Edge replacement for a Floyd??? - Jemsite
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars Discussion about JS (Joe Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-12-2015, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 5
Edge replacement for a Floyd???

I'm curious. Can you replace an Original Floyd Rose with an Original Edge 250mm tremolo without having to route the guitar?? Also, the guitar in question has a 10" fretboard radius, that's why I'm asking about the JS Edge 250mm. Am I right to assume that would work better with a 10" radius than the regular Original Edge Trem?
monnkey2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-13-2015, 06:45 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114
Reviews: 2
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

If you can find an Edge that speciffically came out of a JS, it MIGHT work- but doubtful.

What guitar are you looking to put an Edge into?


RGTFanatic is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-13-2015, 07:06 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 5
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

Thinking about doing it in a Carvin DC400W
monnkey2 is offline  
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2015, 12:27 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Greece
Posts: 824
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

If the trem fits the guitar, I believe you can adjust the radius with shims under the saddles. I believe that's how it is done in the JS as well...
jazzedout is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2015, 05:27 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 523
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post
I'm curious. Can you replace an Original Floyd Rose with an Original Edge 250mm tremolo without having to route the guitar?? Also, the guitar in question has a 10" fretboard radius, that's why I'm asking about the JS Edge 250mm. Am I right to assume that would work better with a 10" radius than the regular Original Edge Trem?
I'm pretty sure you'll have to modify the route. Whether you'll go for chisel/sand/elbow grease or route is up to you.

OFR routing template shows an overall length of 3.125" vs. 3 5/16" of Edge. On the OFR, overall minus the fine tuner length is 1.6707" vs slightly over 1.75" on the Edge, so you'll definitely have to modify the main pocket and the fine tuner pocket. One other matter is the studs/stud anchors. OFR stud anchor diameter is slightly over 10 mms (0.3938" as listed on OFR routing diagram) and 20.32mm deep, while the Edge stud anchors are 11.3 mms and roughly 25 mm (I first thought 30, but went back and check and it is) deep. Stud distance for both are roughly the same, so you might be able to get away with using the OFR studs/stud anchors.

I'm assuming the guitar you have now has a recessed route, hence the comparison above, but if it doesn't, the conversion should be much easier as the block locations seem to match closely. You may have to sand the trem bar side of the route a bit but it should be much less work than the above, if any.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by kissTheApex; 02-14-2015 at 05:54 PM. Reason: Edge Stud Anchor Length Correction
kissTheApex is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-14-2015, 07:31 PM
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,041
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzedout View Post
If the trem fits the guitar, I believe you can adjust the radius with shims under the saddles. I believe that's how it is done in the JS as well...
99% sure this is the case as well, with respect to shims.

I've never replaced an OFR with an Edge, but I've done the reverse - my UV7PWH has an OFR in place of the original LoPro Edge it shipped with (that was falling to pieces when I got this guitar). It was pretty tight on the treble side and took a little bit of attention with a file so it wouldn't rub, but otherwise worked flawlessly.
Drew is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 02-15-2015, 01:59 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114
Reviews: 2
Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???

Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post
Thinking about doing it in a Carvin DC400W
Looking at the specs, your DC400 should have a 14" radius (355mm). No matter which Edge you find, you'll have to do some shimming.

IIRC, the Edge pro fits into a standard OFR route.


RGTFanatic is offline  
Reply

Tags
edge , floyd rose

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floyd Rose Special or Pro as a Lo TRS-II replacement? tlhamon51 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 12 06-25-2012 05:03 PM
Jackson Licensed Floyd replacement Getaspacejob Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) 5 08-22-2010 09:02 PM
Replacement Arm Holder - Ibanez -> Floyd possible? chimera963chris Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 11-13-2009 07:41 AM
Jem 555 W/ Orginal Floyd Rose Replacement??? Epicus Furor JEM and Universe Guitars 2 07-08-2005 02:02 PM
floyd type strat replacement the.godfather Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 11-12-2003 01:27 PM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome