Replacement bridge for RG3EX1? - Jemsite
Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) Discussion about other Ibanez 6-string Guitars (including Premiums) not covered in the above topics.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 04:02 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 13
Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

I have an RG3EX1 with the basic Ibanez fixed bridge, and I have to say, I'm not a big fan of it(the bridge, not the guitar). So I was wondering if I have any options for putting another bridge on it? I'm sure my options, if any, are pretty limited. A Gibraltar standard looks like it would maybe be my best option but I don't know if even that's very feasible.
Thanatopsis is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 04:35 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,007
Reviews: 120
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

What don't you like about it in particular? The bridge on that guitar is a cheaply made clone of the Gotoh version found on the PGM 301s, etc. As I understand that is a direct swap.
LonePhantom is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 13
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

My main gripe is how uncomfortable it is on my hand, so I wanted something smoother. At the very least I need to get shorter saddle height screws if I don't replace it. I've gotten more used to it, but they still bother the side of my right hand. Is the Gotoh any smoother?

I was just looking on allparts.com for shorter screws and have no idea what to get, for example "#6-32" or "#4-40", etc. Does anyone know what the proper ones would be?
Thanatopsis is offline  
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 06:33 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 9,007
Reviews: 120
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

You could just file or grind the screws that are on the guitar maybe?
LonePhantom is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 09:00 PM
 
RGTFanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: New Lenox, IL-USA
Posts: 10,114
Reviews: 2
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

The tight-end bridge is also another option. You may have to use new screw locations, but the base should cover the old ones.

LonePhantom had mentioned the Gotoh GTC101 which is a very good bridge and a direct swap, but you'll probably have the same problem with the saddle height screws.

The tight-end bridge:


RGTFanatic is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 09:14 PM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,510
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

If all your screws are too high you could try putting a shim in the heel of the neck pocket. That would change the neck angle and allow you to raise the saddles.... Just another option to try out... and cheaper than a new bridge
Swirltop is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-23-2013, 09:58 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 13
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swirltop View Post
If all your screws are too high you could try putting a shim in the heel of the neck pocket. That would change the neck angle and allow you to raise the saddles.... Just another option to try out... and cheaper than a new bridge
I thought of that, but I think for now I'm going to just cut/file/grind the current screws down to a height where they don't stick up.

I'm used to playing with pretty much nothing but a tune-o-matic for quite a while. But I have to say , I'm really liking the look of that Tight End.

See how bad it is currently? And yes, I know it's filthy. I dust under and between my pickups every day it seems. In almost no time at all while playing a layer of **** starts to build up.
Thanatopsis is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 01:03 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 977
Reviews: 15
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Swirltop View Post
If all your screws are too high you could try putting a shim in the heel of the neck pocket. That would change the neck angle and allow you to raise the saddles.... Just another option to try out... and cheaper than a new bridge
I had to do this on my RG2EX2. Worked like a charm.
silverctr is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 08:41 AM
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New York
Posts: 2,510
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverctr View Post
I had to do this on my RG2EX2. Worked like a charm.
Yeah I had to do it with my RG421 also... It got the screws either flush with the top of the saddles or recessed a little.

If I was the OP I'd take the neck off and make sure some genius didn't put a shim in the front of the neck pocket, then put one in the heel for the hell of it...
Swirltop is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 10:21 AM
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 551
Reviews: 6
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thanatopsis View Post
I thought of that, but I think for now I'm going to just cut/file/grind the current screws down to a height where they don't stick up.
Why not buy shorter screws?
Philboski is offline  
post #11 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-24-2013, 10:45 AM
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The FTL, Florida
Posts: 3,683
Reviews: 21
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Yeah it looks like you could do with a neck shim if you're trying to get your action that low without success.
I had to replace the Gotoh clone on my RG3EXQM1. I got a real Gotoh from Stewmac and, no problem, it was a direct swap. The original clone version had cheaply milled screws that would feel like they were cuting up my right hand. The saddle intonation screws themselves were cheap too. One kept slipping off which is why I switched to the Gotoh.
Not a bad guitar once you fix them up.
mike570 is online  
post #12 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-27-2013, 01:31 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: MA
Posts: 13
Re: Replacement bridge for RG3EX1?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike570 View Post
Yeah it looks like you could do with a neck shim if you're trying to get your action that low without success.
I had to replace the Gotoh clone on my RG3EXQM1. I got a real Gotoh from Stewmac and, no problem, it was a direct swap. The original clone version had cheaply milled screws that would feel like they were cuting up my right hand. The saddle intonation screws themselves were cheap too. One kept slipping off which is why I switched to the Gotoh.
Not a bad guitar once you fix them up.
The action is fine the way it is now so I think I'm just going to end up getting shorter screws; like yours, they definitely grind the side of your hand. And yeah, overall I'm happy with the guitar. I got is barely used for $200. Definitely replacing the bridge pickup soon too though. It doesn't really like being tuned down to B. Thanks for the input guys.
Thanatopsis is offline  
Reply

Tags
rg fixed bridge

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bridge pickup for down tuned RG3EX1? Thanatopsis Pickups & wiring 5 01-05-2013 01:05 AM
Need help finding a replacement bridge guitargal Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 5 06-29-2008 04:20 PM
Need a replacement bridge Nick 6 Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) 1 05-12-2008 09:23 PM
bridge replacement? arnab Tech: Setup, Repairs and Mods 6 07-03-2007 02:14 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome