Comparison Shopping
Reviews
Gallery
Jemsite Blog
Forums
Home
Jemsite
>
Guitars and Gear
>
JEM and Universe Guitars
HELP please: FAKE or not?
User Name
Remember Me?
Password
Register
FAQ
Calendar
iTrader
Mark Forums Read
JEM and Universe Guitars
For discussion of Ibanez JEM and Universe guitars only.
Go to Page...
Page 1 of 3
1
2
3
NEXT >
Thread Tools
Display Modes
#
1
07-27-2008, 02:02 PM
Gregman
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 7 - iTrader: (
0
)
HELP please: FAKE or not?
It's my new message on this forum, so first of all, hi everybody.
I have seen a jem 7v supposed to be Korean made (?) and I want to know your opinion about this.
The seller says that the guitar has:
- Edge Pro bridge
-
Evolution pickups
in all positions
- Fast neck
- Made in Korea, bought in United States in June 2008
- Same weight and sound (comparing to the original 7v)
Here are the pics:
http://img244.imageshack.us/my.php?i...7772927cs6.jpg
http://img392.imageshack.us/my.php?i...6296246cl9.jpg
http://img392.imageshack.us/my.php?i...4819565ju9.jpg
http://img372.imageshack.us/my.php?i...3342884bb5.jpg
So, what do you think?
Gregman
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Gregman
#
2
07-27-2008, 02:07 PM
funkdubious
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 707 - iTrader: (
3
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
The pics look alright,certainly looks like a Jem 7v and not a chinese copy.Jem 7's aren't made in Korea though,so maybe he just made a mistake about it's origin
funkdubious
View Public Profile
Find all posts by funkdubious
#
3
07-27-2008, 02:17 PM
Eco
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Aycliffe, England
Posts: 693 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Ask for a picture of the back of the headstock showing the serial number.
If its Fxxxxx then he's just made a mistake about the origin, if it begins with anything else its probably a bit dodgy
Eco
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Eco
#
4
07-27-2008, 02:30 PM
For_The_Love_Of_Jems
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 624 - iTrader: (
57
)
Reviews: 1
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
That is not an edge pro bridge, it is a Lo Pro(or a copy of a Lo Pro). The gold finish looks worn on the tuners and the nut. I had mine for years, and it didn't get worn like that. It makes me suspicious.
I would say you should get more pictures with better close ups, then you can judge it better. Make sure you get pictures of the back head stock, body and handle.
For_The_Love_Of_Jems
View Public Profile
Find all posts by For_The_Love_Of_Jems
#
5
07-27-2008, 02:40 PM
elcid
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 8,718 - iTrader: (
12
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Fake
Look at the screw on the top of the truss rod cover, its not centered, also the pole pieces dont appear to be gold. Try to get some better pics, but I'd avoid it completely.
Aslo he can give you an FXXXXX serial number, but that doesnt mean it's a valid number. All 7 Jems are Japaneses.
elcid
View Public Profile
Find all posts by elcid
#
6
07-27-2008, 02:44 PM
GilkyBear
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,110 - iTrader: (
16
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
The screws on the truss rod cover on my '93 are in the exact same places (but mine are gold). Looks like the real deal to me or they are getting very dangerously good at faking them.
GilkyBear
View Public Profile
Find all posts by GilkyBear
#
7
07-27-2008, 02:47 PM
elcid
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 8,718 - iTrader: (
12
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Quote:
Originally Posted by
GilkyBear
The screws on the truss rod cover on my '93 are in the exact same places (but mine are gold).
Really? That looks terrible.
elcid
View Public Profile
Find all posts by elcid
#
8
07-27-2008, 02:58 PM
GilkyBear
Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 4,110 - iTrader: (
16
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Yeah, I don't think I have ever seen one in a different location. The pole pieces don't look very gold but they could just be tarnished and at least they are hollow poles on the PAFs. The middle coil is staggered. I think looking at the tarnisihing on the gold hardware that it is just an older model.
My vote goes for real.
GilkyBear
View Public Profile
Find all posts by GilkyBear
#
9
07-27-2008, 03:00 PM
Gregman
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Spain
Posts: 7 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
First of all, thanks everybody for the answers
I asked him and he said that the guitar is a korean replica, so It's not the real thing.
On the other hand, the description says that it has edge pro bridge, evolution pickups and a fast neck, bougth in the United States and he says that it sounds just as the original.
I'm confused. I asked him for new pics and information. I'll post all my impressions there as soon as possible.
Gregman
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Gregman
#
10
07-27-2008, 03:07 PM
elcid
Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: chicago
Posts: 8,718 - iTrader: (
12
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Korean replica = fake
He can tell you it sounds like the real thing all he wants, bottom line is it's not the real thing and aside from legal issues, the quality isnt there
elcid
View Public Profile
Find all posts by elcid
#
11
07-27-2008, 03:46 PM
JM5150
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 527 - iTrader: (
6
)
Reviews: 1
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Hard to tell from the pics if the last four frets are scalloped either....looks kinda fake to me
JM5150
View Public Profile
Find all posts by JM5150
#
12
07-27-2008, 04:05 PM
Lefty Robb
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Worcester,MA
Posts: 4,930 - iTrader: (
11
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Man, if thats fake, thats the best looking one to date!! Lo-Pro, handle is correct, headstock looks good, eccept the IBANEZ logo should be gold as well has the truss rod screws I think. And yeah, the gold shouldn't wear off everything that fast, even the tuners, yikes.
Just need pics of the back.
Makes you wonder if were actually helping them by pointing out all the flaws so they can keep correcting them to make 'em look better.
Last edited by Lefty Robb; 07-27-2008 at
04:12 PM
.
Lefty Robb
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Lefty Robb
#
13
07-27-2008, 04:21 PM
funkdubious
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 707 - iTrader: (
3
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
Yeah,I was looking at it again and the Ibanez logo should be in gold,but maybe that's down to the photo.
I reckon the whole deal seems to be too complicated to make it worthwhile. These guitars aren't hard to find so maybe go for another
funkdubious
View Public Profile
Find all posts by funkdubious
#
14
07-27-2008, 05:34 PM
Batchimp RG
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London, UK
Posts: 2,378 - iTrader: (
2
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
That pickguard looks weird to me....looks like he's gone to a lot of effort to make it look real.
Batchimp RG
View Public Profile
Find all posts by Batchimp RG
#
15
07-27-2008, 05:42 PM
funkdubious
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southampton,England
Posts: 707 - iTrader: (
3
)
Re: HELP please: FAKE or not?
More pics? the bay number 330256155727. This has been there a long time (or the pics have been lifted from the site)
funkdubious
View Public Profile
Find all posts by funkdubious
Page 1 of 3
1
2
3
NEXT >
Tags
cottam guitars
,
ebony boards
,
evolution pickups
You may also search for:
People searched for this, also searched for these:
how to tell a fake jem 7
how to tell a fake jem7v
how to detect a fake stradivarius
how to spot fake ibanez guitars
how to tell an ibanez fake
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version
Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode
Show/Hide
Posting Rules
You
may not
post new threads
You
may not
post replies
You
may not
post attachments
You
may not
edit your posts
BB code
is
On
Smilies
are
On
[IMG]
code is
On
HTML code is
Off
Show/Hide
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
FAKE??
Hamer098
Vendors, Auction & Reseller Talk
9
03-24-2009
03:18 AM
Is This Fake?
560licious
Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums)
5
03-14-2007
01:05 PM
Is this a fake?
AKMG
JEM and Universe Guitars
1
02-12-2007
08:40 PM
What to look for in a fake?
CaptainOi
JEM and Universe Guitars
15
07-16-2006
07:49 PM
Fake, isn't it?
welmo
JEM and Universe Guitars
56
07-30-2005
06:52 PM
Sitemap:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
All times are GMT -4. The time now is
08:13 AM
.
-- Default Style
---- Mobile Default
-- Mobile Alabama
Contact Us
-
Jemsite.com: Ibanez JEM/UV guitars & more
-
Archive
-
Privacy Statement
-
Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com