Time for a new baby :) - Jemsite
Other 6-string Guitars (non-Ibanez brand) Discussion about any other 6-string guitars not made by Ibanez.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-18-2012, 04:08 AM Thread Starter

Time for a new baby :)

Hello everyone!

Im new to the forums. Anyway, some years have passed and there is some money to spend on a new precious. So heres the deal. Im ready to spend between 600-900 on a "new" guitar. Ive been following ebay like sites for some time now and have picked my favorites. Unfortunately Im not a gear expert so i need your help.

Im looking for a guitar suited for playing rock/funk/hard rock/prog metal/fusion.

I very much like the San Dimas Style 2 (USA). The price is 800 and 900. I know the guitars dont have a volume knob and have heard the floyd goes out of tune fast. Can somebody confirm/deny that?

The second one is an ESP HORIZON custom, built in 91. Price at 750.

The 3rd option is the Ibanez FGM. Either 100 or 400. Dont know what the differences are. The prices ranging between 500-800.

4th option is a Hamer Diablo made in USA, year 93.

And the 5th one is the MANNE TAOS.

Very different guitars, I know. Im just not sure which one to buy. Based on quality only, what would be the guitar of your choice (out of those listed ofcourse ) ?

Thanks,

greets from Slovenija.

P.S. Im sorry I cant post links to the guitars
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-18-2012, 05:22 PM

Reviews: 120
Re: Time for a new baby :)

The Charvel's do have a volume knob, but no tone knob. The Floyd Rose would not go out of tune fast unless someone has done a terrible job setting it up! I'd go with the San Dimas, those recent Charvels are absolutely brilliant guitars for the money.
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 12-18-2012, 07:41 PM

Re: Time for a new baby :)