Edge replacement for a Floyd??? - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars Discussion about JS (Joe Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-12-2015, 11:41 PM
monnkey2  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 5  -  iTrader: (0)

Edge replacement for a Floyd???


I'm curious. Can you replace an Original Floyd Rose with an Original Edge 250mm tremolo without having to route the guitar?? Also, the guitar in question has a 10" fretboard radius, that's why I'm asking about the JS Edge 250mm. Am I right to assume that would work better with a 10" radius than the regular Original Edge Trem?
quote
  #2  
Old 02-13-2015, 07:45 PM
(a)
RGTFanatic  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114  -  iTrader: (24)
Reviews: 2

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


If you can find an Edge that speciffically came out of a JS, it MIGHT work- but doubtful.

What guitar are you looking to put an Edge into?
__________________

quote
  #3  
Old 02-13-2015, 08:06 PM
monnkey2  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 5  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


Thinking about doing it in a Carvin DC400W
quote
 
  #4  
Old 02-14-2015, 01:27 AM
jazzedout  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Greece
Posts: 820  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


If the trem fits the guitar, I believe you can adjust the radius with shims under the saddles. I believe that's how it is done in the JS as well...
quote
  #5  
Old 02-14-2015, 06:27 PM
kissTheApex  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 519  -  iTrader: (5)

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post
I'm curious. Can you replace an Original Floyd Rose with an Original Edge 250mm tremolo without having to route the guitar?? Also, the guitar in question has a 10" fretboard radius, that's why I'm asking about the JS Edge 250mm. Am I right to assume that would work better with a 10" radius than the regular Original Edge Trem?
I'm pretty sure you'll have to modify the route. Whether you'll go for chisel/sand/elbow grease or route is up to you.

OFR routing template shows an overall length of 3.125" vs. 3 5/16" of Edge. On the OFR, overall minus the fine tuner length is 1.6707" vs slightly over 1.75" on the Edge, so you'll definitely have to modify the main pocket and the fine tuner pocket. One other matter is the studs/stud anchors. OFR stud anchor diameter is slightly over 10 mms (0.3938" as listed on OFR routing diagram) and 20.32mm deep, while the Edge stud anchors are 11.3 mms and roughly 25 mm (I first thought 30, but went back and check and it is) deep. Stud distance for both are roughly the same, so you might be able to get away with using the OFR studs/stud anchors.

I'm assuming the guitar you have now has a recessed route, hence the comparison above, but if it doesn't, the conversion should be much easier as the block locations seem to match closely. You may have to sand the trem bar side of the route a bit but it should be much less work than the above, if any.

I hope this helps.

Last edited by kissTheApex; 02-14-2015 at 06:54 PM.. Reason: Edge Stud Anchor Length Correction
quote
  #6  
Old 02-14-2015, 08:31 PM
Drew  is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Somerville, MA
Posts: 6,033  -  iTrader: (4)

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


Quote:
Originally Posted by jazzedout View Post
If the trem fits the guitar, I believe you can adjust the radius with shims under the saddles. I believe that's how it is done in the JS as well...
99% sure this is the case as well, with respect to shims.

I've never replaced an OFR with an Edge, but I've done the reverse - my UV7PWH has an OFR in place of the original LoPro Edge it shipped with (that was falling to pieces when I got this guitar). It was pretty tight on the treble side and took a little bit of attention with a file so it wouldn't rub, but otherwise worked flawlessly.
quote
  #7  
Old 02-15-2015, 02:59 PM
(a)
RGTFanatic  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114  -  iTrader: (24)
Reviews: 2

Re: Edge replacement for a Floyd???


Quote:
Originally Posted by monnkey2 View Post
Thinking about doing it in a Carvin DC400W
Looking at the specs, your DC400 should have a 14" radius (355mm). No matter which Edge you find, you'll have to do some shimming.

IIRC, the Edge pro fits into a standard OFR route.
__________________

quote
Reply

Tags
edge , floyd rose

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Floyd Rose Special or Pro as a Lo TRS-II replacement? tlhamon51 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 12 06-25-2012 06:03 PM
Jackson Licensed Floyd replacement Getaspacejob Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) 5 08-22-2010 10:02 PM
Replacement Arm Holder - Ibanez -> Floyd possible? chimera963chris Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 0 11-13-2009 08:41 AM
Jem 555 W/ Orginal Floyd Rose Replacement??? Epicus Furor JEM and Universe Guitars 2 07-08-2005 03:02 PM
floyd type strat replacement the.godfather Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 11-12-2003 02:27 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by