Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.6 (10)
 Add a review

Seymour Duncan SH-8 Invader Pickup Bridge Featured

 
Musical Instruments


Price: $49 to $68 at 4 stores
Searched Seymour Duncan SH-8 Invader Pickup Bridge in Reviews
 

 

Downtuned heavy music? Nothing better. featured

Comments The Seymour Duncan website states "Designed for the heaviest tones a passive pickup can produce" - I'm inclined to agree, definitely heavier and thicker gain sound created by the SH-8 than the Dimarzio D-Activactor pickups. The pickup features a combination of three ceramic magnets, over-wound coils and twelve black oxide cap screws which creates a large magnetic field and induces a larger current flowing through your wiring.

Rated on the Seymour Duncan website:

Bass - 7
Middle - 8
Treble - 6

the pickup also sits at 16.8 Ohm DC output, so is considered a hot pickup.
The pickup features a 4 way wiring connector as per standard humbucking pickups and hum cancelling technology.

I bought one of these pickups many years ago now and installed it into a Gibson Les Paul Gothic guitar. Now... I'm not a fan of Gibson guitars for their playability, this is Jemsite after all, however the tone and sound this pickup outputted, is amongst the best I have ever heard from a solid body guitar going into a high gain amp. End of.

The attack and sheer balls produced by this pickup when driven have to be heard to be believed. This pickup is one of the few that literally gives you a little something special in the area it is designed to deliver into. Much like the Super 3 gives roaring hot mids, this pickup is mental drive and distortion delivered when used in a solid body guitar. I tuned to drop C on the Les Paul with this guitar and I was seriously impressed by the tones and noise generated.

This pickup makes no excuses for what it is, an absolutely excels at what it does, therefore it gets 5 stars. Want to sound like Crowbar, Hatrebreed, Devil Driver and don't fancy active pickups? Passive wise you will not find anything better, buy this, you will not be disappointed.


Liked about it Playing downtuned metal with heavy strings... you won't get much better tone or punch, it's sickeningly good.
The fat poles on the top of the pickup do their job and look kinda cool, maybe like a lego block?
Like the fact there is a 7 string model available, of which I currently have one as well :)
The attitude. Full stop. Combined with the right amp and guitar this pickup is part of the dream team for loud, downtuned metal.


Didn't like Nothing much to be honest, this pickup is not designed to be subtle, tactile or give a vintage sound.
For what it is designed to do, this pickup is faultless, just don't buy this expecting great versatility.
One thing that has already been mentioned on here is due to the slightly larger magnetic field created by the pickups mental 3 magnets and large screw caps, you will be far better off with thicker strings positioned slightly higher than normal over the pickups surface. Not a big problem just something to keep in mind.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By D1m3b4g2
May 08, 2010
 
Last updated: May 13, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Punchy & TIGHT! featured

Comments Whats COOL about Seymour Duncans INVADER Pickup Is How Responsive IT IS To Your Fingers & Pick Scrapes & Attack, etc. Sorta Sounds Like The SH-6 Duncan Distortion,(Crisp Ceramic Magnet Clarity & Fast Attack)

But FATTER/DARKER, REALLY GREAT "IF" You Have A Quality High Gain
ANALOG Solid State Amp,
Like A Randall, Ampeg, Hughes & Kettner, Carvin, Ibanez, etc, or Analog/Solid State Overdrive/Distortion Pedals like Ibanez Tube Screamers, Boss Mt-2 Metal Zone, etc, etc, That May Have A Killer Distortion,
But MAY BE A Bit "Bright/Cold" Sounding!

Having Said That, This Pickup is A "BEAST" in These High Gain Analog Solid State Amps & Pedals! Don't get me wrong, This Pickup DOES Also Sound Excellent in "ALL DIGITAL" Amp's & Pedals,

Such As My Roland Cube 60 60watt 1x12 Combo Amp, As well As My Line 6 Uber Metal Pedal,Korg 104ds Hyper Metal Pedal, Zoom G21u/PFX-9003, &
Digitech Black 13, Scott Ian/Anthrax Distortion/Amp Modeling Pedals.

All Im' Saying Is I Believe This Invader Does BETTER at Overdriving "Old School" ANALOG/Solid State Amps & Or Analog Solid State Distortions & Overdrive Pedals, which Is EXACTLY what It was Designed To Do Initially, when Finalized at Seymour Duncan Around 1984/1985.


Liked about it FAST Ceramic Magnet Punch! You Can Feel as Well as Hear Thru your Amp and Speakers!,

Thick Tone, yet NOT Muddy! Like when Playing SINGLE NOTE Melodies or Lead Lines, the Sound Is Very Clear, Yet Very Fat, Clean OR Distorted Tone! Or Playing 2nd Fret D & G Chords With Full Distortion, All Sound VERY FAT, Yet CRISP, that you only Experience with Ceramic Magnet Pickups!

Start Playing A "Plucky/Muted" Open D String And Witness The "Killer Tone", PERFECT For Any of those Metal Riffs" you Learned Back in the 80's in "D", Like Accept's "Losing More than you Ever Had', Metallica's 'Call of Kutulu', Def Leppard's Rock Brigade, Etc, All Sound SO AMAZING Out of This Pickup,
it Absolutley Sounds BETTER than the Original Songs Really!

Also, Rumor Had it Back in the Day, that Guitarist Jake E. Lee Recorded A LOT of Ozzy's "Bark at the Moon" album/Cd using various Invader Prototype Pickups Mr. Seymour Duncan was working on at the time in 1983.

Listening to this Cd and Live Shows from the "Bark" Tour, It Really Does Have That Invader Thickness!


Didn't like The ONE thing you do have to WATCH OUT For with the INVADER SADLY is whats known as "Magnetic Pull"!. Hopefully you're Using AT LEAST a 010 to 046 Regular Light String Set in Regular "A-440" Tuning.

No "Sissy" (009 to 042) B.S., Or "Lesser" String Gauges Apply!, AND "IF" You Play In LOWER TUNINGS Than That, I REALLY Recommend upping your String Gauges Accordingly.
I mean, Ive Had Great Results with the 010 to 052 Light Top Heavy Bottom Set Tuned Down as Far as C# Tuning!, And, I Think If You Want To Go Any Lower than that, you Need to Up your "Low End" String Gauges to at Least a 054 or 056, or 060 Even, If You Really Want To SOUND Like A "Musician", with this Pickup!

Also, When Tuned Down at C#, after a while I Started To Drop "D", in this C# Tuning, which Actually, In "Pitch/Tone" Is Drop "B"! So Its Really Fat, as Far As Down Tuning LOW Goes while Still remaining in Familiar 6-String Territory!

At this Drop B setting, my E String 052 was "Too Flimsy", So I Bought Separate 'D', 'A', & Low 'E' Strings 032,044 & 056 Gauges from D'Addario to Handle My New "Drop B" Setting and it Worked out Excellently!.

Most String Brands Have This 010 to 052 Set. Personally, I Recommend The D'Addario XL140 Light Top/Heavy Bottom 010 to 052 Set, And Im' Looking at getting their EXL117 Med Top/X-Heavy Bottom, 011 to 056 Set, Next time I Buy Strings, Simply Because Of The BEST TONE & "Pitch Focus" You'll Always Get with These D'Addario Strings!.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By Metalbucker
Mar 07, 2010
 
Last updated: April 10, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Great tone, with plenty of drive and a unique look.

Comments I was introduced to this pick-up through a buddy of mine back in 2003. Considering his style of music and overall sound, I didn't think it would work for me. But desperate for an upgrade, overwhelmed by the information overload of the web and trying to stay clear of EMG's, (because it seems every metal guitarist has them) I picked up the Invader.


Liked about it It has a very thick, driven tone. Crunchy and articulate when coupled with lighter strings. However, always keep in mind, amp settings, type of guitar and or wood + picking style all effect your sound. I've got this pickup loaded in 3 different guitars and the tone varies with all of them. The most intense combo I run is an SG (Gibson), tuned a whole step down to D (top string dropped to C) with the following gauge: 11,14,18,36,52,70 - Your ability to 'noodle' is slightly diminished but the sound is tremendous. My first time plugging in, I needed to completely change my amp settings. Bring the mids up and drop the bass considerably. For what I was doing at the time, it was perfect.


Didn't like What's to dislike? Aah yes, the retail price. A tad cheaper would be nice, but highly unlikely.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By ReyConTetas
Aug 20, 2010
 
Last updated: August 30, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

These pickups are smokin hot

Comments very sharp, very metal, very heavy, highest output pickup I've ever used as far as passive pickups are concerned


Liked about it It suits my style for metal and hard rock really well, tons of dark tone and very bright at times. This thing sounds brutal. I have a hard time putting it down after starting to play. If you're used to writing heavy riffs on a pickup that is less brutal you'll be writing even heavier riffs once you plug into one of these.


Didn't like For recording purposes we had to track a gibson sg with a 500t bridge pickup, the sh-8 was giving a very muddy tone when cranked and tuned low. You can't drop past drop C without losing a lot of clarity which is fine for playing live but sucks for tracking in the studio.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By paintyoursky
May 22, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Duncan Invader

Comments Seymour Duncan pick-up i used to own a Peavey Nitro in 93 that had 2 humbuckers and both of the pick-ups were Invaders.


Liked about it Awesome harmonics, great sustain, super high output these are the things i liked. great for metal. The distorted sound was way thick!! You can hit the 12th fret b string on the neck pick-up and the note will literally ring forever,at least it did on the Nitro.


Didn't like The pick-up lacks in tone, most people do not realize that when you add tons of output your tone will usually suffer.Also i would like to say i have tried the invader on 2 types of wood, Basswood and alder, and it lacks in tone on both woods. The clean sound on the neck pick-up is so thick that your amp will naturally distort. when on both the bridge and neck its better but still muddy. The bridge is so loud you would never want to play on it clean. I personally like mid output pick-ups i received this guitar for Christmas when i was 13 and by the time i was 14 i knew i did not like these pick-ups. This is my personal opinion i am not saying the pick-up is bad its high quality construction,and i never had one problem with reliability. I personally think the tone is terrible distorted or clean. the neck pick-up is ok for soloing if you like a fat sound. Final verdict, way too much output.


Overall satisfaction:
 
3.0

By rglover
Mar 19, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Caparison Horus test with Invader instead of the EXPENSIVE BARE KNUCKLE AFTERMATH

Comments Its a perfect sharp humbucker for the low tunes, tested the sound in the guitar tuned in first F#,then G#, A, A#, D and D#, and at the last time E,
I changed the strings 3 times. 14-68 strings on the heaviest, .49 on D. and D#, And with the standard strings E.


Liked about it Perfect for lower tunings. Very sharp for E maybe... Maybe so it would be betther with Custom sh5 sh6..


Didn't like Nothing, its the pickup "maybe" Bare Knuckles totally have copied with the holes etc... Cheap Humbucker!! +++++


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By fireheart82
Feb 23, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Absolutely amazing PU for what style I play

Comments I had a Seymour Duncan Distortion in my guitar back in 1990 last time I played. I knew I liked it I was looking for another when I noticed this monster. I did a little research and decided I had to try it. I love it so much I bought another for my project I am working on.


Liked about it powerful. I love the huge allen bolts on top makes it look mean. I like having 4 wires alos in case I decide to do some other style of wiring instead of just coil tap. I really like the tone and the chunk,cha,cha,cha I get when speed picking palm mutted with my GNX4. I also like the way once I cleaned it up and used some protective stuff for plastic how nice the screws and plastic thing under it clean up and look so nice. It really does look cool in my guitar.


Didn't like I got it used so it was not so expensive. I wish they werent quite so expensive I would love to have a set for neck and bridge. I have only seen bridges used and I have spent a little to much so say girlfriend so I am unable to convince her I need about $80 for another pickup when she knows I have 3 INFS in a box in my guitar parts collection. only thing I can think that is a con is the price.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By spudler_t
Feb 16, 2010
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

THUMP THUMP THUMP THUMP

Comments If high-gain pounding bass is your thing then this is your pickup. People in the front row will get detached retinas from your low-E chugs. Having said that, the pickup is surprisingly not muddy, but has a well-defined EQ curve that keeps the low-end power from becoming too dark.


Liked about it Wicked-Evil looking oversized pole pieces.
Not too bright like some other high-gain bridge pickups.


Didn't like Doesn't clean up very well.
A little overpriced.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By racerevlon
Sep 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Powerful

Comments It sounds like an evo but with more bass and less mids.Awesome for heavy distortion.


Liked about it It sounds like if you had a compressor in it.It turns a crunch distortion into a hi-gain distortion.


Didn't like It should comes with more colors.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By 6fingers
Aug 06, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores

Value for your money!!!

Comments Lets say first off, this review is from a thrash/prog/metal player!!! That said, the SH-8 Invader pick-up was installed in an Ibanez RG550 in the bridge position, running into a Line6 XT Pro and out of M-Audio BX5a studio monitors.


Liked about it 1-Quality construction
2-Great clarity
3-Looks unique

I found the sound to be clear, bright and loud, but not overly loud to the point where it becomes a non versatile pick up...ie.it can still be used for rock or commercial purposes!
It also has a unique look about it, no other pick-up looks like it!!!!


Didn't like Really nothing bad to say about the SH-8.....maybe a variety of colors would make it a little more interesting on the eye!!


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By UV-7-BK
Aug 05, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $49 to $68
Compare Prices
at 4 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec68 spec374 spec573