Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.0 (6)
 Add a review

Seymour Duncan SH-12 George Lynch Screamin Demon Humbucker Pickup

 
he Seymour Duncan SH-12 George Lynch Screamin Demon Humbucker Pickup screams like a banshee or purrs like a kitten. Push it for a tone rich in harmonics and sustain; or back off for a fat, sassy, clean sound. 4 conductor.


Price: $55 to $55 at 1 stores
Searched Seymour Duncan SH-12 George Lynch Screamin Demon Hucker Pickup in Reviews
 

 

Avoid If You Jam or Shred! featured

Comments Unless Your Idea Of A "Screamin' Shred Demon Pickup is A '59 Paf Style Thin, Bright Late '50's Early '60's Traditional Gibson Type Pickup Tone!?

I Mean, Its Common Knowledge that this "Screamin Demon' Pickup Is Not A "High Output" Pickup in any way, So Dont Let the Name 'Fool You'!

I Mean to put it in perspective, This "Screamin Demon Pickup is Weaker than Paul Stanley's DiMarzio "Super Distortion" Rhythm Tone On KISS' Alive II's "Makin Love", Which Is Pretty Killer, in And of Itself!), But Weaker than That!? C'Mon Bro!? I Too Was Born & Raised on DiMarzio, Seymour Duncan & EMG Replacement Pickups in the Late '80's Early '90's,

But Make No Mistake, If There was EVER A More Confusing Replacement Pickup on the Market, Besides DiMarzio's "Humbucker from Hell" It Has To Be George Lynch's "Screamin' Demon'!

It Truly brings to mind the old saying; "Whats in a Name!? When Assuming a Products basic Name or Phrase, Is Representative of its Expected Performance


Liked about it Pretty Sad! That If You Know George's Recorded Tones With Dokken, or even Learned His Techniques/Riffery,

You'd Know Almost All Of It, Is The Seymour Duncan SH-6 'Duncan Distortion' Humbucker Which, in the Early to Mid '80's was Used by Randy Rhoads & others. and some of George Lynch's Dokken recorded Stuff sounds Absolutely KILLER with this High Output Ceramic Magnet Pickup, and Some Sounds Rather Ugly with this SH-6 Distortion Pickup, but thats another story/Product.


Didn't like Only In Hindsight Do We Now See & Hear the Error of our Guitar Ways! But at the time, it probably Seemed like the best choice at the time!

Id Bet You Money George Lynch Is somewhat Embarassed By The Harsh-Ness of Some of His Seymour Duncan Distortion SH-6 Recorded "Dokken" especially some of the "Back for the Attack" SH-6 Tones, and it probably led to him when working with Seymour Duncan, He Went for Something Much Smoother, Softer Sounding.

But I think In Hindsight He Went for something Much Weaker than What You'd Expect from a Guitarist like George Lynch!?


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By Metalbucker
Apr 10, 2010
 
Last updated: April 11, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Screams like a demon featured

Comments I have this pickup in my late 80's Fernandes "The Function" and I have to say it is just fantastic. The guitar is maple with a maple neck and rosewood fretboard, so its tone is pretty bright already. That tone is enhanced by the Sh-12. It's very articulate. It really makes you have to play with precision and does not forgive mistakes. I like it in this guitar for it's medium output, which balances nicely with the single coils I have in the neck and middle positions. Despite the medium output, this pickup can really get down and dirty and sounds right at home with the heaviest of riffage. Being so articulate means that it doesn't get muddy when slabs of gain are thrown into the signal. Harmonics really jump out at you. The only drawback I've ever felt is that it can sound a little thin on clean tones. Nothing that EQ can't work around, but there is some tweaking required.


Liked about it 1. bright articulate tone does not get muddy and stays clear no matter how distorted.
2. harmonic overtones come through effortlessly
3. medium output allows it to work in a variety of pickup configurations


Didn't like 1. being so articulate, you hear all the flaws in your playing and that can be both good and bad. You really need to be precise or you and others will know.
2. as the name implies, it's tailored towards distortion tones, it's clean tone is a bit bright and shrill and requires a little eq to tame that if you're looking for more mellow sounds. To give some perspective, I usually run my tone knob between 6-8 when playing clean to round the sound out a little.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By smooth55
Oct 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

One of my favourite rock pickups

Comments I had one of those in my mid-90's ESP George Lynch Serpent. This is a very versatile and articulate pickup. It has very clear and deep clean tones that don't get distorted by the pickup itself, just as it should be for a good bridge pickup. But of course it likes distortion, too! ;) It likes it really well. It "screams" and has plenty of overtones. Great for lead work. Pinch harmonics are an easy thing, too and it rhythm tones are superb, too.

You can play some "classic" or "normal" metal with it. Meshuggah cover band guitarists better look elsewhere. This is a great rock pickup and it covers a huge range of sounds.

Believe me, this pickup is one of the most versatile pickup's I've ever tried. It can do everything: Clean, crunch, high gain. You should really try to roll back the volume pot when playing this, because it interacts just great with it. You can get so many different shades of it, it's amazing.

You see, I really like it! ;)


Liked about it - clean tones
- high gain tones
- outfit (I like the combination of the two screw rows)


Didn't like - nothing...? This is a great pickup!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By digitalpig
Jun 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

great pick-up i love everything about it

Comments Awesome tone, great clarity,the best harmonics in the biz! This pick-up reminds me of a 59 it has a real big open sound. I have this pick-up in the bridge of my Fender Strat but it's the small version called the little screamin demon. I also had this pick-up in the bridge of my Kramer Stagemaster Deluxe at one time before i went to active EMG's. I had all Duncans back then and i wish i never switched to active.


Liked about it The tone is outstanding and it's the perfect blend of bass mids and highs. The description is really great because it does purr like a kitten and scream like a banshee. This is my favorite pick-up that Duncan makes,it sounds good in all woods. It's not too hot or too weak and the harmonics are outstanding! This thing makes harmonics just jump off the strings and sing like hell!!! Do not be fooled this is a middle output pick-up and it is not super hot so don't think you are buying the invader or the hot rail because it's nothing like them. I can tell that you can probably play any style of music with this pick-up. The fact that it's so versatile is what makes it so great.


Didn't like I honestly can't say anything bad about this pick-up. I love it and that's why i have bought it twice. If i have to say one thing i don't like it would be the fact that Duncan does not offer enough colors.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By rglover
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Not really screaming but still great

Comments I put my SD Screamin Demon in an Ibanez RG450. I was under the initial impression that this would be a very hot pickup. Not so. Clean and articulate is a better description.


Liked about it What surprised me was that the pickup was not really a high output pickup. It really shines when using heavy distortion or a rack full of processors. It's clean, full and present when there is a ton of gain or the guitar signal is heavily processed. I liked it so much that I've left in in my guitar for 15 years. It has a pretty good application for blues too and would probably clean up an otherwise dark sounding guitar. Mine is in the bridge position.


Didn't like I was expecting it to have more output but once I got used to it and figured out it's strengths there wasn't anything that I didn't like about it.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Spudman
Nov 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores

Super Crunchy

Comments This pickup come with my ibanez SJCRG-1 j custom. The guitar itself is mahogany/maple neck thru. The output of this pickup is medium to low, slightly below Dimarzio PAF pro. This pickup has very good clean, because it is very clear and bright sounding. It is not honky like many high output pickups. I can see this pickup very suitable for country picking.
The overdriven sound is the strong point of this pickup, very bright and crunchy without sounding thin. Almost like a single coil pick attack, but with output of a humbucker. I can nail crunchy ACDC tone very convincingly with it.
As for High gain sound, because it is very clear sounding, the bass is pretty tight, in fact it is a little more defined than dimarzio evo for palm muting. Because sound is not too compressed, you hear more of the "string" sound, with a lot of thwack when you pick. And that is with my amp gain set very high.

EDIT : after a few days playing the screamin demon, I have to say this pickup has AMAZING clarity.. due to it's output, and also it's brightness.. Imagine playing 6th string C chord without sounding woofy/muddy..

About the name : this pickup share common character with nother pickup notorious for its scream : the dimarzio evolution. They have mid spike that makes pick attack immediate, and single note solos sound very distinctive.
Like the evo, This pickup is great for shredding, because it has tight, percussive bottom end.
I think this pickup's name is not misleading at all, you just have to have correct idea about a screaming pickup.


Liked about it 1. Very crunchy tone, very open sounding. Very versatile from blues, country all the way to hard rock.
2. Single-coil like pick attack. Tight bass response. Great for shredding.
3. Respond very well to volume/gain roll off


Didn't like 1. Wish it had tad bit more output
2. This pickup may be too bright through some rig.. I recently put an evo in place of the demon, and kinda shocked how much brighter the demon was.. If you dont like the evo 1, big chance you won't like the demon


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By bowie8889
Jan 10, 2012
 
Last updated: January 27, 2012
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $55 to $55
Compare Prices
at 1 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec68 spec374 spec573