<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars

JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars Discussion about JS (Joe Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-01-2013, 03:26 PM
personaldistortion  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10  -  iTrader: (0)

How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Just did a blog post on how my guitar guy fixed my loose and bothersome JS1000 Whammy BAr.-sg

if you go to personaldistortion.com you can see some pics and other details.
My guy ended up replacing the arm housing and arm assembly with a push-in Floyd Rose. The new bar has a thumb nut on top to tighten and/or loosen the bar as much as you want, and the assembly feels much more robust.-sg
quote
  #2  
Old 01-01-2013, 03:35 PM
(a)
Rich  is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 21,583  -  iTrader: (21)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


This is Jemsite, they've been doing that mod here for a decade
quote
  #3  
Old 01-02-2013, 11:07 PM
personaldistortion  is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10  -  iTrader: (0)
Smile

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich View Post
This is Jemsite, they've been doing that mod here for a decade
I'm sure they have.. but when I posted the last time I got some good answers about the guy who deals Ibanez hardware & trem parts. It's a bit disappointing that the Edge Tremelo is a bit cheap if you will, it's kind of like the old S10 I used to drive, mechanics told me you could replace the alternator but the alternator design was simply bad and would break again. Cheap with hard to find parts in not a great combo for such a nice guitar. I wonder if Ibanez would ever consider just letting Floyd build them an option that they could charge $100 extra for?-sg
quote
  #4  
Old 01-02-2013, 11:20 PM
(a)
Rich  is offline
Vendor
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 21,583  -  iTrader: (21)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Saying the Edge is cheap will win you no friends here. There is nothing cheap about it. They chose a design for tensioning you may not like, you chose to modify it in another way, a way in which I can't stand. To each their own.
quote
  #5  
Old 01-02-2013, 11:31 PM
wilch  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,441  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


I like the good-old "free" mod of tightening it.

- Pop the white plastic bushings off the whammy bar
- grab some nail polish (clear preferable, or whatever you have :P)
- paint the slots in the whammy bar. (paint the base of the slots, you want to be able to pop the bushings back in after the polish has dried)

Let the nail polish dry, and then pop the bushings back in to the whammy bar.

Enjoy the tightness till you need to do it again.


Last edited by wilch; 01-02-2013 at 11:35 PM. Reason: realised that they're called "bushings" not "washers"
quote
  #6  
Old 01-03-2013, 12:06 AM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,588  -  iTrader: (8)
Reviews: 120

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Or even just use some plumbers tape on it.
quote
  #7  
Old 01-03-2013, 02:32 AM
silverctr  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 943  -  iTrader: (4)
Reviews: 15

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Or heat them up a little.
quote
  #8  
Old 01-03-2013, 06:41 AM
AlienKarma  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Portugal
Posts: 105  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Quote:
Originally Posted by silverctr View Post
Or heat them up a little.
Best one IMHO.
quote
  #9  
Old 01-03-2013, 10:45 AM
Marine Boy  is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Nottingham England
Posts: 104  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Did the nail varnish trick to mine the other day. Transformed the feel of the guitar. I's amazing how a loose trem can quietly creep up on you.
quote
  #10  
Old 01-03-2013, 09:24 PM
(a)
Swirltop  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,316  -  iTrader: (12)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Quote:
Originally Posted by personaldistortion View Post
I'm sure they have.. but when I posted the last time I got some good answers about the guy who deals Ibanez hardware & trem parts. It's a bit disappointing that the Edge Tremelo is a bit cheap if you will, it's kind of like the old S10 I used to drive, mechanics told me you could replace the alternator but the alternator design was simply bad and would break again. Cheap with hard to find parts in not a great combo for such a nice guitar. I wonder if Ibanez would ever consider just letting Floyd build them an option that they could charge $100 extra for?-sg
This is too funny... and coming from someone that had to take their guitar in to a "tech" to fix a loose trem arm... LMAO dude.... LMAO

Last edited by Swirltop; 01-04-2013 at 01:24 PM.
quote
  #11  
Old 01-04-2013, 09:54 AM
(a)
webmaestro  is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chandler, AZ
Posts: 379  -  iTrader: (1)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


Hmm, I just replace the bushings (but save the old ones). I have so many extra bushings it's ridiculous. I have no idea where they all came from.
quote
  #12  
Old 01-04-2013, 01:46 PM
lerxst6  is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 494  -  iTrader: (21)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


I've been playing cheap Edge trems for about 25 years. None better IMHO.
quote
  #13  
Old 01-04-2013, 05:23 PM
dickicker  is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: H-town, TX
Posts: 121  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: How I Fixed my Loose JS1000 Whammy Bar


I love my cheap edges! And my cheap Lo Pros. So i went the site to see these pictures, I did not find them. But this dude says, "The Ibanez Joe Satriani signature series feature a pop in whammy bar that slips into a plastic sleeve."

Plastic sleeve? Did he mean to say Edge 3? I thought JS1000 had a Edge Pro. What's Plastic about that? The only trem I know that has any form of plastic is the edge 3
quote
Reply

Tags
js1000 loose whammy bar

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Edge Pro - Loose whammy bar axes Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 24 03-30-2013 02:13 PM
Loose whammy arm (Original Edge) hp29 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 2 04-08-2011 05:15 PM
My whammy bar is loose Avenite Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 11 08-23-2007 01:05 PM
Loose Whammy Bar swatguitar85 Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 3 10-22-2003 02:47 AM
Whammy bar is too loose and the nailpolish doesn't work Dave Goodland Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 9 10-28-2002 01:12 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by