Comparison Shopping
Reviews
Gallery
Jemsite Blog
Forums
Home
Jemsite
>
Guitars and Gear
>
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
User Name
Remember Me?
Password
Register
FAQ
Calendar
iTrader
Mark Forums Read
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
Discussion about JS (Joe Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
Go to Page...
Page 1 of 2
1
2
NEXT >
Thread Tools
Display Modes
#
1
02-24-2013, 03:38 PM
satchmo72
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,464 - iTrader: (
28
)
PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
While searching for a Black Dog, I came across these.
If you are out looking for a
JS20TH
, be careful. I thought this was interesting.
2 different parts of the country. Houston TX and Lexington KY
http://houston.craigslist.org/msg/3640222508.html
http://lexington.craigslist.org/msd/3586966006.html
Same pics, same description, one shows the serial number, the other doesn't.
Jeff
satchmo72
View Public Profile
Visit satchmo72's homepage!
Find all posts by satchmo72
#
2
02-24-2013, 03:40 PM
CosmicDebris
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,618 - iTrader: (
6
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Second one is a factory second stamped used on the headstock.
CosmicDebris
View Public Profile
Find all posts by CosmicDebris
#
3
02-24-2013, 08:31 PM
satchmo72
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,464 - iTrader: (
28
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
The first one is said to be too. I noticed the same statement in each listing.
"BRAND NEW NEVER BEEN PLAYED "Discontinued model" Released in 2008 they are no longer being produced. Will have a small used stamp on the back of the head stock because this guitar is no longer under factory warranty. It is brand new never been played though and there are no imperfections anywhere. Beautiful rare piece!"
satchmo72
View Public Profile
Visit satchmo72's homepage!
Find all posts by satchmo72
#
4
02-24-2013, 08:40 PM
CosmicDebris
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Richmond VA, USA
Posts: 3,618 - iTrader: (
6
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Call the number in the one that has it and see who answers.
My #1 rule with cl is no shipping. If it isn't close enough for us to drive and meet I don't go for it. I normally trade only on cl but when I outright buy I take someone with me to watch my back. You know that drill I am sure.
CosmicDebris
View Public Profile
Find all posts by CosmicDebris
#
5
02-24-2013, 08:52 PM
satchmo72
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,464 - iTrader: (
28
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
I do, just was letting others know in case they do not put the search parameters out far enough. I had it set for 2000 miles so I saw both, someone may not. Just a heads up really for someone to pay attention to the possibility of a scam.
I have only asked someone to ship something from CL once, it was for a $400 guitar. We had a phone conversation and felt good about it but ended up not doing the transaction.
satchmo72
View Public Profile
Visit satchmo72's homepage!
Find all posts by satchmo72
#
6
02-25-2013, 01:29 PM
maqify
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,270 - iTrader: (
1
)
Reviews: 2
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Nice heads up Satchmo,for anybody close. Seems fishy with two different locations.
maqify
View Public Profile
Find all posts by maqify
#
7
02-25-2013, 06:49 PM
worldrecordholder
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 137 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Never buy anything from anyone that uses 'stock shots' for their pictures unless its a business. A private party will 99.9999% of the time wont use white backdrops with real lighting and photo editing. Also all of the info is 'cut an paste'.
- I guess the one in Lex has 2 because there is an open AND closed case in the last pic!!!! PURE BS....ask yourself WHY they would of taken the time to take photos of the actual guitar and then use a pic of the 2 cases with all background removed? Its because they didnt take ANY of the shots and just used ones they found on the net.
Total scam and not even a good one.
~JH
worldrecordholder
View Public Profile
Find all posts by worldrecordholder
#
8
02-26-2013, 09:08 AM
unscarred
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: north of nowhere
Posts: 24 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
I can guarantee u the first one is not a scam. I traded my Suhr modern for this guitar and now it's on the chopping block. I just copied the ad of the guy i traded the guitar with and added real pics of the guitar.
-john
unscarred
View Public Profile
Find all posts by unscarred
#
9
02-26-2013, 10:41 AM
dccomputersa
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 861 - iTrader: (
3
)
Images:
4
Reviews: 4
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Do you mean the Houston one?
dccomputersa
View Public Profile
Visit dccomputersa's homepage!
Find all posts by dccomputersa
View Gallery Uploads
#
10
02-26-2013, 11:23 AM
unscarred
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: north of nowhere
Posts: 24 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Quote:
Originally Posted by
dccomputersa
Do you mean the Houston one?
Yes,the houston ad.
unscarred
View Public Profile
Find all posts by unscarred
#
11
02-26-2013, 11:30 AM
unscarred
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: north of nowhere
Posts: 24 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
I don't mind if i don't sell the guitar. This thing is beautiful,but i don't see myself playing this piece of art,and the pictures don't do the guitar justice. It is exactly what it is,a collectible,IMO..I'm not a big JS fan per se,and i thought the neck on his signature guitars are huge. I'm pretty surprised the neck on this guitar is comparable to Musicman JP6 i have.
But, i got my on a PRS Custom 24 so this has to go.
unscarred
View Public Profile
Find all posts by unscarred
#
12
02-26-2013, 12:07 PM
dccomputersa
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 861 - iTrader: (
3
)
Images:
4
Reviews: 4
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Why would you copy someone else's ad. You should know that's a red flag to just about everyone. Scammers copy and paste ads all the time. Its their laziness that gets them busted or outed.
dccomputersa
View Public Profile
Visit dccomputersa's homepage!
Find all posts by dccomputersa
View Gallery Uploads
#
13
02-26-2013, 03:10 PM
jb4674
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Fairfax, VA - USA
Posts: 4,375 - iTrader: (
0
)
Reviews: 18
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
I still don't see what the problem is. If someone in either one of those two areas is interested in the guitar and is able to contact the seller and meet up face to face to buy the guitar (and it turns out to be legit), then what's the issue? Most of the jemsite seasoned folks here know quite well that there are quite a few b stock JS20ths selling everywhere.
Just because you see 2 similar pictures on two separate ads doesn't mean it's a scam. Now, if the seller wanted to sell the guitar via paypal and he was local and didn't want to meet the buyer, then I would have a problem with that.
Jimmy
jb4674
View Public Profile
Find all posts by jb4674
#
14
02-26-2013, 07:13 PM
worldrecordholder
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Portland Oregon
Posts: 137 - iTrader: (
0
)
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
Quote:
Just because you see 2 similar pictures on two separate ads doesn't mean it's a scam. Now, if the seller wanted to sell the guitar via paypal and he was local and didn't want to meet the buyer, then I would have a problem with that.
Similar? They are the same pics!
The problem is that by posting pics you are essentially saying 'this is THE guitar' not just a 'representation'.
By using someone elses pics is deceptive pure and simple.
~JH
worldrecordholder
View Public Profile
Find all posts by worldrecordholder
#
15
02-26-2013, 10:19 PM
dccomputersa
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 861 - iTrader: (
3
)
Images:
4
Reviews: 4
Re: PSA CL Possible scam? JS20TH
I have to agree worldrecordholder. Your absolutely correct!! Its not just the pics, the words are the same too. 2 ads for the same guitar in 2 different states. Pretty strange!
dccomputersa
View Public Profile
Visit dccomputersa's homepage!
Find all posts by dccomputersa
View Gallery Uploads
Page 1 of 2
1
2
NEXT >
Tags
js20th
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version
Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode
Switch to Hybrid Mode
Switch to Threaded Mode
Show/Hide
Posting Rules
You
may not
post new threads
You
may not
post replies
You
may not
post attachments
You
may not
edit your posts
BB code
is
On
Smilies
are
On
[IMG]
code is
On
HTML code is
Off
Show/Hide
Similar Threads
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Do you like the JS20th?
Myst and rain
Polls
46
08-09-2011
12:25 AM
How many own a JS20TH
marlon1211
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
1
03-23-2010
10:13 AM
JS20th
Myst and rain
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
473
11-10-2008
07:26 PM
JS20TH - Available
mattsmusic
Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear
0
10-07-2008
05:30 PM
JS20th?
Xerack
JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars
33
07-04-2007
10:16 AM
Sitemap:
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
All times are GMT -4. The time now is
08:46 PM
.
-- Default Style
---- Mobile Default
-- Mobile Alabama
Contact Us
-
Jemsite.com: Ibanez JEM/UV guitars & more
-
Archive
-
Privacy Statement
-
Top
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com