Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (9)
 Add a review

Dunlop 535Q Featured

 
All metal casing - Variable "Q" frequency filter and Sweep - Variable volume boost up to 15db -


Price: $9 to $175 at 15 stores
Searched Dunlop 535Q in Reviews
 

 

A Wah... something more featured

Ease Of Use I had absolutely no problems operating it and I'm not really a wizard when it comes to gadgets. On the bottom panel there are labels describing what each knob and button does! The pedal is very intuitive and one can easily get into the comfort zone playing with it after a few minutes.


Sound Very accurate sweep, versatile, with different ranges to suit one's style. I honestly think its one of the best out there. For that price range however... it is the best! (for me, that is. As tone is subjective).

Wah.png



Reliability I've had it for about a year now and it has given me absolutely zero problems.
I play about 2 hours per day.

Being fairly new to the musical scene I think it would be rather unwise to gig without a backup. That said construction seems solid. If I only had one I would gig without a backup.


Customer Support I have not dealt with the company.


Liked about it Easy to Use
Versatile
Can cover a wide range of styles
Solid construction (except the bottom panel)
Seems reliable


Didn't like Bottom panel doesn't feel solid at all compared to the rest of the Wah. Its flimsy and the battery compartment door doesn't have hinges so it can easily get lost.
Underside was not Velcro friendly due to the battery compartment door sticking out.Had to saw off parts of the screws holding to bottom together so that the screws are at the same height (or lower) than the Velcro.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Zgicc
Nov 04, 2009
 
Last updated: September 28, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

A very versatile wah featured

Ease Of Use The pedal is very simple to use and pretty straight forward. There is a wah-range knob (big and shiny silver knob) that provides the user with several sound settings based on the kind of wah sound you're going after. Along with the variable q adjustment control knob, the user can shape his or her sound to his or her liking. Next to the variable q knob, there is a volume control knob which allows the user to tailor how much loudness the wah will produce when engaged. For those that prefer a lot of presence from their wah, there is a boost button located on the side of the pedal, which gives you an extra 16db of boost.


Sound I have been able to dial in a nice wah sound out of this pedal. It does the job pretty well and it's very flexible. I think the boost switch is a bit overkill IMO but, I guess there are some players out there that have a use for it. I have not had a need to engage the switch as of yet but, it's nice t have it there if there's ever a need for it.


Reliability The pedal is reliable and hasn't really failed me. Considering I'm using it with an external power supply, I haven't had any issues with it dying on me.


Customer Support I haven't had a need to contact them for anything.


Liked about it I like the fact that the user can tailor his or her sound out of this pedal.


Didn't like What I've always found annoying and inconvenient is the toggle switch at the toe end of the pedal. There have been times when I've used the pedal and I've mistakenly switched it off because I stepped on too hard. It makes me want to work on a different design for a wah pedal just so I could fix that personal problem I have with most wah pedals out there that bear this design.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By jb4674
Oct 12, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Amazing sounding wah wah pedal for the masses

Ease Of Use Wahs are pretty standard. Usually just stomp and go, but this one is special! It has a knob to adjust the frequency changes and is actually pretty fun to play with on its own.


Sound this thing does it all. I use it to get that extremely vocal sounding wah for leads and to get a bit funky at times, but this thing has the ability to go from low and muddy, to extreme and nasally. Its really the best wah I've ever owned, and I am constantly on the prowl to find something "Better" but I have yet to.


Reliability Bought mine used and its still going strong. I cant think of a way it could break, its really built like a tank.


Customer Support Never needed customer support


Liked about it -Great Sound
-Easy to use
-Adjustable frequencies to "dial in" what you are looking for
-9v's last a long time actually


Didn't like -The boost button is ... crap. Completely useless and doesn't really need to be there.
-It's not the cheapest wah wah pedal around... but its worth the cost.
-Needs color! the morbid black look is cool and all, but options for colors or anodized plates would be awesome!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By linuxpenguin
Jan 18, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Solid Wah!

Ease Of Use You can do a lot of tweaking on this wah. It comes with suggested settings for a variety of tones. Many of them are close. It is a little harder to use if you're used to a standard wah, but worth learning.


Sound I run this with an Ibanez Proline 2550 into my Bogner Alchemist. I don't think it's true bypass, but I notice no signal loss. With all the tweaking available, I usually do a set and forget. I go for a Hendrix sound, with a tiny bit more range. Works really well for me on clean and distorted sounds. I like the fact that I can tweak it and get a lot of different sounds if I need them. There are a lot of good sounds in it.


Reliability I did have it break on me once. When I engaged it, it wouldn't wah, my frequency changed when it was engaged, but rocking the pedal did nothing. I opened it up, and noticed a loose connection. I resoldered it, and haven't had a problem since.


Customer Support I have not dealt with the company.


Liked about it Top three: versatility, boost switch, sweep range.


Didn't like I don't like the fact that it pops when you switch the 6 position range switch.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Robotalk
Oct 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

worth the money and built lke a tank...

Ease Of Use 535Q known as the utility wah pedal, its easy to use you could create your own signature tone out of it.. the ease of use for this gadget is superb...


Sound the 535Q is the front line of my rig settings and i ve got couple of guitars that i use. so i cnt missed using it and it all delivers perfect soundings ...could get a close wah sounds of Slash, jerry cantrell, kirk hammett etc..




Reliability ive been using it for ages since 99 i think.. but yea its built to last n im still using it now.. brought it to couple of gigs and it never disappoint me.. just keep on changing the batteries


Customer Support never have complains about it.. so i never deal with the company.


Liked about it its built to last..
easy to use ..love the boost knob..
could create your own signature wah tone by just simply twitching dials


Didn't like none that i could think of..


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mar01
Oct 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Great functional value.

Ease Of Use The 535Q is very easy to use but you will need to take some time setting the boost levels which are located on the bottom of the pedal. Once they are set you are good to go and probably will never need to change the level. There are a variety of wah ranges available at the turn of a knob. Some suit certain types of music better than others. It's a very nice functional wah without being too complex.


Sound I've used this with 6L6 based tube amps and El84 based amps as well. It simply sounds great no matter the amp. It definitely shines when dirt pedals are placed after the wah before the amp.


Reliability I've never had a reliability issue either using the battery or AC power adapter. I've had the pedal for over 7 years with no glitches.


Liked about it The flexibility of wah sounds is the thing that attracted me to this model. Then I discovered the boost potentiometer on the bottom of the pedal. That was a great feature to add to this pedal and it is able to be turned off at will with the simple press of a button.


Didn't like The overall voice is the only minor quibble I have. I have been using a vintage wah for 25 years and am used to that sound. The 535 sounds a little more modern. It's not a big deal if you are not comparing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Spudman
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Dunlop 535Q

Ease Of Use It's a simple wah pedal with a couple of options to tweak some of it's sounds. It is very simple to use and you can find good sounds on it pretty quickly. One negative though is that it's somewhat difficult to make adjustments on the go because the trim pots are so small and require you to bend over and treak by hand.


Sound I use this wah for just about all the wah parts I play. It will handle many styles and the variable frequency ranges offer a lot of tonal versatility. It can do rhythm wah in classic tones to leads with a biting tone. The sweep can be a little tricky to get just right to keep things smooth over the whole sweep. It works best first in the pedal chain and can be a bit noisy with distortion. Overall, I find it an excellent wah that grants a lot of user control.


Reliability I've used it and gigged with it for several years. The only negative I have is the battery compartment has a plastic hatch that broke on me. I have it taped to keep the battery in the compartment. Otherwise, it's built to last.


Customer Support I sent them a message about getting a new battery compartment hatch. Never heard anything back from them so I assumed the answer was No.


Liked about it 1. Offers a lot of tonal options that make it suitable for several styles of music that use a wah pedal.
2. Besides the battery hatch, it's durable and doesn't give me any problems.


Didn't like 1. Battery hatch should be metal like my Morley wahs.
2. The sweep can be a tricky thing to program as the wah sweep goes from broad to narrow very quickly as you adjust the dial.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Aug 18, 2009
 
Last updated: April 23, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

Super Wah to the rescue

Ease Of Use This isn't a wah for the average player. I think experienced guitarists will definitely appreciate the versatility of this pedal as you can really tweak and dial in your "sweet spot" and add some volume boost as well to beef up your wah spots.


Sound This baby's got amazing range and DEPTH. You can make the wah sweep as dramatic as you want it to sound with just some simple clicks.


Reliability Dunlop has perfected the art of reliability with their super tank construction. Other than the usual wear and tear and occasional cleaning of pots, this pedal delivers decades of massive wah wah prowess!


Customer Support Have not used.


Liked about it Versatile, Durable, Sounds intense!!


Didn't like So many options! Don't like that it's not velcro friendly due to the rubber feet. But there are always ways around that little hurdle. :)


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By radiogalaxy
Jun 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores

It's a Crybaby...Baby

Ease Of Use Almost too easy


Sound The absolute, hands down king of the wah. Precise sweep.


Reliability The most durable wah I've owned (casing and pot life). No need to worry about it (seriously, it's made to be stomped on)


Customer Support Never encountered them.


Liked about it Classic sound
* Mine has been going for 3+hrs/day for 7 years with no problem


Didn't like All good


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By THE UNIVERSAL ON
Oct 13, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $175
Compare Prices
at 15 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec29 spec239 spec582