Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.9 (13)
 Add a review

Schaller Floyd Rose Tremolo Featured

 
This bridge is licenced by Floyd Rose and features fine tuning, a removable tremolo arm and original type saddles for plain end string anchoring. This bridge is different from the original in that the main body is die cast with hardened steel inserts for fulcrum points. Sonically, this die cast design is slightly warmer sounding than the solid steel original. This...


Price: $5 to $104 at 19 stores
Searched Schaller Floyd Rose Tremolo in Reviews
 

 

quality quality quality featured

Comments a tremolo near and dear to my heart...and second only to an original ibanez edge in my humble opinion...

had one on an old san dimas charvel for over 10 years...and it was my main guitar i used in devane and torquestra for that time...seriously...the trem NEVER dropped tune at all...went through countless live gigs (that usually ended with the headstock of the guitar on the floor of the stage to get some extra feedback) and many recordings and never once gave me an issue at all...one of the few trems that (after i set it up) could restring it, tune it, lock the nuts and never have to adjust it or mess with it again until i needed to restring the guitar again...i remember buying it because at the time it was cheaper than a real floyd rose...and was shocked at how good it stayed in tune and sounded (must have been the extra thick baseplate they use on them)...never had a problem with the knife edges going dull or any other part of the trem (except the little blocks in the saddles where the string clamps down would sometimes crack but that was from me overtightening them not a flaw in manufacturing)...albeit they do feel a little stiffer bar-wise than an edge it really holds up and is definitely worth the investment...only later did i find out that schaller was making the original floyd rose trems for floyd rose (which included the trems on kramer, fender and jackson guitars at the time)...so if youre looking for a direct retrofit trem for your floyd, try out a schaller...you won't be disappointed


Liked about it tuning stability...mine never dropped tune after restringing...just string it up tune it and go...wish all locking trems were this simple and easy to use

thicker baseplate...results in a slightly deeper tone to my ears and superior to an original floyd rose...possible it had positive effect on sustain as well

screw in arm collar...definitely a step above an original floyd as one could tighten it up to make it stay in one place or loosen it to let it swing freely (the idea was so good that soon after original floyds started using the screw on collar as well and continue to do so to this day)


Didn't like the only thing i didnt care for was the shorter end pieces to tighten the clamps down in the bridge...while i understand this made for smaller recesses in the body i missed being able to unlock the string with the allen wrench and then loosen the rest of the way with my fingers...a minor issue to be sure but it made for slightly longer timed string changes


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By diablomozart
Apr 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

My favourite OFR style Bridge

Comments we'll I have owned and maintained two Schaller FR units on my two Custom Rans's at the time I ordered them OFR's were not an option unless you sent it to them, having heard a little about the Schaller FR's I decided that I would Risk it, glad I stuck with them as they are excellent trems, like many reviewers have stated they flutter very well, have a really thick and solid feeling baseplate, I believe newer models have the area under the saddles reinforced for the intonation/saddle screws.


Liked about it Not much I dont like they feel incredibly solid are great to restring, stay in tune very very well, like any decenet double locking vibrato they dont feel like they will snap your strings if you do a high pullup, I'd say the OFR on a Jackson usa SL2H does have slightly better tuning stabillity but overall I much prefer the feel of the schaller FR's...


Didn't like Not much I can say I didnt like about it in all honesty I can see people not liking the shorter fatter screws to lock the saddles, and those can get quite grubby and require cleaning...the older mdoels also had a problem of the intonation/saddle screws stripping, the newer models have that are reinforced, which is good...

I suppose the non locking stude could also be an issue however i've found them o be very sturdy and rarely move, they also have the ofr style fine tuners which some might find can get in their way when playing...


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By ozzuk
Mar 08, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Absolutely fantastic.

Comments Schaller floyd Roses, are one of the best double locking floyds you can get on the market. If I were to put my favorite bridges in order (not including the ones by ibanez) they would go 3. Gotoh floyd rose 2. Schaller floyd Rose 1. Original Floyd Rose. Although I would say if you have to money go for the Original floyd rose, however, if you cant afford it, the schaller is the next best thing. Flutters like a dream, is very very smooth, trem arm is stable, and tuning stability was flawless!

Schallers also retrofit just about any already existing floyd rose cavity. This makes them very easy to install. Users wont have to worry about drilling or rerouting. In other words they are user friendly. Also, they come in black, silver, and chrome, just like most other bridges. What sets these apart from others though, is they actually have a finish that will last on them. The chrome plating that is on my two schallers is still near to perfect after two years of abuse. All of my other licsenced trems that I have had for that amount of time are either corroded, chipped, or something else.
All in all, schallers are one of the best licsensed floyds you could buy so try it out!!


Liked about it Quality, Function, appearance are all top notch.


Didn't like Price tag, although not as high as an original floyd rose, is still pretty expensive. (but that means nothing for its still worth the money!!)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By ryang
Feb 03, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

One of the best, and still one of the easiest to get

Comments The Schaller Floyd Rose is one of the best tremolos on the market today, and is probably the most easily available to anyone undertaking custom builds or modifications.

I have 4 of these units in various guitars, all of them owned for several years. They are extremely hard wearing and robust, I have only ever had to replace one part and that was due to worn knife edges probably caused by a lack of maintenance by the previous owner.

The strength of these trems is the tuning stability. Along with the original Ibanez Edge, if correctly set up they stay in tune for weeks (literally)!

They are slightly stiffer in feel than the edge, and as with all floating trems they do seem to lose a bit of tone from the guitar. But to honest these are minor niggles for what is an amazing piece of design.


Liked about it Tuning stability is awesome (with locking nut or tuners)
Very robust


Didn't like Slightly stiffer than other trems
non-replaceable knife edges.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By nickcoumbe
Jul 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

You Can't Beat the Classic

Comments This is simply an amazing tremolo. When comparing tremolos, this is the bench-mark. When people ask for the best, they ask "is this a Schaller?" And it's not hard to see why. This sleek, flexible mechanism still does what most tremolos should do, just better. It can handle anything from loud, harmonic squeals to the deepest dive bombs, all without going out of tune. I've also had mine for a little more than two years, and it has yet to need any maintenance. As I'm writing this, I'm trying to find a negative thing to say about this trem, but I just can't! If you buy a guitar with a tremolo, look for this one! I promise you will not be disappointed!


Liked about it It does everything a tremolo should do, just better than almost all of the competition, AND with little to no maintenance required. What more could you ask for?


Didn't like Absolutely nothing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By EXshad
Jun 17, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good quality with a warmer tone when compared to the Floyd Original

Comments The Schaller floyd is known as the next best option of floating trems right next to the Floyd Rose original. The Schallers are different than the Originals in that the base metal is usually cast iron, which makes for a warmer tone when compared to the Floyd Original's solid steel base. However, the Schaller's hardened steel knife edges keep it in tune as well as the Original.


Liked about it It gets the job done and is reliable. Schaller had problems in the early 90s with their trems having soft metal on the knife edges, making the guitars go out of tune or stay sharp. They now are considered to have the same strong abilities the Floyd Original has, but with a warmer tone due to the cast iron metal base. It is all personal preferences on which one to go with. The Schaller trem arm is also a very nice addition in that it is more controllable with a mounting thread.


Didn't like A good trem if you know what sound you want. You can't get wrong with a Schaller or Original Floyd for the most part.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By DarrenD
May 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Best Floyd so far...!!

Comments I had three of them. One bought as a replacement that never came into use, another one in my ESP Serpent and recently I got the last one in my Caparison Apple Horn. I love this thing.

I was never a big fan of the low profile versions with the shorter locking screws and things like that. In my opinion, the Schaller is the best of all the Floyds, with the Ibanez Edge as a close 2nd. I always read that the Original Floyd Rose (OFR) should be on one level with the Schaller, but I cannot approve that. In my opinion, the Schaller is far better and feels more solid. I don't like the thin baseplate of the OFR.


Liked about it - very durable
- stays in tune for ages
- smooth fine tuners
- thick base plate


Didn't like - each of my three Schallers had at least one little block in the saddle that was not moving properly. That is really a pain when changing strings.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By digitalpig
May 05, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Awesome floyd

Comments I bought it for the guitar my father built for me. It was a bit cheaper than original floyd at that time and both are made by Schaller. It's an awesome floyd, very high quality. Stays in tune great, never had issues since the day I got it. It's my favorite floyd after Edge Pro.


Liked about it build quality
* hardened steel knives
* studs have super fine threads which makes them less prone to move around and affect tuning stability than Ibanez Edge (without locking studs)
* IIRC locking nut can be installed with screws on the top like newer Ibanez do, without drilling though the neck.


Didn't like it's a bit expensive in some stores, but if you look around it can still be found for less than OFR
* it's not as comfortable for right hand when palm muting as Edge Pro as saddles have sharper edges
* I prefer the way Edge trem arm is installed and kept in place


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By bancika
Apr 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Built to last

Comments I have an original Schaller in black on my trusty 1994 Lag Rockline Custom. The guitar accompanied me through the best part of my adolescent guitar playing life, withstood humid practice spaces, bike rides in the rain, and of course immature setup attempts and whammy bar abuse.

And so did the trem.

I recently pulled the trem out of the guitar, and boy, it's one finely assembled, solid metal contraption. The knife edges still look like nothing has happened to them during all these years. The black finish holds incredibly well - there is some slight decoloration/corrosion on the bass side where my hand rests, as well as some rust stains on the fine tuners and individual screws. That's it. Combined with a locking nut, it holds tune forever, has a nice profile to it to rest the picking hand, and the fine tuners are a breeze to manipulate. Some Chapstick lubing of the knife edges at every setup (something I have not done for its first 16 years) and it will go on for another 16 years, I am sure. German quality work.


Liked about it - Built to last all eternity
- Easily adjustable trem arm torque
- Forgiving maintenance


Didn't like - I does not play itself, lol


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By cm_17
Apr 10, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great Tremolo that holds tune nicely!

Comments Next to the Edge tremolo, this would be my next favorite. The construction is much more solid that that of the OFR. It also held tune better than Its predecessor. I have owned a few different guitars with the Schaller, and never once did I have an issue with it.


Liked about it The construction is very durable. It's very similar to an OFR, but a much more stable unit. Never had tuning issues. I liked the bulkier allen screws that hold the strings in place. They are much more solid than the flimsy OFR allen bolts.


Didn't like I really don't have anything negative to say about it.. I would take a schaller over an OFR any day of the week. If your in the market for a OFR replacement, I suggest you try the schaller. It's a similar tremolo with better tuning stability and construction!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sirshredsalot
Feb 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Good Trem

Comments I bought a Schaller Trem about ten years ago, knowing that I would use it sometime. I bought a JS-100 last year and suddenly had a use for the Schaller Trem. The JS-100 trem was very ill. I thought the block on the Schaller was a bit light and it was too long for the JS cavity. So. I set about correcting that situation. I've been a machinist for 40+ years and used that expertise to machine a half inch thick brass block that would fit inside the cavity. I installed the block on the Schaller and fit the trem to the JS,which happens to drop in with no alterations. I did a setup. Continued below.


Liked about it I like everything about it. The metal is twice as thick on the Schaller as on the origional trem. With the much heavier block and the thicker metal construction, the trem has a nice, weighty feel to it. I intoned the guitar at the twelth fret and the bridge using a Behringer tuner. String size is .009" to .042". I used all three springs as I like a stiff action. The guitar stays in tune, even with full octave dives and aggressive pullups. I use a double locking setup. With the DiMarzio Joe and Fred pickups and the Schaller, I can use the guitar anywhere with the feeling that it won't let me down. I like to buy reasonable quality guitars and enhance them with modifications. The results on this guitar were amazing. It's my favorite electric.


Didn't like None. On any Floyd Rose, you may want to place a very small amount of turbine oil on the pivot points. NOT A DROP! That's too much. Place a drop on a Q tip and apply sparingly. It goes a long way to hold down wear and give a smooth action. Apply once a month.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By drlawton@frontie
Jan 20, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

Great Tremolo

Comments I'm a previous owner this is a great tremolo in Gold, something you wouldn't want to overlook when it comes in comparison to OFR or Ibanez's Edge...The reason why I say previous is because I sold the guitar that it was fashioned to unfortunately, but that's another review for another time...


Liked about it Stable tuning was never a problem for this piece of hardware. Great sustain and no abnormalities either, concerning burs and what not. The collar trem arm was a plus as well for quick movements and having it at the right place at the right time.


Didn't like The only real disappointment was that fact that it was gold. If you don't wipe gold hardware down properly after every use it will pit up quick. Yes, mine did and I was always on top of it, but this generally occurs within gold hardware...


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By LordGrendel
Jun 26, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores

One of the best Licensed Floyds out there.

Comments These trems are great. They stay in tune very well. They are very high quality trems, they are even made in the same factory as the Original Floyd Rose tremolos over in Germany, so you know they are high quality. It's probably the second best licensed trem next to Ibanez's Original Edge.


Liked about it Stays in tune
High quality metals
Nice compact look


Didn't like Fine tuners get in the way sometimes


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IBNZ_RG
Oct 20, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $5 to $104
Compare Prices
at 19 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec57 spec635 spec572