<back   Jemsite > Guitars and Gear > Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand)

Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) Discussion about any other 6-string guitars not made by Ibanez.

Old 04-23-2012, 10:48 PM

Reviews: 1

The Dueling Dragons Guitar

In 1977, I started playing guitar. I had always been fascinated listening to music as far back as I could remember. The same year, I started getting into pen & inks, doing cool fantasy drawings of castles dragons and other medieval art. The following year, I joined my first band... so many jobs through the years, dj, stand-up comic, guitar teacher(Which is my main income still to this day). I have always been an adventurer of sorts, travelling the world, etc. The guitar has been with me somehow, some way ever since I was a little pup.

2 years ago, I purchased an AXE-FX Ultra unit, and shortly thereafter, I had Carvin guitars build me a custom guitar. The guitar was gorgeous,a DC727 Spalted maple top, but sported a piece of crap trussrod cover. That trussrod cover was a major turning point in my life... I ended up wanting to make my own. I had only worked with wood a couple times before, but remembered how much peace it put me at. I started to learn how to do inlay, because I wanted to inlay some Mother-Of-Pearl and a couple weeks later I had a cool piece of Koa wood and did my first inlay. At the time, a student's father talked me into building a guitar. He was a master cabinet builder and was watching some of the things I was making and I guess he saw a hidden talent in me and started bringing me woodworking equipment every Thursday when his son took lessons.