Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.8 (6)
 Add a review

EBow PlusEbow Electronic Bow for Guitar Featured

 
Musical Instruments


Price: $99 to $107 at 5 stores
Searched EBow PlusEbow Electronic Bow for Guitar in Reviews
 

 

An interesting toy... featured

Comments I must have purchased this little device about 10 years ago. After the novelty wore off (after about 3 days), I think I've only picked it up on occasion. I can tell you that I found it is great for is infinite sustain on a single string, but I wasn't able to develop the technique required for those violin-style arpeggios across multiple strings that you can hear on the demo videos.

Also, you have to be very careful about placement on the string. There's this "hot-spot" you can cross when you get the Ebow close to the pole pieces on an active pickup, where the volume of the vibrating string shoots up about 5x what it was before. Also, it seems to work best on humbucking pickups versus single coils.

Would I recommend it? If you like interesting little toys, you bet. Don't expect that you'll be sounding like the guys in the videos right away, who probably have years of experiencing developing a technique with the Ebow specifically. (Phil Keaggy comes to mind.) Still it is fun to play with.

You're playing in a completely different style with an Ebow, where the attack on the notes is coming from hammer-ons and pull-offs.. A sustainer-pickup would be a better addition to your guitar if you're looking for some amazing sustain on picked notes. The advantage there is that you're able to play what you want with your regular picking style and just have the notes sing for as long as you can stand.


Liked about it Fairly simple to use. Simplistic design.


Didn't like Difficult to develop a good technique, it would take a lot of practice and dedication.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By PortlandAxe
Oct 24, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Great in small doses.

Comments The eBow is a clever little gadget. Small enough to bring with you anywhere and special enough to make people stop up trying to figure out how a guitar can make those sounds.

The eBow definitely favours the electric guitar, as it vibrates the string, sending a sustained flute-like tone via the pick ups to your amplifier. It's effect on a bass guitar or on acoustic guitars are rather limited.

The eBow is run with a 9v battery and has a three-way switch. Centered position is off then flicking to each side is either normal mode or stronger mode, giving a higher pitched sound.

To use the eBow, hover it over a string where you normally would pick with your picking hand. Using the neck pick up gives the best effect for traditional use and as you slide the eBow closer to the pick up, the sounding gets more intense.

Used with a compressor and a delay pedal, you can create nice rich textures in a song.
U2's "With Or Without You" is a good song to check out if you want to hear an example of the eBow.


Liked about it - Gives a distinct sound, almost flute like
- Endless sustain
- Feeds your creativity


Didn't like - Tricky to use when playing over more than one string
- Steep for it's rather limited use
- Danger of being over-used at first, only to be put away for good when the novelty wears of.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.5

By hp29
Dec 05, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Creative tool? Oh Yeah

Comments First off the shape of the unit and the way it feels when using the device; it feels like an extension of my hand. Battery life is excellent, lasting several hourly session and absent minded leaving on mishaps. The unit is easy to control and experiment with; I myself use different pressure with the unit on the strings and slowly push the unit closer and closer causing tension on the strings, I also change the placement on the neck, this also creates amazing tones and textures and for some amazing sound effect and overdriving the unit, hold the unit over the pickups. Sustain, sound effect, harmonics, it all there, have fun with it - try one out if you can ahead of time. The E-bow offers a whole area for guitarists to explore and be creative when playing. This is a great addition for any guitarist as the mechanics is very easy and intuitive to use. I even created a strap for it so that the unit hangs on the back guitar strap; I can just grab it in a second.


Liked about it Great design
Ease of use
This is a wheel house of ideas!!!


Didn't like I wish it was available in different colors and maybe even a clear model!


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By sporatic
May 13, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

An awesome creative tool for guitarists

Comments I originally purchased this about 3 years ago because I wanted to record guitar parts that sounded like keyboard parts. This little tool ended up opening a huge creative door in my writing and recording process. I started writing parts with the Ebow in mind to play them. I still use it now, but not as often. I do film soundtracks and use this with delay and slight overdrive for some really cool effects.


Liked about it Small
Very cool creative tool
Relatively cheap for what it has done for my music


Didn't like It isn't super sturdy
A learning curve is involved
Can sound repetitive if overused


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Severinsteelsmit
Nov 09, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

great product, amazing sounds

Comments I saw this on a guitar magazine, and i thought it would be a great buy. After messing around with it for a bit, I thought that the magazine definitely made it seem more amazing than it really was, but it still gave some amazing sounds.


Liked about it -long battery life
-awesome sound possibilities
-sturdy construction, able to withstand being dropped


Didn't like -a bit awkward to hold
-where do you put it while playing live?
-only sustains one string, compared to a sustainer


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Jet9
Jul 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Interesting if not world shaking.

Comments Uses 1 9v battery, fits in the palm of your hand, several different colors have been made.


Liked about it - Awesome effects
- Simple to use
- Good battery life.

The ebow is an interesting trinket and one that has been elevated to false standards by some.
It will take some getting used to the first few hours you toy with it, but from the beggining you will notice the power that is just unnatural and sustain soming from nowhere.
It was really fun tring it out on a couple of old acoustics at the house and even a 12 string martin that provided some erie slide fun.


Didn't like - Shape
- Learning curve
- Price. C'mon $100?


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By THEE HAMMER
Aug 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $99 to $107
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec53 spec357 spec573