Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.3 (14)
 Add a review

Ibanez Weeping Demon WD7 Wah Pedal

 
The Ibanez WD7 Weeping Demon Wah Pedal from the Tone-Lok Series will have your audience screaming for more with its shrieks, cries, wails, and seductive siren songs. Among its features are spring and normal footboard action, selectable wah range, and fine tuning controls.


Price: $41 to $64 at 3 stores
Searched Ibanez Weeping Demon WD7 Wah Pedal in Reviews
 

 

Great wah for the price featured

Ease Of Use as far as wah's go it's pretty complicated. a bunch of knobs, a high low
switch and a big lever, Most wah's are the simplest pedal out, turn it on, move
the pedal up and down. If you like it you're happy if not you sell it. Not so quick
on this one, Not hard to dial in once you learn what each knob and switch ACTUALLY DOES.


Sound I always start with my main guirar IBZ RG 520 with Dimarzio Breeds installed, then go on to my Strat, Les Paul ect. Amps are Vintage fenders and Plexi ri as well as a couple Rivera's and a bogner xtc. This is not the best wah I've ever heard but is the most versatile as far as sounding like the others, with a little effort you can dial it in so it sounds great and emulates almost every other wah out.


Reliability I've had for years with no issue, I'd gig with it without a backup It's definately made well.


Customer Support Ibanez is pretty easy to deal with but do your homework before you call, not all of
their folks are experts on there products.


Liked about it Made very well
Great features and adjustments
High low freq switch with fine tuning
switch between old style wah and auto off
adjust tension for old style and spring back tension in auto off
adjust auto off time (how long it takes to turn off once you release the pedal)
easiest battery compartment access on the market.



Didn't like could sound a little better kind of a jack of all trades master of none pedal.
Great pedal once you've tried a couple and have a good understanding of different wahs
but not as good for a beginnner as ibanez should have put better info on their site about
adjusting, Great pedal for the money but could easily sound a little better probably with
just a couple capacitor upgrades


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By ChrisPcritter
Dec 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

My Demon Kind featured

Ease Of Use It is quite simple to use. I like that the knobs can be pushed in to "save" your settings. If you start from the sample settings in the manual, you can easily dial in some basic tones as a starter and then go toward finding your sound with it. I like the dual mode feature, where you can decide if you want to use it with "auto-on" when you rock your foot on it, or switch on mode like traditional Wah's.


Sound You can really get a wide range of Wah Sounds from this puppy. It is not as easy to dial in exact sounds as many reviewers have stated, sure if you are experienced no problemo, but it can overwhelm a beginner a bit. However you can always fall back to the example settings in the manual and start from there.
The range of sounds is wide, with my 7vwh it is very easy to get that Vai Bad Horsie sounds, but you can also as easy go to a more Slash like approach with the Les Paul hooked up. From Stachy tones to the real Vox and CryBaby classis sounds, this unit can do it all.
What I liked most it, that even if your guitar has high output pickups, such as my Jems or the Iceman with D-Activiators, the Wah wont break up on you and it still delivers the tone very accurately.
However it does (like most Wahs) add a little bit of noise when turned on. This is nothing really bad as it was easy to kill with the noise gate I have in my chain anyways and the noise level is definately lower than that of most vintage Wahs.


Reliability This unit is built not only like a tank, but prolly like 2 tanks... Had it for 2 years now and it doesn't even show any sings of usage, although I have it on my floorboard for every gig and have it lying around the rehearsal room all the time. It had beer spilled over it, people from the crowd touch it etc. No problemo yet.


Customer Support European Ibanez Support is very nice and helpful, did not need them for this puppy though.


Liked about it + Sounds
+ Range of Wah Sounds
+ Built Quality
+ Cheap


Didn't like - Make it a little bit more expensive and even less noise...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Tank
Dec 29, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

The Best Wah I've Ever Used featured

Ease Of Use It's easy to dial in the sound you want. The knobs push in so that you can't accidentally change your settings once you get your sound dialed in.


Sound You have alot of adjustability with this wah. The range knobs lets you dial in the sound you want. In my opinion it has a greater wah effect than others that I have tried. Alot of times you hear wah effects on albums and you want to capture that with the same effect the artist is using. I've found that I can't. This Demon wah has alot of wah to it. You can make it small or big.

The switch on the side lets you go into spring mode which is a cool twist. If you don't want to rock your foot back and forth to get the way effect you can switch it to spring mode so all you have to do is push your foot down when you want the effect on. When you lift your foot off the spring pushes the pedal up to the off position. Personally, I prefer this mode over the traditional.


Reliability It's made of metal and built solid. You can definitely tell it's a quality build. I use it off and on as I'm not a big wah user, but over the 2 years I've used it it's never failed me. It's a little bigger than most wahs, but the extra features this wah packs makes it worth it.


Customer Support Never had to call them.


Liked about it Lots of adjustability and the spring mode are my favorite things. The ton-loc feature lets you push in the knobs after you get your sound dialed in so your settings won't change by mistake. And, it's built to last!


Didn't like Mine didn't come with a power adapter, but those aren't very expensive. Just an extra purchase.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By courtney2018
Oct 26, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Ibanez Weeping Demon WD7 Wah Pedal featured

Ease Of Use Right out of the box I noticed some serious features with this wah pedal. Dialing in the right wah sound is easy enough, and the tone lok features mean you can lock in the settings and never ever have to worry about them changing.


Sound Using it with a Mesa Nomad, and Ibanez power series pedals for other effects, I got some great wah vowels. In clean mode you really need to tweak the settings to get it right, but when you do, its quite effective.

It has a normal and low setting for wah range, Level, Q, and Lo on the knobs, range of fine tuning, and an Auto off delay control. Best feature of this pedal is the lever on the left side, which when pulled, switches the wah pedal from free flowing to spring loaded. This is when the Auto wah off delay knob comes into play.

You can play your guitar and just tap the wah pedal in spring mode and the wah is automatically switched on and when you remove your foot the wah effect switches off. The auto off feature allows you to set how long it takes for the wah to switch off after removing your foot. I find this great so that you dont have to worry about switching the wah on and off, you just use it when you need it.


Reliability Built like an tank, this thing is certainly heavy, but doesn't detract from it. Just gives the user a feel of quality, which is a good thing. I cant imagine needing a wah backup for this thing.. Its like a block of metal..


Customer Support Never had to call them...


Liked about it Ability to switch from free mode to spring mode, allows for some different wah sounds you cant do on normal wah pedals, The ability to lock in the knobs, so you never change your sound by accident, and the solid build is a definite plus.


Didn't like It didn't come with a power adapter, and the lever that switches from free to spring mode can be a little dangerous as it is sharp metal and I did cut myself the first time I flipped the switch as it kinda snaps into place..


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By IbanezFreak777
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

The Weeping Demon Made Me Weep

Ease Of Use This pedal is very easy to use-that is a given. But after that, it all goes downhill.
I have yet to get a sound I actually like out of this pedal. I'm not sure what makes anyone actually want to use this, it hurts my ears!


Sound I use this through a Marshall mg100hdfx, and I'll tell you right now I haven't used this pedal more than 5 minutes. I wish I would have never bought it. The high is too high, the low is too low, and I've changed all tonal settings and this will not sound halfway good.


Reliability You can depend on it, it's a piece of metal, very solid build.


Liked about it I like the way it looks and feels. Aside from that, nothing.


Didn't like I don't like the way it sounds, I don't Like the Manuel settings, and I just flat out do not like to use this wah pedal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By Bryancap77
Jun 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Not just another crybaby

Ease Of Use It is easy to make it sound good. With all the knobs set to 12 o clock, you can kinda get the classic sound out of it. I don't find the lo does anything at all. using the q and fine tuning knobs, you can get anything from very little effect, to a very exaggerated sound. I also love the fact that i don't have to stomp on the front of it to turn it on, i just simply step on it, and its on.


Sound This does not sound like a cry baby, but sounds very unique. It sounds great with distorted guitars, but with clean, it kinda distorted a little bit, so this may not be the best wah if you want to use it for clean. It is a very thick sounding wah though, and still lets the guitar shine through with the effect on. When using it in a whole band situation, it really helps you cut though. I find this wah to have a very full, and big sweep, where as the crybaby is more in the midrange.


Reliability I will gig with out a backup for this one. Why? Well i can stand on it and it wont break, it is built with thick metal walls, and is very strong.


Customer Support never dealt with them


Liked about it -unique sound
-very customizable sound
-built strong
-auto on feature
-spring loaded (gives it a nice feel)
-fine tuning and Q knobs


Didn't like -the price i had to pay
-the foot switch mode should have the switch under the pedal (like the crybaby), not to the side
- don't consider using this with batteries( maybe get 6 hours out of a battery)


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By IBZshredder
May 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Pretty Great Wah

Ease Of Use It is pretty easy to use an has push in knobs which saves your settings. If your new to wah pedals it may be hard to get used to and dial in the sound but it won't take long.


Sound The sound you get can be pretty cool. The pedal can be noisy if left on and it gives your sound a very deep bass which doesn't sound like the normal sound you get when it is left off. It can give really cool bass or treble with a great wah effect. You can switch to a spring mode which it will always go off after you stop stepping on it. This is nice for short uses or quick solos. It also has the option to be clicked on by a small pedal located next to the large foot pedal. This is great if you want to get a different tone by just leaving the pedal on. You can get a deeper bass sound or more of a treble sound.


Reliability It is built to last. It is built of solid metal and is heavy. You can tell if you pick it up it's not going to break. It has durability and quality written all over it.


Customer Support Didn't need to.


Liked about it -Built to last
-Great range of tones
-Looks and feels great
-Can save the settings you like


Didn't like -Noisy if left on
-A little heavy to bring somewhere
-No power adapter


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By takenaway
Nov 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

THIS IS NOT A VINTAGE WAH

Ease Of Use I found it rather difficult to get a good sound out of it. But it is possible, just a lot of tweaking.

The instruction manual is very informative. But has a misleading 'true-bypass' word in there. This is not true-bypass


Sound THIS IS NOT A VINTAGE WAH! If your expecting to get some classic cry-baby sounds out of this, you can't and better get a cry baby.

BUT if want a smoother more modern wah, this one is brilliant.

This pedal can sound vastly different with how u set the knobs (volume, wah intensity and amount of low-end).
This is how mine is set:
Volume= 12 o'clock
Q= 12 o'clock
LO= 9 o'clock
And fine tune at 2 o'clock

In the normal setting, this is great for some funk wah tones and clear wah sounds clean or distorted
Then comes my favorite bit, I then flick it over to the bass setting and pile on alot of distortion and this thing becomes a metal monster, gets a really low end growl when low and out of the guitar's usual range, and then turns back into a normal wah as you start to go near the top.

Now that's what i like. What i don't like about this pedal, is that when you start getting in the guitar's higher register (high strings above 12th) the wah really looses it's effect.
But you don't really want to buy this wah if you want that head ripping treble that vintage wah's a very good at.


Reliability MASSIVE
HEAVY
METAL

I think i'll die before it does.


Liked about it All the knobs and tweaking my sound
The auto-on feature
Normal and Bass modes
Modern sounding wah (no head ripping treble)


Didn't like A bit big
Needs a treble knob (to get a bit of classic wah flavour in there)
Hard to find a good sound (each knob vastly effects the sound AND each other)


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By julzius
Nov 08, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

One of the most versatile wah pedals out there!

Ease Of Use The unit can be fairly easily tweaked, taking me about a half an hour of fooling around with it in order to get a good patch. the instructions manual goes over all the basic functions of the pedal ie; the knob functions/power/pedal strength adjustment. overall, fairly simple, and easy to pull a good sound out of.


Sound i run this pedal through a marshall compressor, a few marshall distortion pedals (bluesbreaker II, Jackhammer, Guv'ner) a marshall reflector reverb, echohead delay, regenerator phaser, vibratrem tremolo, and a peavey heritage vtx tube amp. (i received a display board full of these stomp boxes in a trade and i also love them) the wah gives a great tone on a clean setting, which is primarily when i use it, and can really scream with a little overdrive. my only complaint is that the lack of true-bypass can lead to some unwanted noise/fuzz.


Reliability i would take this to any gig without a backup, no questions asked. i would replace it in a heartbeat if it were to break, and would recommend it to anyone.


Customer Support only dealt with ibanez one other time, via email, for guitar model information. they responded within 1 day or so and were fairly helpful.


Liked about it -Very durable
-Reasonable price
-Easily dialed tones


Didn't like the only problem is the lack of true-bypass and the noise it creates


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By jbouxa
Aug 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great wah

Ease Of Use Quite a few pots to tweak and play with but the general use is very easy. I enjoy the different wah switching offered as well as the "action" of the pedal. Overall my 5 year old daughter could find a good sound with this.


Sound I am using this between a Blackstar and a PRS or Tokai, the result is great, you can just dial in a screaming vintage wah or something more subtle. Just great.

The aspect I enjoy most is how this pedal is silent compared to my old Dunlop (now sold), it is the perfect addition to a long effect chain as it will not muck up your signal.Just throw away you old noisy wah you love so much and get the quality of you overall sound up with the demon, you will never need another wah from screaming leads to funk rhythm.


Reliability Never had a problem or glitch with that pedal and it is built like a german panzer tank. That's rather handy for heavy footed guitarists or drunk audiences (watch your feet first row louts!)


Customer Support No. If I did I would not contact Ibanez.

Seriously, do you call Samsung when your TV goes pop???


Liked about it Just love it:

-versatile
-great sounds
-quiet
-looks solid as an anvil


Didn't like The bill but it is worth buying. Even the box is great.

Aaah, and they should all come with a free Jemini pedal thrown in.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By OliOli
Jul 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Amazing pedal and fun to use.

Ease Of Use To be honest, I never used the manual. This belonged to a friend and I ended up using it instead of him. I never updated the firmware and wasn't sure what version it was. All I know is that engaging the Wah was amazing. Other pedals, I had to stomp the front to turn it on and stomp the front to turn it off. On this one, I just had to move it "into the zone" and it was on.


Sound At the time, I had an Ibanez RG running through a Traynor amp head and (when the amp was working), it the wah was amazing. I then switched to his setup (Custom Carvin and Satch Peavey head) and I got the same wah from it. Granted, the amps sounded different, but the pedal delivered on both setups. It could be as strong or weak as you wanted. I even started getting to play some funk riffs and had a blast.


Reliability I used this on the road and goofing around in recording for all of 3 or 4 months non-stop. He eventually started using it and we shared it. Had I had the extra funds, I would have had one. This got tossed around between the two of us and worked the whole time.


Customer Support I never had to call them.


Liked about it I loved how easy engaging and disengaging the wah was.
Very durable.
Great wah sound.


Didn't like I can't think of anything that I didn't like about this pedal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By boyd
May 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Great Wah!!!

Ease Of Use Easy to use as a basic wah. Sitting down with the extra features of this isn't difficult and gives you a range of wah tones. This pedal probably gets a bad rap with the Ibanez name as opposed to Dunlop or Vox. Out of all the wah's I've played I like this one best.


Sound Pretty good. A wide variety of tones. I'm sparse on the wah use typically but I do like the Hendrix and Frusciante stuff now and then. Even with all out Theme-to-Shaft-funk this pedal does well. Great response from front to back and back to front on the waka-chaka funk. And it works damn well too if you're looking for that Vai or Satch wah squeal.


Reliability Solid! It might look cheap in the picture but it's pretty sturdy.


Customer Support NA


Liked about it Sound
Spring-loaded response.
Auto off/on feature, which is what I typically use.


Didn't like No power adapter. It eats 9 volts, especially if you forget and leave it plugged in.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mike570
Dec 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

It does it all!

Ease Of Use The Weeping Demon probably isn't one of the easiest wahs to work with...Sooooooooooooooo, if all you want is just for it to turn on and off go for a Cry Baby. After you figure out what all the nobs change and all that, you can get anything one could dream of to come out of it! After you set your tone just pick if you want to switch it on yourself or have it work on and off like the cry baby!


Sound The sound can go ant which way needed Hendrix, Metallica, Satriani, Zappa, or Parliament-Funkadelic ;). It's all a matter getting it set just right for the amp you use, then just step on it and away we goooooooooooooo! It can get a little noisy but only if you turn the boost up all the way.


Reliability I have no fears of this bad boy giving out on me during a show...It's tough and ready for a beat down. I don't think I would ever need a backup for it! Only thing that has happend to me is the Pedal has gotten a tad loose just had to tighten it up.


Customer Support Haven't had to deal with them!


Liked about it I can get any sound I want out of it. Being able to lock the little dials in so the sound won't change is awesome, and the automatic turn off is great!


Didn't like Can't really think of anything bad....I wish you could set up like two preset tones and switch to them somehow.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By PrinceAlice
Nov 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Definitely the Wah to have ...

Ease Of Use Start at the default settings, all controls centered, and go from there. Should take you very little time to dial in the Wah sound you were looking for, or THOUGHT you were looking for, as you'll probably find a better sound with this pedal.


Sound In my opinion, this is a studio quality pedal all the way. I like the fat, vintage Wah sound from the old chrome Tel-ray Morley's, and I got that sound in about 2 minutes....on the way, I matched my Crybaby, and my friends Vox.


Reliability Unknown at this time, I've had it 2 weeks, but it is built like a tank.


Customer Support Haven't ad to deal with Ibanez on any of their products so far...


Liked about it I like the Q adjust, and the Bass boost, which thickens up the sound rather than getting tinny....I'm also liking the Auto Switch.. I never had a pedal that did this before, and I'm finding I like the Auto Off feature alot.....


Didn't like Can't find anything I dislike.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Moander
Jun 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $41 to $64
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec29 spec636 spec582