<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand)

Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) Discussion about any other 6-string guitars not made by Ibanez.

Old 10-30-2011, 10:26 PM

Reviews: 5

My first custom guitar

In April of this year, I decided to go ahead and make my first custom guitar. My friend knew some named Tim on ebay (timbo81) who could make custom guitar bodies at an insanely low price. $400 was all it cost for me to get a black korina, 2-piece body with a genuine birdseye maple top. So I gambled and bought it. I also got a stunning, high-grade birdseye maple neck with a standard thin contour, compound radius, and 6150 frets. I also decided to use a Crunch Lab humbucker for the bridge (it's my favorite humbucker) and 2 Dimarzio fast tracks, at a friend's advice. I've never used them before, but I just thought "what the hell" and went for it. I also used Dimarzio components and had it painted by an airbrushing genius. My friend, who's an absolutely genius guitar tech, helped assemble it.

Finally, after months of complications and deliberation, it is complete.

Without further adieu, I present my first custom guitar:

As you can see, I opted for a deep green to teal burst, and in person, it is hands down THE cleanest burst I have ever seen on a guitar, the fade from green to teal is just flawless. The tone is unreal; in the neck, it's warm, think, yet has the articulation of a Strat pickup. In the middle, it sounds almost Yngwie-like, and in the bridge... well, it's a Crunch Lab. And it's a reason why it's my favorite humbucker of all time.