Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.8 (13)
 Add a review

ORIGINAL FLOYD ROSE Featured

 
The original Made in Germany !!!!!!!


Price: $5 to $465 at 18 stores
Searched ORIGINAL FLOYD ROSE in Reviews
 

 

Mind. Blown. featured

Comments My Edge III was on its last legs, so I shopped around to find a trem that was not only a direct drop in for the Edge III, but was a significantly better unit, as well as not too expensive. I originally want to use an Edge Pro unit, but at $265 I was unsure. I found OFR units for sale from Warmoth Guitar Parts USA for $170, almost $100 less. But I decided to go for it and hope for the best.

Being an Ibanez Fanboy, I had my doubts about this, but I went ahead and got the trem anyway.

When the unit got to me in the mail, I immediately took it to my garage and installed it, set it up, etc. (All of this was INCREDIBLY EASY by the way) I brought my guitar and plugged in and immediately started jamming. I had no problems with the trem returning to zero after diving or pulling up, unlike the Edge III.

I also noticed a minor difference in my tone, it was brighter than before. I hadn't changed any components in my guitar or my rig either. After some research I came to the conclusion that the stainless steel that the trem is made from can have a brightening effect on one's tone, and I experienced this firsthand.

Another great aspect of the Original Floyd Rose is the actual size of the unit itself. The baseplate is not very large at all, and allows for all kinds of movement as far as dives and pullups are concerned, I really really enjoy knowing that im not going to bump into anything during an extreme vibrato spell.

Like I said before the setup of the trem was incredibly easy. I like how the baseplate is flat, not angled, so its very easy to know that the trem is at zero, just by checking to see if the baseplate is parallel with the body.

Also, many people dislike the screw in arm, its actually a useful feature, at least for me. It reassures the player that the arm isn't going to pop out as soon as you grab it. I know that tensions and such can be adjusted with pop in arms, but the screw in is much simpler.

One complaint about this tremolo is the size of the bass side wing, it is not proportional to the treble side wing, and it looks odd on my guitar, and leaves an empty gap that shows the inside of the cavity between the side of the baseplate and the side of the rout, this is the only real complaint that I have about this trem unit, because it is most definitely one of the best I have ever used.


Liked about it Very reliable, returns to zero without a problem

Brightening of my tone, I really like this improvement

Simplicity of the unit itself (Baseplate, Knife Edges, Block, Saddles) compared to Edge models where the baseplate and the knives are separate

Flat baseplate, making setup easier, just by seeing that the baseplate is parallel to the body, some variations of the edge have and angled baseplate, which doesn't help me all that much.


Didn't like The bass side wing being small

I can only give it 5 stars

It wasn't free


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DownHomeRock
Jan 04, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Every guitarist should have a Floyd equipped guitar in their collect!

Comments The original Floyd Rose made by Schaller in Germany is the standard of floating trems. People give Floyd Rose's a bad rap because of either having a poor licensed one, or lack of knowledge on how to set up one. If you a OFR (original Floyd Rose) and know how to set up a guitar, this is probably one of the best tremolos ever.


Liked about it 1.Unlimited abuse on the trem- When setup correctly, this trem can basically take anything you put at it. Won't strip out, and decay like its licensed cheaper copies.
2.Hardened Metals-This is a huge deal, as it basically gives an unlimited life span to the trem. This is why you still see 80's floyd roses floating around on ebay. They last because of the build quality.
3.Use of the D-Tuna- I love being able to use the EVH D-Tuna to go directly to drop d, even with recessed floyds when using a tremol-no. This is one major advantage as some of the trems such as the lo pro edge don't let this happen.


Didn't like Pretty much happy with the whole trem, though I like the pop in arm on the edge better, though there's nothing wrong with the floyd arm-the ibanez design is just a bit quicker.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mgk321
Apr 07, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

It really is the best!

Comments I've had OFRs and good quality licensed FRs on all my guitars. There is something that feels just right about an OFR. Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of very good quality licensed ones out there. But an original to me is something special - the real deal.


Liked about it I know a lot of beginnings are horrified of setting up guitars with FRs. My advise is to take it so and spend time to learn how to set them up. Once you get over that, it is hardly any more of a hassle than setting up a vintage trem. So take you time to learn.

Good points I love about it:-
1. Stays in tune.
2. The better quality steel of the OFR really makes a difference to tone compared to cheap licensed ones.
3. Fine tuners. This is a minor point but I find OFR fine tuners have just the right amount of travel and pitch range for adjustments. I had tried cheaper licensed ones before that just have too limited a travel or just too much travel to fine tune pitch.


Didn't like None really... but if I were to put in negative points:-
1. Takes time to learn to set them up; i.e. level the FR, intonate.
2. Changing to other tunings need time and a re-setup.
3. If you have a floating FR, any string breakage renders your guitar totally out of tune.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By mail4kev
Mar 28, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

It IS the original

Comments I have been using Floyd Rose Tremolos since the 1980's and the basic design hasn't changed much. It is apparently such a good design that there have been several licensed copies. I ordered my last Carvin V220 with an Original Floyd Rose, and on the first Warmoth I built, this is what I installed. I have never worn a knife edge even to the point of needing filed. These things are rugged.


Liked about it 1) Very smooth and responsive throughout its range of motion
2) My guitars stay in tune under the most extreme dives and pulls
3) Very rugged, durable


Didn't like 1) The gold finish wears from the saddles easily, much faster than black or chrome
2) There is no option on the radius-10" at the nut 12" at the bridge. This is only minor thing on a 14" radius neck, but it is quite obvious on anything flatter.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Pamanagm
Feb 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Can't live without one

Comments I fitted an original Floyd Rose to my pre 90's RG550 as the original trem had given up the fight(I've replaced three trem bars, two sets of posts and the knife edge of the bridge unit had become unplayable).
Back in 86 i have a Kramer Focus 3000 and it had an original Floyd on that and it never went out of tune or played up in any way at all.


Liked about it It's an incredibly balanced trem, very responsive and i like the trem bar fitting as you can tighten up or loosen the bar without the rattle you would get on cheaper trems, don't get me wrong all the Ibanez trems on the more pricey guitars will probably match the OFR on all fronts but they don't have the novelty and legendary status of the Floyd Rose(and the OFR is slightly cheaper than the top range Ibanez Trem).


Didn't like Absloubtely nothing, i've had it fitted for almost four years, it's black chrome and there isn't even any slight aesthetic wear which some of the Ibanez Trems suffer from (only the cheap ones mind)and i've been a EVH fan for almost three decades so the Floyd does have a little history in my playing l


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By RGOU812
Nov 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Original Floyd Rose

Comments The original floyd rose, or an equally good licensed alternative, is what should be used on all guitars with locking trems. I have these on my 1986 kramer baretta, my #1 mutt Jackie and a Kramer FR404 Baretta. The FR404 used to be a bit muddy. Very smooth tones, but rounded off. I used to think this was due to the pickups, though they (the kramer quad-rails) didn't sound bad in the other two guitars (I tend to swap pickups whenever I have the chance...). The licensed floyd, similar to the schaller version with molded baseplate and knife-edge inserts, was stiff and unresponsive. I swapped the OFR in and it was a night and day difference!


Liked about it Responsiveness
The effect on tone (cleared up, better definition) and sustain
It stays in tune even when it's 25 years old, with no special attention. Tune it, play it and leave it in a case for a couple of years. When you pick it up, it's still in tune


Didn't like the arms. The collar system gets loose so the arm doesn't stay were you leave it (plus it rattles). The screw-in system is better in this regard (I have both) but you need a wrench to remove the arm. The pop-in system used on the edge, or indeed the System II trem found on some strats, is a neater solution


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By 86barettaguy
Oct 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

ORIGINAL FLOYD ROSE

Comments I always wanted to try an OFR, so I bought one for my Washburn N2, and now I highly recommend it !!!!
It's a really nice bridge, great quality materials and manufacturing, designed to resist all abuse. I like that it comes full with all the hardware and accessories when you buy it (locking nut, studs, allen keys, claw, springs, etc) that you can't get f.e. in the Ibanez's, which come without the nut. Price is not low, but I think is a good investment and a great upgrade for your guitar. From the moment you install it, it's very easy to adjust and get in tune, probably easier that an Ibanez Edge tremolo according to my experience. On the other hand I prefer the Ibanez whammy bars that are installed by pressure in the tremolo block, better than this OFR arm that goes screwed in it.
Question is: OFR or Ibanez Edge? I'm not be able to answer this, both are excellent !!!


Liked about it - Look.
- Reliability.


Didn't like - Price.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By crazyibanez
Aug 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

The best..

Comments I've had many trems, since I've always traded guitars, etc, and started back in the 80's. Mostly with Kramers at first, then I many others. I still like the Original. I think it has better tone.. More sustain for some reason. Although, I love the Gotoh, and Schaller too. The edge is good with the pop in arm, but that's about it for me. I don't like the tone of it compared to the original floyd..


Liked about it Everything.. It works, and it sounds great.. I think it actually improves the sound of some guitars that might be too dark.. It's amazing what it has done for japanese guitars that I've had that I liked, but when I replaced the cheap licensed trems with the OFR it's just amazing how good the guitars sound and feel..


Didn't like The screw in arm. I wish they'd go to the Edge system, but that's being really picky..


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By HoosierDaddy
Sep 11, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Can't go wrong with a Floyd

Comments The standard in locking trem systems. My 1988 Carvin DC125 came stock with an original black Floyd Rose. I bought the guitar in 1993 and have only had one issue with the Floyd. One of the bridge saddles stripped and it needed to be replaced. Easy fix and it hasn't happened again. If setup correctly, this trem can take a ton of whammy abuse and not strip or come out of tune.


Liked about it Always returns to zero without fail

Durable

Very responsive


Didn't like Any string breakage and your guitar will be completely out of tune. Nature of the beast with floating trem's unless you install a backstop.

If you play live, you will need different guitars for different tunings.



Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By javashred
Aug 14, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Floyd Rose

Comments I have had most the 80s floyds, maybe heavier. But still the most realible trems. Maybe the GOTOH are better, i want to try them out. Better floating..


Liked about it Everything, its the real deal.


Didn't like Nothing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By fireheart82
Mar 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

Can't go wrong with this trem

Comments I really like the OFR. It's not as low a profile as the Ibanez Edge or Lo Pro, but it's perfectly comfortable. The screw in bar isn't perfect, often requiring some clear nail polish or teflon tape on the post for a tight fit. Very good action and tuning stability. Very durable.


Liked about it Very stable. I never experienced any of the tuning problems some report. Every dive, lift or flutter came back as it should. Also, this bridge doesn't seem to corrode the way my Ibanez bridges did.


Didn't like While I wouldn't say I didn't like the action, it's certainly not as smooth as an Ibanez Edge/Lo Pro. I am not crazy about having to screw in the bar. To get the bar to stay in place I had to put some teflon tape on the post. While it's no big deal, with no modification it's not ideal. I prefer the pop in style of the Ibanez trems.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By texshred777
Feb 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

OFR worth every dime.

Comments Getting the right diameter for the neck is hard. I read for 2 weeks straight and still couldnt get it right, finally I just called someone and ordered it.


Liked about it Stays in tune with the right nut and locking tuners. Whammy bar doesnt fall out! The Original Floyd Rose is a direct replacement for the Edge 3.


Didn't like Its a pain to get set up and if you have the wrong strings and non-locking tuners you might as well forget trying to get it in tune. If someone told me that years ago I would have experimented more with strings before I got fed up I would be a guitar god by now.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By MobyTheMinnow
Oct 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores

One of the best double-locking trems on the planet!

Comments I got my first Original Floyd Rose equipped guitar, a 1985 Kramer Focus 1000, and fell in love with it. It took some getting used to at first, but once I figured out how to change strings, intonate, and tune--I was in heaven. These trems are the ones that lit the shred world afire.


Liked about it When properly setup, the Original Floyd Rose will stay in tune through the deepest of divebombs and heaviest of flutters. It feels great under my palm, and once I slightly adjusted my picking and palm-muting techniques, it's a breeze to play with. The bar will stay in place and tight if used properly.


Didn't like Nothing--I've always loved the OFR trem. I only went away from Floyd Rose because I discovered the Ibanez Edge.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By AlaskaBat
Sep 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $465
Compare Prices
at 18 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec62 spec686