Opinions on TOM vs Floyd rose - Jemsite
Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) Discussion about any other 6-string guitars not made by Ibanez.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-13-2013, 09:57 AM Thread Starter

Opinions on TOM vs Floyd rose

Hi guys im an avid Floyd rose user. I have been blocking my floyds for a few years and im considering changing to a fixed bridge. I can't stand the hard tails with the individual string height adjustment, the screws dig into my palm and i have OCD so i would just be forever adjusting the strings.

I like the fact that a TOM can be adjusted at both ends like a floyd while maintaining its radius. What are your opinions on the feel and comfort of a TOM from a Floyd?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 01:06 PM

Re: Opinions on TOM vs Floyd rose

I'm like you, I block my trems and have ever since I started playing gigs. I just don't want to mess them anymore. I primarily play gibson explorers and a hard tail tele I built. I love TOMs and think they are really comfy. I chug and rest my palm over the bridge pickup and I like that vs a floyd I don't have to worry about going flat a tad when I'm doing any rhythm work or holding my guitar at a different angle or whatever. I see what you say about the screws on a hardtail digging into your hand, I have that problem with one of my teles and I have been thinking of just cutting the screws down with a dremel to fix it.
post #3 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 04:09 PM Thread Starter

I appreciate the comment back mate. I have OCD and i have found over the years iv become a bit obsessed with setting my guitar up, and a floyd rose has not helped that one bit. The amount of times i have to take the back cover off to "check" the springs are still in where they should be and rechecking intonation etc. I think a TOM would be a healthier option perhaps x
post #4 of 4 (permalink) Old 07-18-2013, 04:51 PM