Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
3.9 (9)
 Add a review

Seymour Duncan SH-13 Dimebucker Pickup Featured

 
Musical Instruments


Price: $58 to $81 at 5 stores
Searched Seymour Duncan SH-13 Dimebucker Pickup in Reviews
 

 

Far more dimension than it's given credit for featured

Comments I put it in the bridge of my RG270DX and it screams.

If you want the high pitched borderline screeching distortion, just crank the tone and cut some bass on the amp EQ and have at it.

If you want a more mellow distortion sound from it (almost like a 60s fuzz), all you have to do is turn down your tone knob and this pickup does it wonderfully. With the tone turned down it gives a great thick and bass filled fuzz tone.

If you want classic rock, it can do that too. Turn the tone back up and simply tweak your amp EQ and distortion until you are happy.

and on clean, this pick up surprised the you know what out of me. Compare it to a clean Fender and you will notice it has more bite. But it also has a very nice twang to it.

And which every way you use it, you will not hear much extra noise or buzz. For how "active" this pick up is, I was pleasantly surprised by the lack of unwanted noise from it. I was able to run this pick up on full gain without needing a noise gate.

Overall this is a damn good pick up and is far from the one trick pony reputation it has received. My advice is to go to your local guitar shop, find a Dean Dime with this pick up in it (wont be hard), plug it in and screw with the tone and amp settings to see what it can do.

It wont make you play like Dimebag, but really nothing can.


Liked about it 1. LOVE the tonal flexibility
2. Like that it isnt a 1 trick pony in terms of only doing distorted or only doing clean
3. Like the price


Didn't like 1. Didnt like the slight learning curve to really make the sounds pop
2. Didnt like the Dime signature on the top of it (just kinda looks cheesy to me)
3. Dont like how it can get a little to tinny for me taste at times


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By RI_RGplayer
Apr 30, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

An L500XL for everyone featured

Comments I have this pickup in a custom built Paduak RG type guitar. The original intention was to put in a Bill Lawrence L500XL to try and match Nuno Bettencourt's "tone of the gods", if not is playing :). Being in the UK and understanding that there is some confusion between the "Bill and Becky" units and the Bill Lawrence USA it was difficult to decide which way to go, until my guitar tech told me that this SH-13 was built for Dimebag with the intention of aping the L500XL as closely as possible. Obviously I did as I was told.

This pickup did not disappoint. It can achieve a variety of pretty aggressive tones, and you really do get a great tonal difference as you roll back the volume. This is pretty unusual in such a high output unit. The general feel if the sound is slightly compressed but with very good harmonics and good dymanics. In short if you hit it hard it bites back harder, and if you want to pretend to be Zakk Wylde, this will get your guitar screaming easier than a Bare Knuckle or an EMG. It also allows the sound of the guitar to come through, although perhaps not with the same clarity of an EVO. It is one of the few bridge pickups in fact that can sit comfortably with an EVO neck. The EVO is really voiced to work with a valve amp and the SH-13 does that very well, but since Dimebag used transistor amps (I think) it also works very well with a variety of digital equipment such as modellers.

The real suprise is the clean tone. It really is useable, even in the neck postion. It is quite a thick tone, so don't expect a strat vibe, but it has the right combination of warmth and bite to allow you to push an amp on the clean channel or roll back and get a noce rounded tone.

It is really rare to come across a pickup that actually stands apart from the crowd whilst being versatile enough to be a good all rounder.

If you have only one pickup slot in your guitar, use one of these.


It is probably important to point out that I have it wired with no tone control, so not really a standard installation.


Liked about it Distorted and Clean Tones are really good
Really versatile, copes with a variety of amps
A real alternative to the L500XL if you are having trouble sourcing one


Didn't like Difficult to match other pickups to get a balanced output
Individual string clarity note the best, particularly when distorted
Some smearing of the notes when tapping/sweeping, although that was in the bridge position.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By nickcoumbe
Oct 11, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Not Ideal For Detuning past DGCFAD.

Comments Depending type of tone wood and amplifier used with this pick up can be a headache to EQ. Has a very high output that requires a noise gate and a lot of EQ. If you have a Graphic EQ that is an even better option. Remember all of Dime's guitars were made from Mahogany and yes, this pickup sounds it's best in a Mahogany body. Will induce such high output it may squeal alot also.


Liked about it Good output, GREAT harmonic tone, great for really pushing signal path fr more gain. Tight lows, scooped mid frequency is just about right, highs can be toned down thankfully.


Didn't like Clean High end IS over bearing, very glassy or bell like. Requires lots of time to EQ and I dont recommend using if you detune. It will be very muddy and disappointing. Will push tube amps very well. Solid state will produce such tinny noise can be over bearing.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Robbles
Apr 25, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Just what I was looking for

Comments I have installed it to my Ibanez Destroyer as the replacement of the crappy pu I have bought it with. It was like Hell on Earth with my solid state Randall amp. Then I plugged it into the Engl, and I could hear Lucifer's demons marching straight at me...


Liked about it Like I said, it's like Hell unleashed. Brutal bottom, screamin' high tones, beautiful harmonics, perfectly fit for the low tuning I use... I even had to use lower gain settings and make a step back or it would have torn my face off (then probably chew on it and spit it right back at me). I once borrowed a friend's HK Tube 100 and had some bluesy low-gain jamming, and it also sounded just perfect. High output, no batteries, killer tone... What more could you ask for? It really made my guitar fit its name and become a true Destroyer.


Didn't like The clean sound. But who really cares... This is a weapon of destruction!!! Ha-ha... (It did sound great tho when used in combination with my neck pu.)


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By akela_v
Nov 11, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Grinding Yes, But TOO BRIGHT for My Tastes.

Comments Don't Get Me Wrong, "MAYBE" This Pickup Is PERFECT,"IF"
You Have An Alder or Mahogany Body Guitar,"& A Warm/Smooth Sounding "All Tube" Marshall/Mesa-Boogie,or Similar "Soft Sounding" Tube Amplification, This Pickup Can Be "Smoothed Out"!

My Experience with the Seymour Duncan SH-13 Is;
I Installed A Dimebucker Into a 1987 Jackson Neck Thru 1 Hum Soloist Model w/Ebony Fretboard,Floyd Rose, Maple Neck-Thru Center Block, Etc, and I Could NEVER Get This Pickup To Sound Good Even!?
In This Paticular Guitar, On A Tone Scale of; "Good-Better-Best"!

Pretty Sad Really!, But No Matter What, It Always Sounded REALLY "THIN", THINNER & MORE Trebly Sounding EVEN Than An Active EMG 81!?

That's When I TOO Was Wondering, "WTF"?!!?


Liked about it "MAYBE", the Fact That IT IS "ONE OF THE ONLY PICKUPS MANUFACTURED" BY SEYMOUR DUNCAN, THAT HAS "BLADE'S" FOR "POLEPIECES' RATHER THAN STANDARD VARIETY "POLEPIECES'.

I MEAN,THE ADVANTAGE WITH BLADES IS "NO DROPOUTS" IN OUTPUT WHEN
"BENDING STRINGS".


Didn't like "VERY THIN & TREBLY" SOUNDING!!, AND I SHOULD KNOW, I ENJOY CUSTOM PROGRAMMING MY PREAMPS, Adjusting E.Q'S.,AND OTHER TONE DEVICES AND LOVE, MOST OF THE TONES IVE CREATED.

AND HAVE NO PROBLEM WHATSOEVER WITH MY "OTHER PICKUPS/DISTORTIONS & AMP'S USING A VARIETY OF PICKUPS, DUNCAN INCLUDED!

"MAYBE YOU CAN HAVE DUNCAN'S "CUSTOM SHOP" MAKE YOU A VERSION OF THIS PICKUP USING AN "ALNICO OR NEO MAGNET" EVEN!, TO GET A "LESS THIN" SOUND OUT OF WHAT THEY CALL THE SH-13!

I Mean, I Never thought I Would See the Day, or find myself Saying "ANY" Seymour Duncan Pickup Sucks, Especially with Dimebag's Name On it, OR Was to Be Avoided!?!


Overall satisfaction:
 
1.0

By Metalbucker
Mar 07, 2010
 
Last updated: March 29, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Riding on dimebags name

Comments This is seymour duncans attempt to achieve the famous dimebag-tone.. Must say that it didn't do the trick, atleast for me. I used it in ESP SV standard.


Liked about it I liked the looks of it.. Dual blade, all black and cool.

It was great on picking up my artificial harmonics and stuff.

If the amp isn't gainy enough.. this pup will do the trick and crank up your distortion.


Didn't like Tone was sacrificed for the sake of sheer power. Output was humongous and it sounded very harsh and raw. And it was very scooped. I had it for like month and then sold it away.


Overall satisfaction:
 
2.0

By FrostStorm
Jan 21, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

The Overlord of Overdrive

Comments based on the bill lawrence xl-500 dual blade ceramic pickup, this is one of the hottest pickups on Earth!


Liked about it Everything!
-Sounds good in alder, maple, mahogany, and even ash guitars! I've had Dimebuckers in Ibanez Radius 540 and sz series guitars, A les paul studio, A Sg, A prs ce, A light ash Tele, A hwy 1 strat.... just5 about everything and it brings the fury out in each one.
-You can feel the bass and treble of this pickup 3x as much as a sd jb or a dimarzio distortion, harmonics are a breeze and it provides a startling clean tone as well.
-Think of the dryiest bass drum sounding riffage imaginable....it's right here.
-More affordable than the custom shop el-diablo's i was using before.
-No tone loss due to bending strings.
-No batteries.


Didn't like I can't find three things i don't like about this pickup but some people may not go for the higher output and charged tones, and perceive them as a lack of clarity... but you cant please everyone.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By THEE HAMMER
Aug 14, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

Dime would be proud.

Comments I put this in the bridge of my telecaster. I'd advice against putting this kind of pickup in the neck position. It took me 15 minutes to install it, and i liked it so much, i put it in my other guitar (Ibanez Iceman IC200.).


Liked about it I love how this pickup can bring harmonics out like no other pickup I've used, with no difficulty whatsoever. It also keeps my rhythms sounding nice and beefy. Not to mention the look of it, great pickup overall.


Didn't like The one thing i don't like about the pickup is its price. i paid $95 for it. Don't get me wrong, it's worth every penny, but a price around 75 would be ideal.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By tommychains
Jun 28, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores

It shreds your face off!!!

Comments I use it in my RG 350 DX and it's more brootal than an active pu. It really sounds like Dimebag and all. It's a good Pickup for the dudes who wanna shred it the hard way with a crystal clear sound.


Liked about it Everything..., and it looks great also.


Didn't like It sound's terrible when you shred it clean. It's definitely a distortion pickup.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Marvin93
Sep 02, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $58 to $81
Compare Prices
at 5 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec68 spec374 spec573