Find Reviews and Compare Prices for:
 
 
 
 
User rating
 
4.5 (8)
 Add a review

Audacity Featured

 
Audacity is free, open source software for recording and editing sounds. It is available for Mac OS X, Microsoft Windows, GNU/Linux, and other opera


Price: $2 to $30 at 17 stores
Searched Audacity in Reviews
 

 

Useful tools for beginners.

Comments In a world where a poor college musician can't save the money to buy expensive recording software or pay for studio time, Audacity came around and made life easy....kind of. As far as a recording software, this is a very versatile piece of software. It's very easy to record and export files of all types.

I've used it for a wide variety of things, from transferring records to sound files, recording demos, or even making mash ups for fun. I've even used this to mix demos recorded by friends at local studios, but who were unhappy with the results. This software can be extremely useful, but it does have some disadvantages.

The prepackaged effects are usable, but barely so in some cases. The ability to use VST plugins is definitely a plus. If you're a bit more computer savvy, you can usually learn to use these to some success, but typically not to studio standards.

For people making home demos or bands trying to post something online, this software will work (see song demo I made a few years back, one of the first things I recorded and mixed on audacity. Please forgive the musicianship. I'd been playing drums for about 1 month when I made this, and it was my first time recording by myself.)

Sing the Changes Cover (video)



Liked about it 1. It's free.
2. Has a wide variety of uses.
3. VST plugin capability useful. And it's free.


Didn't like 1. Difficult to learn how to use.
2. Not all VST plugins are compatible.
3. Quality of effects not up to professional standards, but did I mention it's free?


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By paulramon1992
Feb 15, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Easy to use recording software

Comments Audacity is a free program, which plays, records and edits songs. You can add your own effects (Flanger, Chorus, Phaser etc) using the inbuilt settings in the program. Its fairly straight forward to use, it was the first recording software i ever used and i managed to figure it out pretty easily.


Liked about it Free
Fairly easy to use
Lots of possibilities


Didn't like Not much to dislike with this program. The fact is its free and does a decent job so that means a lot.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Mike239
Nov 07, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

One of the first daws I used and I did not know it!

Comments Man this Daw is somthing special;I mean dont get me wrong but if it had more stable vst support and mixer routing system, I would so use this as a left hand tool!

Im not going to compare the audio editing abilites of this software to ableton live but it very good for simple,non complex,beginner editing. Especially if your need of audio are very low, or your a video editor looking for a quick edit that sony vegas or adobe could not do/get or access to some tools such as pitch editing, spacing, cutting,chopping,etc...


Liked about it Free!
*stable
*Great tools
*Great for beginners who want basic recording needs and not ready to shell out money (or you know what)for a new DAW they will have to learn to use properly to get the most of use.
*Export Mp3. or Wav.


Didn't like Not a good Midi composing tool or using Midi for vst's
*Not the best for heavy usage


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By Aires
Apr 21, 2012
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Straightforward and Free

Comments This was my first audio editing program, and one that I still use when I don't need something as comprehensive as Live 7-07. Incredibly easy to learn/use, and it works well too. Everything you need in a free program.


Liked about it ~free
~straightforward, easy to use and easier to set up than most recording software
~useful for more than audio editing, you can slow down solos for easy learning


Didn't like ~not as comprehensive as other programs. But hey, it's free.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Jet9
Oct 02, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

A must have!

Comments It's FREE and probably the most popular 2 track editor available (even though it will do more than 2 tracks). It reminds me of Sound Designer, Cool Edit, Bias Peak. All great 2 track editors from the past.


Liked about it It's FREE, fast, and worked perfect for an Album to CD project I worked on. It actually has noise and crackle plug-ins built in.


Didn't like Can't complain too much about a FREE program but it would be nice if it eventually had realtime plugins. I think all DSP is destructive.


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.5

By Tarz N Amps
Jul 12, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Great, free product

Comments This is a great, free product. It can be used to record, edit, or completely changes some aspects of songs. It has a very simple layout, and it's an easy program to figure out.


Liked about it 1. You can slow down songs a bit to help hear them better
2. You can change the key of the song (very subtle changes or else the vocals suck)
3. It's FREE!


Didn't like 1. Cheap track editing
2. Not the versatility of say Logic Pro 9
3. You're limited to only a few tracks (2, I believe)


Overall satisfaction:
 
4.0

By GroovyTubes
Feb 16, 2011
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Useful Tool!

Comments I use this program mainly to learn songs if they are too fast or something is hard to hear.


Liked about it First off it's free! That's always a plus. I really like how you can change the pitch of a song so if none of your guitars are setup for a certain tuning you don't have to mess around retuning. I also like how you can change the tempo without affecting the pitch, very useful for learning fast passages that you can't find tab for.


Didn't like Nothing wrong with it for it being free. You get far more than what you'd expect! Although don't expect a protools competitor or anything like that, just decent freeware.


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By brothersnowgone
Oct 27, 2009
 
Last updated: March 06, 2010
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores

Best FREE recording sofware around

Comments I always use this software to record my music. All I have to do is plug my amp into my computer, press record and just jam out, It's that simple. I can also shorten clips, add effects, adjust volume and adjust pitch. The recording dont come out like studio recordings, but i thinks thats just because c of my leck of fancy equipment.


Liked about it Easy to use
Free
Edit pitch, volume and speed


Didn't like Not much of an ability to edit as more expensive editing and recording software


Overall satisfaction:
 
5.0

By IBNZ_RG
Oct 23, 2009
 
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes No

Report this review
 
Price: $2 to $30
Compare Prices
at 17 stores
 
 
























Something wrong in this page? Let us know!
internal use: spec84 spec638 spec562