Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (11)
 Add a review

Morley VAI-2 Bad Horsie 2 Featured

 
Steve Vai's signature Morley wah with contour


Price: $85 to $131 at 3 stores
Searched Morley VAI-2 Bad Horsie 2 in Reviews
 

 

Best Wah I've ever owned featured

Ease Of Use Couldn't be easier really. I don't think I know of any other Wah's that activate as soon as you depress the pedal as opposed to having to click down a button under the pedal. This is certainly the best way to do it and after the troubles I've had with my Hendrix Cry Baby's switch in the past and basically having to jump on it to activate it, this is such a trouble free pedal that I've had no problems using in the last 2 years. Click on the switch next to the pedal to get the more Vai-like wah sound... great for soloing with. The switch basically means if the LED is off it's on the automatic Wah setting, switch it on and you can modify the wah sound with the contout and level knobs nearby giving you more range than any other wah on the market. Simply awesome.


Sound Fan-freaking-tastic! Certainly a huge step up from past Wah's that I've had. I'm very particular with wah sounds and usually find that what sound great initially in the store, doesn't sound so great a 6 months later once I've really gotten used to it. This one is two years in and I've not had a problem with its sound or its range of sounds that its capable of. I love this pedal and if it were to die on me or get stolen, I'd replace it with another one immediately and wouldn't look elsewhere for something different. I already know that this pedal is what I want in a Wah. If it ain't broke don't fix it.


Reliability Still going strong after 2 solid years of gigging nearly every weekend. Did have one wire come loose recently that we fixed in between sets at a gig with a protable soldering iron that we always have with us for those quick repairs. I wouldn't think this would be a problem with its build, more likely with crap being kicked out of it by drunken revelers knocking/tripping/kicking it constantly when onstage at parties.


Customer Support Not Applicable


Liked about it Best thing?.... Definitely the lack of button to switch it on, just use it and it's happening.... it's awesome.


Didn't like The downside to not having a switch is that when you want to get that "wah pared right back into the heel position round mellow sound" you have to hold it there, just on a little bit with your foot because if you let it go it shuts off. Not a biggie, but I know a lot of people who like that setting on a wah pedal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Macka
Jun 24, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Love This Wah featured

Ease Of Use Step on the wah, it's on. Just as simple as it could be. In the contour mode, you can dial in your exact sound preference with the contour and level knobs. To switch between the two modes you are provided a push button switch to toggle between each.


Sound In Bad Horsie mode, you get the sound and characteristics set by Steve Vai. This is a smooth sweeping, mid-high note range wah sound that most people use the wah for, particularly in soloing. The contour mode allows each user to set their sound from a base point using the aformentioned contour and level knobs. The contour knob allows you to determine how much of a sweep to put through the signal. The level knob adjusts the output of the wah saturated signal basically determining how transparent the signal will be. The countour setting also utilizes a drive characteristic which with my use with an Ibanez UV777BK with stock pups, keeps tonal integrity when used with a driven sound overall. When in clean mode with the countour setting, you get a slightly pushed wah that steps up the drive over clean when in use.


Reliability I have had this for about a week now and so far so good. I believe with the cold rolled steel casing and LED reflective electronics, this pedal should by far outlast the other wahs I own (Dunlop Crybaby & Mr. Crybaby) as they use the standard potentiometers that wear out over time.


Customer Support Have not dealt personally with the company but their representatives I have seen in forums seem very cool and nice.


Liked about it The ability to chose which type of wah you need on the fly is definately a plus. As well as the overall sound quality. No degredation of the signal as I have witnessed with past pedals. The ease of on/off switching is un-paralelled. Awesome pedal, worth checking out.


Didn't like Overall this product is awesome with just one flaw. I have a size 17 shoe and the 2-way switch is affected by my foot when drawing back on the pedal. Doesn't happen a lot but it has happened. That's the only issue with the pedal and it's not going to be a problem for most folks with an average sized foot.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By THE UNIVERSAL ON
Nov 17, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Bad Boy 2 featured

Ease Of Use Great wahwah concept. With the 'instant on' feature one never again has to click a switch to engage a wahwah!!
You put your foot down, you have wah. take your foot off, no wah. it doesn't get any easier. Even a chimp could figure this one out in seconds.
It has an adjustable 'off delay' setting with 0 to 3.5 second delay. I adjusted it to provide enough delay to not switch off during slow pedal sweeps if I happen to let my foot come all the way back. Great feature. The manual has just enough pertinent info to figure out exactly how to use this pedal in just a few minutes.


Sound It's tweakable enough to satisfy me. Since I'm still gigging constantly these days, I thought it might be nice to update the equipment and carry some new pedals around for awhile. I've been able to play in clean mode as well as lead mode with this pedal without sound problems. Guitar Player's reviewer seems to say that the pedal caters to the dirtier tones. I disagree. I think it's really all just personal preference. I prefer the Morley tones, having used one for so many years. Regular wah's are just too thin sounding for me. I do use the wah in conjunction with lead playing quite often, and this new BH II does seem to work very well to enhance my lead tones.


Reliability Its completely made out of heavy duty metal, the footpad is made from thick ribbed rubber, the jacks are silver steel nuts and the logos are written in red paint. No backup required, just keep a spare 9 volt around.
Need I say more? I would gig all over without a backup and feel great about it. The thing is a monster in every way shape and form.


Customer Support I got a warranty issue with my dealer here in Singapore in Aug 2006. Because of their bad customer service on giving me info on Morley product warranty, I decided to verify my warranty direct to Morley and below is the reply email from Morley Sales Manager, Bill Wenzloff.

"You do not need to worry at all. Simply stated: If you ever have a
defective issue with your Morley you will be helped. We will either work
directly with Davis Guitar to solve the problem or we will work with you
directly to solve your problem. Our pedal warranty is 2 years from date of
purchase so if you do ever have a problem, all you need is your receipt or
proof of purchase.

If and when you do need assistance and have any trouble whatsoever getting
it, please contact me directly and I will handle it - GUARANTEED."

Regards,
Bill Wenzloff
Morley Sales Manager
1-800-284-5172 Ext 12
bill@soundenhancements.com


Liked about it Playing 20 years, mostly into rock or hard rock and DISTORTION. I should say I'm not a wah afficianado, I'm not comparing this to anything except how much I dig playing with it. It's a great rock wah, not subtle which I like. If it disappeared I'd definitely get another! My favorite feature has to be auto on/off. I love not having to think about a switch. Put your foot down and go.


Didn't like With 9Volt batt it works well without alot of noise. But if you guys wanna use it with a power adapter, choose a reliable good noiseless adapter, a normal cheap 9volt adapter will make this pedal noise like hell. A tip from me to all the players and ofcourse to Morley so that they can improve on the noise issues.
Another thing to note is this pedal cant hold at any position you like to create that fix tone that you like from a normal Wah like in Dunlop because of it's spring back action pedal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Zepp3lin
Oct 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

A fantastic and innovitive wah featured

Ease Of Use The instructions go quite in depth on this wah on how to set the contour and how to use and power the wah. power comes courtesey of a nine volt battery or supply. To operate the wah simply place foot on pedal, rock forward and as if by magic the gremlins inside uderfoot turn the effect on. Take your foot off and the wah stops thanks to the same gremlins and sweep by rocking the pedal which causes the gremlins to go crazy inside. Of course it not really gremlins, the operation is down to photosensitive swithching meaning an led shines through a plate with a gradient cut into alowing the light to pass through at different intesity dependant upon the part of the sweep you are on into a reciever. Clever stuff. Thers also a variable delay until it switches off. The last trick this wah has to offer is a contour sweep which is activated via the chrome press switch and adjusted via the volume and contour knobs. when its not activated the wah is tru bypass for all you purists. no pudhing forward on a swith to turn this one off but that said it can be left in one position to add wah tone permantly. Still that said no scratchy taper pots!


Sound the wah has a great sound as standard and a nice wide sweep. Within its range is shaft type macka's and quaks from the likes of hendrix. Give the amp some dirt and you get a flowing metal lead sound through the sweep like kirk hammet although i really wish someone would take that wah pedal off him! The best part y far though is the contour function i set the volume right up and the sweep so its very tight so with my amps dirt on a get a accent chomp type of noise, run the pedal slower through its swep and you'll get a sinister grawllllll. Fantastic stuff! This wah pedal love the dirt and really comes alive with it although its as at home being your voodoo pedal of choice of accompanying chef from southpark!


Reliability 100% reliable, i've had mine ages and it sounds fresh from the box, looks fresh from the box and feels fresh from the box although i occasionally see people on the forums that have had the return spring break. Other than that i'd dare to use it as an axle stand for my car! Its weighty and hardwaring and made of metal and quite possibly magma from the earths core!


Liked about it great effect sweep and contour function
solid and dependable
innovitave on + off function
no scratchy worn out taper pots


Didn't like cant leave it in one position


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By fretboardpyro
Oct 15, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Very Solid Wah

Ease Of Use This wah is pretty simple to use. Just step down when you want to use the wah when you want to use and that's it! Way easier than Dunlop stuff. The contour is easy too. Just put the setting where you want the sweep at, and then engage it. Easy as that. Extremely easy to use wah.


Sound It is a modern sounding what in my opinion. Good for the Vai/Satriani sounding stuff of course. It doesn't seem to be very noisy in the pedal chain, doesn't alter tone really. Does well with high gain. I actually prefer the regular wah over the contour wah though. The contour wah seems to be a tad noisy to me. I generally use it with higher gain mesa mark series amps, and sounds great. Also sounds very nice on cleans too.


Reliability It did have issues at one point. I think a contact was loose and it used to cut out unless a lot pressure was put on the pedal. I took it apart though and was able to fix by just working around with stuff. Haven't had an issue since.


Liked about it I liked how you didn't need to depress the pedal all the way to turn the wah on. I found that to be pain. Also I like the larger footpedal as I have big feet. The spring return too is nice, but it does limit if you want to leave the wah on in one spot without a foot on it.


Didn't like I didn't really like the contour sweep. It just wasn't my cup of tea when applied, as I preferred the other setting much better.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By mgk321
Oct 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Must have Wah!!

Ease Of Use This pedal is simple and straight forward. Press the pedal and it's on, how much simpler could that be? It also has controls to allow the user to adjust his/her own wah setting, plus you can switch between the user setting and factory setting by just hitting one button.


Sound This pedals factory setting is that classic Vai wah tone. With the user setting you can pretty much dial in most other wah's tones. The pedal is quiet when used with a good power supply.


Reliability The pedal is housed in a rugged metal case and seems like it is built for many years of trouble free operation. If you play in a lot of dusty venues, you might want to get the optical sensor cleaned every once in a while since a dirty optic can make the pedal act a bit weird. This happened to me once. Cleaning it is very easy though.


Liked about it Classic Vai wah tone
Able to dial in other wah tones
Easy on feature


Didn't like Unable to leave in a certain setting.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By navybass
Apr 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

The last wah I'll even own!

Ease Of Use I guess Steve Vai had his say on this one. Pedal motion is nice and loose enough to comfortably go through the range of wah motion and still be tight enough to hold position. Simple on and off by just stepping on it. The contour and level adjustments are basic, and all you really need.


Sound I like the openess of this wah. I can get it whiney and throaty enough for all of my favored wah flavors. I run mine through a Carvin Legacy head with my Ibanez Jemini and an Ibanez RG-570 with Dimarzio EVO2 pup. I don't use the wah that much, but when I do--it's just to my liking.


Reliability The housing is built pretty tough, and I can see this outliving me. The pedal is durable for any amount of pressure applied.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them.


Liked about it I love the throatiness the most. I can get the Bad Horsie whiney enough if need be, but I prefer the lower end of the wah spectrum better--and this beast provides plenty.


Didn't like The only thing I can say in the negative is the footprint. The Bad Horsie, like all Morley wahs, is a little wider than other wah pedals and you need to give it some extra space on your pedalboard.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
May 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Best wah for me

Ease Of Use Bad horsie 2 is the easiest pedal ever to use! you just stomp on it and its on, take your foot of and it off! Its spring loaded so you really dont have to do anything but to take your foot off it. with contour mode you simply dial level (boosts volume) and contour (frequency).


Sound sounds just great. Its true-bypass. I use the contour only when i play distortion + neck pickup. otherwise always normal mode. i has perfect sweep and you get all Steve Vai sounds out of it. Just remember that wah belongs between guitar and amp! sounds horrible in effects loop like any other wah.


Reliability Bullet proof. It has no pots to break couse its electro-optical.


Customer Support No need.


Liked about it Great sound, good sweep, ture-bypass, spring loaded.


Didn't like They could sell it in some professional looking box. when i bought it, it came in somekind of plastic thingy and that made it look like a toy.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Guilbertti
Apr 27, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

The best wah pedal out there.

Ease Of Use Works great. The contour knob is genious. Able to dial in whatever knid of wah you want from a slow sweep to a more tight sweep. Noiseless when it clicks on or off and as soon as you take your foot off ther is no delay at all.


Sound I run a Crate VTX65 and use either my '91 Ibanez USA Custom or a '86 Ibanez Pro Line 1770. Sounds great thru my rig. My brother runs a 1984 San Dimas Jackson RR with ART rack into Peavey cabinet and he loves this Wah.


Reliability Full metal construction. Indestructable.


Customer Support No need for customer support.


Liked about it All Metal. Noiseless. Immediate on/off operation.


Didn't like No dislikes.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By metalhead52
Dec 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Go Horsie

Ease Of Use It cannot be more simple. I would wish any Wah would be as easy to use as this one, the instant on and adjustable off delay are what I was looking for all the time. One thing though, you cannot activate it and leave it at a position as some artists tend to do, but I never use this anyways and prefer the instant on and off.


Sound It definately is not a vintage wah. You can adjust it enough to be similar to more conservative wah sounds, but it is definately made for the Vai'ish sounds. It is a solid modern Wah with extremely good sounds that you can even use when you are playing very heavily distorted. You can even but a bit off blow on your preamp tubes with it. It is also very nice that it has no noticeable noise problems, like many other wah pedals. So it fits my liking very well and you can tweak it to many nice sounds.


Reliability This thing is rock solid and should not let anyone down.


Customer Support No dealings.


Liked about it - Sounds
- Ease of use
- Build quality


Didn't like no real weaknesses for me.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Tank
Nov 04, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores

Excellent Wah for Hi Gain Work

Ease Of Use No owner's manual required for this one. The Bad Horsie and Bad Horsie 2 wah pedals automatically engage the effect when you step slightly forward on the pedal.

I've been using Morley wahs ever since the day of the NSW (Morley's switchless wah that preceded the Bad Horsie series).

This one has the switch to engage the contour wah 'mode' with a couple of knobs that impact only the contour wah (contour and level). All very self-explanatory... very easy to use.


Sound I've had my Bad Horsie 2 for more years than I can count. I really don't use the contour feature much, but it's there when I need/want it.

I've had a couple of Bad Horsie wahs as well... in my opinion Morley makes the best sounding wah for high gain work. If you're trying to funk out on a strat perhaps a crybaby is a better choice, but the Morley sounds incredible through a high gain setup when pushed with humbuckers.


Reliability These things are built very well. In the old days Morley used a metal band on the NSW wahs (maybe the very early Bad Horsie wahs too), all the modern Bad Horsie wahs are very reliable. I can't even count how many years I've had mine and I've never had any issues with it at all.


Customer Support Never had to use Morley for this pedal, but I had a band snap on an old NSW wah years ago and Morley customer support hooked me up.


Liked about it 1) I love the switchless feature. I can hardly use regular wahs with switches anymore... I forget to switch 'em on and off!
2) The thing sounds great across a wide variety of musical styles, but really fits what I like to do (high gain amps and guitars loaded with humbuckers).
3) I love the fact that the Bad Horsie wahs have a built-in buffer. A lot of people don't realize these pedals have this feature and/or how valuable it is in protecting against signal loss/degradation on a big pedal board. I always put my Bad Horsie first in my signal chain and it keeps me sounding great... whether the wah is engaged or not.


Didn't like The only thing I don't like about this pedal is the location of the contour switch. I like to put my wah on the right end of my pedal board and I sometimes hit the coutour switch by accident when moving to/from that pedal (it's located on the bottom left of the wah). Other than that, can't think of anything that bugs me about this pedal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By djrjems
Jul 03, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $85 to $131
Compare Prices
at 3 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec29 spec263 spec583