Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.7 (26)
 Add a review

Ibanez Edge Tremolo

 
The Ibanez Edge Tremolo is a double locking tremolo system for the electric guitar very similar in design to that of the original Floyd Rose. It first appeared in the Ibanez product line as of the 1986 model year, however, they have appeared on guitars with 1985 serial numbers. The Edge offers a number of improvements from the Original Floyd Rose; namely locking studs...


Price: $9 to $132 at 19 stores
Searched Ibanez Edge Tremolo in Reviews
 

 

Probably best locking tremolo on market! featured

Comments This is Ibanez's take on the Floyd Rose tremolo, which is commonly featured on many older pre-prestige japanese rgs, and is also coming back on higher end jem's and js's as a replacement for the edge pro. I had brought a used 1989 RG550 that had the Edge on it. I had always been iffy of Floyd equipped guitars because of playing many guitars with them that were always falling all out of tune, or the feel of the trem just seemed poor. The Edge when setup probably with good knife edges can take all the abuse you can put on it. It has never ever gone out of tune on me yet even when played extremely hard. I prefer the original edge to the edge pro-I know the edge pro is more streamlined than the original edge, but I just prefer the way the original edge works, and the non lo pro design opposed to the edge pro. Another thing to note is that non Ibanez artists such as Tom Morello use the edge, rather than a original floyd, on his guitar further proving its superiority.


Liked about it There are many things I like about this trem, but I will focus down to the top three for this review!
1-Reliability-The reliability for this tremolo is extremely good. The RG I bought that had this trem on it, is over twenty years old, but yet the tremolo still works as good as new! Though some of the black on the trem was beginning to come off, there were no stripped bolts or any significant decay of the metal on the trem. To me that is very amazing for a guitar that was in a poorer players condition. Very impressed by that.

2-Design of the Trem Arm- The design of the trem arm on the ibanez edge is superior to original floyd rose in my option. You just pop the arm in, and change the brushings on the arm for the firmness of it, depending on your taste. Thats all there is too it. The original floyd you must screw the arm in, which is a pain compared to the edge where it is so easy.

3-Replaceable knife edges- The edge has replaceable knife edges which to me means the trem is basically indefinitely good. The knife edges are the most important part of the trem to me because of determining the accuracy of the tuning stability. The fact that you can replace this part of trem (which doesn't seem to happen ever because of the quality of the knife edges on there) makes you know that Ibanez really put in the time to make a trem that is meant for a player, and is built to last.


Didn't like One thing I wish differently for is that it would be easier to order replacement parts for this trem rather than through a dealer. I usually don't like going through a dealer because of the wait. I wish that stew-mac or a guitar parts supplier could make these parts in hand-I know it maybe difficult due to licensing with floyd rose and such. In all not a big issue, just a little thing that I wish was easier to do.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mgk321
Mar 29, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

100% worth the price, Far exceeded my expectation featured

Comments Built off of the Floyd Rose Design, with quite a few Major functional upgrades, makes this the Best Floating Tremolo I have ever had the pleasure of installing and using. I was turned off to any Floating style tremolo in the early 90's due to the Lic. Floyd Rose I had on my guitar. I could not even look at the guitar without it going out of tune. I ended up blocking the tremolo thus making it basically a solid trem (fixed bridge). I started playing again and found a Ibanez last April. I got a good deal on it but was reluctant to have a floating trem again. I read about the Edge and the lost wax method of casting,enabling the use of higher quality materials and the capability of keeping to tighter tolerances. I decided to install an Edge in my guitar and give the floating tremolo one more chance. I am glad I did. I am also happy to mention as of 2010 Ibanez has revived the edge and is installing them in certain models again.


Liked about it 1. Quality of The whole trem is fantastic,I could tell by just looking at it that it was designed and manufactured very well.
2. It has seperate removable knife edges so that if the edges get damaged or worn beyond repairing you can replace them rather then have to replace the whole unit.
3. The fine tuners are very smooth, wich make tuning very accurate and easy.
4. It has a spring lock bar which locks the springs in trem spring block so they cannot fall out accidentally and it helps to conduct vibrations into body for a better quality sound and sustain.
5. It comes with a push in trem arm for easy removal and installation, No more having to thread in the bar.
6. I noticed that every single bolt or threaded feature is removable and replacable in case something gets stripped or froze up you don't have to replace the whole unit.
7. I have taken this tremolo from the lowest dives to extreme pull ups till the locking bolts touch the cavity about 2 1/2 steps and it returns to perfect tune.
8. Once setup properly I have found this tremolo to be far superior to what I was expecting, I like them so much I have purchased another for my project. I am so glad I decided to give the Edge Tremolo a try.


Didn't like 1. The string lock blocks fall out if locking bolt is backed off to far when replacing strings,Do not turn guitar over with string locking bolts backed off to far.
2. One thing I think they could of done better is make a better spring block out of brass or maybe made it just a bit heavier to enhance the sustain, Just a thought on improvement


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By spudler_t
Mar 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

25 Years Old & Still Considered One of The All Time Best Trems! featured

Comments A milestone upgrade to the original Floyd Rose Tremolo. Vastly improved over the Floyd that it has become one of the favorite trems of serious players worldwide. It's about 25 years old now but still keeps dive bombers in rock solid tune. This trem is just Whamilific!!!


Liked about it Great design locks strings in place and keeps them there. Allows for fine tuning once strings are locked in place. Feels good under the hand and not to obtrusive so that your strumming and palm mutes are affected. This trem just stays in tune, the best of all benefits. The trem feels balanced under the hand and depending on the spring tension, allows for easy feeling tremolo action and tricks.


Didn't like The trem blocks do sometimes slip out when loosened and if tightened too much may cause strings to snap at the bridge block. String changes can be a nuisance as compared to standard bridges but staying in tune is the obvious trade-off so the effort is worth the benefit.

Still my favorite for heavy whammy use!!!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Billyb63
Jan 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

A benchmark for locking tremolos featured

Comments The ibanez Edge tremolo is one of the most stable and high quality tremolo units I have ever used. It is a classic amongst Ibanez fans, rivaled only by the low profile version called the Edge Lo Pro. It is based of of the Floyd Rose double locking tremolo, which was the first locking tremolo bridge.

Aside from its great design, the reason why it is so popular is because of its quality. Ibanez used a very high quality grade of metal when they manufactured these bridges. This is one of the main differences between the Edge, and some of the other bridges like the Edge 2 and 3. With superior materials, you get superior results.

As far as the bridge in action, it is very smooth and when set up properly, it will stay in tune with some pretty solid abuse. Granted, it isn't perfect but in its design, at lot of points of binding were taken into account and fixed. The knife edges do wear out eventually, but I haven't had to replace them. It works just like it should.

It is kinda funny that I like this bridge because I was so against locking trems for years. I was a Gibson man and I much prefered a fixed bridge. Now, after owning some Ibanez guitars I am cool with both bridges. It just goes to show how sweet these bridges are!

But all good things come to an end, and they no longer manufacture the Edge. Maybe one day they with bring this classic back.

If you are looking for a used Ibanez, make sure you find one with an Original Edge or Edge Lo Pro. If you do, you can know that you have an awesome bridge that can be whammied on all day.


Liked about it Quality materials
Does its job
smooth feel


Didn't like Changing strings is a pain with this type of setup
No longer available


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Jan 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Love It featured

Comments I picked up a used Edge and retrofitted it to my ESP ltd M-100 a few years back. I wanted a trem that would hold the bar stable and I was starting to really dig Ibanez guitars. Picked it up on the bay and it came in fairly good condition.
I made a few routing adjustments to fit things in, shimmed the saddles to match my fretboard radius and I haven't looked back. It stays in tune much better than the old ltd licensed trem I had on there.
It also held the bar in place wherever I set it, as long as I kept the tension brushings on the bar fresh. These are little white buggers that wrap around the bar and "grab" the inside of the arm holder to keep your bar in place.
While floating trems can take some time to set properly and there are some drawback if you want to switch tunings quickly or break a string, I think they're worthwhile because you almost never go out of tune when you do things right. The edge has been absolutely great for me. I prefer the Edge Pro because of it's lower profile, but the Edge has the advantage of an intonation tool which greatly speeds the process of setting the intonation during a set-up.


Liked about it 1. Durable. I got this used and it's been heavily used for a few years by me. There's some corrosion on it, but it hasn't affected the excellent tuning stability.
2. Lots of mass, which I do think contributes to better sustain.
3. Bar stays in place - as long as the washers aren't worn out.


Didn't like 1. It does not fit right into most routings for floyd rose trems. For most, it's not a simple swap out.
2. While not the fault of the bridge, no techs really know how to set these up properly. They always mess up the tilted forward looking angle of the trem. If you don't intend to do your own set-ups, make sure to explain it properly to whoever you get to do your work. Otherwise your tuning stability and feel will suffer.
3. Teflon brushings wear out fairly quick with heavy use. They're expensive and hard to find in most music stores. I've had to order online and it's best to do so in bulk. Or, there are several partial fixes to get around loose brushings on this site, read up.
Not truly a dislike, but I want to say that the only reason I'm giving this a 4 is that I prefer the lower profile of some of the subsequent Edge based bridges. That said, the Edge really is the best thing out there for that Original Floyd Rose bridge style.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Nov 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

worth its weight in gold featured

Comments found on almost all 80 model rg or jem ibanez guitars. This little guy is the king . I always had the cheaper korean guitars and when i got my first rg550 with this tremelo i was amazed and knew what a pro guitar was supposed to be.the finishes on these are great and durable as long as you wipe the oil from your hands off every time yoiu use it .


Liked about it the thing never let me go out of tun no matter how hard i pull the whammy bar it is my most trusted friend on my guitar.
the finish of the cosmo black is really cool almost like gun metal might even be the sam e coating on guns.
the trem flutters alot better than the new edgepro trem the new replacement.


Didn't like it is hard to lock the string blocks on rg guitars due to the lower allen bolts for the blocks [on jem liuons claw helps this]
can be a pain to a newcomer who doesnt know how to setup a floating bridge this is on all floyd roses of course.
maybe in the future they can make them red or blue or anodized or something cool. oh yeah edge lo pro is better for the easy acces to the string block screws.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By andrewsfury
Oct 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Premier product...

Comments I'm pretty late to the Edge love party, as for a large proportion of my playing I have played Washburns. I had an early 2000's era RG but that had a TRS. I then managed to get a 91 Radius with an original Edge and was very impressed with this trem. This came with the locking studs, and it shows. Tuning stability is rock steady, and on my Edge equipped guitars they're twenty years old and lock, and play excellent.

Compared to the original floyd I have on my Washburn, the Edge has a lot more mass to it. It's good quality metal, and all my Edge guitars flutter well. I've yet to do the hi mass block upgrade as I've been real happy with the performance of the tremolo.

I like e push fit bars, but I find the bushings don't last long. I then tend to use PTFE tape (from plumbers shops) wrapped around the bottom of the arm. But, in all fairness, I guess the ideal arm holder has yet to be invented.

On the basis of the Radius, I bought a 90 Saber with an Edge. Like the Radius, it's about twenty years old but still rock solid. It's a testament to the quality material used to build the tremolo. You get what you pay for - and the Edge deserves it's price.


Liked about it good quality material used in construction
Good mass to the tremolo and feels rock solid
Tuning stability seems amazing


Didn't like Arm bushings - don't last too long to me... Hence the plumbers tape, quick and cheap fix to a problem


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By arykala
Apr 15, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

A Classic... and for good reason

Comments The original Edge bridge is amazing. There is a slight learning curve for those who are new to double locking tremolo units, but it doesn't take long to learn. If it is set up to float, there are drawbacks and benefits. I'd say this is the best built Floyd Rose type unit ever made. It was recently re issued after 20+ years, so that says a lot. String changes take a bit longer then a fixed bridge, but after you get your strings stretched properly, it stays in tune perfectly, even with the most heavy wammy abuse. ROCK SOLID. I think it looks better then all the others out there.


Liked about it 1. Fine tuners sit back at an angle and don't get in the way like the Floyd
2. Ibanez uses good quality metal, knife edges that can be replaced if needed, classic looks, large block for good sustain, locking studs
3. Love that there is an intonation tool available which makes set ups a breeze


Didn't like 1. The saddle set screws can round out easily if not careful. Good idea to have a few spares
2. The nylon arm bushings wear out fairly quickly, but there are modifications that can be done at no cost to fix this issue. Good idea to have a few spares
3. Nothing else. This bridge ROCKS


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By leathermonkey7
Mar 09, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Sooo smooth

Comments Licensed Floyd that puts others to shame. Lower saddle profile than other floating trems. Tuning stability is never an issue with this trem (assuming you set it up properly or your unit isn't damaged).


Liked about it I love how smooth this trem is. Flutters, bombs and lifts are extremely easy with this trem, and best of all-it returns to pitch. I like that the knife edges are replaceable(never had to)in case they wear down. There's also a bar at the trem block to keep springs from coming out of the trem. I also like that the bar is pop in and not screw type.


Didn't like Bushings on the trem bar wear really fast, so need to be changed out frequently if you like the bar to stay in place(I do). String blocks can come out and get lost if you're not careful. Also, these trems have an issue with pitting/corrosion. I never experienced corrosion like this on an OFR, but the smooth action and profile make this an acceptable trade off.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By texshred777
Feb 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

favorite trem

Comments It has been my favorite trem since i played my best friend's RG770. Years latter when I found out Ibanez was releasing a 770DX reissue i ordered one right away. I ended liking the edge over the low pro edge in my JPM. The edge stays in tune really well. Prefer it heavily over any of the new trems that Ibanez has been pushing in recent years. I do not like Edge Zero trems and that is why i have little interest in new Ibanez RGs. Prefer the feel of the bar and the fine tuners over the OFR on my ESP Kamikaze.


Liked about it 1. stays in tune
2. great feel and durability
3. reliable
4. flutters really well
5. washers hold the bar in really well


Didn't like 1. Cosmo Black, though Ibanez tends to use cosmo on just about all their hardware
-beyond that can't really think of anything


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Highwaystar
Dec 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Lifelong pal

Comments I have a Roadstar II w/an '85 sn, but w/'86 specs. Original owner. Once set up, this thing is ridiculously stable. Mine was before the locking studs and I have to go mental on it to whack it out of tune. I am not much for whammy dramatics, standing on the things, etc - but I do like to have that option and find that my guitars w/the Orig Edge tend to stay in tune WAY better than my hardtails/TOM/and Edge Pro.

Also have a 2001 RG570 w/Edge - super stable and I bought this guitar USED


Liked about it Design speaks for itself after all this time. Wish this was on my 1550. I like the fine tuners although I rarely use them. I used to do the use-the-fine-tuner-to-tune-down-to-D thing, but I don't bother w/that now as I have extended the family enough to be able to dedicate guitars to specific tunings.

I like how even a dummy like me can take this thing down to a kabillion parts to clean/replace/etc ----- really there's not THAT many parts - pretty cool how great of a design it is while remaining simple enough for me to wrap my head around it.


Didn't like "Wish"es more than "didn't like"s:

-saddle black falling out - not a big deal, but w/my hand/finger size, if I goof and drop one out, there is going to be cursing involved

-bar/collar/washer thingys - may be a sin, but replaced the arm assembly w/an OFR one that you can screw down - kinda like it, but as little as I use the thing, not sure it was worth it

-intonation - would kill for the little tool thingy, but once it's set, it's set. Kinda just a lazy/convenience thing on that one.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By mrclean77
Aug 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Quality trem, well worth the price!

Comments How I use this: I have this trem installed on an Ibanez RG520QS with 10 gauge strings. Mine is from 1999.
Customer service: I have only contacted Ibanez once, and they were fairly quick to respond.
Side notes: this is by far the best locking trem i own. it is a major improvement from my jackson licensed floyd rose, and my lo-Trs. i feel that it is only matched by an original floyd or an edge pro.


Liked about it Probably the best locking tremolo I have ever used! This trem stays in tune even after the most outrages abuse, holds up to sweat well, and is dense enough that it doesn't suck tone. The knife edges are resilient, and the lip of the saddles are very smooth/ rounded so they don't eat away at your string like some other licensed Floyds can do on pull-ups.


Didn't like As great as the trem is, it isn't perfect. Although it is worth every penny, sometimes for the price of a new one, you're better off finding one used/ in good condition, with the guitar it originally came in. Like any other Floyd styled trem, minus the edge pro, the saddle blocks like to fall out when the guitar is laying face down while doing work (although a piece of tape can usually fix that). The only thing that I would change if i could is that i would install larger sustain block stock.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By jbouxa
Aug 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

World Class Trem

Comments It's hard to find something to say about the Edge trem, considering the amount of praise in the other reviews. I will say that I've been playing guitar for longer than I'd care to admit (25 years), and I've used countless trems; in particular, variations of the original Floyd Rose (OFR) design.

The Edge is on par with the best of the OFR's, Schaller, Gotoh and other quality locking trem designs. It is as easy (or difficult) to use as any other double locking system, but once it's set up correctly it is a breeze to change strings, wail on the bar, or whatever crazy whammy tricks you like to pull off.

The Edge sounds as good as it looks, and has been a players favorite for years on Ibanez guitars.

The only thing I've never much cared for with an Edge trem is the push-in bar design, and the little plastic collars you need to replace all the time to keep the bar from being loose and floppy. It is an extremely minor issue, and there are several methods of dealing with it, but it's always been a thorn in my side.


Liked about it Very simple design.
Well constructed.
Sounds great.
Parts are easy to acquire.


Didn't like Spring block is a cheap metal (like many), but can be upgraded to brass or other material if desired.
Lock blocks can fall out when the saddles are unlocked if you're not careful.
Never cared too much for the push-in bar design.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By blackspy
Jul 01, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

As good or better than the Original Floyd Rose.

Comments The Ibanez Edge tremolos are one of the few market floyd which tried to beat out the Original Floyd Rose (OFR) and it's patents. Very few companies have tried because Floyd Rose tends to sue any company which tries to pass off a tremolo similar to theirs which doesn't say "Licensed by Floyd Rose" on it's design. Ibanez has desperately tried to improve the design from the OFR in order to beat out the patents. After years of research and hard work, the Edge series is perhaps one of the best knife-edged tremolos on the market.


Liked about it If what you are looking for is a good knife-edge floating tremolo, there are very things not to like about the Edge. It stays in tune perhaps better than any tremolo I've had. It is extremely reliable and will last years upon years. For a warmer sound, put an upgraded brass block on.


Didn't like They are more difficult to install when compared to an OFR, but it is worth it when completed.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DarrenD
May 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

The gold standard of Trems

Comments Great floyd rose copy really. Better than the original. I guess the Zero trem is good too, but I've not tried it, only the Edge and Low Pro edge are the one's that I've tried that I love. THe latter especially, it's just such a good trem, and if you have good edges on the trem and they are setup correctly, they stay in tune and just scream with the right amp and pickups.. The tone zone works great with this trem in my humble opinion on most RG's of the 550 and above version. The original 550 is still a great guitar..


Liked about it It's just the best, no wobbly like the original Floyd, and it has the collars that you can buy cheap to replace when they do go bad. This makes it easy to pop in and out, and it's just a great bar. .It's the only one I really, really, really, like..


Didn't like I can't think of a thing I don't like about the japanese made Trems..


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By JustAGuitarDude
May 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

The Original Floyd Rose Killer!

Comments I'm a double-locking, floating trem guy. I do not own a hardtail, and never will! I was a big fan of the OFR when I got my first Kramer in 1984. I swore by it until the guitar world was turned upside-down in 1987--the year Ibanez introduced the first JEMs and RGs to the world. Ever since I got my first RG550 in '87, I prefer the Edge to any other double-locking trem.


Liked about it I love the stability! This thing blows away any other double-locking trem on the planet. When properly setup, the Edge will stay in tune until an elephant steps on it--and even when the owner is picking up the splinters, the Edge will stll probably be in tune. I love the pop-in trem arm. The plastic replacement bushings are cheap enough to have a handful laying in the case. The fine tuners are very smooth, and it's easy to get in tune.


Didn't like I love it. Nothing I don't like about it. I would like to see the think tank at Ibanez come up with a way to powder coat these in bright colors to match the crazy finishes.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By AlaskaBat
May 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great trem that has stood the test of time

Comments I never saw anyone complain about this trem, and when you have one it's easy to understand why : it's smooth, stays perfectly in tune even when abused and is very durable. Mine is 15 years old and still working like a champ ! It does take a while to understand how to set it up, but all the help and information needed is available on the internet. I personally learned on jemsite and on ibanezrules.com .

That said, there is something that I don't like about it :
Why on earth don't they include the intonation tool with every guitar equipped with this trem ? A badly intonated guitar is worthless, so I don't consider that optional or a luxury to have the intonation tool. You can set the intonation without it but it's an painful process. Really, there is no excuse for this.


Liked about it - stays in tune very well
- durable
- high quality product


Didn't like - intonation tool is not included with edge equipped guitars


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Professor Jones
Apr 29, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

This thing is like a sore D**** u just can't beat it!!!

Comments this is THE tremelo system best ever made... not an opinion it's purely fact!!!

i've tried the original floyd rose, the kahler.... but they are not even in the same ballpark!!!
when Ibanez came up with this design it catapulted them into the god like category that cannot ever be changed...

i've had my guitar for well over 17 yr's and my tremelo system has yet to fail...
built like a tank this and the cockraoch will be the only survivors of a nuclear war...


Liked about it 1. stays in tune
2. totally durable
3. the one peice of gear i could never.... never do without!!!
4. like i said i've tried them all. and this is your best bet.. accept no substitute..
5. they truly broke the mold when they made this...
6. the newer models are heavy somewhat bulky.. but this is the result of pure guitar genius innovation..


Didn't like i don't think it is in production any longer.... and why that is i have no clue..


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By searchingforS
Apr 09, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Best floating tremolo ever created!

Comments After owning a guitar with an Edge trem, I was hooked and never looked back. Before I was exposed to the Edge, I played guitars with the OFR, schaller, and a couple other lo-profile Trems. None of the others could touch the Edge. The lo profile construction and the durable design make for a practical tremolo.


Liked about it The most noticeable feature is the low profile design. The fine tuners are far out of the way, which helps when alternate picking. The tremolo also holds tune perfectly! There are times where I can go a month without having to unlock the fine tuners. The tremolo also has the "locking stud inserts" These are an awesome feature. The inserts lock down the tremolo studs so they don't move when using the whammy bar, this makes for a perfectly tuned guitar at all times!


Didn't like I'm not a fan of the whammy bar insert. I would prefer a threaded insert like the ones on the OFR. The washers that hold the bar in place wear out pretty fast, which eventually leads to wobbly tremolo bar after time. That is really the only con.. Everything else about it is perfect! 5/5


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

A brilliant Floyd Rose based tremolo

Comments The original Ibanez Edge tremolo is an amazing adaptation of the Floyd Rose tremolo. It is such a great unit, that even years after it's retirement as a standard Ibanez production tremolo it is still considered one of the best out there. People still yearn for Ibanez to put these back into production, even with all the advancements Ibanez has made with the double locking tremolo.

And with good reason. The original Edge tremolo is a brilliantly designed and made unit. It's a nice solid bridge that helps achieve good tone and sustain. The knife edge design where one is straight, and the other crescent shaped is brilliant, as it makes it easier to sit nicely on the studs, as will as limit binding somewhat.

The other brilliant part with the Edge tremolo is the addition of locking studs. By being able to lock the studs into position you are able increase tuning stability more so than if the studs were just screwed in to position.

The result of these innovations is that with a probably set-up Edge tremolo you can go absolutely wild with the whammy bar, and generally keep your guitar in tune.

It really is a pity that for the most part Ibanez have put the original Edge tremolo to sleep. Professionals such as Steve Vai and Joe Satriani still use this tremolo on their guitars to this day. It is a simple, (as far as Floyd Rose type tremolos go) no nonsense tremolo that gets the job done and does it well. If you can find a unit in decent condition it will be a fantastic upgrade for most double locking tremolo equipped guitars.


Liked about it Locking studs and knife edge design, they should be present on all double locking tremolos
* Tuning stability
* Reasonable tone and sustain for a floating tremolo


Didn't like I'd prefer the tremolo arm design found on the Gotoh licensed Floyd Rose tremolos. Gotoh made the Edges so I could be possible to have their own design for it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By LonePhantom
Dec 21, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

The best tremolo I have tried

Comments I had this tremolo on the 20th RG550 and it was simply perfect. It stays in tune for months, it's not hard to set it up and I even prefer the looks fo it more than the other trems. unfortunately I sold the RG 20th but I will surely get another edge equipped guitar in the future. It can be abused and it'll return in pitch perfectly.


Liked about it it stays in tune
it has stud locks
it's easy to set up


Didn't like nothing


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By BeboRock91
Dec 19, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

The best LFR you can buy!

Comments The Original Edge is quite simply the best Licenced Floyd Rose ever made. Some prefer the Lo-Pro, but they both perform the exact same way. Some even prefer it to the OFR, I though, don't. I find that the knife edges dull FAR quicker on Edge's than on OFR's, and that I can never get a 110% return from a pull-up on an Edge, but ALWAYS return 1000% from a pull-up on an OFR. Dive bombs are 1000% on both. However, the Edge still comes a deserving second place on my list!


Liked about it Probably the best LFR money can buy.
Tuning Stability.
Flutter superior to Lo-Pro.


Didn't like Tremolo arm. Washers wear out very fast and need replacing. Would have much prefered a collar type arm, ala an OFR.

Angled base plate makes setting up a bit more difficult than it would've with a flat base plate.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By SilverEra
Dec 08, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

better than the floyd rose(?)

Comments before i tried the edge tremelo(jem and js series guitars)i thought floyd rose were
by far the best available system. but ibanez have removed all the rough operation
of earlier systems or at least made them look rough in comparison.
the edge can alter pitch in any direction at any point and the sound retain a fluidity
that sounds defiant of interference to the musicians will.


Liked about it knife edge contact of strings with bridge.
7-8 semitone movement of bottom e string
completely fluid control over pitch


Didn't like um,more colors.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By pauline
Nov 11, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Stays in Tune Baby.

Comments Had one Already in my RG 570 (Black) and I Can Abuse the Bar All Day and If it goes Out of Tune its Very Rare.


Liked about it Stability in Tuning
Feels amazing
Looks Amazing


Didn't like Squeaky Trem Bar
Tone Loss
String Changing is harder When you set it to Dive only.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Pooluke41
Feb 19, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

5 STAR RATED FLOATING TREM

Comments Personally, it's the definitive floating tremolo system along with Lo-Pro Edge, which I even prefer to this one for its low profile. I also prefer the Ibanez Edge to the Original Floyd Rose. String replacements are easy, playing is super comfortable, endless adjusting options (action, height, saddles, fine tuners, spring tension...)
Chrome and Cosmo Black finishes are spectacular, they enhance the look of any Ibanez instrument. 5 star rating in all areas.


Liked about it - Look.
- Playability.
- Always stays in tune.


Didn't like - Not low profiled trem.
- Price.
- Not interchangeable with other Ibanez bridge models (different routing cavity).


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By crazyibanez
May 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

BEST double-locking Tremolo system ever!

Comments I love this tremolo system! It's definitely the best. It stays in tune better than all the other Floyd style trems I have used. It might be hard trying to find one of these, but you can find them on eBay for around $80. You can also get from Rich at ibanezrules.com


Liked about it Stays in tune
High quality
fine tuners out of way


Didn't like This trem is perfect I like everything about it


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IBNZ_RG
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $9 to $132
Compare Prices
at 19 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec57 spec634 spec572