Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (18)
 Add a review

Vox Satchurator Featured

 
Analog Distortion - More Switch - Pad Switch


Price: $8 to $79 at 16 stores
Searched Vox Satchurator in Reviews
 

 

Definitely a good distortion box featured

Ease Of Use Pedal is straight forward, Gain knob, Tone knob, Volume knob, with pad switch, and on/more buttons. I love that the on and more buttons are not clicky, and takes no effort to turn on and off. I wish more pedals were like this. I think this pedal would definitely vary with different amplifiers. If your running thru a typical solid state practice amp, I would expect to be spending sometime working around with the eq's which is the typical.


Sound This pedal is a secondary distortion, but it is still always on my board. I used it thru a mesa studio pre with a mosvalve power amp. I usually use the mesa's distortion, but I do tend to use this pedal when running other effects, as it is very friendly to them with some help of the pad switch. Usually my board is a Morley Bad Horsie II, to a Big Muff Russian Reissue, to the Satchurator, to a BBE Green Screamer, then sometimes to a Arion SCH-1, and then to a EH Micro POG, so basically a decent sized board. The Satchurator is very friendly with all those pedals, and doesn't create excess noise. For being a distortion pedal, it is quiet. I usually run the pedal with the tone around 11 o'clock, gain around 3' o clock, and volume varies (usually always above 1 o'clock). The tone I do adjust too depending on the guitar. The regular on setting has a rich full creamy rhythm with a nice but not overly trebley bite for lead. The more button seems to make it more "satchurated" (haha), but truly just makes it thicker with a little more bite. Very nice for a lead. If you looking for satch sounds here, and you have a decent amp, its pretty much on ball of course depending on what guitar your using.


Reliability Yup, super dependable, battery cover is horrible as someone mentioned. but I don't use battery so doesn't bother me.


Liked about it 1-The pad- I really think this is important because of making it so friendly with other pedals. Most distortion pedals fail at this, which usually is a major draw back
2- The over all character of the sound- It is a very versatile pedal with an adapt sound. With noodling around, should be used with any amp.
3-The more button- I love the way the more button works. It gives it a nice lead boost with out getting nasty or over trebly sounding.


Didn't like battery cover is bad, along with the paint some what chipping easy. Not a big deal at all, plus I'm a little hard on my pedals so it could just be me


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mgk321
May 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

totally worth it featured

Ease Of Use 3 knobs, great sound, what else do you want? the chickenhead knobs are super responsive, giving you the ability to tweak every aspect of the distortion just to your liking. the on/off and more switches are amazing, almost totally silent. the instruction manual is very easy to understand but doesn't go into detail about what the different components of the pedal really do


Sound i play this with my RG320 with a Dunlop Crybaby standard in front of it straight into a Fender Frontman FM 212r, with a digitech multieffects pedal with only a delay on in the FX loop. i keep the gain around 4-5 to get that pretty clean but colored sound. i keep the tone around 6 and the volume around 7 or 8. this sound is great and when i hit the more switch the gain goes all the way to eleven, but remains very clear. making this a very versatile pedal. with a wah pedal in front of it, the pad switch is on (up position) and it takes control of the bright sound coming fromt he guitar and the wah, increasing the clarity of the sound. without the pad on the pedal is still very clear.


Reliability this pedal is very reliable, the only backup i would bring to a gig for this pedal is another one!


Customer Support when i bought this pedal there was a $30 rebate deal going, so i submitted my name and pedal serial number and some other info and i would receive a cash rebate within 6 weeks. it took about 8 but other than that i have had zero issues with VOX regarding hardware


Liked about it Good "clean" distortion
more switch
versatility


Didn't like teh battery cover was mad of plastic. a better alternative would have been metal painted a glossy black


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DownHomeRock
Mar 29, 2011
 
Last updated: April 06, 2011
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good Price - Great Tone! featured

Ease Of Use It won't take much of your time to dial in a sound. Gain, Tone, Level,Pad and a More switch...very very simple! Getting a good sound out of the Satchurator takes time since it's a very Input sensitive pedal and it really responds to your playing.This pedal is very very musical. The manual is easy to read and understand, plus it features Joe's different settings on the Satchurator.

I really like the On/Off-More switches. No loud POPS/CLICKS and they are really smooth.The Pedal itself is very sturdy.


Sound I use an Ibanez JS1000 through a Peavey Triple XXX (clean) and Peavey JSX Mini Colossal amp. Here we go :

Peavey Triple XXX :
I set the clean channel almost Flat (everything at 5) and I might take the Mids to about 6 when gigging. The Satchurator almost sounds like another channel on it's own. On the Satchurator Gain 6, Tone 3.5, Volume 7.
The tone is exactly what I was looking for all this time. I don't like to dial in 100% of Joe's tone but with this combination it's extremely easy if you desire it!

Since I got the Satchurator every time I step out of the Rehearsal Room I always seem to get compliments on my tone. At low volumes the Satchurator sounds a bit Fizzy and not so expressive, that's why alot of people don't like it...but this pedal was made to go with Tube amplifiers and Tube-amps are made to be played LOUD :D :D :D As I cranked the volume on the XXX I could really hear the distortion coming together. It responds perfectly to my playing,dynamics,pic attack...you name it!!It Cleans up Perfectly and you won't hear any significant noise unless you crank the Gain, or set the Gain at 6 and step on the More switch.

One last thing I noticed with the Triple XXX...this Pedal seems to blend in with the band when playing Rythm and instantly cuts-through the rest of the band when you start playing Lead Guitars. I really can't describe how pleased I am with the sound I've got at the moment! I can easily go through an entire gig/rehearsal by setting the Gain on 8.5 and mess with my guitars volume to dial back the Gain OR step on the More switch for...well...MORE!!!

Peavey JSX Mini Colossal :
With the Mini Colossal things weren't so great. I found that the Satchurator just couldn't blend in. I A/B between the VOX and a Tube Screamer. The Tube Screamer just seem to sound more like the Amp instead of just coloring the sound...But...

...But!...I did manage to get my Triple XXX-Satchurator sound on a smaller scale if you know I what I mean. It's great for practising and Jamming...last but not least! there was another sound I managed to dial in and it was Spot On! Think Satriani songs like Cool #9, Starry Night, Just Look Up, Always with me Always with you, You're My world. You know...that sweet pick attack blues tone Joe has set up for him from time to time :)

Just set the amp like this : Power Sponge - from 10% to 100%, Gain - 2, Tone - 6,5 and the Satchurator : Gain - 3.5, Tone - 3, Volume - 6

Last thing I'd like to add about the Satchurator is that using it in combination with a Compressor/Sustainer really makes a difference towards better tone. The smallest of tweaks on the CS makes a world of difference.


Reliability Definitely. I have been using it for 2 years now at home and in the studio/Live. It's been kicked around and also fell from my hands (in horror!) on a tiled floor and nothing broke or malfunctioned.


Customer Support Never had to deal with VOX.


Liked about it 1)Very Musical Pedal!
2)Joe in a box (for Satch fans)
3)Price/Construction


Didn't like 1)It has a very distinctive sound. Try it on your amp before buying it.
2)Sometimes it may sound too much like Joe.
3)Can't think of anything else!!! :D


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By constantine
May 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Great and versatile lead pedal, GET ONE... featured

Ease Of Use The use of this pedal is pretty straight forward, having only three knobs and three switches. Dialing in a good tone on any amp is easily done with this pedal. Dialing in a versatile and demanding tone on any amp might become tricky as it's a very musical pedal.

The circuitry is different than any other pedal you might come accross, though... Keep on reading.


Sound Satriani doesn't benefit from having vocals on his records. To him, distortion is an art form. He uses it to creat a voice for the instrument. Whether you use it live or in the studio, low gain or high gain or in any other way the bottom line is the sound needs to speak for itself. The Satchurator was designed in a specific way that differs a lot from any other distortion pedal (note: this is not an overdrive pedal). Where most pedals clean up when gaining down and overload any class A amplifier input when leveling up, this pedal doesn't.

This pedal is designed to make a certain setting sound the same at any volume, it sounds a lot more like another channel on your amp rather than sounding like just another pedal. This is because the maximum output of the pedal will never reach the maximum input of any class A amplifier. Believe me, this is what you want if you want what's best for your rig. It's why Vox and Satriani chose to have a gain boost on it rather than an output boost.

The first knob is to set the GAIN level of the pedal. This pedal is very high gain and the signal will never come close to cleaning up when gaining down. Not even on an amp with lots of headroom (I'm using a Brunetti XL R-EVO II 60 watt amp through a Brunetti 2x12" cabinet loaded with Celestion V30 speakers). Turn the GAIN all the way down and it still delivers a nice distorted tone. The gain stages are stacked in a way that the output stays the same on any gain level. This adds to the use of the guitar's volume knob, this pedal cleans up very well. It stays full in tone and just a tad of high end shimmer shows up for a glassy and dynamic high end. Full gain is downright brutal!

The MORE switch delivers a pre gain boost, compressing the output to a beafier and more consistent tone well applicable for high gain lead. It adds about 60% in gain level and it stays articulate. To shape the EQ there is a TONE knob. Left from the middle the pedals becomes less harsh and gets beafier. Bellow 9 o'clock the absence of treble makes the pedal sound fuzzy. Right from the middle will make it sound very open and high end with the last quarter bit being very brittle, right up there with high pass filters due to the abscence of lows.

The overall sound of the pedal is modern and punchy, well applicable for high gain rhythms and perfect for leads. Eventhough it delivers huge amounts of gain it's stays clear, articulate and dynamic. Chords ring beautifully, each note on it's own. Single notes propel and circulate well out of the amp but the pedal is unforgiving. Any mistake in your playing is noticable. If you want something a bit more forgiving, get the Vox Ice 9 Overdrive Pedal.

The PAD switch is usefull for reshaping the input signal when aggressive pedals are placed in front of the Satchurator in the signal chain. It will prevent some amounts of clipping but only in extreme situations the difference is noticable. The VOLUME knob speaks for itself but as said before, the maximum level will not blow the input of your amplifier. It's right near the edge where a sudden boost might become dangerous.


Reliability I've been using this pedal daily since autumn 2008, it has never broken down. There's a small crackle in the knobs but that's easily solved by cleaning the pots. A little contact spray, perhaps...

Other than that, the thing is built like a tank and will last a lifetime for sure except for one part of the whole device: the battery cover. The cover is made out of a thin sturdy piece of plastic, the kind that doesn't give well enough to not break when bending the material. A metal frame with molded rubber would've been a better choice.


Customer Support I never had to deal with Vox. Judging by this pedal, they make roadworthy gear.


Liked about it 1. Sound
2. Versatility
3. Reliability


Didn't like Battery cover


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Predator
Apr 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Absolutely Satchurific! - Good pedal for the money featured

Ease Of Use So easy to use a chimpanzee could dial it in. You won't need the PAd switch on most of the time if ever, but its nice to have it there if you need it, the manual explains why you would need it.


Sound Very nice voicing for chords and leads, high and low gain settings are very nice with almost no noise. Great harmonics and tones running it in front of my tube amps (Mesa Boogie and Fender). I love the way it accents the sound of picking for playing leads. It has a really nice half overdriven sound when you use a low gain settings. Stays suprisingly clear when you roll back the volume knob on your guitar. Sounds great with high gain and very little noise that you can still actually "dig into". The tone knob I usually have dialed way back as does Joe but you can get crazy obscene sizzling sounds by cranking it up, I mean like insane almost not usable, like butter on a red hot pan. The notes are cooked before you even hear them. This is a great pedal for the money, it is even true bypass, I just love it.


Reliability I have owned one well over a year with no problems. It is well built with a durable metal casing, the footswitches are smooth and easy to switch on/off. The chicken head knobs are quality and easily turned with a touch. This thing is definately gig trusty.


Liked about it - Great sound with plenty of gain and low noise. The MORE switch is really cool feature.
- Good layout and compact design with perfect spacing so you step on what you want not what you don't want.
- Its true bypass, very visual chicken head knobs and LeD lights, not too expensive.


Didn't like The only complaint I could come up with:
The battery compartment and door cover is made of plastic.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By slade
Nov 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Its worth it featured

Ease Of Use I don't think it could get any easier. Staring you in the face are three knobs labeled Gain, Tone, and Volume. For anyone who's played the guitar for any length of time, those terms are pretty self explanatory. They do what you expect, too. You also have the "on/off" footswitch, and a "more" footswitch.


Sound I'm using both an Ibanez JS1200 and an Ibanez JEM7V with the Satchurator. I've had this pedal plugged both into my Blackheart 5W tube head, as well as simply included in the external effects loop of my Boss GT-10 when going direct into a mixer/PA. I am able to keep the sound really noise free from "mild" overdrive all the way up to a very high gain setting. What I think I like best is that I can back off the guitar's volume and get a great reaction from the Satchurator -- the sound gets really clean but is still colored nicely when you're at low volume settings. What I also like is that you vary the color of the sound with even the most subtle changes to the tone knob, although I typically have to keep the knob below the 1:00pm position otherwise it just gets way too bright for my tastes. You might have a tendancy to make huge adjustments when you're dialing in a sound. DON'T! You'll really be surprized at the variations you can achieve through almost the smallest of touches to the knobs.

You can get very nice blues an rock tones out of this pedal. But if you're looking for any type of metal sound, you'll really have to use something else. Even at the highest gain setting it doesn't have that metal "crunch". What it *does* give you at the highest setting is still a nice clean type of distortion; you can still hear every nuance of your picking. There's no way to cheat with this little pedal. ;-)



Reliability I'd have to say the construction is rock solid. I've only had the pedal about two months, so I can't comment on its long term reliability. But it seems strong & sturdy, and I have no complaints.


Customer Support No comment on this, yet. Hopefully I'll never have the need. ;-)


Liked about it I like its simplicity, I like the range of sounds I'm able to get, and I like how responsive it is to rolling off the volume on my guitar pickups. So far I'm quite happy with it.


Didn't like It seems it just gets way to bright after about the mid position on the tone knob. I'd have liked the tone range to be tapered differently.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By PortlandAxe
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Good enough featured

Ease Of Use It only has 3 knobs so it's pretty easy to use. It's easy to get good sounds from this pedal, but they arent anything extraordinary


Sound My guitar is a reissue RG550 20th anniversary with Dimarzio pickups; Evo2 in bridge position and Breed neck in neck position. My amp is a Laney VC15 tube amp. Other Distortion/overdrive pedals I have are the Electro-Harmonix metal muff and the Xotic BB Preamp. Almost always, there is a delay pedal after whatever distortion I use (Ibanez DE7). Out of these 3 pedals, the Satchurator takes 2nd place. Better than the Metal Muff but has a loooong way to go before ever getting close to the BB Preamp (which I shall write a review for as soon as I can).

Now for the actual review:
If you want to play Satriani songs, this pedal gives a good sound. It will show EVERY mistake you make, though. Even with high gain, there is no cheating with this pedal :)
For 3 knobs, this pedal is somewhat versatile. It can do some blues (modern blues, but not that good), modern rock, and Maybe some metal. It does not have that artificial, crappy sound most cheap pedals have, however it is a little too bright for my taste, and I cannot adjust tone controls seperately.

Since it's definitely not a bad pedal, I guess it all comes down to personal taste. I'm sure many people will like it more than I do, and some might hate it.

Out of 10, I'd give this sound a 6.5 on my rating (anything about 5 is good). It will be good enough to gig with (something small), jam with or just play at home with.


Reliability Never had problems with it, but Ive only had it for a few months now and never gigged with it


Customer Support Never dealt with them


Liked about it Ease of use, some sounds I could get out of it... all in all, a nice addition to my rig. I don't use it as my main sound (Laney's drive channel boosted by the BB Preamp is what I use), but for jamming or doodling around at home, it works well.


Didn't like Price. It's too expensive for what it does. I would sell it if I ever needed money. I like some sounds (mainly for playing Satriani, Vai and some rock) and since I can afford to have a seperate pedal for that, I decided to keep it.
The brightness also got on my nerves after a while.



Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By no1spretty
Oct 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

More than just Satch in a box featured

Ease Of Use The pedal is fairly easy to use. Plug in, adjust the gain, tone and volume knobs and you're good to go. The pad function has yet to do anything noticable for me, up or down seems to be the same. If you need even more satchuration in your signal, just hit the more button with the gain all the way up.


Sound The Satchurator offers plenty of gain for classic to modern distortion. It also can be used as a dual channel distortion with the more switch. The tones are in the same ball park as Satriani, so if you don't like his tone, look elsewhere. That being said, the pedal is versatile enough to handle several styles of distortion. It cleans up wonderfully with the volume rolled back on your guitar. Things get a little shrill with the tone level past 12 o'clock, but can be very mellow and jazzy when it's at 0. I've noticed that the tones really open up with the volume up around 1-2 o'clock and, like an amp almost, it likes to be pushed. One thing it will not do is metal distortion. If you want thick tight brutal distortion, look elsewhere. The Satchurator is too wide open and loose in the bass department without an additional EQ device. It can handle everything else though. With the gain dialed down, it will do blues and classic rock crunch with the more switch acting like a solo boost. It's totally silent until you hit the more switch with your gain cranked. Even then, it's not noisy by any means. The pedal is meant to be used on a clean channel, it does not sound good as an overdrive (nor was it ever intended for that).


Reliability I've gigged with it for a year now and it's been great. No problems. It feels very sturdy.


Customer Support Never had to deal with them.


Liked about it 1. Great Dynamics and very responsive to guitar volume and picking.
2. Enough gain on tap for my music tastes with a quazi-2 channel operation
3. Very quiet on all but the highest gain setting


Didn't like 1. Pricey, although not terribly unreasonable. Still, I've heard good things about some non-signature pedals that are a little cheaper. I love the pedal, but I also have to concede that for less discerning musicians, the DS-1 will sound pretty darn close. Even ABed, it's tough to tell a difference between the two with the distortion levels up although the Satchurator wins easily when you start to use dynamics and lower gain settings. Still, it's $100 more than the DS-1 and players interested in saving some money will probably not miss the enhanced capabilities that much.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Aug 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Fantastic tone

Ease Of Use It's a quite simple effect box, yet it has a great variety of tone. The Gain control gives you the most flexibility if you leave it just over 50%, as the More switch will - when activated - boost it up to around 100%. Since the more switch is NOT a volume booster, this is in my opinion the best way to get a distinct solo sound.
The Tone knob is quite sensitive and here is where you will find your favored sound. The Pad toggle is handy when you have other effects before the Satchurator, as it maximizes dynamics and tone.


Sound I used to play with various Boss distortions before I got the Satchurator. I quickly found the tone I wanted and even with guitars with cheap pick ups you get a fat and clear distortion that stands out. I can not see myself switching to a different distortion pedal in a long time.


Reliability Very reliable. Comes with battery, but no adapter. Works well with power tanks. Also easy to read on stage with its distinct chicken head knobs.


Customer Support I've never had the need to contact Vox.


Liked about it - Sound
- Design
- The "More" switch


Didn't like - The Vox pedals is not the smallest on the market, so guitarist with very limited space on their pedal board might use the size as a con.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By hp29
Aug 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Satch tone in a box, and more

Ease Of Use Very easy to use. As soon as I plugged it I liked it, which wasn't the case with the distortion pedals I've owned before. The controls are very straight forward and responsive, it's easy to adjust them to your liking.


Sound I use this pedal with a Tokai ES-130 (copy of a Gibson ES-330)and an Ibanez RG-507. The pedal lets the personality of my guitars get through, as they sound very different with it. I got it mainly because I wanted a great lead sound and I really like the tone of Satch. The pedal gave me what I want and more : when you back up the distortion you get a really nice rhythm tone.

The more switch is very handy, and not just a gimmick : it allows you to get a more distorted sound instantly by pressing it.


Reliability This thing is built like a rock. I was surprised to see that it is actually made in Japan, I was expecting it to be made in China before receiving it. You really feel that it's quality product, clearly not a toy. It would not surprise me if Satch is using one completely stock whithout any mod (it's most likely the case).


Customer Support Never had to deal with them, which is a good thing !


Liked about it - Sound
- Ease of use
- The "more" switch is very handy


Didn't like - Not really something I didn't like, but the pedal sounds modern so if you're after a classic distortion sound, this might not be the pedal for you


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Professor Jones
Apr 25, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

A Good Pedal

Ease Of Use This pedal is really simple to use because it only has three chicken head knobs. I found it really easy to get a 70's rock sound from it. The more switch is a nice touch if you like the sound you've got but you just want to add more gain.


Sound I was using it through my ibanez js100 and my (don't laugh) marshall mg15. This is an all round great sound pedal if you're using the right amp. With my marshall mg15 i got a lot of feedback and when i used this pedal i got the same amount of feedback but what can i say i was using a marshall mg15. If you ignore the feedback you can hear a great heavy rock sound that will get you through pretty much every satch song. But with my new amp (roland cube 60) the distortion on the amp sounds great already so by adding this to my new amp just adds more feedback.


Reliability It's very reliable because it's made of heavy duty metal and i think it be quite hard to break it. I would reccomend using an ac adapter or otherwise it will just eat up batteries. It also has led's so you can see it on stage.


Customer Support didnt need it


Liked about it -Great sound
-Reliable
-Easy to see on stage


Didn't like -doesnt work well with certain amps
-may cause a bit of feedback
-lack of ac adapter


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By daniel ibanez js
Jan 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

An affordable hi-end Distortion pedal

Ease Of Use straight out of the box easy tweaking, this little monster has its own vibe and tone, the chicken head knobs are easy access three knobs Gain,Tone and Volume, every percentage you dial in has its own tonal characteristics. There is also a toggle switch called the pad used for giving extra dynamics on pedals before the Satchurator and the two footswitches for bypass and engaging the pedal and the other switch called "More" for extra harmonics and gains and widen your tone without sacrificing your distortion set up

The manual that comes with it is just easy straight forward to understand ,no confusing technicality jargon.


Sound pluging in my Ibanez RG320Fm playing tunes from Chickenfoot and other rock music this pedal is just awesome the Satchurator is designed by Joe Satriani and Vox and his sounds can easily be emulated from this pedal not just him but other rock tunes from Thin Lizzy, Alice cooper Def Leppard etc . Of course there are some other pedals that are better then this, but then this pedal are not for metal heads however it does have the ability for it but for rockers in search for a more warmer crisps and crunch of a hard rock tunes well this pedal is just amazing


Reliability the casing is built though considering its a VOX it is reliable and Joe Satriani use it for his tourings and all. so yea.. and i wouldnt think its that fragile but i always have my kORG Ax 1500g for my backup


Customer Support nope.


Liked about it the color red and the vintage white knobs very very cool
its cheap affodable hi end
the versatility of tone that it has given me


Didn't like i would want it to have a switch for two settings, one for a low range dist and the other for heavy dist


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mar01
Dec 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Get that Satch tone, smooth distortion

Ease Of Use Easy as it gets - three chicken knobs - gain, tone and volume. Very easy to use. Sound was great, works well with a valved amp, very good with change in picking dynamics - be warned though, this baby will show your bad technique up like a highlighter!


Sound Great sound. I'm using a variety of Ibanez guitars on my Vintage Modern Combo. I will use the amp on the low gain setting, crank the gain on the pedal, turn the volume knob down on the pedal and warm the tubes in my amp at manageable volumes. AWESOME. Pretty darn quiet machine, no probs so far from my end.


Reliability Subject to having a decent battery, this thing looks like it will last for a long time. No problems so far from my end.


Customer Support Never dealt with Vox, so I really can't comment.


Liked about it Great rock sound, emulating those tasty satch tones
* The volume knob is a great feature if you want to warm your tubes up at lower volumes, I love that feature!
* Chicken knobs - they look awesome!


Didn't like I can really only think of two :
*The tone knob above about half way is just way too much treble for me. Would have preferred if it was more tweakable
* Plastic covering in the battery slot, but really that is a tiny gripe as I power the thing via a daisy chain!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By AussiePGFan
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

If you like today's stach tones, get the unit

Ease Of Use Very clear and easy to understand unit. Only the FAD switch might be a bit cloudy. Joe seems to use it wether or not he is using his wah. Gain/Tone/Volume are very clear and give the result you'd expect. The "More" switch is a very nice addition.

It has a 9v battery compartiment on the bottom side and a standard Boss type adapter input as well. Works perfectly with my T-Rex Fuel tank.


Sound The guitars I use it with : JS1200ca (perfect color match ;)) with Paf Joe en Fred pickups, and a RG Jcustom with Air Norton and Tonezone, all dimarzio pickups of course.

I used it mainly with Carvin Legacy and still have to try it out with my Marshall 30th Anniv 6100LM. I have to say this pedal can sound quite different depending on the amp. It seems it does not work as well with all amps.

If you want early satch tones, this might not be the thing. This unit was inspired on the MIJ Boss DS-1 but it has a voicing of it's own, think of Satch's tone on Prof. Satchafuncilus and the Chickenfoot album. That is how the Satchurator sounds, certainly not Surfing with the Alien -> Extremist IMO.

Although I like the tone, it will only comes to it's right before a cranked amp on the verge of break-up. Since it's a distortion pedal and not an overdrive, I hoped it would've sounded beter at lower amp volumes as well. it didn't blow me away, at least for now.

It's quite silent, even at high gain levels, so that's a real + !

Satcurator.jpg



Reliability Seems very sturdy built, I like the switches (not hard switches btw!)


Customer Support Never dealt with them and I doubt it will be necessary for this product.


Liked about it - Cool distinguishes sound
- Nice look and built !


Didn't like - Appareantly doesn't work as good with all amps, but I guess there are other pedals like this.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Silverburst
Nov 18, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

The best

Ease Of Use It's pretty much as straight forward as you can get!


Sound Very smooth! There is no excess distortion most other boxes I'v used put at full distort just have tooooooooooo much noise! I can get any sound I need for what I play from some good 'ol BB King blues to Joe Satriani shred metal!


Reliability I would never think of bring a backup for this, it shows no signs of slowing down!


Liked about it The tone is great. It's easy to use and set up the sound I need


Didn't like I can't think of a thing!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By PrinceAlice
Nov 10, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

More than meets the eye...

Ease Of Use The unit is very straight forward and if you are familiar with a distortion pedal you should be able to use it without the handbook.


Sound It is definately more than meets the eye.
Of course if you dial in the Satch settings, the unit will give you authentic Satch tones, especially if hooked up with my JS1200, but I can also get very nice results with my JEMs and Les Paul Std.
You can vary the tones a lot and even get some nice crunchy sounds, which tend to go very bluesy and surprisingly sound very tube crunch like.
The more button, well it gives you more :) and you can go up to very high gain, however not the "insane" kind. It keeps the gain in reasonable levels.
Very nice is that the unit has very low added noise and is really high quality.


Reliability It is very durable and rock solid.


Customer Support No dealings yet.


Liked about it - Sounds
- Well built
- Very low noise


Didn't like - Would like more tone settings
Nothing else to think of.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Tank
Oct 27, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Joe in a Box!

Ease Of Use The Satchurator is a pretty easy pedal to use. The layout is pretty self descriptive (one button to engage and one button to boost the signal).


Sound Although my amp is a JSX, I've been able to get Satriani-like sounds out of this pedal and a SS crate amp without any issues. Putting a wah in front of it gets you into the satch zone without problems.


Reliability the pedal is dependable, it's got a nice paint job on it and is quite easy to use.


Customer Support I have not had to call Vox for any tech support for this pedal yet.


Liked about it I'm a loyal Satch fan, so that was the premise for me to buy this pedal.
I like the boost function because it can literally give you more when you need it.
You get basically two pedals in one.


Didn't like The pedal can sound a bit muffled depending on the amp you use it with.
I wish the pedal would engage automatically when powered by an external power supply like the Time Machine delays do.
I wish the input/output/9v jacks were in front of the pedal as opposed to the sides because it would make fitting the pedal in a pedalboard more space friendly.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By jb4674
May 01, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores

Great product from Vox

Ease Of Use Really easy to use with three very easy simple controls - the real win here is the boost that can be given to an already overdriven signal.


Sound This pedal provides a great base with which to build your overall sound. I have used this pedal with a Marshall JCM 800 and a Laney LC-30II and it sounds great


Reliability I have had this pedal for over 18 months now and now issues whatsoever.The construction of the pedal looks and feels sound with a nice audible click for each action.


Liked about it 1. Pedal sounds great - creamy, warm overtones
2. Pedal looks great - the metallic red rocks
3. Pedal is great - it's made for Satch, what else do I have to say!


Didn't like 1. The poor construction of the battery compartment
2. That it's made in China
4. I don't have a spare!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Wolfram
Apr 22, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $8 to $79
Compare Prices
at 16 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec24 spec583