<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums)

Other Ibanez Guitars (including Premiums) Discussion about other Ibanez 6-string Guitars (including Premiums) not covered in the above topics.

View Poll Results: Would you?
Yes, entry level Ibanez guitars are great! 9 39.13%
Yes, they aren't what they used to be, but they're still better than than the alternatives 9 39.13%
No, there are other brands who make better entry level guitars 5 21.74%
DO NOT BLASPHEME (+1 if you get the reference) 0 0%
Voters: 23. You may not vote on this poll

Old 12-06-2012, 04:45 PM

Would you recommend Ibanez to a noob?

This pains me to think about because I have been an Ibanez elitist since I started playing guitar over 20 years ago. My first guitar was a late 80s MIK Ibanez EX and it still plays better than many < $500 guitars available today.

Some of the low/mid series Ibanezes I have played recently haven't really been that good.

I played an RG3XXV at GC the other day with rough fret ends. I didn't even enjoy playing it. The RG3xx and 4xx lines seem to be really hit or miss. I have played some that are great, and others that surprise me that they passed QC. Now on the other hand, I played an RG1XXV that was really good. Reports on this forum have ranged from very good to pretty bad, too. Is that a QC issue?

The floating tremolos in some of the newer series are less than desired.

I will say that the Gibraltar bridge is pretty cool.

The necks on a lot of entry level Ibanez guitars suck. It's not the Wizard III design; it's the fret jobs.

I guess my advice to noobs would be to make sure you try out the actual guitar you want to buy to make sure you don't get a lemon. Of course, noobs won't know the difference I suppose.
Old 12-06-2012, 04:55 PM

Reviews: 4

Re: Would you recommend Ibanez to a noob?