<back   Jemsite > Off-topic & Polls > Off-topic / Miscellaneous

Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

Old 01-12-2013, 11:58 AM

How many of you know a real life Rain Man?

I just saw the movie Rain Man again somewhat recently and was astounded.

Based on a man with autism, the movie actually exaggerates the real man's (Kim Peek) inability to cope but has captured some of the real life quirks and brain's focus too much on intellectual and not so much on day to day living and common sense.

I have a friend, PhD and in computer science, who has that incredible memory and attention to detail (he can program complex stuff in just 0s and 1s) and it fascinates me to no end.

Another man I saw today walking around market at really specific time, who I originally mistook for someone with down's syndrome with thick neck and mongoloid features (also common with many asperger's and autistic people), literally knows every song hit from the 1980s as it pertains to Billboard and many other tunes from the 50s, 60s, and 70s. He's a little more disabled in that he can't or shouldn't drive but in another level of intelligence up from my PhD friend.

An '80s Berlin song comes on, and instantly with about five or six notes, he mentions band, song title, highest number on charts, and month and day of that event. It just kills me to no end and he's far more accurate and quick than Google. When I think of a guitar tune I want to mention here but can't quite remember enough to Google it, I should hum a few notes to this guy and I bet he could get it, with all stats, on the fly.

Do you guys/gals know anybody like that?
Old 01-12-2013, 04:37 PM

Re: How many of you know a real life Rain Man?