal. The things keep this little pedal in my collection are:
1. Oooooh, that cool, minty surf green color.
2. The classic overdrive tones that seep out of it.
3. Durability--mine has a few v=battle scars, but hasn't failed me after 20 years.


Didn't like The only thing I can say I didn't like, and this is very minor, is that I had to modify it to 808 specs. It still sounds great out of the box, but I wanted a little extra punch.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
Apr 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores

Classic pedal, classic sound

Ease Of Use very easy to use, there are only 3 dials to tinker with and boy does it sound good


Sound the sound is a distinct overdrive that has a mids sound to it, I use it for some blues or add it onto my distortion for leads, great pedal for adding flavour to your tone


Reliability I gig with this pedal all the time, I have a pedal board so its kept in good condition, its standing the test of time as I had it for 5 years now


Customer Support never dealt with them


Liked about it Very simple design, bright led for dark stages, great sound


Didn't like no true bypass, noisy when using a lot of distortion under loud volume, sometimes you get squeals but thats under a lot of gain


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By wildchild247
Jan 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $3 to $99
Compare Prices
at 13 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec24 spec636