This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson - Jemsite
Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) Discussion about any other 6-string guitars not made by Ibanez.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 11:30 AM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,511
This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

For those of us who love effects, gimmicks, and technology, this is a really cool thing (robot tuning setup mechanism) to add to at least one guitar, but I think for now, it's only Gibson.

Since just about everybody with a 3+3 headstock setup uses exact Gibson specs, I think this could sell well on open market. Of course, if Gibson does this, they should also make a system for 6 in line tuners and lock up the patents, if they haven't already done this.

http://www2.gibson.com/min-etune/
63Blazer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 01:26 PM
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Georgia, USA
Posts: 2,876
Reviews: 4
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

As a matter of fact, the robot technology has existed for some time. Gibson only borrowed (and maybe tweaked) it when they started using it in manufacturing a few years ago. Jimmy Page has used something very very similar for quite some time.

So, in fact, it has been available on the open market, but not via Gibson.

I have always been interested in the idea of using it on a Floyd Rose equipped guitar, where it would only be necessary to unlock, tune automatically, then lock again. It should be cake to fine tune after the fact.

Here is a similar system, and I do believe there may be others. http://axcenttuning.com/
fwd0120 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 02:45 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,511
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Quote:
Originally Posted by fwd0120 View Post
As a matter of fact, the robot technology has existed for some time. Gibson only borrowed (and maybe tweaked) it when they started using it in manufacturing a few years ago. Jimmy Page has used something very very similar for quite some time.

So, in fact, it has been available on the open market, but not via Gibson.

I have always been interested in the idea of using it on a Floyd Rose equipped guitar, where it would only be necessary to unlock, tune automatically, then lock again. It should be cake to fine tune after the fact.

Here is a similar system, and I do believe there may be others. http://axcenttuning.com/
That is amazing. Imagine what Joe Satriani or Steve Vai could do with that! Unfortunately it looks a like a major installment procedure but at least one guitar with the system could make it very versatile.
63Blazer is offline  
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 04:14 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stockton, CA
Posts: 977
Reviews: 15
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Kinda cool. I'd hate to have to stop in the middle of a gig to plug my guitar in the wall to charge it.
silverctr is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-22-2012, 07:15 PM
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Plainfield, Illinois
Posts: 2,810
Reviews: 11
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

I'll tune my own, thanks
D.M.RG7620 is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-25-2012, 12:53 PM
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 978
Reviews: 4
Talking Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Hey FWD, I was interested until I saw the price!!
dccomputersa is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2012, 11:30 AM
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Wisbech, Cambs
Posts: 80
Reviews: 1
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Lets be honest a good guitar shouldnt go out of tune that much,

And if you cant tune, stop playing smoke under the water
SkullCrusher is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2012, 08:47 PM Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,511
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkullCrusher View Post
Lets be honest a good guitar shouldnt go out of tune that much,

And if you cant tune, stop playing smoke under the water
I do like the unit that has hundreds of alternative tunings, but for standard tuning there's no need for a unit. At times of really loud gigs it's a nice helpful thing but gadget whores like me just love that stuff. For the majority of people here with RGs and Jems, the Floyd is enough of a factor to keep things in tune. Fixed bridge guitars, once considered stable compared to the non-locking Fender trems, they are now seen as hindrances in tuning because many of us have become spoiled with Floyds and Kahlers. I have switched from 9s to 10s on fixed bridge guitars and that really helps with tuning issues. Heavier 11s are super stable. That being said, you can tune almost any guitar with a Floyd on it (or Floyd licensed trem or Edge) and regardless of how much it is played or weather changes, it's usually gigable and in tune.
63Blazer is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 12-26-2012, 10:24 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC, Canadia
Posts: 1,905
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Ive never had tuning problems with any of my high end or even medium-low end guitars...I would still be all over one of these though. The evertune bridge is solid too.
Stealthtastic is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 12:28 AM
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Brisbane Australia
Posts: 704
Reviews: 19
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Notice how the S and G hide the enourmous bridge in the title pics??
Shockme.au is offline  
post #11 of 11 (permalink) Old 01-05-2013, 10:48 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 64
Re: This "robot" should be available for all guitars, not only Gibson

Try making it work with a floating bridge.
gEARs7 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Jemsite forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address

IMPORTANT: You will be required to activate your account so please ensure that your email address is correct.

If you do not receive your activation check your spam folder before using the CONTACT US form (at the bottom right of each page).



Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ibanez S420 in Blackberry Sunburst w/ DiMarzio "Crunch Lab" and "Liquifire" Pickups! ijustwntit Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 04-17-2012 07:11 PM
"Jackson" Logo Neck Plate & SRV "Music Notes" Leather Strap muttznmongrelz Classified Ads: Guitars and Gear 0 06-12-2010 07:48 PM
ever see a "JS1000" with black gloss, no "satch" inlay and a "J" ser. # IKE560 JS (Satriani Model) Ibanez Guitars 2 04-11-2009 03:05 PM
Vintage guitars? "west" n "kay" OME Gear and Equipment 0 01-21-2003 12:35 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome