<back   Jemsite > Off-topic & Polls > Off-topic / Miscellaneous

Off-topic / Miscellaneous Talk about miscellaneous stuff off-topic and not related to music, guitars or bands. No music, gear or anything guitar related here please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2013, 04:09 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

SATA 2 HD problem


Bought new hd.
No way puter recognizes it.
Exchanged sata connections and cables, reset cmos.
Nothing but all sata ins recognize dvd recorder.
Then before giving up I tried again and hd was there
While installing xp, I created a partition, when asked to format it, puter couldn't access hd anymore.
Then stopped recognizing it again.

After 1 hour I'm trying again, it's formatting a partition but i guess soon it'll loose access to hd again.

Does anybody know something about it?
Of course first guess would cables but cables are good and sata connections too.
Puter recognizes dvd player and sometimes even this damn hd

BTW yes I google'd but seems like no answer could help the ones who had this problem.
Or helpers are crap guessers and know nothing about it or puters geniuses are hiding some tricks
quote
  #2  
Old 01-24-2013, 04:18 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,655  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Take it back and get a replacement, you've probably got a faulty HDD.
quote
  #3  
Old 01-24-2013, 04:26 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by LonePhantom View Post
Take it back and get a replacement, you've probably got a faulty HDD.
Can't, tomorrow is holiday here so I have to wait till monday.
Plus I bought it on brazilian ebay so God only knows if they will replace it.
If I was a lawyer...
quote
  #4  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:20 PM
(a)
jemsite  is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 9,555  -  iTrader: (5)
Reviews: 1

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


you lost me at XP.

ROTFLMAO put on Windows 8. ...glen

ps -the sata card might not support the drive if indeed the drive is OK. Test the drive with a USB sata reader.
quote
  #5  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:29 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


That's a computer for recording, all programs and plugins I have work perfectly with xp, with other windows there are some conflicts.
No need to change what's working perfectly besides that hd problem, the others hds I have are the same model and have no problem with xp and drives, motherboard doesn't recognizes it before installing xp so win has nothing to do with that

Last edited by 6fingers; 01-24-2013 at 08:34 PM.
quote
  #6  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:36 PM
j.arledge  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,250  -  iTrader: (36)

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


you could try a sled. turns the hard drive in to basically a jump drive. Boot with the old drive and then copy an image to the new hard drive.

i assume you are trying to gain more space?
quote
  #7  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:43 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


There's no old drive.
There's only this new drive.
I plug it and most of the time mother board can't recognize it, it's brand new, no windows.
Sometimes it recognizes it but when i try to format it to install win, in the middle of formatting win stops and says it can access that drive anymore.
Never had that problem before.
quote
  #8  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:44 PM
(a)
jemsite  is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 9,555  -  iTrader: (5)
Reviews: 1

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


most likely a failing drive. but connect to an external sata<>usb connector on a live/working pc to test the drive further
quote
  #9  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:53 PM
j.arledge  is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Midland, TX
Posts: 2,250  -  iTrader: (36)

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by jemsite View Post
most likely a failing drive. but connect to an external sata<>usb connector on a live/working pc to test the drive further
yep that is the only other thing i can think of.

Check your bios and make sure it isn't trying to boot from cd/dvd first. I dont really know what else it could be.
quote
  #10  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:53 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by jemsite View Post
most likely a failing drive. but connect to an external sata<>usb connector on a live/working pc to test the drive further
Yep tomorrow I'll try it with another puter.
Just tried again and, if i reset cmos, it recognizes it, then while trying to format it, again it lost access.
Damn the evil puter spirit started haunting me :lol;

Thanks guys for trying to help.
quote
  #11  
Old 01-24-2013, 08:56 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by j.arledge View Post
yep that is the only other thing i can think of.

Check your bios and make sure it isn't trying to boot from cd/dvd first. I dont really know what else it could be.
It could be a motherboard problem but since it's working with other drives and it recognizes dvd recorder, I guess it's not.
quote
  #12  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:05 PM
Diamond Dave  is offline
Classified Watchdog
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 734  -  iTrader: (12)

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Build treva (6fingers) free computer thread...?
quote
  #13  
Old 01-24-2013, 09:14 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamond Dave View Post
Build treva (6fingers) free computer thread...?
quote
  #14  
Old 01-24-2013, 10:06 PM
6fingers  is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Posts: 4,982  -  iTrader: (0)
Reviews: 64

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Righ now motherboard recognized it and before installing xp, I created a new partition.
It's formatting it now.
That's when it always stopped.
GGGGGGGGGGGGRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR
quote
  #15  
Old 01-24-2013, 11:30 PM
(a)
RGTFanatic  is online
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 8,410  -  iTrader: (18)
Reviews: 2

Re: SATA 2 HD problem


Do you have more than one sata port on the motherboard?? If you do try that. If not, you should re-install your motherboard drivers.

The Sata controller on the MB could be bad too. What motherboard do you have??
__________________

quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SSD drives vs Sata shredmaster Off-topic / Miscellaneous 16 08-05-2011 02:34 PM
Wierd Lo-Pro Edge 7 problem... big problem! Jupiter Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 06-11-2003 01:43 PM
another problem woodros Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 3 07-03-2002 09:49 AM
UV777BK trem problem - I think it is a problem (shrug) Scoff X Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 5 09-21-2001 12:59 AM
Any problem setting up for BEADGB? - Any problem setting up Pudreaux JEM and Universe Guitars 2 06-28-2001 02:56 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by