Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.4 (14)
 Add a review

Seymour Duncan SHR-1 Hot Rails Featured

 
The Seymour Duncan SHR-1 Hot Rail Stacked Single Coil Pickup is a humbucker that fits into a normal single-coil slot, so you get noise canceling without cutting a large hole in your guitar. 2 thin blades with powerful coil windings give you incredible sustain and fat, full sound. The SHR-1 pickup responds to the subtlest finger movements. -


Price: $44 to $134 at 10 stores
Searched Seymour Duncan SHR-1 Hot Rails in Reviews
 

 

May Be The BEST PICKUP in the World for Rock and Metal! featured

Comments No B.S.! Guitar Slingers! This "Single Coil Sized" Seymour Duncan Masterpiece Very Well May Be
The BEST HUMBUCKER Pickup EVER MANUFACTURED For Most Rock And Serious Metal Guitarists!

I'll Tell You WHY "Rubberneck-Liverlips"!!(Jerky Boys, "Frank Rizzo")

Well For One, It Has About 6000ft of Copper Wire Wrapped Up In It!!
You Know, a 6000ft High Mountain Is Pretty Damn High Up There,
If You Ever Been that High above Sea Level!

Also, It Has Such A "Fat & Warm Tone", presicsely Due To
So Much Copper wire is In This Single Coil Sized Humbucker,

But,It Also possesses A Crispy Clear Ceramic Magnet PUNCH, to Allow for an even Tighter Response!

That It Would probably Sound "Muddy"
IF they used an Alnico Magnet, ,OR
IF its Dual Blade Polepiece Design weren't "So "Close together with a "Narrow Apeture", String Sensing Zone"!!


Liked about it I used to Own One of these Seymour Duncan "Hot Rails for Strat" Humbucking Pickup In a Metallic Blue Ibanez with White 3 Single-Coil Pickguard 1981 "Blazer" Strat Type Guitar with A Maple Fingerboard Ibanez Blazer Neck!

I Also Liked that The Output was "Super Even Sounding" when Id' Bend Strings & Add Vibrato & Play Leads, Due to its Dual Blade "No Dropouts" Polepiece Design!

its Amazing How Long This Pickup has Been out on the market, and How Ignorant MOST Electric Guitar Players are, Concerning This Paticularly Awesome, Seymour Duncan, Hot Rails Bridge Pickup!
And Also, How Unpopular Overall, this Seymour Duncan Pickup Is
Vs "Most Commonly Used" Replacement Pickups!

I think this Is Perfect for the Metal or Rock Guitarist Who's on A Search for A Perfect Pickup That Sounds Super Full/Fat and Accurate, and
Doesn't Want to Sound Like Anyone Else! Believe Me, This Is A Good Thing, and Its getting Ridiculous How "Underground" this Pickup Still Is!


Didn't like That I Sold The Ibanez Blazer Strat with This Super Tonally Superior,
"HOT RAILS" Bridge Humbucking Pickup!

It Has A Sound, Tone And Attack that Is Very Unique, Thick, Full, and "Sizzling Sounding"! and Dont You Forget that, "Sizzle-Chest!

I was Recently at The Sam Ash Music And A Dude Came In with, GUESS WHAT?!

A Early '80's Candy Apple Red, Ibanez Maple Neck-Blazer Strat!
WITH, A Seymour Duncan "Hot Rails Bridge Pickup"!

And, he said to the salesman he wanted to try out the Line 6, "Spider III Head" & 4x12 Cabinet,
with His Seymour Duncan Hot Rails Equipped Ibanez Blazer!!

I thought Killer!! I haven't Heard A Hot Rails "Up Close" for Years!
and, It'll Be Interesting to See/Hear HOW The Line 6, Spider III's ,
"All Digital" Preamp & Amp Modeling would "Process" all This "Un-Bridled Gain & Complex Tone", I Remembered The Duncan Hot Rails possessing!?

As Soon As The Dude Plugged in And Started Ripping, I Was Envious!

I Instantly Heard And Remembered That Killer "Blazing Hot Rails Sizzling Tone", and Brute Force Attack, (Fully Intact thru the All Digital Line 6 Spider Even!)
That I Had Been Seriously Missing, since about 1994 in My Rig!

It Made Me Feel Like I Was MISSING A Very Important "Food Group" Guitar-Wise, and I Know BETTER, and Made Me Feel a Little Dumb, and ask myself;

"Why Did I Sell that Guitar, with THAT Pickup"!?

Take my Word for it; IF You Have A Single Coil Size Bridge Pickup and You Jam, Shred, Blaze, or Just Plain ROCK!, You Cannot Go WRONG with this Pickup!

Try One, You Will Thank Me Later!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Metalbucker
Mar 16, 2010
 
Last updated: March 28, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great for distortion, but way too hot for cleans featured

Comments Well, I am a little on the fence about this pickup. It does seem to solve the issue of getting a nice, thick distortion sound from the bridge position of a Strat, but I believe it does this with the expense of ruining any chance of a clean sound. I should mention that I only used this in the bridge position and not in the neck position. Also, there is such a volume jump in switching pickups that you have to almost buy higher output pickups for the other positions to fix the volume change. In my opinion, the cons outweigh the pros. Now if you are only going to play with a distorted sound and have a guitar with only spaces for singles, this may work for you. But, you may be better of using a guitar with regular size humbuckers. Now to focus on the sound of the pickup; it really does a great job at hoaxing a humbucker tone from a singecoil space. The difference being a little more top end clarity and bite. I felt this worked well for improving articulation and attack. This worked well for distortion, but it just didn't do it for me for clean sounds. It had such an exaggerated high end, that my clean tone would breakup and I could never get it to sound how I wanted. Another thing I noticed with distorted sounds, is that it was never quite as thick as a humbucker. I still felt a little lacking in the body department. Overall, it is a great option for higher gain distortion sounds in a Strat, but it is far from being a versatile pickup.


Liked about it Nice humbucker tones for a Strat
Adds clarity and punch


Didn't like doesn't work for cleans in bridge
Maybe a little too bright at times
Noticeable volume difference when switching to a lower output pickup


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Jan 03, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great option for a single coil space featured

Comments I needed to put a humbucker in my Fender American strat and didn't want to route the body or change the pickguard, so I picked up a Hot Rails to see how it would do. The hot rails is a high output humbucker is a nice single coil space package. The tone was hot, plenty of punch and loud. There are plenty of options to split the coils which I did in position 4 of a 5 way selector. This isn't a warm sounding pickup, but rather very high output I used in hard rock/classic rock. I used a Marshall DSL 100 on the clean channel boosted with a Monte Allums SD-1 for added overdrive. the pickup is not noisy.


Liked about it 1. Great to add a humbucker to a single coil space in a guitar with no routing or changing pickguards
2. Able to split coils and planty of wiring diagrams available
3. Good high output


Didn't like For my use being a little warmer would have been nice, but to try a pickup you have to buy it and install it. Duncan makes other single coil sized humbuckers and there may have been one more to my personal liking.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By torgeot
Nov 22, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Massive sound from single coil size featured

Comments I use this humbucker in my main stratocaster for really meaty metal sounds and some clean section too. It does sound massive and can punch your amp or effects processor. Nu-metal players will love this pick-up for it's clarity and definition even on very very saturated distortions. It does sound good on vintage amps but it's too numb for crunchy sounds, you can't make it sound more clean unless you use your volume knob - it sounds loud no matter how hard or gently pick notes. Finally I do like clean sound, it is very strange and very synthesizer kinda sounds, but it's somehow warm and nice.


Liked about it - Clarity and definitions in even under heavy gain, you can hear every single note from any chord under any distortion.
- Very weird, synth-like, clean sound (personal opinion, you can consider that as a con).
- Very "meaty" and saturated sounds even under light distortion.
- No need to change pick-guard, perfectly fits single coil housing.


Didn't like - Too harsh for vintage amps, (volume knob is here to help ;) )
- Can't control dynamics throw right hand, without using volume knob.
- For some of you clean sound might be too synthetic and unnatural.
- I find it pretty useless with crunch sound.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Toto
Nov 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

A great single coil humbucker.

Comments I installed this in the bridge of my Deluxe Player's Strat about four years ago. I replaced a vintage Noiseless single coil for this pickup and I have absolutely no regrets.

This pickup has a higher output, better dynamics, picking attack makes more of a difference, and the tone is much more appropriate for classic metal. Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Ride the Lightning Metallica.

It could be my setup, but I've tried this pickup through a few different rigs, and the bass response isn't completely satisfying. I wouldn't use it for some more modern metal unless I was in a pinch, and sometimes I have trouble getting really nasty harmonics. However, if you want to add a humbucker to a single coil position, there are few other pickups that will work this well.

No major modifications to the body required. If you're looking for an EMG-81/85 sound for a single coil slot, this isn't it, but for a thrashy, passive output solution, this is pretty fantastic.


Liked about it It fits in a single coil position.
Higher output and better gain response than my stock pickups.
Tight sounding, good picking dynamics and frequency response in the upper register.


Didn't like I felt the bass response was a little lackluster.
In the bridge position, the harmonics don't always jump out. Very finicky with gain.
Very bright in the bridge. I use my neck and my middle pickups exclusively for cleans because the cleans have a little too much treble.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By StratSamurai
Jun 04, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Awesome replacement for a single coil

Comments I bought a cheap Stratocaster copy in 1987, with the intention of upgrading parts, experimenting and maybe adding knowledge about guitar construction. Every few weeks I would put something else on it; tuners, nut, change the fret wire, etc. I was ready to try a new body when I saw the Hot Rails on display and bought it.

I wasn't prepared for the drastic change this little pup would make. This is a very "hot" pup, and is very noticeable on a tube amp. Because of it's high output, I was never able to balance the volume between the stock pickups, even with it set low in the pick guard. I eventually mounted a Super Distortion in the bridge and the SHR-1 in the neck position and all was good for me. It has a surprisingly full sound, though not quite as full as a standard humbucker. Excellent sustain, hum-canceling, retains brightness and clarity with high gain

If you don't want to modify your guitar's wood routing, but have a desire for a humbucker, this is the ticket. It is also available in SVR-1n(Vintage Rails) and SCR-1n(Cool Rails) to help balance out your sound.



Liked about it 1) It is an easy swap from the stock single-coil.
2) Volume was balanced well across all strings
3) I really liked how well it brought out harmonics and responded to tone control changes.


Didn't like The SHR-1b(Hot Rails) is intended for use in the bridge position. It is a very hot pup and may not clean up very well depending on your rig.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Pamanagm
Jun 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

An incredible pickup with many options.

Comments I bought the Hot Rails bridge pickup for my strat as a replacement for the standard strat pickup. I noticed others stating that the pickup is too hot for clean playing, but that is really not the case. The pickup wiring schematics give you many options, including coil splitting. When you combine this pickup with a push/pull pot, you get the best of both worlds.

In the humbucker mode, the pickup is incredibly quiet, with no noise at all. The sound is full, and has great tone. The sound is very top (treble) heavy, like traditional strat pickups, so it mixes perfectly with the existing strat pickups.

In the coil split, single coil mode, you get that "wonderful" 60 cycle hum, just like true strat pickups. The sound is very close to a standard strat pickup, with a nicer tone. Many times I play the rhythm in the single coil mode, and add some extra kick on the lead in the humbucker mode.


Liked about it An incredibly versatile pickup when used with a push/pull pot.
Excellent tone, in both single coil and humbucker modes.


Didn't like I've had this pickup for many years without issue, but here was one slight problem that I experienced with this pickup. A few years ago, I once noticed that the pickup sounded kinda weak. I simply couldn't understand it. Finally, I looked at the pickup, and the white casing was there, but the rails were missing. The pickup guts fell into the guitar. They dropped away from the pickup casing. It was a simple fix of snapping it back in, but I also reinforced it with a small piece of clear duct tape. No issues before the listed incident, and none since. It was probably because I did some Yngwie guitar toss. :) But, I've done that toss since without any issues.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By lespauled
Jul 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Best Single-Coil Bridge Pickup For Loud Music

Comments If you have a Strat and want to get play some metal, this pickup is for you. It's loud, biting, and in-your-face. It's actually a humbucker in a single-coil-sized package, though it can be also wired in as a single-coil. In humbucker mode, it sounds just like any other humbucker made for metal, with no hum and no compromise; in fact, it actually has more output than a handful of normal-sized humbuckers that I've used. However, in single-coil mode, all of its tonal properties are in-tact, though it has the properties of a single-coil pickup (including the hum). It also splits well with the middle-position pickup, creating a fuller sound than a generic bridge pickup would. Overall, I say this pickup is a must-have if you want to shred on your Strat. If not, why are you even looking into buying something called a "hot rails" pickup in the first place?


Liked about it It lives up to its name, and is perfect for any style of music that uses distortion. It also balances perfectly with the "Cool Rails" pickup in the neck, also made by Seymour Duncan, which works for getting a clean sound that on the other end of the tonal spectrum.


Didn't like They don't have a full-sized humbucker counterpart!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By EXshad
Jun 12, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Just got a set of these and wow

Comments I have to say I was really impressed, I recently got a guitar with aftermarket pickups...and you guessed it...it had a hotrail in it. I've played an original pro540p and it had great pickups but after getting one with aftermarket pickups...i gotta say i was really impressed about the tone you get out of the neck and middle hotrail. Sounds really full compared to any other pickup I could put in that slot. You won't be disappointed. They're super clear and sound amazing.


Liked about it Super clear tone! Super versatile! very sleek design! I will be using these pickups in my custom builds once I open my shop up.


Didn't like Hard to find fault in this product when it blew away the pickups in an all original pro540p, same one satriani is posing with on his album cover


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By paintyoursky
May 23, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Super high output without routing your axe!!!

Comments I own a Kramer Stagemaster Deluxe and this was the neck pick-up in my guitar. Soloing was like a dream the sound is so thick and sweet it's like melted chocolate. Awesome sustain and clarity, i was actually shocked by the clarity because of the output. I was very happy with all most everything about this pick-up, the sound, the looks,not that looks really matter to me. The price was a bit high when i bought the pick-up i believe i paid $99.00 dollars plus tax. I bought this pick-up in 1996 so i am sure the price is probably more reasonable now.


Liked about it The soloing on the distorted channel was awesome! Super thick and sweet with great attention to individual notes. I have also had a friend who had this pick-up in a Fender Strat in the bridge position and it made the guitar sound like a super metal machine! The sounds you can get from this pick-up weather its in your bridge or neck are fantastic! I would recommend it to anyone who has a single coil in the bridge and is looking for more output. The last thing i would like to say is that the pick-up surprised me because usually when you have this much output you lose tone and that's not the case with this pick-up.


Didn't like One thing i did not like is that the clean channel on the neck pick-up has a little too much low end and will distort if you play the slightest bit too hard. It is not really a big deal though because you can clean that right up by turning the bass down. Other than what i have just mentioned the pick-up is great in either position neck or bridge.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By rglover
Apr 06, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great choice for neck pickup, if you're a metal guy

Comments I bought this pickup to my HSS guitar because I wanted a good neck pickup lead sound. It did not disappoint me, it gives you a powerful sound with a lot of harmonics, it's pretty easy to pull some harmonics out of it, probably due to the ultra hot output. What I dislike of this pickup is that, while it sounds amazing on high gain stuff, it sounds undefined and muddy with clean sounds of all sort, and I include crunch tones here. I highly recommend this pickup for high gain sounds, but only for high gain sounds.


Liked about it 1) Great to pop up harmonics;
2) Good "neck pickup" sound for leads;
3) Fits a single coil cavity.


Didn't like 1) Sounds muddy for clean sounds;
2) Sounds dark when splitted and hooked with the mid-position single;
3) Output is hot... too hot.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Rachmaninoff
Dec 28, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Quite a good pup, but different. than they used to be.

Comments ten years or so ago, I had one in the bridge position of a Strat. At the time, I also had Parts-ocaster which just
happened to need a neck pickup. I had another Hotrails bridge model laying around. I discovered pure gold by accident: The model calibrated for the bridge was GREAT in the neck position! I can get harmonics and other tones that I never could get out of a neck pickup before. Highly recommended.


Liked about it The sound is hot,loud and aggressive. If thats' your thing, then this is what you're looking for. Well suited for rock,metal, and even some blues, depending on the rest of your rig.


Didn't like I bought another one recently, and they now have a plastic cover on them. That's a good thing because high 'E' strings tend to get caught up in the old ones. It's a BAD thing because they don't have quite the bite the uncovered ones do. Still a good pickup, though.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By robochimp
Nov 06, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Nice Shredbucker ;)

Comments You can use the SHR-1 in the middle- or bridge position. I'm using it in the middle position. It sounds great, gives you the punch and I'm enjoying to shred with it.


Liked about it - Crystal Clear Sound
- High Output
- You can split it
- Good to combine with neck or bridge pickup (especially for clean sounds)
- looks good ;)


Didn't like - It's way too warm for me in the clean settings.
- You can't make squeals and divebombs, unless you got the most brutal killer amp ever.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Marvin93
Sep 15, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores

Great replacement for a single coil

Comments I have one of these in my Charvel which replaced the original single coil. This is alot better than the single coil, it let me get a humbucker without routing a hum cavity.


Liked about it Better overdrive than standard single coils
Let me have a hum without routing
Sounds great


Didn't like Output not as high as I prefer, but its better than a single coil


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By IBNZ_RG
Oct 16, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $44 to $134
Compare Prices
at 10 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec66 spec374 spec573