Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge - Jemsite
<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums)
Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) Discussion about other Ibanez 6-string Guitars (including Premiums) not covered in the above topics.
 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-19-2013, 08:42 PM
xtech  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 5  -  iTrader: (0)

Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Hey guys,

i would like to replace the Edge Pro II bridge from my 2006 RGT42DX as i am having tunning issues with it (stability).

So either i will replace it for an Original Floyd Rose (i have searched the forum and you guys say it is a direct replacement, so it should not be a problem). And it appears to be cheaper and a tad better than an Edge Pro.

But i would consider also to put a fixed bridge on it, if it is quite cheaper. Is there any fixed bridge for "direct replacement"?

What would you suggest?
quote
  #2  
Old 03-19-2013, 08:44 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,993  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Why buy a fixed bridge? Blocking the Edge Pro II will do the same thing for a lot less work and $$$.

Edge Pro is the direct fit. The OFR "may" fit. It's not guaranteed though.
quote
  #3  
Old 03-19-2013, 09:07 PM
Swirltop  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,510  -  iTrader: (13)

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


I have had really good luck with the Edge Pro in my RG2570, stays in tune great even with trem abuse

But yeah LP has the right idea if you want to go the fixed route, just block the one you have now...
quote
 
  #4  
Old 03-20-2013, 08:17 AM
xtech  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 5  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


It's good to see the Edge Pro is fine, nevertheless i've seen opinions in this forum regarding its tuning stability...

LonePhantom, what do you mean by "may" fit? Is this info below not correct?

forum.ibanez.com/yaf_postst83402_What-trem-goes-into-what-cavity---MUST-SEE.aspx
quote
  #5  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:21 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,993  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


That info was para-phrased from a thread from this forum. If you are lucky the OFR will fit the route, meaning that the routes for Edge III equipped guitars aren't quite consistent. Some MAY fit the Edge III cavity, chances are that the locking screws at the back won't clear the cavity, so you'll need to sand/route the back of the cavity. The wings of the baseplate may also cut it fine too.

The Edge Pro's tuning stability is not really that big of an issue. What happened was earlier model Edge and Lo Pro Edges came with locking studs, which gave them a little bit more stability, and lessened the chances of the holes ovelling out. Edge Pros did not get locking studs, so there was a bit of a storm in a teacup from many members here. You can fit the locking studs to the Edge Pro anchors as they are the same size as the Edge/Lo Pro Edge ones. Your main issue will be replacing the crappy Edge III ones if you want a better trem. You'll want to pull the anchors and studs out, redrill to fit the bigger higher quality ones to get the best performance.
quote
  #6  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:26 PM
CYBERSYN  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 6  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Sorry to be slightly off topic...

Anyone know if the Edge Zero II can be replaced with an OFR or Edge Pro?
quote
  #7  
Old 03-20-2013, 07:26 PM
xtech  is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Porto, Portugal
Posts: 5  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Thank you LonePhanom for you help!

So i can assume everything you told about the edge III cavity also holds true for the Edge Pro II cavity (my guitar is an RGT42dx Korean model of 2006, so it comes with the Edge Pro II, not the Edge III).

Well if the problem is the need of sanding the part of the wood on the back which is covered by the plastic. hum i think i can do it with no problem
quote
  #8  
Old 03-20-2013, 08:18 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,993  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Yeah, sorry, forgot it was Edge Pro II. Pretty much the same yes.
quote
  #9  
Old 03-20-2013, 08:19 PM
LonePhantom  is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 8,993  -  iTrader: (11)
Reviews: 120

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Quote:
Originally Posted by CYBERSYN View Post
Sorry to be slightly off topic...

Anyone know if the Edge Zero II can be replaced with an OFR or Edge Pro?
Everything can be replaced if you are willing to do the work. Edge Zero II to OFR or Edge Pro is going to involve a lot of extra work though. It's really not worth it considering the fact that the Edge Zero II is by all reports quite a good bridge.
quote
  #10  
Old 03-20-2013, 08:54 PM
CYBERSYN  is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 6  -  iTrader: (0)

Re: Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge


Thats what I thought.

Cheers.
quote
Reply

Tags
edge pro 2 , floyd rose

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Show/Hide Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Show/Hide Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is a fixed EDGE III bridge worth anything Silverburst Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 9 03-11-2015 07:28 PM
Change the Edge PRO 2 either to a OFR or a Fixed Bridge xtech Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) 0 03-19-2013 08:41 PM
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? twooos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 13 10-28-2007 03:29 AM
Replacing an Edge FX (fixed bridge) with an Edge Pro or OFR? twooos Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 1 10-21-2007 08:06 PM
EDGE FX FIXED BRIDGE tmoori Gear and Equipment 2 12-11-2006 05:46 PM

Sitemap:1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:59 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
(c) jemsite.com
Powered by